krita

30 Sep

This item was included in today’s Etsy Finds Decor:

It has sold since I started searching for product info, a matter of 15 minutes.

Here is an online catalog page from a Danish store:

Note the similarity in the photos!

Here is a cached blog page about the rug I found on Google:

Hope the link above works.

These photos were in a link included with the blog entry above, showing more detail than the Etsy seller:

The Etsy listing has only one photo.  The description says the items they ‘offer’ are ‘entirely hand made’.  I find it hard to believe some person in India is handmaking a million wool fest balls and forming them into rugs all by themselves. (and then not be able to photograph it more than once)

I smell handcrafted mass production here.

I’m not sure, but an item like this may have been called out before.

Was shocked to see a commercial product in Etsy Finds, again.  I know there are actual handmade by seller rugs on Etsy.

35 Responses to “krita”

  1. WangFu September 30, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    There is no way in hell I would put that anywhere near a baby. Its like a massive mound of chocking hazards.

  2. WangFu September 30, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    choking, I mean.

  3. BooYah September 30, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    and $50 shipping from India. This is the sort of thing that shows everyone how STOOPID those Etsyfinds are. OR are they getting a kickback? naw, just lazy and stoopid.

  4. mrpouncy September 30, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Wow, that seller really has some…balls.

  5. bellacruz September 30, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Check out the shops feedback, too.

  6. Brian September 30, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    I searched the seller’s photo using “tineye” and I got 12 results. It’s interesting to note that tineye links the etsy seller’s cropped photo to the larger “Hayshop” photo. I won’t put actual links, but some of the results are at hgtv.com from July 9, 2010 “Top 5 Friday” which shows that picture plus a closeup with a link to a store in Toronto called “Mjolk” to buy it; balouga.com (search for “pinnochio hay”), several blogs that link the rug to the OP’s “Hay” site, and some foreign sites I can’t read.

    So in other words, either the etsy seller is copying the rug design and stole the photos, or they’re resellers.

  7. imwithya September 30, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Not only do admin constantly feature resellers in Etsy Finds, they don’t even care enough to look at the seller’s feedback. Several times I’ve seen items from sellers with lots of feedback about horrible quality and buyers not receiving their orders. Why should sellers like that be rewarded by Etsy? Don’t you think they should reserve those spots for sellers who comply with the TOU and offer good service.

    I’ve was featured in Finds once and it was unbelievable how many views and sales I got for a couple of days.

  8. imwithya September 30, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Oops… “I was featured”

  9. JK September 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    I’ve also noticed some promotions of sellers with really bad feedback. Surely, that can’t be a good way to lure in buyers!

  10. Lizzy September 30, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    I remember when Etsy was my world…. now I keep repeating the same phrase over and over *Quit your Etsy Job* instead of QYDJ. I just don’t care so much any more. I have already been a featured seller so my 15 minutes of fame are up. Etsy is still my main selling venue but the love affair is over.

  11. Em September 30, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    imwithya – I was lucky enough to be featured in the finds once as well and it sickens me that these scum resellers are stealing spots from honest, deserving sellers. And for those who say that being on the front page and in the finds doesn’t really make that much difference… uh, yeah it does! Witnessed it myself (it was awesome lol).

  12. Hagatha Christie September 30, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Here’s one for you. Amazingly, she painstakingly hand carves foam and then somehow attaches the moss to it so perfectly that it looks like it was made in a factory! That;s how good she is. Also amazingly, I just saw a bag of these exact same stones being sold 6 in a bag at the dollar store.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/56556855/moss-stone-set?ref=tre-4ca5006f29de6d91448cd327-5

  13. sandra October 1, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    Sheesh. Check out this shop. http://www.etsy.com/shop/HeyYoYo?ref=seller_info

    It looks like she cleaned out Oriental Trading Company. She’s marked everything as supplies – googly eye glasses, plastic finger rings, cheap plastic toys. However in her descriptions, she doesn’t try to pretend that they can be used as supplies, just as party favors and fillers for grab bags.

  14. adoringhag October 1, 2010 at 4:22 am #

    hahaha! typical etsy factory finds!

  15. max October 1, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    wow, sandra. that heyyoyo shop is 2 years old with over 11,600 sales.

    no long-term resellers on etsy. nope.

