MyBeautyAddiction

22 Sep

Reader Email:

I bought body butter from this seller and then later happened to notice this. From someone who makes her own mineral makeup AND presses her own shadows, those are NOT handmade. You can’t even get those cute little containers anywhere from the main mineral sellers. They totally look like something she bought wholesale from somewhere. I mean just look at the product photos, each eyeshadow colour is depicted with the exact same photo! definitely not her own photos too!

if you look at the listing for this other seller,
http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=38334269 now that’s what a homemade pressed shadow looks like! That seller is clearly pressing her own shadows versus the first link.
35 Responses to “MyBeautyAddiction”

  1. JohnCock September 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    There are so many make-up resellers on etsy. Just another thing I won’t buy from etsy sellers because I don’t trust that its handmade. In fact, I’ve pretty much given up shopping on etsy because of resellers.

  2. Kris10 September 22, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I feel the same way. Etsy certainly does not care. If Admin utilized their own tools such as Pounce or Time Machine, they could easily see the bs being listed.

    for example
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/bobbispicergraves

  3. sick of cupcakes September 22, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    They must pass out vials of crack instead of coffee at the offices of etsy.

  4. Andrea September 22, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    I don’t know, this sounds like someone who doesn’t like this seller. I’ve gotten the same containers from other sellers. As far as the eye shadow pics all being the same (like on the color chart) – I’m fine with her photoshopping the colors, I don’t expect a seller to destroy 20 of her product to get an actual picture of them.

  5. The Unknown Etsian September 22, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/bobbispicergraves
    ___
    Read the feedback for this person. Have you ever seen more fake, phony, shilled, invented, fabricated bs in your life?

  6. sick of cupcakes September 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    I can’t see her feedback.

  7. Elle September 22, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    She is a repackager. The pressed eyeshadows aren’t necessarily bad, as it’s not difficult to get a neat press with a little bit of know-how. They also sell those compacts empty, for pressing, from TKB trading. She also gets other things from TKB, like her entire eyeshadow selection, for instance!

    Remove the *’s to get the links:

    Her metal eyeshadows: *http://www.etsy.com/listing/46760924/molten-metals-collection-get-5-of-our

    TKB metals, see “additional pictures”: *http://www.tkbtrading.com/item.php?item_id=620&category_id=12

    Her “electric” eyeshadows: *http://www.etsy.com/listing/55170274/mineral-eyeshadow-electric-collection

    TKB pop sampler: *http://www.tkbtrading.com/item.php?item_id=503&category_id=12

    This is EXTREMELY common with mineral makeup and these are the most commonly copied shadows. Buyer beware.

  8. The Unknown Etsian September 22, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I can’t see her feedback.
    _____
    Click on the links above the FB area that say things like
    As a shop owner / As a buyer / Left for others
    you will find it in two of these.

  9. hagwithmorals September 22, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    The Unknown Etsian Says:
    September 22, 2010 at 12:12 pm
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/bobbispicergraves
    ___
    Read the feedback for this person. Have you ever seen more fake, phony, shilled, invented, fabricated bs in your life?

    ”””””””””””””””
    Your comment makes no sense. This seller only has 2 items listed and no sales made. Her items look legit. The feedback you’re seeing comes from all the items she’s PURCHASED. Way to call out a good buyer.

  10. JohnCock September 22, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    The seller removed all of the offending items. The shop was filled with wholesale tea items.

  11. Life During Wartime September 22, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    hagwithmorals, she had more items listed earlier today. All of them were ‘vintage style’ reseller factory items. Like the tea cup apron in her shop now:
    http://www.victoriantradingco.com/store/catalogimages/10j/i2256.html

    Here it is (link above) same photo, same description, same price.

  12. The Unknown Etsian September 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    Your comment makes no sense. This seller only has 2 items listed and no sales made. Her items look legit. The feedback you’re seeing comes from all the items she’s PURCHASED. Way to call out a good buyer.
    ____
    Do you really think all those are as a buyer? The “private” feedback, the fact that there are “personal” type remarks as if one were chatting with a friend instead of giving feedback, the amount of things in a short time, the fact the style of comments is overly repetitious. Calling out a good buyer? No I think there is someone with multiple accounts doing her own shilling. The feedback is as fake as she is.

