girlybox

28 Oct

finally cracked open Girlybox on Etsy… (the name is so dirty! lol)
all I have to say is “Girly, it’s time to shut you down!”

http://www.etsy.com/listing/57604906/girlybox-dressup31-blue-deep-v-dress

http://coniefox.en.alibaba.com/product/335067415-210476534/2010_Coniefox_New_Arrival_evening_dress_56316.html

http://www.etsy.com/transaction/32287617

http://coniefox.en.alibaba.com/product/254072527-210476606/55668_Fashionable_Designer_evening_gowns_and_prom_dresses_2009.html

and the rest can be found here:http://coniefox.en.alibaba.com/

84 Responses to “girlybox”

  1. bigcatnamedRIO October 28, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    They vendors need to just move over to iOffer where most Asian re-sellers/middlemen of factories sell to Western buyers who want such things straight from the source. You can tell immediately when shops are merely re-selling when the product listing includes an industry standard style code with letters and numbers like “dressup31″…The Etsy marketplace is so cluttered with knock-offs that it’s becoming more and more like eBay.

  2. adoringhag October 28, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Ya got to love alibaba.

  3. detroit October 29, 2010 at 2:44 am #

    Cmon you guys! These are just some crafters from Shenzhen! They learned the fine art of making polyester Western formalwear from their Grammas!

    Trivia – Did you know most of the world’s Ipods, IPads, IPhones, Thinkpads, etc. are made in Shenzhen?

    Such a crafting culture!

    And, isn’t it CRAZY that in the 70’s, Shenzhen was a fishing VILLAGE? And now it’s a city of like 15 million? With a ton of the world’s tallest buildings?

    And that China has surpassed the US in the number of PHDs? (from very few just a generation ago) And will now be slingshotting past us.

    Say Nihao to our new masters. In the scheme of things, US global dominance will have been but a blip.

  4. WangFu October 29, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    I’ll be that “Girly, its party time” is covering up a watermark. Any takers?

  5. sick of cupcakes October 29, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    What will they do in China when there are no more girls to procreate and sew cheap ugly dresses?

  6. Wolf October 29, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    With all the bullshit Etsy has been doing to its sellers recently, it wouldn’t surprise me if the site went to noting BUT resellers and mass manufactorers instead of handmade.

  7. Cat Power October 29, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Have you read MagicJelly’s post about the 50,000 item cut off in category searches? That means that shops like this with unlimited funds behind them, will always appear and the average shop with only the occasional relist will disappear forever!

    Wolf, I think you are correct about the site being all resellers in a year or so….that is if the cupcakes smarten up and leave….but there will probably be a few die-hards that will forever sweeten the coffers of E.

  8. losinghope October 29, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    Etsy is giving us the finger. The last 2 FP’s featured everyone we listed yesterday in the other thread. And, you think they don’t read this blog…

  9. it stinks October 29, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Why would the cupcakes smarten up and leave? They’re the ones who gets all of etsy’s coveted exposure – what with constant front page spots and all. They’re the handmade population who are actually making tons of sells on etsy since they get all of that free publicity.
    Well, other than the resellers and used shoe sellers.

  10. losinghope October 29, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Buying used shoes is almost as bad as buying used under pants.

  11. detroit October 29, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    Cat Power
    October 29, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Have you read MagicJelly’s post about the 50,000 item cut off in category searches? That means that shops like this with unlimited funds behind them, will always appear and the average shop with only the occasional relist will disappear forever!

    Wolf, I think you are correct about the site being all resellers in a year or so….that is if the cupcakes smarten up and leave….but there will probably be a few die-hards that will forever sweeten the coffers of E.
    ______________________

    Wow. Not being a seller I’m unaware of all these BS issues. As someone in a thread discussing it pointed out – the cutoff is just a sly way of trying to encourage more renewing!

    That renewal issue, and searching on Etsy in general, is BS! At least on Ebay you don’t have to renew, renew, renew.

    I’m really curious how much, or what portion of Etsy’s income is from renewal fees.

    The renewal issues makes Etsy feel really scam-y.

