TheTieDye

8 Nov

After a quick check on Alibaba.com:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/60990263/black-blue-tie-dye-maxi-dress

http://www.alibaba.com/product/th116626156-112706203-101847911/Tie_Dye_Plus_Size_Maxi_Dress_Sleeveless_Black_Turquoise_Green.html

This entire shop is apparently filled with items from the Thai supplier shown here: http://www.alibaba.com/member/th116626156.html

45 Responses to “TheTieDye”

  1. Tenley November 8, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    ugly clothes that belong back in the seventies.

  2. em November 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    NYlightmetals is on the front page right now

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4cd5a56e97146d91f3f99782/calm-cool?ref=fp_treasury_curator

    *vomits*

  3. The Unknown Etsian November 8, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Tie dye is beautiful but not this factory made crap.

  4. thisetsychick November 8, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6677732

    Another thread about “How my stuff is awesome and I get tons of sales” blah blah blah.

    Perhaps she should mention that she stuffs her tags like crazy and breaks the TOUs of Etsy to get those sales.

  5. sick of cupcakes November 8, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60306830/locket-necklace-vintage-antique-necklace

    Too many words.

  6. sick of cupcakes November 8, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60194931/vintage-wide-mouth-ball-mason-jar-with?ref=fp_treasury_4

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60513585/gorgeous-blue-pyrex-refrigerator-dish

    I am seriously going to dig out some of my Christmas deer and stick them in my pics so I can tag all of my items “deer”.

  7. The Unknown Etsian November 8, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60306830/locket-necklace-vintage-antique-necklace
    ___
    Also is unable to distinguish between “antique” and “antique style” or spell the American version of “jewelry”.

  8. em November 8, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    did BirdsofOregon plug her description into BabelFish or is she fluent in english, french, spanish, german, italian… …. …?

    Someone should tell her that those translation services translate word for word and usually make absolutely NO sense.

  9. detroit November 8, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/people/housenmouse/feedback?page=1

    Probably not even worth making mention of, since Etsy will never close the shop. But the above shop has atrocious feedback, and the shop is mainly filled with fake ‘vintage’ trucker hats for resale. Resold vinyl wall decals. And a ton of other garbage. With a few perhaps legit vintage items thrown in the mix.

    1) Reseller items – check;
    2) New items listed as vintage – check;
    3) Ripping off customers / terrible feedback – check!

    But, they’re selling half-assed hipster crap that was cool(?) like 5 years ago – perfect for Etsy – they’ll stay…

  10. Inspector Yuk November 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Bleah. While I’m not particularly into tie Dye, I do love the longer dresses that fit a larger person for the summertime. I would likely buy several of these, but not from someone reselling them on a handmade site.

    I think that’s what bothers me the most. Not that I wouldn’t buy a particular item, I’ve bought tons of stuff from flea markets and craft shows that aren’t made by the seller but they don’t pretend to have made them.

    I really think Etsy is trying to move away from being labeled a handmade site, but us diehards are having a difficult time letting go of the original purpose for which the site had been created. And we’re dwindling in numbers. As long as people keep buying that shit resellers will continue to multiply and flourish. What really pisses me off are the number of other sellers who buy this shit. Even if I really, really loved something that I know wasn’t handmade I would find it elsewhere to purchase it. I refuse to support a reseller on Etsy.

    Of course, I’ve stopped buying on Etsy anyway because I just can’t support the site any longer. But I have made it a practice that even if I find something on Etsy that I’d really like, I’ll google search it to find it somewhere else.

  11. LoveandRage November 8, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    I am always shocked when it’s the same damn picture!

    Why not just shoot your own photos at the very least! It’s just incredible. Open up the freaking box, iron it , and stick it on your daughter or something. If this reseller would have done that I think she would have passed even an educated re-seller detective!

    Resellers..BAD
    Lazy Resellers..Stoopid BAD

  12. Inspector Yuk November 8, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    LoveandRage, gawds no!!! Stoopid resellers make it easier to pick them out.

