alexbridal

21 Oct

I never really explored Alibaba – holy crap – you can get just about anything and everything on that site and some of the distributors have THOUSANDS of items each… WOW- no wonder some of the resellers on Etsy get away with their scams for so long.

It took me over an hour to find this, but then again, there are so many exporters making the same things that after a while they all start to look the same. the background on this one popped out at me. also I learned to type in key words from the suspect product descriptions from etsy –

anyway here is just ONE shop and one example that I found… more to come after I give my eyes a break!

on etsy: http://www.etsy.com/listing/59249345/ivory-34-sleeve-bridal-alencon-lace

on alibaba : http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale/wholesale-alencon-lace-bolero.html?productId=350245167&isFreeShip=y

All tie dye background photos are found here: http://bridalhundredpercent.en.alibaba.com/productgrouplist-210321302-2/Wedding_Accessories.html

Looks like one just sold yesterday!

40 Responses to “alexbridal”

  1. Laura October 21, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    It’s depressing, but Etsy isn’t anything at all what it used to be. I highly doubt this seller will be removed. They just need to come out and state it. It’s not a handmade site anymore.

  2. The Unknown Etsian October 21, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    I think the new slogan for Etsy should be “Etsy – your place for used shoes!”

  3. LaDeDa October 21, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    The brides get taken again.

  4. Life During Wartime October 21, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Free clue for all the brides-to-be out there: someone who designs and handmakes their own bridal fashions does not usually refer to their creations as ‘products’.

    Godz, I wish I knew how to photoshop HeyMichelle’s face on all the mannequins in that bridal shop! Because she is the fairy godmother to resellers on Etsy.

  5. sick of cupcakes October 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I would do it, LDW….but I don’t want to look at her face for the amount of time it would take.

  6. thisetsychick October 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Ha! LDW, great visual.

  7. eyefortineye October 21, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    disgusting again. note 683 sales in less than ONE year.

    direct me to pics of heymichelle and I’ll do it fer ya 😀

  8. madmomma October 21, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    “Etsy- your place for used shoes”

    ROFL!!!

  9. losinghope October 21, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I’ve been watching the FP today and it’s been favorties one after another. Wrenwillows tees are nice but 3 to 4 times a day??? Come on…

  10. Pox October 21, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Something like 9 or 10 of the treasuries have been from the same team since midnight. Yes, I have been counting.

  11. Pox October 21, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Sorry, make that 12

  12. Life During Wartime October 21, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I’ll look for a nice headshot of Michelle. Thanks, eyefortineye!

  13. Life During Wartime October 21, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    WJW, Pox. That’s not because the team members spend their personal time creating thoughtful, unique, treasuries. It’s because Etsy has a go-to list of curators who can be trusted to push the Etsy look and Etsy marketing agenda.

    Sucks.

  14. hagwithmorals October 21, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    poleslug has been bitching on twitter because her team HASN’T been on the FP. Selfish twunt.

  15. Pox October 21, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Twunt is a fantastic word.

    I don’t think anyone’s team should be on that often. I am on a team and I don’t even want mine on that often.

  16. JK October 21, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Holy Batman – Don’t think DC Comics or Seame Street would agree to this. Whoever the seller is, they purchased an advertising spot for the Holiday Decor today. Isn’t this legally wrong? Correct me if I am in the wrong.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57969868/

    (((sigh)))

  17. Mrs. Dooch October 21, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    You mean Raceytay has only been on the front page twice today? GASP!!!!!!

  18. The Unknown Etsian October 21, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Holy Batman – Don’t think DC Comics or Seame Street would agree to this. Whoever the seller is, they purchased an advertising spot for the Holiday Decor today. Isn’t this legally wrong? Correct me if I am in the wrong.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57969868/
    (((sigh)))
    ____
    This is a canned program that is licensed. They buy it, plug in your kids name and peddle it to you. Hardly handmade.

  19. um no October 21, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/FryShopping

    love the coaching in their profile and every listing…

    puke.

  20. Life During Wartime October 21, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    ‘FRY SHOPPING IS A PLACE OF HANDMADE GOODS THAT ARE MADE WITH LOVE AND CARE TO MAKE PERSONS HAPPY . ‘ Oh, please. Don’t shout your coached BS in factured English at us. My parents both learned English as a second language, so I am being an Ugly 2nd Generation American here 😉 Raise the prices for your ‘handmade goods’, so you can hire a proper translater for your shop, reseller.

  21. Geek Goddess October 22, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    Speaking of calling out, are you going to run a piece on coralgate also known as storquegate? If you haven’t heard about it, just google etsy + coralgate… I just closed my shop because of it.

  22. hagwithmorals October 22, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    WTH?!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/paintertang?ref=seller_info

  23. amused October 22, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    The fact that Frye Shopping has been reported so many times (by myself included) and remain on Etsy ‘made with love’ proves that Etsy is either completely clueless (less likely) or truly letting the site become inundated with reseller crap (more likely). What a scam to all of the buyers and sellers who once put their faith in Etsy to be what they promised.

    One thing I still do not understand is how they decide which resellers stay and which ones go as we know they do shut some of them down. Long term sellers perhaps?

