TwilightDistinction

24 Oct

http://www.etsy.com/listing/53301278/transformation-sterling-silver-filagree
http://auntiestreasures.com/filigree-butterfly-ring-p-14661.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/54415286/transformation-sterling-silver-filagree
http://auntiestreasures.com/butterfly-filigree-ring-p-14372.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/52588932/reduced-transformation-sterling-silver
http://auntiestreasures.com/filigree-imitation-garnet-butterfly-ring-p-2456.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/53302359/transformation-sterling-silver-butterfly
http://auntiestreasures.com/butterfly-ring-p-14373.html

The second set

http://www.etsy.com/listing/54683433/movable-teeth-ring-in-solid-sterling
http://www.dragonweave.com/mens-silver-rings.html#jaws
http://auntiestreasures.com/unisex-moveable-jaws-ring-p-14288.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/55576574/adjustable-lullaby-ring-in-solid
http://auntiestreasures.com/adjustable-treble-clef-musical-notes-on-music-staff-stave-ring-p-12919.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/53412895/turquoise-in-sterling-silver-ring
http://auntiestreasures.com/rope-beaded-edging-long-turquoise-ring-p-13929.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/54061086/engagement-ring-or-right-hand-ring-in
http://auntiestreasures.com/cubic-zirconia-ring-border-p-14028.html

The last set

http://www.etsy.com/listing/45730965/solid-sterling-silver-turqouise-cuff
http://auntiestreasures.com/turquoise-open-wire-cuff-bracelet-s-shaped-design-p-1691.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/53784514/her-engagement-ring-or-right-hand-ring
http://auntiestreasures.com/square-cubic-zirconia-ring-cubic-zirconia-border-on-plain-b-p-13983.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/55192742/sterling-silver-victorian-antique-rose
http://www.etsy.com/listing/55504523/sterling-silver-victorian-antique-rose
http://auntiestreasures.com/rose-ring-p-14314.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/51289466/reduced-sterling-silver-rose
http://auntiestreasures.com/rose-ring-coin-edge-p-14287.html

list of links is reader provided.

73 Responses to “TwilightDistinction”

  1. Life During Wartime October 24, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    This shop has been called out a few times before in comments. I imagine they have been flagged hundreds of times, with the links in this call-out provided to Etsy. It is sickening, but it looks like reselling (and I don’t mean the BS about factories being collectives) mass produced, generally available, new merchandise is okay on Etsy. Abandon hope all ye honest sellers.

  2. jenjasmine October 24, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    “Sterling Silver will not fade, peel, chip or *change colors*. Thank you.”

    What a dork!!!! They don’t even know anything about silver, let alone making jewelry.

    Asshole. Thank you, asshole, for being an ignorant sack of lying shit.

  3. Life During Wartime October 24, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    Sterling Silver won’t change color? I guess her inventory moves so fast she’s never seen it tarnish.

  4. linda October 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Frustrating. I bought something from her other store ugh.

    I reported all of them, doubt it’ll do anything.

  5. Sydney October 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Has anyone seen this shop yet?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/jewelry1016

  6. Inspector Yuk October 24, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Yep, flagged this shop and gave links to every single item on aunties treasures. Not surprising, but appalling just the same.

  7. jenjasmine October 24, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Most bizarre feedback ever

    http://www.etsy.com/people/armcandyforyou/feedback

  8. sick of cupcakes October 25, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    I love waking up and seeing my favorite cupcake on the FP with her mediocre jewelery.

  9. JK October 25, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    Etsy: Where mediocre, derivative pieces are what we advertise* as long as the pictures are pretty!

    (*on the rare occasion we’re actually promoting someone who isn’t a reseller!)

  10. The Unknown Etsian October 25, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    I was cleaning out my emails and found something from Etsy about learning how to promote from the “stars”. Gee, if we learned all these things would that let us get on the front page multiple times a day like a certain jewelry “artist”. Sort of hypocritical, don’t ya think?
    Etsy – you place for new shoes and views of cupcakes!

  11. sick of cupcakes October 25, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Ya, I remember the “stars” email. Nothing but a bunch of tag stuffers.

  12. kitten October 25, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    jenjasmine
    October 24, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Most bizarre feedback ever

    http://www.etsy.com/people/armcandyforyou/feedback
    ______________________________________

    Which one, about the shipping from India? Armcandy started a thread about the buyer who left the Private feedback and she included a link of the feedback the buyer left. They said the buyer appeared to be targeting resellers. Is Armcandy a reseller?

  13. amused October 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/davidtaylordesigns?ref=seller_info

    Anyone have the Disney contact info handy?

  14. amused October 25, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/artofjewel?ref=seller_info

    I’m so glad I sell jewelry………..my own.