  13. The Unknown Etsian November 8, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/people/housenmouse/feedback?page=1
    Probably not even worth making mention of, since Etsy will never close the shop. But the above shop has atrocious feedback, and the shop is mainly filled with fake ‘vintage’ trucker hats for resale. Resold vinyl wall decals. And a ton of other garbage. With a few perhaps legit vintage items thrown in the mix.
    ___
    Wow now I know what they do with the stuff they sweep up after the swap meet closes!

  14. Etsy Made Me Do It November 8, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    here’s one for ya…
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60006303/temperament-sleeveless-v-neck-dress

    go to their favorites and you will notice they “faved” the same dress they have listed in their shop, only it is in a different shop- along with several other identical items
    and listings in both shops can be found on alibaba

    now that faves are so easy to see in the profile page- and that i keep landing in their by “accident” I have noticed a lot of the re-sellers have faved other re-sellers… with very like items and many times profiles that are nearly identical – yeah- it is kinda crazy

  15. Life During Wartime November 8, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    OMG, check out the tags on that ^^^ dress: clothing corset costume dress lingerie maternity shawl shoes skirt sleepwear swimsuit tshirt underwear vest

    Tag abuse!

  16. Etsy Made Me Do It November 8, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I didn’t even look at the tags… I was so shocked that they “faved” the same item in what I am assuming is their “other” undisclosed shop chocked full of non-handmade goods that can be found on Alibaba…
    but thanks for pointing out the tags-
    jeepers creepers!

    That’s it- I am calling Martha Stewart and asking her to open a handmade marketplace *not exactly a fan of Martha but I hear she likes handmade ; )

  17. Life During Wartime November 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Martha also has had Chinese factories repop glassware from vintage molds, which has no integral marks of any kind to show the pieces are new. They were already showing up at estate auctions and in antiques shops as vintage during the year I purchased some of her repro glass canisters to hold my various baking flours. The glass threads for screwing on the metal lids are crap, but the price was right. To tie in Martha’s handmade orientation, the canisters came with an instruction sheet showing how to faux age the lids. As a vintage seller, I see Martha more as part of the problem than part of the solution. I can’t speak for handmade, though.

  18. Etsy Made Me Do It November 8, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    Life,
    that Martha reference was my attempt at “snarky-ness” LOL
    (which never comes out the right way when writing it… at least for me)

    I think Etsy is attempting to wear too many hats and they are just overwhelmed with the disaster they have created and they no longer know which direction they are going, what they are doing- or why the hell they are doing it. call in the mission statement… do they even have one?

  19. NotMartha November 8, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    I’ll say it for you: Martha SUCKS. Her middle name should be KMart. Generic for the generics.
    Not only can I not waste 2 minutes watching her crappy show, I’d have to be worried about my sanity if I ever followed any of her advice.
    It’s just so old already, Martha.

  20. thisetsychick November 8, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    WTG Featured Seller and Etsy! Once again you feature someone who breaks the TOUs regularly in their shop.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/61103623/polaroid-coaster-rainbow-shoes-and

    Another proud Etsy moment! Isn’t there something very specific in the TOUs about NOT using the tag “stocking stuffer”????

  21. amused November 8, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/minana?ref=pr_shop_more

    What a mess, the Taobao tags are still on the pictures.

  22. The Unknown Etsian November 9, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    Grrrrr.

  23. WangFu November 9, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Say what you want about Martha, but I love her glitter. :p

  24. NotMartha November 9, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    I liked her attitude in the slammer.

  25. LoveandRage November 9, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Did she wear Tie-Dye in the slammer?

  26. detroit November 9, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Ya know. I wonder. If there are any Etsy employees – especially any who’ve been there for a minute. Who are also passionate about handmade – who are as disgusted as we are by all the crap? Who are disgusted by the way a TON of Etsy listings are cheap, tacky, dollar store crap…

    Or, have they all drunk the kool-aid there?

    I just wonder what goes on behind the scenes – re resellers, and such. What the discussion is like…

  27. LoveandRage November 9, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    Detroit-
    Don’t you think it’s like anything else?
    People are so worried they might loose $20 in sales they will not even think about putting their shops on vaca- let alone really speak out.

    Everyone kisses so much ass on the forums it smells like turds there, but they will run off to blogs unknown to say the most god awful things about Etsy, admin, and their fellow sellers.