  12. detroit October 29, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    I like this comment from Loopyboopy about the lack of a ‘goto’ function with Etsy search results (UN-believable – there really ISN’T ONE??? How are people supposed to find anything):

    “Greg you ever try to make a treasury on Etsy?

    Great promotion for shop owners to be in treasuries as we all know.

    Well if I’m creating a treasury the only people I’m including are those on the first pages cuz I don’t have time to click 25x to get to page 50. So it’s become very obvious the only way to get promoted or be seen randomly in the search is to remain on the first 1-20 pages of the search, in other words renew. We are not stupid. “

  13. detroit October 29, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    So, Etsy doesn’t force people to categorize their items, like Ebay does?

    I know there are TONS of issues with Ebay. But they did sort of invent the wheel (of hosting a selling site for individuals, with GAZILLIONS of items).

    With that many items, you have to make sure people can find what they’re looking for, and not get a ton of unrelated junk. Or they’ll just get PO’d and leave.

    Also, love Polestar chiming in about how people shouldn’t worry about problems with search. WELL, of course she doesn’t worry about search! She’s on the flipping FP EVERY DAMN DAY! No one has to search at all to come across her stuff.

    Okay, not only is she an FP favorite, she IS annoying. I’ll say it now, don’t care for her jewelry. lol. Boooooo-ring.

  14. detroit October 29, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Etsy needs to get rid of the stupid tagging system. It makes no sense.

  15. WangFu October 29, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    I have noticed a significant drop in views and sales since I stopped relisting. Can someone link to MJ’s post? I would love to read it.

  16. sick of cupcakes October 29, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I like Loopy. She always makes good sense.

  17. detroit October 29, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I don’t know which thread CatPower was referring to, but here’s the ‘official’ thread:

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6666393&page=1

    It’s ridiculous (the 50,000 item cutoff). In saturated categories, the oldest items (nos. 49,998 etc) are only 2 weeks old.

    That means, after you pay tor listing fees, you lose your listing service after 14 days! Even though you paid for the full 4 months.

    Also, even if your not in a really saturated search result, if you don’t endlessly renew, and your item’s on page 15 (instead of 1 thru 5), what are the chances a buyer’s going to click thru one by one, to your page, Since they can no longer ‘goto’, and skip past the 14 pages of newly renewed, mistagged reseller crap?

  18. losinghope October 29, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I stopped renewing about a year ago. Just lately I’ve noticed the older items on my site get very few views. I, too, agree that the tag system is not efficient. We’re one of the only selling sites that have them and the abuse that goes along with it.

    Etsy doesn’t give a crap and keeps giving us new features nobody wants. Fix the damn search, get rid of tags, and keep the cupcakes off the front page!

  19. sick of cupcakes October 29, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    I stopped listing altogether. It’s just not worth it anymore.

  20. Life During Wartime October 29, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I’ve given up shopping on Etsy and making treasuries. Because so many item titles are meaningless, and so many tags are irrelevant, search doesn’t work. When Etsy removed the Jump To a page box, that ended shopping and curating for me.

    With Etsy’s new cap on search results, it’s like Ruby Lane (pay to be visible AND search cutoff) and TIAS (massive category abuse and deceptive titles) got their freaks on and had a monster baby. Not a good place to sell unless you are willing to pay (and pay and pay….) to be seen.

  21. em October 29, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    I just opened my shop on ArtFire. I was always reluctant to for whatever reason, but it is so refreshing. My sales on Etsy just randomly tanked one day and I’m pretty sure most of the business I have had is a result of being featured in the Finds anyway, which then tells me it’s going to be an uphill battle getting harder and harder unless I randomly become one of the ‘favorites’ and have everything handed to me.

    ArtFire has so many seller tools and their support system seems really great. I checked out the forums and saw a thread made by the COO who is also a photographer, and he was answering questions and giving advice on improving photos. And I didn’t see one complaint thread!

    In light of all this renewing bullshit and the politics of the featured spots, I’m hoping I can take my shops off Etsy entirely. I just hope others can do it too. Etsy treats their customers like shit. If it were any other venue besides one people depend on to make $$, everyone would be gone in a fucking second. I know I would have been gone months ago if I didn’t need my supply sales to make rent.

