Minago

28 Sep

Minago’s etsy store sells this dress http://www.etsy.com/listing/57351617/boat-collar-suspenders-corset-formal
and online here http://www.dresses-gowns.com/Gorgeous-A-line-V-neck-small-train-Silver-bridal-dress-GOWNSLACE0280-10235.html C’mon, she really didn’t look like a model you would find in Bangkok right?! *smirk*

and you have to love the second photo in this listing
the fine print (get out your glasses) on the top states “Tokyo Fashion is a fashion and lifestyle brand sold in over 20 countries by website.”
http://www.etsy.com/listing/57272095/louts-leaf-sleeveless-chiffon-dress-grey

So much for handmade.
nearing 300 sales and Etsy hasn’t spotted this disaster of a shop? also note that none of their charms are marked as supplies..

37 Responses to “Minago”

  1. losinghope September 28, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57272095/louts-leaf-sleeveless-chiffon-dress-grey
    What the hell is size free???

    I so disgusted with these types of shops. I’ve been on etsy for over two years and it’s changed dramatically. Unfortunately, these types of shops will bring etsy down. I’m lookin at other venues now.

  2. Sara September 28, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    I believe this seller is a reseller as well….what do you all think?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/sequinpartydress

  3. Life During Wartime September 28, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Minago is located in Bangkok, but their clothing ships from China. Factory cooperatives may be allowed, but is drop-shipping okay now?

    I’m not sure about sequinpartydress, other than seeing the clothing is in really bad taste 😉 A few of the items are called ‘vintage reconstructions’ but nothing is said about what was changed, added, removed or whatever. It does sound like the person running the shop has nothing to do with making the clothes.

  4. mrpouncy September 28, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Several of sequinpartydress’ dresses are on eCrater, under kamishade. Like this one:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57544218/grey-argyle-off-shoulder-sundress-mini

    http://kamishadewholesale.ecrater.com/p/8384847/grey-white-checkered-mini-dress

    What is eCrater? Sometimes the prices are different, sometimes they’re the same or close. Are sequinpartydress and kamishade the same people? And kamishade used to be on Etsy:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/42319734/vintage-inspired-red-striped-one-piece

  5. WangFu September 28, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    NOTHING NOTHING NOTHING surprises me anymore with etsy. I am also looking at other venues. I am mad at myself for allowing etsy to suck almost every bit of my passion for handmade from my soul.

  6. Inspector Yuk September 28, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    You know, it’s kind of funny, although it’s not really funny, that at one time, not too long ago finding a reseller and calling them out here felt like you were doing something beneficial in ferreting out these shops and exposing them.

    Now, you can’t swing a dead cat in any direction without hitting a dozen of the slimy bastards.

    Once upon a time, when a shop was called out here, it was just a matter of time before we saw them shut down. Now, they just continue selling, get put in treasuries, on the front page and in the finds emails. They even manage to become a featured seller.

    Just makes me sick.

  7. ScrapMetal September 28, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I agree with Ms. Yuk- the resellers just stick around. Etsy admin either doesn’t care, doesn’t have time, or, at worst, “secretly” allows them to thrive.

  8. Life During Wartime September 28, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Etsy has no problems with rule breakers, as long as their items fit in with one or more of the Etsy trends.

    The front page I just viewed is a case in point. I really should rent a van, buy a load of cheap decor items at a big box discounter, and then open a vintage shop on Etsy. But that’s actually a very boring way to make a few bucks.

  9. madmomma September 28, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    SonofaBiotch… Kamishade used to be on Etsy- she had 3 shops and boasted that she makes clothes that celebs wear- but her stuff is not handmade by her… designed by her- but not made by her.

    Looks like Kamishade is back, this time she is disguising herself so she doesn’t get booted off again? What a freaking joke. Seriously, my shop is in the crapper-super low sales and here this garbage keeps getting sold.

    My question is why a**holes like Kamishade keep coming back to Etsy… It isn’t like they aren’t making $ elsewhere, so why clog up Etsy with their garbage?

  10. madmomma September 28, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    By the way- I just went to Kamishades etsy shop (sequinpartydress) and cannot BELIEVE that she says her name is Jasmine Howard- the kicker is that she says the same crap about everything being designed sewn and photographed by HER- she said that in her other 3 bios- and seriously??? her friends told her she needed to open an etsy shop. This pisses me off so much that I now understand why people make sock puppets on Etsy- to call out a** wipes like this.

