DecibelProductions Formerly SteamSociety

18 Sep

I came across this seller that has very obvious shill feedback. The name is DecibelProductions – formerly SteamSociety. She has 10 neutrals and 15 negatives for shoddy quality and not sending items (no surprise there). Looking through the positives I noticed several are from a handful of “buyers” – like 10 or so each that are left at one time the day after “purchasing” and who don’t seem to buy from anyone else.

Plus, many are on canceled transactions – fee avoidance much? BTW she does have another name she also sells from, Tribalpunk, and seems the shilling and ripping-off of buyers is going on there too. Unfortunately it looks like this girl will just keep coming back to etsy under other names and etsy just can’t keep her away…

22 Responses to “DecibelProductions Formerly SteamSociety”

  1. bigcatnamedRIO September 18, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Yeah, oddly enough, BettysWorld and FreakManor purchased like 20 items from her DecibelProductions store between her negative feedback from ‘real’ buyers…..It’s too bad that Etsy doesn’t have some button that shows all stores run from the same IP address, home address, Paypal account, etc…..

  2. Life During Wartime September 18, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/32831954

    This ring, described as OOAK, was sold multiple times. It looks like a mass-produced Indian glass set in brass adjustable costume ring. I smell eau de reseller.

  3. Observer September 18, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    ALL of Freakmanor’s feedback is from either Tribalpunk or DecibelProductions.

  4. Observer September 18, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Oops. Forgot the link: http://www.etsy.com/people/FreakManor/feedback

  5. Observer September 18, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    All of Hedonismproject’s feedback is from Tribal punk….
    http://www.etsy.com/people/hedonismproject/feedback

  6. Life During Wartime September 18, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    Tag abuse on the front page right now:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/55282144/70s-hippy-victorian-maxi-dress?ref=fp_treasury_1

  7. eyefortineye September 18, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    um, if it’s 1969 it’s NOT 70s.
    Not hippie. Little House on the Prairie, maybe.
    It does have a Victorian silhouette to it.
    Not hippie.
    WTH is 1970s sewing technology? give me a break. that whole spiel sounds too “cutesy”

    How are they located in London AND Moscow?

  8. Disgusted September 18, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    And they direct buyers to their own website to purchase.

  9. Life During Wartime September 18, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    It’s a new copy of a dress from 1969 according to the description. And it’s tagged ‘gunne sax’. It’s nothing like a Gunne Sax dress, nowhere near the detail. A copy of a generic ‘prairie dress’ from the early 70s, if it had been made in the US. I guess ‘victorian style’ was the UK equivalent?

  10. madmomma September 18, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    bigcatnamedRIO Says:
    “Yeah, oddly enough, BettysWorld and FreakManor purchased like 20 items from her DecibelProductions store between her negative feedback from ‘real’ buyers…..It’s too bad that Etsy doesn’t have some button that shows all stores run from the same IP address, home address, Paypal account, etc…..”

    —- Oh dear, Etsy DOES know about multiple accounts from individual IP addresses. I live in a house with several friends, and two of us have Etsy shops- completely different items and totally different styles… Recently I got an e-mail from Etsy asking me to explain “my” multiple accounts. Nice to know that Etsy monitors our personal activities – NOT… They were all over my ass, but they don’t have the time or manpower to do anything about re-sellers?
    I had done NOTHING wrong and had to jump through hoops to prove to Etsy that there are there are two people in my house that have ETSY shops – but we are NOT connected in any way other than that we use the same computer. It is scary how much ETSY knows – and monitors… but does nothing to shut down the a-holes out there that are abusing the site with non-vintage items, re-sellers and other crap.

    So with that said- a word of warning to anyone with multiple accounts that you use from one IP address- ETSY knows!!! Btw- I ended up closing my buyer account and decided I will no longer buy on Etsy.

  11. madmomma September 18, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I love that Freak Manor purchased items on 8-13 and received their items in ONE day- leaving glowing feedback on 8-14. Yeah, right.

  12. madmomma September 18, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Wow- and Bettysworld purchased items on 8-13 and left feedback on 8-13. That must be some REALLY quick shipping.
    This seller is one of the worst shillers I have ever seen- thanks for pointing her out. Sheesh!!!

  13. Wolf September 19, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Maybe it’s just me, but generally, before I buy something from a seller I’ve never dealt with before- I check out the feedback.

    Seems to me, quite a few of these people would have been saved a headache and money by avoiding this/these shop(s).

    And Etsy can’t get rid of this seller because they don’t want to. As long as they get their share of the pie, they don’t give a crap what kind of seller this shop is.

  14. Inspector Yuk September 19, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Lol, yes Etsy can trace all of this if they want to. I was/am muted from the forums, My daughter wanted to try her hand at selling her artwork so I helped her open a shop. I told her to read the forums before listing anything, ask questions (I can answer basic questions, but her art is so different from what I sell I figured she would benefit from talking to other artists and getting their feedback). I think she posted twice before she was also muted from the forums and I got an email telling me that all my accounts had to be disclosed. I tried to explain it to them, I would have sent them any proof they needed, but they never responded.