  22. losinghope October 29, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    I’m thinking of Artfire,too. A couple of high profile shops have gone over (keeping their etsy shops) and that may draw buyers over there. Do they have many resellers yet?

    Is there anyway to circumvent etsy’s FP when clicking on your shop? I don’t even want to look at it anymore.

  23. madmomma October 29, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Etsy just drives me effin nuts these days… When trying to find re-sellers – Just doing a basic search for wedding dress brings up an ass load of unrelated crap. Headbands for babies and tons of vintage shite. And this is when I seach HANDMADE.

    Just reading up on the whole 50K cap thing – thanks for the link…

    I would love to join artfire, but I’ve looked into the categories that I sell in and they are pretty dead. Which could be a good thing, but also a bit scary for someone who depends on Etsy as their entire source of income (which at the moment is averaging about $600 a month in sales… ouch!)

    The resellers piss me off to no end and I cannot even come close to their prices- and then that they get on the front page over and over again- and I sadly renew a million things over and over, just to get shoved to the bottom of the list- oh yeah- and thanks Etsy F-nuts for taking away the “go-to” button.

    Seriously, this weekend I am creating sock puppets (don’t create them from the same computer you use for your regular accounts as Etsy takes the time out of their busy schedule to cross reference IP addresses when people are “thought” to be sock puppets) and am going to do some calling out in the forums.

    *on that note- how is it that Etsy can play “private investigator” on sock puppets, but they can’t effin figure out re-sellers, sellers with undisclosed multiple accounts, when re-sellers re-open accounts and all that junk?
    I mean how many credit card accounts can one person open a shop under? that should be such a simple thing for Etsy to be able to figure out.

  24. sick of cupcakes October 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Because etsy WANTS the re-sellers and others to stay. They make big bucks from them.

  25. Lou October 29, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    If etsy attracts money grabbers like this then I want no part of it and even to go so low then callout someone in your shop title is disgusting. She has tried to bully so many artists on etsy. http://www.etsy.com/listing/59834894/hey-lulaaaaaaaaaa-bis-do-not-copy-me-by?ref=cat3_list_27

  26. sick of cupcakes October 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    Do artists copy her?

  27. Lou October 29, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Anyone that does animal watercolor paintings she contacts threatening with legal action saying her work is copyrighted. She has been reported to etsy so many times. Nothing done about it other them warning her not to use convos to abuse other artists.

  28. Carter Baizen October 29, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I really dislike ebay, but as a buyer, it is so much easier to FIND what I’m looking for there than it is on Etsy. The tagging business is weak as hell. I seriously can’t ever find anything that I am looking to buy, due to most tags being stuffed or just plain wrong. They need a new system, for real. It’s incredibly annoying.

  29. Carter Baizen October 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    That watercolor artist thinks people are copying her? I hope she never sees my son’s watercolors of animals, as they look pretty much exactly like hers… because they are freaking WATERCOLOR PAINTINGS OF ANIMALS

  30. Sydney October 29, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I think I might put my beadstuff on hiatus and start watercoloring again.

    I was a freaking pro at watercolor flowers in high school; I’m sure cute lil’ bunnies can’t be much more difficult.

  31. Sydney October 29, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Speaking about the dimdi person, try searching “watercolor bunny” on Etsy — when the eff did a raccoon, dog, fox, bear, birds and an effing monkey suddenly become a bunny?!

    Really! A monkey tagged as a bunny.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/55414988/monkey-question-8x10in-watercolor?ref=sr_gallery_40&ga_search_query=watercolor+bunny&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=&order=&includes%5B0%5D=tags&includes%5B1%5D=title

    its also tagged as a whale.

    This tagging system really needs to be fixed.

  32. The Unknown Etsian October 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Artfire has done a lot to improve the site recently. I think it will build more and more as people become disillusioned with Etsy. Etsy is pretty random as to TOU, rules, etc. They won’t fix things like tags, resellers and favoritism or go after blatant copyright violators. They have spent time and money “fixing” things that were not broken and giving “enhancements” like recommended shops (why? why? why????).
    It would be nice if some financial analyst gave them the no-go to potential investors.