  11. madmomma September 28, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh- one last thing on sequinpartydress – there always is the possibility that someone is re-selling all of Kamishade’s goods (and yes those photos look VERY familiar as she had some of those same things listed on Etsy back when she had her 3 shops)
    BUT, I bet anything that she opened the new account, jacked up the prices- that way if “called out” she can always claim that someone must be trying to re-sell her stuff.
    Placing my bet on that theory.

  12. mrpouncy September 28, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Funny. Yet sad.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/lovemamaboutique?ref=seller_info

    And whaddya know, there are ten of them in stock!

  13. mrpouncy September 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Ahem.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/LuCampisi

  14. detroit September 28, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    mrpouncy Says:
    September 28, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Funny. Yet sad.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/lovemamaboutique?ref=seller_info

    And whaddya know, there are ten of them in stock!

    _____________________________________________________

    How dare you call out this legitimate Etsy shop? Mr. Vuitton himself is a wonderful, unknown leathergoods craftsman. Living in Malaysia.

    That’s the problem with calling out. You never know the whole story. And can ruin the good reputation of an artist like Louis.

  15. Linda September 28, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Possible reseller
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/xiaolizi?ref=seller_info

  16. Cat Power September 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Linda…no “possible” about it….right off the chinese wholesale pages!

    I wonder if Etsy sends them “welcome to our site” cards. Wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest!

  17. jenjasmine September 28, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Cat, maybe etsy sends them a gift bag, the way they sent one to Shade.

  18. mrpouncy September 29, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    I love, love, love this description of a skirt from that “possible” reseller:

    That withering loneliness
    Under the clear sky, it is turbulent Undercurrent
    Lonely, pale,there has a litter smile In the mouth Department,
    Evening, winding, or it may be some Indulge.

    Mouth department? Are we still talking about a charming hippie skirt?

  19. Inspector Yuk September 29, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    You know, I can’t even joke about this anymore. I am so disgusted and disillusioned if I lived close enough to brooklyn, I”d go there and raise holy hell. For all the good it would do.

  20. Life During Wartime September 29, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I am beginning to understand why Etsy never did much with their S(r)CAMbot to find resellers, category/tag abusers, fake designer goods and so forth.

    Etsy has been busy developing software to selectively drive buyers AWAY from the site. No joke. I’ve been pruning my Suggested Shops every day since the X-out feature became available. And new shops, just like the ditched shops, take their place.

    I have artists among my favorites, but no art suggested shops! I am getting dozens of wall decals daily instead of painters. WTF?

    I have a specific type of handmade jeweler favorited, and I thought Etsy would take the hint and show me more shops with this technique. Nope! The jewelry shops I am getting are pretty much opposite in materials, technique, and look, to my faves. The technique I favorited has its own team, and all the member shops tag accordingly. The suggestion software hasn’t picked up on the obvious commonality. Speaking as a former programmer/analyst, this cannot be a mistake.

    I have a bunch of vintage shops favorited, and Etsy suggested almost every shop I’ve ever flagged for either passing fakes or selling altered goods as vintage. (No, I didn’t heart the shops I’ve flagged to check up on them later.) The software doesn’t seem to get the message that my hearting shops with vintage art pottery, for example, doesn’t mean I want to buy an antler mount, mason jars, and wire egg baskets.

    I’m getting suggestions that look like Etsy finds, with all the items titled and tagged with chapter and verse from the monthly marketing report. Conclusion: Etsy doesn’t give a flying youknow about what the shopper wants to see, what they’ve hearted, or what they’ve purchased. That is no way to run a business!

    This is what the staff has been occupied with this year. I can’t see it yet, but am guessing the custom front pages are more of the same. And in future, the custom Finds emails.

    Funny thing…I’ve only had a couple of factory co-op shops as suggestions. I wonder why…..

    I know this was long, but I had to vent!

  21. lurking September 29, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I have had a similar experience as “Life During Wartime”, with the suggested shop feature. My suggested shop list was pretty diverse up until I removed some shops yesterday (sellers that were selling women’s clothing, jewelry, hand bags, and baby clothing). Today I looked at my suggested list, and there were multiple pages of the very things that I removed…it was almost as though the site was trying to spite me, for having removed certain types of shops.

  22. Cat Power September 29, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    I’m actually quite glad that I never even bothered to take a peek at the “suggested” listings. I knew in my heart that they would be stacked toward what the “in crowd” thinks is great fun.

    Two thumbs down to Etsy and any of their “choices”!!

  23. Life During Wartime September 29, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    I would rather Etsy had ‘chosen’ to work on the reseller issue than pretending to be my personal shopper. As if.