  13. madmomma September 22, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    i don’t know anything about the mineral make-up – shop seems fine to me- but in the profile they link to their website- where you can also buy their products…

    I see more and more sellers that have off etsy websites (they put the links in their profile or shop announcement)
    isn’t this against etsy’s TOU’s?

  14. Cat Power September 22, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    madmomma…for some people it is against TOUs, but then there are those who can do no wrong, and get away with a whole lot of stuff we honest folk would get bounced for.

  15. PussDaddy September 23, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    I am not sure who would buy handmade make up anyway. I mean there is a reason that stuff that is put around your eye s is made in sterile environments. I would never buy it.

  16. MyBeautyAddiction September 23, 2010 at 5:27 am #

    To the original poster. I am not sure who you are or why you have decided to target me but I can GAURANTEE you that my pressed shadows are 100% handpressed by me. The containers as you mention are purchased from a chinese vendor and also I use these for my solid perfume samplers. The photo for that listing are of MY eyeshadows that I have cropped in print shop. As for the color chart YES, my color chart is from print shop, because I didnt have a photo of every color that I can press and it was the best I could do when I first started pressing shadows. I press my shadows fresh at the time of order. With over 120 colors of eyeshadow it would take me forever to get a photo of every color. But, I guess this is a good time to work on my color chart.

    My eyeshadows are NOT repackaged. Yes I purchase micas, pigments and other ingredients from TKB and other mineral sources, otherwise how would I get my micas and colors? The micas & pigments are blended with necessary base ingredients such as titaninum dioxide, magnes. stearate, etc, etc. and then triple grinded to a fine and smooth consistancy before I call it an eyeshadow. As for my Molten Metals line. 5 out of 9 of those colors are created and hand blended by me using the 4 basic colors.

    Yes, in my profile I do link to places I can be found on the web. But I can gaurantee you that I am not a dishonest person and I work my BUTT off to sell on Etsy. I rarely sell through my website at all and always refer all of my traffic to etsy because its were I have the biggest selection of products. I list more products on etsy than anywhere and refer alot of business to etsy.

    No I am not perfect, but certainly not a dishonest person. I sell Mineral Makeup, Bath and Body and Skincare products. Many are 100% handcrafted by me and some products start from a purchased base. Either way I feel that Im bringing a better and heathier product to the market than most mass produced products. And that is my goal as a business and as a crafter.

  17. The Unknown Etsian September 23, 2010 at 5:42 am #

    What ya think?
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/56286412/american-west-coach-handbag

  18. sick of cupcakes September 23, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/mytymelesstreasures

    Not handmade, obviously.

  19. JohnCock September 23, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    5 out of 9 are created or handblended by you? what about the other 4?

  20. MyBeautyAddiction September 23, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    There are 9 colors in my Molten Metals line. 4 basic colors are offered from the supplier. So 4 basic colors and 5 more that Ive blended to create additional colors.

  21. JohnCock September 23, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    So you repackage stuff you buy wholesale? What is handmade about that? Sounds about like a gift basket.

  22. MyBeautyAddiction September 23, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    Yes, I buy all of my ingredients, containers etc at wholesale. Whether it be micas & pigments, oils, butters & waxes or cosmetics actives. I blend, grind, mix, melt, measure and formulate to create my products. I couldnt create products without buying ingredients wholesale.

  23. JohnCock September 23, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    Buy you just said that 4 of the colors come already mixed from your supplier. So those you aren’t making yourself…

  24. MyBeautyAddiction September 23, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    I never said it comes already mixed and ready to go. I wish it were that easy. I dont just through a mica or a pigment in a jar and call it an eyeshadow. The Molten Line in particlular starts from 4 basic colors.The first 4 colors are beautiful and the color itself isnt altered, but there are other processes that are done to it before it becomes and eyeshadow and gets packaged. The next 5 colors in the line are the 4 basic colors blended together into more colors.

  25. The Unknown Etsian September 23, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/mytymelesstreasures

    Not handmade, obviously.
    __
    Its the dollar store in primatives!!!