  33. Thud October 29, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I am thinking it is time to crack open the Artfire account.
    Usually I am over-run with sales by November for holidays (kid stuff) and while my business continues to grow, my sales and views have tanked in the last three weeks. Ugh. I was rather counting on this holiday season.

  34. ebilly October 29, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    “I would love to join artfire, but I’ve looked into the categories that I sell in and they are pretty dead. Which could be a good thing, but also a bit scary for someone who depends on Etsy as their entire source of income (which at the moment is averaging about $600 a month in sales… ouch!)”

    I am in one of those dead categories on AF and I am selling $400-$500 each month there. It will take 4-6 months to get the sales you need.

  35. detroit October 29, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    But do they allow cupcakes on Artfire? Literally? I don’t see a food category..

    (Oh – I see brownies there. I guess you can sell food…)

  36. amused October 30, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    Xenotees seems to live on the front page, aren’t they lucky and aren’t we so frickin’ bored!!

  37. uh-huh October 30, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    I should have seen the writing on the wall, but of course all this etsy shit all comes to a head *after* the AF account frenzy earlier that I didn’t take advantage of……. I’m an idiot for sticking with etsy so long when they don’t care

  38. sick of cupcakes October 30, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    Aw come now. Xeno’s only been on twice so far today and 3 times yesterday.

  39. madmomma October 30, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    ebilly-
    good point! and the more i think about it- the less competition there is in my category on artfire could be quite a benefit… I do have an account on AF- but only listed a few items… they got a few views in the several months they were up
    I just have to really give it a shot… no harm in that!

  40. kitten October 30, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Carter Baizen
    I really dislike ebay, but as a buyer, it is so much easier to FIND what I’m looking for there than it is on Etsy. The tagging business is weak as hell. I seriously can’t ever find anything that I am looking to buy, due to most tags being stuffed or just plain wrong.
    ________________________________

    I have never had ANY trouble finding what I want to buy on ebay or Etsy, so I am always surprised when I read this. I guess I should consider myself lucky. I’ve never been this far along in my Christmas shopping this early thanks to Etsy.

    On a sad note….I guess I’ve been living under a rock and not paying attention, but just only noticed Xenotees, TheFancyLamb, Raceytay, Shavingkitsuppplies, OhForCute (tired of the baker’s twine already!), etc… items are all tagged teamt. Looked at their team website and blog and now I feel all, disgusted I guess is a good word.

    It just seems so snotty and elitist and really not playing fair in my eyes. Yes Etsy allows those teams, but should they? To only want to promote your small group really sucks. I’ve really been naive!

  41. Life During Wartime October 30, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    I’m wary of Art Fire. Shops on Etsy that pretty much stick to the TOUs are listing new thrift junque, wholesale and/or drop-ship in their AF shop.

  42. The Unknown Etsian October 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    I’m wary of Art Fire. Shops on Etsy that pretty much stick to the TOUs are listing new thrift junque, wholesale and/or drop-ship in their AF shop.
    ___
    Can you say who? I am not and I haven’t seen any.

  43. kitten October 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    The Unknown Etsian
    October 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I’m wary of Art Fire. Shops on Etsy that pretty much stick to the TOUs are listing new thrift junque, wholesale and/or drop-ship in their AF shop.
    ___
    Can you say who? I am not and I haven’t seen any.
    ________________

    Yes, please do tell LDW!

  44. Carter Baizen October 30, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I sold on etsy for a couple of years, and I did pretty well with sales… relatively speaking, of course. I did it as a work-at-home parent, and the number of sales I made didn’t totally overwhelm me. I stopped listing new items gradually, as I became more and more frustrated with the general jackoffery of the etsy company, and I finally shut my shop down for good over the summer. Can anyone here who sells on artfire tell me more about it? Pros/Cons? I’ve really never given it a look before, but I may now.

    I do still buy on etsy, but I will most certainly never sell there again. Which I’m sure they could not care less about, but oh well.