  15. Inspector Yuk October 26, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I believe the address to report copyright or trademark infringements is designated.agent@dig.TWDC.com

  16. Mara October 26, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    So, apparently “vintage” is the same as “vintage inspired” as long as you’re hocking wedding dresses.

    Cringe:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/afadedrosewedding?section_id=6884899

  17. Life During Wartime October 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    I can’t tell the age of the dresses, but I doubt they are all 20+ years old. And she has them all listed in Handmade Wedding. She’s totally safe, though. Blurry sepia photos, super girly items (I mean, what’s more girly girl than a wedding dress?), designer names, a fair number of sales. Sucks.

  18. losinghope October 27, 2010 at 4:22 am #

    Gag…another FP from the regulars. Out of 8 gazillion treasuries how do they keep showing up? Etsy, we can see that they are your favorites. Have you no shame?

  19. sick of cupcakes October 27, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Are there many bee keepers in Brooklyn?

  20. um no October 27, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    Check out twilightdistinctions shop and announcement….

  21. amused October 27, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Thanks Inspector Yuk!

  22. imwithya October 27, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    OMG is TwilightDestinction gone????!!

  23. Life During Wartime October 27, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Not gone. Their items have disapppeared, which means somewhere in cyberspace Twilight is huddled with Etsy’s (reseller) defensive coaching staff. See:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TwilightDistinction#

    still there.

  24. Kris10 October 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Oy! “Technical difficulties”. “Listings on the fritz” “Shop my sold items”.

    Liar, Liar pants on fire!

  25. imwithya October 27, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Oh damn… I swear I got an “uh oh” when trying to look at their shop. I’m sure they’ll be back once they complete Etsy’s coaching class.

  26. WangFu October 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Yeah, I was just going to say. I am sure they will be back once etsy coaches them. I’d put money on it.

  27. Wolf October 27, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Now I’ve seen everything on Etsy-

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/59656812/2004-ford-f-250-1-owner-lariat-king

  28. detroit October 27, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    So, based on the above link to the forum thread, Etsy took this down not for the shop’s reselling, but b/c they got a fat cease and desist list from Summit over all the ‘Twilight’ shops on Etsy?

    I hate overly aggressive corporate copyright / trademark protection (FFS, twilight is a time of day…Summit can’t OWN it). But, it gives me bit of pleasure to see Etsy scrambling to cover it’s ass when the real adults come a-calling!

    If only there were rich corporations with deep pockets and legal teams who would somehow want to prevent Etsy from having resellers too, not just copyright violators.

  29. WangFu October 27, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Well, that is sad. So this shop will be back under a different name. Fuckity fuck.

  30. madmomma October 27, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Mara nice job on finding the wedding dress reseller-

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/afadedrosewedding

    the seller even states she still has the tags in some of the dresses- and hello- she even states that they are not vintage- but she liked them so much she had to include them.

    Etsy can shut that shop down right now. Jeezus.
    and the effin truck- really?

  31. boots October 27, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    of course the truck is still fucking there but the thread is closed

  32. boots October 27, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    i think members should just keep doing call outs on the daily in the forum

  33. sick of cupcakes October 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    The truck fits in as well as about 90% of the other asshat listings on etsy.

  34. linda October 27, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    She’s started adding some of the items into her other etsy shop:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/58810883/her-engagement-ring-solid-sterling

  35. jenjasmine October 28, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Don’t tell anyone, but you can find closed threads now when you do a search in the forums, hahaha, etsy!

    Please test this for me, I think my insomnia might be making me hallucinate.

  36. mrpouncy October 28, 2010 at 4:09 am #

    Yes, I just searched “truck” and came up with the two closed threads about the truck for sale. I didn’t see the listing – was it vintage? Can you sell a vintage auto on Etsy?

    The thing that bothers me about the truck is that it sounds like the seller thought Etsy was an auction site; it wasn’t clear to them what Etsy is. How many other people are unclear on this? It shouldn’t be this unclear what Etsy is.

  37. Wolf October 28, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    38 | mrpouncy
    October 28, 2010 at 4:09 am

    Yes, I just searched “truck” and came up with the two closed threads about the truck for sale. I didn’t see the listing – was it vintage? Can you sell a vintage auto on Etsy?

    The thing that bothers me about the truck is that it sounds like the seller thought Etsy was an auction site; it wasn’t clear to them what Etsy is. How many other people are unclear on this? It shouldn’t be this unclear what Etsy

    * * * * *

    It was a 2006 Ford F250 Lariat.

    I have screen shots.

  38. detroit October 28, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Okay – I don’t pay much attention to what’s actually on the FP (though I’m aware of the repeats issue).

    Just checking Etsy periodically over the past few days, at various times of day, I have noticed Polestar on the FP EVERY SINGLE TIME!

    I know she lives in BK. Is she related to / dating an Etsy employee?