  26. Hagatha Christie September 23, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Sounds like she’s altering or rebatching the supplied eye shadows and then repressing them, and making up others entirely from scratch. Sounds ok to me.

  27. hagwithmorals September 23, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    The Unknown Etsian Says:
    September 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm
    Your comment makes no sense. This seller only has 2 items listed and no sales made. Her items look legit. The feedback you’re seeing comes from all the items she’s PURCHASED. Way to call out a good buyer.
    ____
    Do you really think all those are as a buyer? The “private” feedback, the fact that there are “personal” type remarks as if one were chatting with a friend instead of giving feedback, the amount of things in a short time, the fact the style of comments is overly repetitious. Calling out a good buyer? No I think there is someone with multiple accounts doing her own shilling. The feedback is as fake as she is.
    ———————————

    Okay, I can see that if she had crap resale things listed in her shop earlier, then that’s definitely a problem!

    What I don’t understand is how she can be shilling since she has no sales. Do you think she has another shop or shops and was buying from that shop or shops using the bobbispicer account?

    Sorry if I sound like a clueless nasty bitch but Etsy has fried my brain with all the bullshit they keep throwing in the seller’s faces 😦

  28. Em September 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    hag w/ morals:
    I think it looks like she is using the shop called out here to shill other shops, is what they are trying to say. I think it definitely looks fishy… but can’t say for sure.

  29. hagwithmorals September 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    The Unknown Etsian Says:
    September 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm
    Your comment makes no sense. This seller only has 2 items listed and no sales made. Her items look legit. The feedback you’re seeing comes from all the items she’s PURCHASED. Way to call out a good buyer.
    ____
    Do you really think all those are as a buyer? The “private” feedback, the fact that there are “personal” type remarks as if one were chatting with a friend instead of giving feedback, the amount of things in a short time, the fact the style of comments is overly repetitious. Calling out a good buyer? No I think there is someone with multiple accounts doing her own shilling. The feedback is as fake as she is.
    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////

    Well, she’s chatty (some people are) and she’s also mentioned the following shops by name in her feedback to them. It really looks like she buys a lot of gifts to me. Here’s the shops she referred to:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/thecraftpantry

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/franticmeerkat

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/LittlePinkHouse

  30. fashion game September 23, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    thanks for us

  31. JK September 24, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    In the makeup community, when an eyeshadow is made of purchased TKB pigments it’s generally considered to be a repack, no matter how much base material is added and how many (purchasable by the public) TKB colours are mixed together. It’s kind of the charm-on-a-chain of the makeup world; some people consider it enough effort to be handmade while others disagree.

  32. detroit September 25, 2010 at 5:07 am #

    She seems okay to me. She’s buying ingredients, mixing and putting them in pots.

    It is kinda like the food stuffs on Etsy though. Local laws vary state by state. I live in Michigan (duh), and it used to be you had to make all food you were selling in a licensed kitchen. But, to spur the economy, the state lawmakers just passed a ‘cottage food’ industry bill. If your operation is small enough, you can make your stuff at home now.

    Not sure what the laws are on makeup? If there are any?

    Personally, when it comes to food and makeup, etc. I’d WAY WAY WAY rather buy from people who make the stuff in cleanly environments that someone with some knowledge of hygiene has come and certified.

    But, that’s just me. Some people don’t care, and, if they like the stuff and want to buy it – goody for them!

  33. detroit September 25, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    And yes, it does seem a bit charm-on-a-chain-ish. But, COC is totally Etsy legal, and WAY better than a lot of the shit they have on there. At least she’s not trying to lie to anyone about the stuff!

  34. JohnCock September 25, 2010 at 5:10 am #

    Don’t the make-up and B&B sellers have to carry insurance? You rarely see any mention of it.

  35. Riva September 26, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    From my quick look, out of the first 25 makeup sellers on Etsy I checked, only one has they are licensed and insured in their profile. That one has been there since 07.

    Anyone can repackage micas from TKB or wherever and call that makeup. Etsy allows it since it’s hand altered (i.e. repackaged). The way to make it from what I gather is to buy colored micas and make recipes, adding other ingredients to make it stick on your lids better or whatever.

    Hey JK, how else is it made?

Leave a Reply