  45. detroit October 30, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Carter Baizen
    October 30, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    …I did it as a work-at-home parent, and the number of sales I made didn’t totally overwhelm me……

    ….I do still buy on etsy, but I will most certainly never sell there again. Which I’m sure they could not care less about, but oh well…..
    __________________________________________
    Give Artfire a try. Or one of the other sites. Can’t hurt, right? Most…you lose a couple bucks listing fees.

    I must say – though I have a LOT to complain about w.r.t. the Etsy ‘look’, I do think the Etsy home page, looks more sophisticated than Artfire. Which, is really inconsequential. What matters are the items for sale. But, superficial things DO matter. I do wish there was a ‘better’ (IMO) alternative.

    Anyway, I just quoted you to say, ‘Way to go parent who’s imparting basic correct grammar!!!!!’ You’re doing your kids, and society a great service.

    Every time I see “I COULD care less…..” (no ‘not’, or ‘couldn’t’), my blood pressure rises. And, this coming from someone who’s partner says NU-CYUH-LER!! We argue about it constantly. He says I’m picky. I say, who cares, now that you know a more logical pronunciation, why not use it? He says, ‘Iran is TOTALLY pursuing nu-CYUH-ler weapons! I don’t buy they energy argument for a minute!’

    ….and my blood continues to boil…..

    And, if I’ve made any mistakes, please point them out! I’m not embarrassed or offended! I love to learn! And, I realize language is not absolute. And is constantly evolving. BUT!!! Don’t tell me you COULD care less!!! Unless you mean it. In which case, me too!

  46. Life During Wartime October 31, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Art Fire Call Out: http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=2107749

    Found this item originally listed in AF Vintage (!?!), before it was moved to supplies. Since then the seller has added more kitchenware ‘supplies’ to the shop, including another teapot. The teapots are easy enough to find on a bunch of sites, mostly for a lot less money. The listing language stating the seller does not have the item for sale in her possession suggests a drop-shipping arrangement to me.

    Seller has a shop on Etsy, dreamweavershop, which does not include mass manufactured kitchenware. I do see some reseller jewelry items there, though.

    There is a lot of buzz about how ArtFire holds standards which Etsy has abandoned. I disagree. I think AF is as troubled as Etsy, maybe in different ways, but still seriously lacking in quality standards..

    I could post more AF call-outs, with comparisons to Etsy shops, if anyone is interested. It’s hard for me to believe that AF had plans to add 20K new shops under their discounted fees offer, with nothing in place to prevent a reselling boom.

  47. Carter Baizen October 31, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Thanks, detroit! I know exactly what you mean.
    And I do agree that the overall “look” of artfire could stand an overhaul. It may sound petty, but it really does matter.

  48. LaDeDa October 31, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I check my email every day. If I sell something, I sell it and if I don’t I don’t. Obsessing or even giving a shit anymore is just not on my agenda.
    I do what I do and don’t give a fuck anymore about what etsy does or doesn’t do because the staff there certainly don’t give a fuck about me or what I want. We’re in a mutual ignoring relationship.
    If I want to buy on Etsy, I’ll figure out how to do it outside their system, and if I get a request from a customer I will do the same. Not one extra cent goes from me to Etsy if I can do anything about it. They broke their contract with me a long time ago so I don’t give one second thought to screwing them if it is at all possible.

  49. kitten October 31, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Hmmm, a teapot as a supply and it’s not even in stock.

  50. Kori Houghton October 31, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Yeah, kitten! I wonder if you selling grilling herb mixes on AF, can you sell grills, too? How about hand slaughtered meat?

  51. detroit October 31, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Maybe not politically correct – but can we start a Craft Nazi site…”That’s not 20 years old!!! NO ACCOUNT FOR YOU!” Zap! “I don’t care if you have ‘proof’ you made that! NO CRAFTS FOR YOU! You’re banned from the site!”

    I’ll be a forum admin. I’ll ban people for ass-kissing and annoying passive aggression / smugness. Also for grammar infractions if I don’t like them. And any hipster irony I don’t like.

    The content people can ban people at their will for mustaches, steampunk and woodland animals. Also, for bad photographs including wan girls, gratuitous camel toe, and faded shots that only artfully include 1/3 of the item – so you have no idea what it actually looks like….