    It’s unbelievable! And I have nothing against her jewelry. It looks fine.

    Who has the record of FP appearances? Is it possible to tell? Can you use that craftcult page to show you?

  39. losinghope October 28, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    There should be some sort of limit as to how many times a day?,week?, month? that a shop appears on the FP. There’s just to many fabulously photo’d items to have only a choice few appear again and again. Etsy needs to step up and do away with the favoritism. It’s so blatant it turns my stomach!

  40. detroit October 28, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Okay – I don’t know too well how to use Craftcult. But it appears that since March 09, polestar has been on the FP 245 times. Is that right?

    That means that she’s on the FP about once every other day???

  41. sick of cupcakes October 28, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I’m thinking that people add her to their treasuries just to get on the FP. Seems to be a sure thing.

  42. sick of cupcakes October 28, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Xenotees has been on 289 times at least. Seems every time I look, one or the other is there.

  43. losinghope October 28, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Here’s a few more:
    smallearthvintage 245,
    thefancylamb 217
    Xenotees 289
    pipinghotpapers 233
    oneclaybead 206
    What’s more is that they’re all in each others treasuries! Nice…but not fair.

  44. Stacey October 28, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Very “multi-talented” seller….

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/allaboutchic

  45. Life During Wartime October 28, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    PoleStar doesn’t live in Brooklyn, unless her Profile isn’t real.

    Her photos make my eyes ache. Her jewelry is okay, but ordinary. The most noteworthy thing about her is her sycophantic forum posting. I have seen her encourage noobs in the forums to violate the TOU with irrelevant tags.

  46. em October 28, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    lirola has been on the front page 244 times.

    Can’t say I’m surprised. Assuming that is her modeling her clothes… she is gorgeous, and she makes nice things. Still ridiculous amount of appearances though.

    Wonder what it’s like to have that much free exposure just handed to you…

  47. em October 28, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    And the highest so far.. thepeachtree, with a grand total of 309.

  48. detroit October 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh – you’re right. Sorry, I think I confused her with another wire wrap jewelry cupcake – lol. (Who has the moody model looking out the window onto the grey day (and is an Etsy fave from BK?))

    So, it’s even more baffling then. At least, if Polestar (sounds like a stripper name) was shtupping Kalin, or Hey Michelle, at least I could understand! ha ha. (Sorry – honestly – I hate the game, not the player, the Polestar joke was unnecessary, it just popped into my head!)

    Maybe they have some algorithm that shows that when Polestar’s on the FP, the Etsy sales are boosted? Her stuff is perfect – lower priced – but not TOO low. Cute, but not too perfect – so you get that hand-madey feel. And generic enough to have broad appeal?

    Has Etsy ever explained how they go about picking the FP? Anywhere?

  49. sick of cupcakes October 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    A peach tree grows in Brooklyn.

  50. detroit October 28, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Oh! Right! Peachtree! That’s who I was confusing with Polestar. Peachtree IS in Brooklyn.

  51. madmomma October 28, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Detroit-
    I also want to know HOW Etsy chooses the FP treasuries… I don’t think anyone *really* knows, or has it ever been explained. I searched high and low all over the Etsy forums and it seems everyone has their “ideas” of how they are chosen, but no hard facts.

  52. sick of cupcakes October 28, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    They calculate the lack of color against the percentage of cupcake in each treasury, and that’s how they decide on the FP.

  53. hagwithmorals October 28, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    sickofcupcakes nailed it!

  54. Life During Wartime October 28, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Etsy features all have the 90s look. If you can find videos of Rachel Ashwell or Martha from the 90s, copies of old Williams-Sonoma family of catalogs, and 90s issues of METROPOLITAN HOME, that’s the Etsy look to aim for. Also, animal kitsch and objects that appear to be damaged or are actually dirty. And jewelry that has sharp ends, edges, or points to snag hair, skin, or clothing.

  55. um no October 28, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Peachtree’s jewelry….YAAAAWN… I could have a class of first graders whip that crap up. It IS amazing that Etsy chooses her of ALL the amazing jewelry artists for the front page daily. Maybe I’ll go take a pic of some clumpy cat litter, blur the edges and hold it next to me staring out of a window and see if I can make the front page.

    Polestar? I just won’t go there.

  56. eyefortineye October 28, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    1) lol and agree with LDW’s #56 🙂

    2) polestar is kind of a bitch

    3) I’m sick to death of orange/turquoise modern/retro/midcentury crap that everyone seems to think is so “new, fresh and edgy”
    Brini Maxwell anyone? She, personally, cracks me up because she’s tongue-in-cheek and doesn’t take herself too seriously.