    Even though I can find resellers on Artfire (and Dawanda where I have had a shop for a couple of years), I took advantage of the Artfire deal and am slowly moving listings. The recent BS Etsy has thrown in our faces is the last straw and the treatment has been simply unacceptable. They deserve no respect and no money for their lack of effort.

  24. sick of cupcakes October 22, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/59623586/original-hand-painted-oil-painting-on

    Oil painting? I think not. That pic is all over the web.

  25. stinkypants October 22, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Notice that the shitty baseball painting is priced higher than the AUTHENTIC GEORGE CLOONEY oil painting.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/59570691/original-hand-painted-sports-baseball

    Now THAT’S a reaaaal oil painting. Wonder why they weren’t able to muster that same attention to detail. Hmmmmmmm.

  26. Sydney October 22, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I tin-eyed the George Clooney listing. Seems like 16 other people also have that “oil painting”.

  27. hagwithmorals October 22, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    I REALLY want this as my new avatar, complete with the disclaimer across the bottom!

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/59558803/original-hand-painted-oil-painting-on

  28. Life During Wartime October 22, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I don’t understand Art Fire, amused. I’ve looked at some of the new listings and shops since their special deal took effect. I see sellers listing items on AF they haven’t dared to list in their Etsy shops (not that they couldn’t get away with them on Etsy as well). I’ve seen drop-shipped kitchenware on AF listed as a ‘supply’, for example. Art Fire doesn’t charge listing/renewing fees, so I don’t understand why AF doesn’t tell a called-out/flagged shop ‘you have 70 items listed, and 67 of them are fine, but these 3 don’t belong on our site — please delete them, or we will do it for you.’

  29. sickofstupidshit October 22, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    “PLEASE DO NOT COPY MY ART I WILL REPORT YOU TO MY LAWYER”

    copy a copy?

  30. sickofstupidshit October 22, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    oops, his WORK – not art

  31. sickofstupidshit October 22, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    oy, the coral debacle… stupid, moronic kids running etsy. not so much a slam on their age, but their mentality and immaturity regarding most issues. nobody working there seems to be able to think through anything. “Dude, sounds kewl. Ban coral. Let this bag write an article for us even though she doesn’t sell here. Let her link to her off-shore, mass-produced, not-handmade-by-her jewelry selling in Saks, etc.” Social issues on the surface sound fine, but get a grip hipster dufus admin and actually think through before you spew.

    heh, heh.. new bumper sticker: “please think through before you spew”

  32. Life During Wartime October 22, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I like ‘Please think through before you spew’! Another is ‘Check your source before you endorse’.

    Coralgate is up there with the top Etsy SNAFUs. I wish I could say I am shocked and surprised that the original article has not yet been deleted from the Dorque, with all links removed from Google. However, Etsy admin never admits doing wrong, making mistakes, or that they shelter resellers.

    I am gonna play The Great Carnak here, and predict that within 5 years true handmade and actual vintage will be HTF (hard to find) on Etsy.

  33. The Unknown Etsian October 23, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    I am gonna play The Great Carnak here, and predict that within 5 years true handmade and actual vintage will be HTF (hard to find) on Etsy.
    ____
    I will guess 18 months…..

  34. bigcatnamedRIO October 23, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Just saw this thread. I wish more of you would complain directly to Etsy about the curation of the main page. I’m very tired of seeing the same sellers featured daily if not a few times per day…They told me months ago that the were developing an algorithm to combat repetitive featuring of the same sellers, but obviously they haven’t installed that program yet!

  35. sickofstupidshit October 23, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    bigcatrio: oh, there are too-many-to-count threads (most get closed) concerning the FP and treasury issues. people do complain directly to the etsykids, but we get the same response as when we inquire about resellers: “We don’t see it, but if YOU see it, please notify admin.”
    What in the world do they get paid for?

  36. kitten October 25, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Geek Goddess

    If you haven’t heard about it, just google etsy + coralgate… I just closed my shop because of it.
    ________________________

    Wow, back so soon? What kept ya? lol You’re a regular Nelson Mandela. lol

  37. madmomma October 28, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Why is this shop still open on Etsy????

  38. CrochetLover November 13, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    Alibaba sellers are notorious for stealing other company’s pictures. It looks like that they started to steal pictures from etsy sellers, not only from some big bridal company. I tried to search on alibaba using “birdcage veil” as the keywords and found out a lot of items from etsy sellers! The first one I believe belongs to brendasbridalveils, or brendasbridalveils ordered from alibaba and resell it? And you can find Tessakim’s birdcage veil on alibaba, too. I can also see so many bridal gown pictures that belong to alfred angelo, maggiesottero, etc., keep popping out on alibaba.

    People are insane here.

  39. CommonNom November 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    However I believe Alex Bridal is still too large of a company to be selling on Etsy.

    I always knew that the China factories were stealing images from large companies and knocking off their designs left and right, but now Etsy sellers? What the hell?

  40. tv amr March 15, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Its as if you learn my mind! You peer to know a whole lot relating to this, just like you wrote the e-book there or something. I feel you’re able to do by % to pressure your message home a bit, but instead of that, which is wonderful blog. A terrific read. I’m going to definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