  52. madmomma October 31, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Kitten says “On a sad note….I guess I’ve been living under a rock and not paying attention, but just only noticed Xenotees, TheFancyLamb, Raceytay, Shavingkitsuppplies, OhForCute (tired of the baker’s twine already!), etc… items are all tagged teamt. Looked at their team website and blog and now I feel all, disgusted I guess is a good word.

    It just seems so snotty and elitist and really not playing fair in my eyes. Yes Etsy allows those teams, but should they? To only want to promote your small group really sucks. I’ve really been naive!”

    _____________________________

    I am on Etsy all the flipping time and have a couple shops there and have NO idea about teamt – or any blog- what the heck is teamt?

  53. madmomma October 31, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Wow- I now understand the FP treasury BS – so basically if you are not a part of a major team that works on building treasuries- you are shit out of luck… and good luck getting accepted into some of those exclusive teams.
    the whole thing sounds a bit like a high school clique. no thanks…
    but I will have fun using treasury team tags in my own listings just for fun. I just talked to a few of my crafting pals and they are also going to do the same, just to see if we can throw things off for a while.

  54. ebilly October 31, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Life During Wartime,
    item has been flagged.
    Art Fire Call Out: http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=2107749
    4 flags and it gone.

  55. sick of cupcakes October 31, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Detroit, I’d sign on for that!

  56. detroit October 31, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    “No shop for you!!”

    lol

  57. sick of cupcakes October 31, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    “Next!”

  58. em October 31, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    that teamt stuff is bullshit. I’m a part of a treasury team, but we focus on including NON TEAM MEMBERS more than the team members ourselves. It’s just being nice to shops that need a little extra boost, not selfish self-promotion. And shame on Etsy for featuring their treasuries 9 times out of 10. I’m sure they make a shit ton of treasuries, but they can’t be the only aesthetically pleasing ones out there.

  59. kitten November 1, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Well Em, TeamT International has different goals than your team….. “Our main goal as a team is to support one another in lots and lots of treasuries.”

    How noble.

  60. Life During Wartime November 1, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    ebilly, the teapots are gone — amazing.

    Now if the owner of AF could only decide to remove handmade items from vintage I’d reconsider opening on AF. It’s useless to flag the handmade faux vintage because the owner is still on the fence about whether ‘vintage style’ and ‘repurposed’ vintage are really Vintage or not. Those ‘keep calm’ prints have been listed as Vintage it seems like forever, with no sign of anyone telling the shop owner to move ’em.

  61. Sarah (with an H) November 1, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    I know there are some mixed feelings out there about Regretsy, but you just gotta love it when they take time from featuring things the general public finds hilarious to call attention to something that only us Etsy sellers will enjoy. And nothing gets crap pulled off of Etsy faster than Regretsy shining a cold hard tens-of-thousands-of-readers light on it! http://www.regretsy.com/2010/11/01/featured-seller-girlybox/

  62. madmomma November 1, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    How awesome that Regretsy picked up on Girlybox!!!
    I love that NOW the dresses are off Girlybox…

    Now on the whole team b-shit…
    I am still compiling my list of the a-wipe teams that dominate the front page on a daily basis) and THOSE are the ones I will be adding to my listings.
    There are great teams (usually the location specific teams) but our team doesn’t do crap with treasuries, or promoting within and all that high school clique BS…
    So – I did my homework, Etsy doesn’t get involved in team tag “violations”- they would be IDIOTS if they ever DID try – what one team tag means to an actual team could just very well be a code word that I give to my clients so that they can find my items in an etsy search…

    What do you mean your team wants me to remove MY ________ tag? If anything, YOU should stop using MY tag as I don’t want my clients to have to weed through YOUR items when they are pulling a search with MY tag.

    or…
    REALLY? You should be happy that I am not charging YOU for all the views I am bringing your items that are marked with the same tags that I use on my products… again why are YOU complaining about getting free views due to my customer searches?