    Freakingetsylemmings

  57. uh-huh October 28, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    If people don’t stop using seasonal props in their photos which have NOTHING to do with their items (that alone I can accept) but also TAGGING the goddamn item with the PROP stuff so they get ahead in search and treasury by grace of the stupid prop and NOT the item itself, I will shit myself and die.
    So let me say goodbye now.

  58. Wolf October 28, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    58 | eyefortineye
    October 28, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    2) polestar is kind of a bitch

    * * * *

    KIND OF?!?

  59. PussDaddy October 28, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Don’t stores use seasonal props or whatever to sell things? Although I admit it is not always the item itself that made me choose it for a treasury.

  60. The Unknown Etsian October 29, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    Polestar recently said she is 19 years old. (if true). Her BD is early May. She joined in 2008. If so, she was 17 years old at the time. So if all that is true, she violated TOU from the beginning.
    Kinda? No REALLY.

  61. Life During Wartime October 29, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    eyefortineye, I decorated my kitchen last year in aqua (sort of turquoise) and orange. I am not a hipster. I’m just a longtime vintage dealer who likes to display personal collections. Or maybe my parents took me out to eat too many times at HOJO’s when I was a kid.

  62. em October 29, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I don’t really want to get talking about any one person… but didn’t Polestar say she had kids? I know she said she was married, which for a 19 year old is a pretty big stretch already.

  63. The Unknown Etsian October 29, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    eyefortineye, I decorated my kitchen last year in aqua (sort of turquoise) and orange. I am not a hipster. I’m just a longtime vintage dealer who likes to display personal collections. Or maybe my parents took me out to eat too many times at HOJO’s when I was a kid.
    ___
    I like turquoise too and would paint my whole house that color if I could. But probably not much orange.

  64. PussDaddy October 29, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    My stove and oven are an old vintage turquoise General Electric set.

  65. sads October 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    why must etsy pick & choose favorites? if you go on the community page, some of their twitter feed is shown and they have their follow friday (a twitter tag) with certain sellers. If they aren’t going to do it with everyone why do it at all? It sucks. I dont see anyone in the forums posting about it, but it reminds me of when danielle posted about receiving a gift from peachtree.

  66. candi October 29, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Polestar is not 19. She was making a joke in the forums. She’s in her 30’s – stay at home mom with kids. Her photos and jewelry are nice – nothing against her. I just don’t think the same seller should be featured several times a day. It’s not necessary.

    My personal opinion is that she is extemely mean in the forums. I used really like her shop, but her attitude has totally turned me off.

    As for thepeachtree – I really don’t get it. I don’t care for her jewelry and I don’t know why she is featured so much. I also don’t like how she breaks the rules with her crazy tagging.

    Etsy is like high school. I’m sick of it and I don’t think I will shop there any longer.

  67. uh-huh October 30, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    61 | PussDaddy
    October 28, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Don’t stores use seasonal props or whatever to sell things? Although I admit it is not always the item itself that made me choose it for a treasury.

    —-

    Yes, of course stores do. And of course Etsians do.
    The difference comes in on Etsy when the seller TAGS the prop, you’re not supposed to do that. If you’re selling wooden benches, PUMPKIN should not be in your tag just because it’s in your photo. You’re not selling a pumpkin, or a purple artichoke, or a cranberry, or whatever you sat on top of the bench to make a pretty picture. That is a an abuse (albeit ‘clever’) and wrong use of tagging, that pays off. So if we all tag with this shit, no wonder the search is fucked up. People do it with background colors, too. It is endless.
    This shop loves to do it, and it gets them on the Front Page because treasury makers run across their non-search-related item when doing a search. “But it’s so pretty! I don’t care if they’re abusing tags!”
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/56941396/milkmaid-stool-hand-hewn-salvaged-sugar

  68. PussDaddy October 30, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Oh I see, uh-huh, thanks for that explanation.

  69. sick of cupcakes October 30, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    You mean I don’t get the water with this bench?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57793494/two-jointed-flitch-custom-bench-or-shelf

  70. uh-huh October 31, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    Nope, sorry, no water.
    Also, here…..
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60145820/thanksgiving-harvest-cutting-board-in?ref=v1_other_2

    …. you won’t be getting:
    indian corn, multicolored, confetti, colorful, rainbow.

    You get a piece of wood. A very lovely piece of wood, but JUST a piece of wood.
    Still, their “cranberry” tag got them on the FP AGAIN today.
    Treasury makers don’t give a shit apparently. We know Etsy doesn’t.

  71. em October 31, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I think putting a number on tags is really counter-productive. On Zibbet and Artfire, you can put in as many tags as you want, which usually results in fewer than Etsy gives you and the amount that is really appropriate for the item. People need to stop telling others to use every single tag, because that causes them to use irrelevant tags just to fill up all the slots. Of course, there will still be abusers, but they will probably be a lot more obvious.

Leave a Reply