  16. The Unknown Etsian October 1, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    Don’t think heyyoyo is that bad. Those things are actually supplies that people might use in crafting/cooking/party favors.
    I looked back over a lot of the shops shown here in the last month or so. Some of them are GONE.

  17. it stinks October 1, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Hagatha Christie, that shop has been called out her before. Her “zen garden set” can also be found at the Dollar Store. Apparently, the “room next to yours” is the Dollar Store’s stock room.

  18. Hagatha Christie October 1, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    Wow. I;m naive. I guess I don;t understand why etsy doesn;t do anything about this kind of thing. Nothing in the shop is handmade, it;s all from the dollar store. I should do that too, I see tons of cool stuff at the dollar store that I know I can turn over on etsy.

    (sorry about the apostrophe thing, my keyboard is broken. Every once in a while the apostrophe works but I usually get a semicolon)

  19. boots October 1, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    yes but i thought supplies were meant for crafting! if you want bs for your kids party its called Party City not Etsy

  20. upsetsy October 1, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I haven’t posted before but this stuff is starting to really make me too annoyed. I have a theory that etsy is encourageing these resellers so that somewhere down the road when they start to sell the fp spots to advertisers, they can charge big money for the spots, the kind of money that only a “collective” can afford. Why else are they ditching the etsy finds? Because someone has decided to go after the big fish for the big ad dollars. Just a theory.

  21. mrpouncy October 1, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Upsetsy, that’s a great name. I’m so upsetsy too.

  22. Carter Baizen October 1, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I’m pretty sure that wool-ball rug was also “offered” by Bella, one of Etsy’s most infamous crazies.

  23. upsetsy October 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Thank you mrpouncy! I wish we didn’t have to be upsetsy, but they’ve left us no choice.

  24. kitten October 3, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    imwithya said:

    Not only do admin constantly feature resellers in Etsy Finds, they don’t even care enough to look at the seller’s feedback. Several times I’ve seen items from sellers with lots of feedback about horrible quality and buyers not receiving their orders. Why should sellers like that be rewarded by Etsy? Don’t you think they should reserve those spots for sellers who comply with the TOU and offer good service.
    _______________________________________

    I curse everytime I see lunarloungedesign promoted in the Finds. Nearly ALL their feedback (even the positives) are negative. Who would buy from such an atrocious seller?

  25. heyyoyoshop October 21, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Have you guys ever considered that the fact that you don’t sell that much is because your products and photos are crap? Maybe instead of complaining so much about what others are selling you should work on making your items more appealing to buyers. If your handmade goods are so great you shouldn’t need to worry about all this “cheap plastic crap” a lot of us sell. There’s a reason we have so many sales on Etsy…because party planning is an art in itself and very creative. To buy a bunch of party supplies and create an event is a lot more creative than buying a knitted scarf and sticking it in your closet. A lot of us selling party and baking supplies take great pride in scouring the planet for interesting and fun new items to add to our shops. It’s a lot more creative than going to Wal-Mart to buy yarn and knit mittens. Give me a break already!

  26. Jessica October 21, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    I have run across a few etsy bashing sites in the past few weeks and all I can say is…get a life!!! You have way too much time on your hands. I couldn’t agree with heyyoyo more that if you spent time on making your products and pictures better rather than worrying so much about what others are doing you would make it to the front page all the time. It does seem like you’re offering a crappy product that no one wants and you need someone else to blame for your inadequacies. As one of the other commentors said, many of the shops linked to in this post are no longer there…etsy is a huge marketplace and etsy does it’s best to police those wholesalers that should not be on the site but they can’t get to everyone right away. With this being said, I also believe you need to open your eyes a bit and get with the times…to bash heyyoyo’s shop as one of those “wholesale” shops is insane. You might go buy crap for your kids party at Party City (and that’s why your party probably sucked), but other moms choose to create a wonderfully unique party by transforming products like what heyyoyo sells into something amazing (which is why those parties don’t suck). My suggestion would be to channel all your negative energy and hatred of others into making yourselves better people…and maybe you’ll actually turn out a quality product worthy of being on the front page of etsy. Obviously all this bitching and complaining about others is getting you anywhere because you’re still on here bitching and complaining and your products still suck!

  27. Amy October 28, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    That etsy seller from India, probably works in the production line that makes those rugs. They probably take the second hand items that they throw away and sells them on Etsy. It seems kinda smart to me.