    or…
    Well, thanks for NOT accepting my request to be on your team- I REALLY didn’t want to spend my limited spare time sitting around making silly treasuries full of the SameOlShit by the SameOlShops… but it is actually kind of fun tagging my items with “your” team tag- just the sheer fact that you are up in arms that I am using the same TAG as you is quite amusing and much better than actually ever being accepted into your team.

    and the best one yet…
    Oh I am (not) sorry that you feel so like my tag is interfering with the ease of your treasury making… oh- you mean it is a PITA to see my items come up on your tag search? well gosh darn- I was thinking the same damn thing – it is a royal PAIN in the ASS that your shit keeps coming up in searches when I am trying to create a treasury that EXCLUDES people from your team… and you happen to really be irritating me- because every time I look at the FP on Etsy – I keep seeing the SAME Ol SHIT. SO- with that said, you can take your tag and stuff it where the sun doesn’t shine- because I am going to keep using the same team tags as you until you a**holes learn to give everyone a fair shake. (and I will continue to pass along the list of team tags to other NON team members and ask them to also do the same (putting treasury team tags in their listings until people like you quit being exclusive aholes.

    enough said.

  63. kitten November 1, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    I’ve already seen a thread (closed, I think) that a seller was notified they were in a treasury by the curator. Said seller then started a forum thread telling the curator they shouldn’t be using treasury tags. I thought that was a bit much, calling our the curator after they included you in their treasury. I’ll have to try and find it! Maybe you were the curator madmomma, lol. 🙂

  64. detroit November 1, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    HA HA! That’s awesome. Spamming the treasury mafia with your items! I love it. If I had a shop, I’d do it too. It’d be awesome if a supplies seller, or some high volume shop did it. Tagged like 300 listings of zippers and buttons with their ‘secret’ code.

  65. detroit November 1, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    And, I’m PISSED about the Regretsy thing! (I do like Regretsy). But it pisses me off that Etsy wastes the community’s time, asking us to flag items, and send them detailed emails….only to ignore it all, and say ‘These things take time.’ and, ‘There are no long term resellers on Etsy!’

    They’re perfectly happy to ignore us. Only when someone who has a big website, and a book deal and shit points out the BS on their site, THEN they decide to act.

    Why are they taking it down when Regretsy points it out, but not when many Etsy members have flagged it??? It’s frakking INSULTING!

  66. sick of cupcakes November 1, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Detroit, etsy still isn’t doing anything. Someone set up a sockpuppet acct and bought all those shit dresses. I just hope they don’t trace her back to her real acct and give her the boot.

  67. detroit November 1, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    Oh, right. Etsy sucks even worser….

  68. etsycallout November 1, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    what’s insulting is that Etsy DIDN’T take it down- someone had to buy all the dresses for them to be gone.

  69. madmomma November 1, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    ooh- i didn’t even look at girlybox’s sold items… either someone was pissed and set up a sock puppet (no matter how much you want a shop to go away- using a sock puppet to empty a shop is wrong ) – sock puppet to call out- yes, to send informative notices to sellers about scammers and resellers, yeah, ok, but not to wipe out someone’s shop…

    OR the shop owner got a sniff of what was about to happen- and created their own sock puppet to make it look like they sold out of the dresses well before the etsy police could come get them.

    all speculation from me.
    yeah- it is pathetic that Etsy can’t get their shit straight.
    that is why i constantly promote this site to friends and customers, etc… and i try to crack shops when I have a free moment…
    perhaps in the hope that some day etsy will take notice of their own absurdity?

    again- if you are going to have a sock puppet- make sure you never use the same computer (IP address) that you regularly use for your Etsy accounts as that is how MANY people have been caught. Etsy likes to stick their noses SO far up their members asses that I wouldn’t be surprised if they have someone assigned to trying to hack into this site, etsy bitch and other off etsy sites- just so they can keep tabs on people. OK, probably not, but those people that work at Etsy like to troll for info and seriously- if they take the time to cross reference IP addresses to find sock puppets- god knows what else they are capable of doing.