  24. jenjasmine September 29, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    mrpouncy Says:
    September 29, 2010 at 5:20 am

    I love, love, love this description of a skirt from that “possible” reseller:

    That withering loneliness
    Under the clear sky, it is turbulent Undercurrent
    Lonely, pale,there has a litter smile In the mouth Department,
    Evening, winding, or it may be some Indulge.

    **

    Sounds like they over-indulged and vomited. How else to explain “litter smile in the mouth Department”?

  25. Linda September 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    I think that reseller I posted is also shilling. A lot of their feedback has very poor spelling and English grammar that reminds me of their listings.

  26. detroit September 29, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    That’s what I was saying in some earlier g*ddamn thread! LOL!

    I don’t know how they do their programming / work their algorithms, but it’s AWFUL! Their SCAMBOT harasses legit sellers, and allows obvious resellers to thrive.

    I can’t imagine how sh!tty their ‘suggestions’ would be.

    ETSY – since you’re so ‘DIFFERENT’ and an ALTERNATIVE to faceless shopping in malls and on Amazon (who’s algorithms are pretty good – btw) USE A HUMAN. One who’s not TOOO stupid. Not asking for a lot. Just someone with a pulse to audit a certain amount of flags.

    I’m sure, even if they’re a US public school graduate, they, like us, will learn to pick up on the telltale signs of resellers.

    Those telltale signs that can’t be programmed in by your Indian (ahem, I mean DIVERSE) IT staff.

    Try it. Take a look at the FP. Take a look at ‘pounce’. Click randomly thru your site.

    See all the BS? We do too!

    (Nothing against Indians! lol. Great country! Just, the “Indian programmers”, sooooooo predictable. Indian people can do a lot of other things too Etsy!!)

  27. uh-huh September 29, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    This dipwad again on the FP with their Dollar Tree items jacked way up in price, how many flags did Etsy get on this months ago? So sick of this.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/theroomnexttoyours?ref=seller_info

  28. JK September 29, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/storque/spotlight/etsy-finds-cozy-on-up-10639/#comments

    Sweet dancing Tinkerbelle, most of the ‘vintage’ choices in this one! The spouse came over to see what I was raving about, took a look and said ‘Now I see why you get so frustrated.’ I think this is it for me — all my researched, genuine vintage items will have to be sold elsewhere in the future, because people who collect real vintage aren’t going to be shopping at a venue that proudly advertises current-day used crap as the best they have to offer in vintage goods.

  29. The Unknown Etsian September 30, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    Sweet dancing Tinkerbelle, most of the ‘vintage’ choices in this one! The spouse came over to see what I was raving about, took a look and said ‘Now I see why you get so frustrated.’ I think this is it for me — all my researched, genuine vintage items will have to be sold elsewhere in the future, because people who collect real vintage aren’t going to be shopping at a venue that proudly advertises current-day used crap as the best they have to offer in vintage goods.
    ___
    How many more pairs of Payless shoes or Justin Boots (less than 10 years old) will will have to see. Who would wear “spats”? They would be useless in snow, rain or blowing leaves and they don’t exactly go with summer weather. Guess they are like the fingerless gloves – stupid looking and completely useless.

  30. sick of cupcakes September 30, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    I wear fingerless gloves exclusively, so don’t categorize them in with spats. They actually come in handy. I can’t operate a cell phone or ipod with full gloves on and here in the NorthEast, I need something on my hands for 5 months out of the year.

  31. JK September 30, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    What gets me is that this shit is what ETSY ITSELF is promoting as the absolute cream of the whole site. They’re telling buyers to look no further, because here is the best! And it’s all just tat that someone managed to photograph nicely and lied about so it would sell (and most of it did). Way to boost buyer confidence and build a great reputation for Etsy while looking like you know what the hell you’re doing, admin!

    I also like fingerless gloves, but that’s because I get anxious when I can’t feel things with my fingertips. I do have to admit that my fingers get cold, but at least I can tell my lipstick from my lip balm by touch when I’m rummaging through my purse! 😉

  32. BooYah September 30, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Screwing the brides, again. Girls, do your homework, because the staff at Etsy isn’t doing theirs………………..and don’t care if you have a tacky, sweatshopped wedding.

  33. gbmerkley September 30, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    The picture is beautiful. Pearl Jewelry

  34. BooYah September 30, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Yep, you are better off buying the photo. (from a fence)

  35. JR October 2, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    16 | Linda
    September 28, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Possible reseller
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/xiaolizi?ref=seller_info

    ——————–

    Such beautiful dresses, it’s too bad they are a reseller.

  36. HDTV Calibration : October 25, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    baby clothings should be loose and as comfortable as possible because babies are not very tolerant temperature extremes”*~

Leave a Reply