  28. throomnexttoyours November 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    @ Hagatha Christie’s comments,I don’t appreciate being called a “dollar store stock room” regarding my my stones and sculptures…I do make all the items in my Etsy, if your here in Seattle your more than welcome to come to my studio and watch me make them, I do offer classes.As for the moss stones, it’s called “flocking” that’s the green that is applied to the foam such as in my mini diorama magnets. My boyfriend and I make the Zen garden sets out of re purposed wood and as stated we purchase the rakes that come with them. read the descriptions before you start calling people out on the internet! We have our work featured in many shops and galleries in the Seattle area…
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/theroomnexttoyours?ref=seller_info
    So like I said, I offer classes on how to make this and your more than welcome to come to my studio…just in the future you all need to find something better to than criticize and bad mouth peoples work with out them knowing!

  29. throomnexttoyours November 19, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    oh and you to “it stinks” come on over and learn how to make these in my classes….

  30. tasha December 26, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    But it’s OK when Anthro does it:

    http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?navAction=jump&id=983068

  31. Abi June 8, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    The real question here is how is one person allowed to have 2 shops selling identical things? Case in point:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/74264197/45-gumball-yummirug-round-felt-rug-45ft

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64447130/45-ft-yummi-rug

    I thought that was not allowed? The banners are even identical. How on earth is that Etsy legal? Why the need to have two shops selling the exact same things? And where are you in Florida? I would love to come tour your workshop and watch you make your rugs.

    And if you truly make these rugs why not use your own photos? Instead of stealing them from online?

    http://daddytypes.com/2009/03/17/pinocchio_rug_come_schnuggle_on_my_felty_balls.php

    Some company called Hay sells the same exact rug, same exact picture.

    I love it when people post here themselves defending their shop, but they talk in third person so we don’t think its them.

    Buying party supplies online on Etsy that I can get from a local store in my area never made much sense to me. There is nothing unique of special about any of those supplies. They can be found anywhere. Now, the sellers who make fondant cake toppers, or party supplies actually made by them to give that special unique feel to a party. That I would buy.

  32. M January 12, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    You all have a good point, however etsy has gotten crazy and I was/am on the receiving end on the etsy integrity team, which is a joke, they shut my shop down because someone flagged/reported me that I do not make my items by hand. I am screaming slander, defamation of character inside.
    I have prayed about it and have decided that etsy is not for me
    anymore, where anyone can just go and report/ flag you because you are a competition in their field too, where you are insulted and judged by hired etsy sellers who draw nudes and sell them and have no experience in how to make mosaics, which is what I do.
    Were you and your art is slandered, defamed by a possible disgruntled none paying buyer, or jealous competition and etsy is willing to be part of this crazy game by doing what they doing. I was shut down 2 times in 2 weeks, no explanation, no reason given, no item mentioned they are questioning, just telling me I do not make my items by hand, because someone else did tell them so.
    I had complied with all their dumb requests to the T with the exception that I cannot take photo’s of myself making my art. I cannot afford this sophisticated camera on Social Security. I had to write a “dissertation” almost for them to defend myself. Now they want the same documentation on how I make my items with pics and links to suppliers, my bills etc. on a shop I have never opened. There were never any listings, nor did I ever made any items for that shop I changed my mind and did not open it. There is no feedback.
    This hired etsy helper is not right in her mind on a power trip. Whatever happened to question the accuser first if and where they got their info that I am not making my items by hand.

    My life is to short to be bothered by such ignorant people, I wish to go back to being happy and have a good night sleep.
    I thought another venue to sell
    Just look at my blog, I do make my items from scratch and by hand.

  33. kitten January 12, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    M said:

    /// where you are insulted and judged by hired etsy sellers who draw nudes and sell them and have no experience in how to make mosaics, which is what I do.
    ___________________________

    Who are these hired etsy sellers who draw nudes and sell them and don’t know how to make mosaics?

    You said to look at your blog, do you have a link?

  34. M January 13, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Here is what I do in detail….

    http://myeuropeantouch.blogspot.com/

    and here is what I have done and sold

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/viktorias_cottage/sets/72157608657314769/

    and this etsy helper girl shut me down for good and told me basically my items are not handmade. I am over it, I am done with that web site for sellers.
    I use old china plate rims and stained glass I cut up to recycle and upcycle vintage substrates.
    Thanks for asking

Leave a Reply