  70. Life During Wartime November 1, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    madmomma, I think your second option is what happened. The seller ‘bought’ her own dresses. Etsy would have just made all her items disappear while they coached the shop owner, but she already knew the drill. You buy your own products so that potential buyers who find the listings cached on google can still peruse your sold items and convo you to order. And you know just about anything can be listed on Etsy as a supply so you replace your inventory with all supplies, but you add the word vintage all over the place because ‘vintage’ is a big feel good meaningless word on Etsy.

    Resellers are far more concerned about being exposed on Regretsy than flagged.

  71. jenjasmine November 1, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Why would a seller buy her own dresses and leave a scad of negative feedback?

    I don’t think this reseller would do that.

  72. Life During Wartime November 2, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    You’re right, jenjasmine! When I saw the dresses were gone, the feedback rating was still like 98% positive. It looks like the Regretsy readers don’t give a rat’s patoot about Etsy banning their ISP for sockpuppet buying.

    Since a sock made the buys, I guess the dresses will be back in the shop for sale after girlybox complains to Etsy. Sad and funny at the same time.

  73. jenjasmine November 2, 2010 at 1:55 am #

    The whole thing makes me want to vomit. I just know that this crappy reseller will get her fees back (His, Their?) and all the listings put back, because after all,some meany sock puppet was picking on them, and broke the TOUs. :,(

    I’ll just go away now and cry in my soup, don’t mind me.

  74. Scrapmetal November 2, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    Hysterical that someone would “buy” the dresses and leave neg feedback- but her FB score still says 100%. I guess guerilla tactics to remove resellers are the way to go now.

  75. madmomma November 2, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    Whoa- — totally a sock puppet by another person that bought up the dresses… They joined November 1st… and left feedback giving the links to the wholesale site and all.

    As much as I am not a fan of sock puppets buying up stores- it may be the only thing that brings the issue to the attention of Etsy. It is 100% evident that these were in no possible way shape or form handmade by the seller- so I guess I can say- kudos to the person that did the buy out.

    Watch out Etsy… it looks like the masses are turning to guerilla warfare!

  76. madmomma November 2, 2010 at 4:31 am #

    Callin’ Out on Etsy-
    I want to thank you for giving “us” a place to vent anonymously!
    I would like to ask if there is some way that you could compose a list (or enlist our help) of blatant resellers.

    Criteria would be that the list would require proof by link of actual products found from wholesale sites that exactly match the items in the sellers shop (wouldn’t want to add anyone to the list unless there is solid proof)

    List would have shop name – verification of reselling – date they were “found out” and then from time to time – we could update the list to whether or not they are still open or if they closed shop- re-opened a new shop, etc…

    It would be nice to see a comprehensive list that we could easily link to – as I love to spread the word about this site and ask others to participate, but I know “others” don’t always have the time to delve into the site like I do- and a quick reference guide would be awesome.

    by the way- i would be more than happy to help compile the list…

    either way- I just want to thank you again for allowing me to vent here and for keeping this blog alive and open for all!

  77. etsycallout November 2, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    if you or anyone wants to compile the list I would be happy to post it for you!

  78. lulu November 2, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    awesome! it will take a while, but will start working on it!
    thanks Etsy call out!

  79. detroit November 2, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Yep – looks like Etsy cleaned up the bad sock puppet feedback. Cuz, that’s, uh, against the TOU.

    Now the coaching will begin. And more brides will be ripped off!

  80. Alli November 2, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    I like the idea of an Etsy Reseller Wiki with links to proof, and the status of the shops (active, removed, etc)

    It’d be nice to keep tabs on them.

  81. madmomma November 3, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Alli- awesome idea!

  82. Amy January 8, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I can see how frustrating that would be for many crafters. A resellers site is a great idea. It’s also a catch 22 because when people report these pages, they get publicity and end up selling.

  83. Callie February 28, 2014 at 4:48 am #

    Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a information!
    present here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web page.

  84. http://overpassesforamerica.com/ March 5, 2014 at 1:40 am #

    One must practice the comic scripts beforehand at home.
    “Arsenio was a big hit way back when, he exited prematurely, and aren’t we all just plain tired with
    Jay Leno and Letterman. After you do all this, you are ready to start performing in front of people for money.

Leave a Reply