    Consequently, her shop sits idle and she has no interest in using Etsy now. I find it ludicrous that they will employ the technology to ensure I don ‘t get to post in the forums (God forbid I question another admin) but they allow shilling, sock puppet accounts to make treasuries and are unable to keep resellers from continually signing up and opening a shop.

  15. Life During Wartime September 19, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    WJW, Inspector! Thank you and Madmomma for sharing your stories!

    It is actually disgusting that Etsy has the time to go after Etsy shops that happen to be run by separate individuals living in close proximity, while ignoring reseller items, shilling shops, items that won’t be vintage for another decade, and tag/category abuse. They have staff to harass sellers who are doing nothing wrong, but are too busy to address actual violations. Who’d have thunk it?

    I guess bleeding hearts like ditzy soldier sailor HeyMichelle don’t worry about sellers like your daughter losing potential income when she gets hassled for no reason. HeyMichelle saves her empathy for resellers and the like. Holy carp.

  16. Life During Wartime September 19, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Madmomma’s story supports my theory that people who work for Etsy need basic education regarding how things are handmade.

    Etsy is so used to giving a Pass to resellers who list rhinestone jewelry, embroidered shoes, clothing, beaded purses, and rugs in the same shop that they see any shops — no matter how diverse the craft — with the same IP address as a single seller. Common sense, plus even a little knowledge about the supplies, tools, and skills, required to make things, should lead Etsy to ask questions before firing off a bunch of BS accusations without proof.

  17. LoveAndRage September 19, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    This is clear cut shilling, look at the photos of Tribal,FreakManor,DecibelProductions ..it’s the same damn girl!
    Holy Shit, and that’s only looking for 5 minutes- I’m sure there’s plenty more.

    Etsy Fail

  18. noCigar September 19, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    “people who work for Etsy need basic education regarding how things are handmade. ” Vintage, too.

    This is why it’s a good idea to hire people based upon their expertise instead of……what? the fuck? total randomness, somebody’s smoking buddy, somebody who is a ‘good person’, or somebody that just happened to stop by and bullshit their way in???

  19. LoveAnd Rage September 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    I thought the Etsy Job interview was all about your hats?!

  20. madmomma September 20, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    inspector yuk –
    It makes me feel better to know I am not the only one who has had Etsy all over my shite. The way that Etsy runs the forums, there is NO way I would ever post in there to ask if others experienced the same-so sellers are at a loss as to what to do or say when they get threatened by Etsy. I now understand WHY one might have a sock puppet to ask questions in the forums… but knowing tha Etsy can track (and does) IP addresses – people are at a loss as to discussing concerns in a safe way.
    Big Brother is watching you.

    But again, I don’t understand why Etsy is SO concerned with multiple accounts from the same IP address – but they can’t seem to weed out the troublesome shops that blatantly shill, resell, etc…
    and seriously ETSY was all over my arse within a day or two of my roomie and I using the same IP address, but there are shops that I have flagged OVER and OVER for MONTHS – and nothing.
    If I didn’t have such a large following on Etsy (and if didn’t use my etsy shop as my main source of income I woul be OUT of there in an instant)- but until I find a better selling venue and a way to move all of my followers, I am stuck with knowing Etsy can and may be watching my every move.

  21. detroit September 20, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Life During Wartime Says:
    September 19, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Madmomma’s story supports my theory that people who work for Etsy need basic education regarding how things are handmade.

    Etsy is so used to giving a Pass to resellers who list rhinestone jewelry, embroidered shoes, clothing, beaded purses, and rugs in the same shop that they see any shops — no matter how diverse the craft — with the same IP address as a single seller. Common sense, plus even a little knowledge about the supplies, tools, and skills, required to make things, should lead Etsy to ask questions before firing off a bunch of BS accusations without proof.
    ___________________________________

    This just shows to me that, rather than using intelligence, and humans, Etsy is trying to create / program automated ‘RESELLER’ spotters.

    Rather than looking through all the flags (sigh, so much WORK in Brooklyn!), and actually READING emails, and taking time to THINK, they are trying to ‘program’ out resellers. Or make it look like they’re trying, since I maintain they like resellers – at least the successful ones….

    I’m sure some nerd wrote some program to look at all multiple accounts from the same IP address, and are like AH-HA! We got YOU! You, bad actor! We’re not sure what we got you on! But it must be bad!! You see, we’re trying our best to root out cheaters! See? There are no resellers here. We got ’em all with our little program!

  22. abluntmum October 1, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    WOW she has nerve!! I reported her 🙂 I hope she gets booted once again, and she doesn’t come back. People work too damn hard for their money these days..and the likes of people like THAT ‘steal’ it from them. Ugh.
    She is already starting to build up negatives again on that new name now!! WHAT THE FUCK ETSY? They suck, man.

Leave a Reply