    People are afraid for their incomes, & I am sure the people who work for Etsy are the same. They are afraid, they are doing their jobs in order to KEEP their income, not to be the Robin Hood of Etsy. It’s sad, but no one really gives a shit about anyone else.

  28. detroit November 9, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    LoveandRage
    November 9, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Everyone kisses so much ass on the forums it smells like turds there, but they will run off to blogs unknown to say the most god awful things about Etsy, admin, and their fellow sellers.
    _______________________________________________

    Ha ha! You just reminded me I need to scoop the cat litter. Why can my boy cat not bury his large steamers?? Ewww!

    Really though, I do wonder what goes on among the employees
    there. Is it genuine, or willful ignorance? Like, is it an office full of Homer Simpsons there (who are just cheerful, dumb and ignorant of what really goes on)? Or an office full of Mr. Burns’s (totaling up the profits from resellers / crap sellers, and whipping the admin slaves if they let the forum get out of control)?

    I’m SURE the forum admin have to be somewhat aware of the ‘issues’. But I get the idea they’re disconnected from the ‘content’ people.

    I dunno. I’m sure it’s like any workplace. There are a lot of idiots running around. Lots of office gossip. A few intelligent people – not all of whom are willing to ‘fight’.

  29. Life During Wartime November 9, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    What is there to fight for or about? Many of the resellers are doing well. The ‘Etsy look’ items are being heavily promoted and they sell, too. (Just before each FP Treasury rotates off, I check to see how many items have sold and what they are — very telling.) The cupcakettes renew like crazy and babble about how grateful they are for Etsy in the Forums. Etsy just proves the old stand-up joke: You know how dumb the average person is? Well, half of the people in the world are even dumber than that.

    Like, how many times each week does a reseller introduce herself in the Forums, to find herself showered with compliments about her ‘lovely shop’?

  30. Etsy Made Me Do It November 9, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    I admit – I read the Etsy forums- but don’t bother posting in there… (fear i’ll go off and puke all over everyone and everything) and end up getting my shop shut down- which happens to be my ONLY source of income.

    the last time I posted in the forums I had offered some really good advice on how to fix a problem that everyone was whining about for a few hundred pages – and everyone ignored my info- and i stated there was a way to fix their proble by doing X and they kept whining about how admin won’t tell them what to do –
    I decided right then – most of those people just want to freaking whine. If given an answer on how to solve a problem – they then find something else to complain about.

    In that sense I can understand how some employees would want to ignore THAT …

    Detroit- I can smell those steamers all the way across the state…

  31. Etsy Made Me Do It November 9, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Tonight I actually read the post on etsy about the holiday shopping guide- tagging and all that shite for the holidays. The post made me think that they were going to introduce something cool- like that Etsy had allotted $ to advertise on TV or something that would be GOOD for all.

    but the article just emphasized that moustaches were in right now. seriously who puts these trending themes together.

    I don’t make treasuries, I am not part of a team- but I work my ASS off making product- I don’t renew but 3 or 4 items throughout a day.
    I refuse to let myself believe that my success depends on being an ass kissing moustache wearing cupcake loving treasury mafia etsy rocks YEAH cheerleader…

    Etsy is a venue to sell my product. and … Etsy is no longer the handmade haven that I fell in love with several years ago- but it is the one site that gets the most traffic from people looking for handmade- so I am there for the time being.
    ugh

  32. Etsy Made Me Do It November 9, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Also- the fact that Etsy has not given a true definition of what a collective can and cannot be- OR a maximum number of people it will allow in a collective convinces me that they are no longer concerned about re-sellers- but they just don’t have the balls to say it. I searched forums high and low and read the TOU’s and all that crap and nope nada no OFFICIAL definition of what makes up a collective.

  33. TheTieDye November 10, 2010 at 3:28 am #

    I have new collection of tie dye dress.
    Welcome you and your reader to see them at http://thetiedye.etsy.com

    Thank you.
    The Tie Dye

  34. sick of cupcakes November 10, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    Go away reseller. You are slime.

  35. sick of cupcakes November 10, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    “…but the article just emphasized that moustaches were in right now. seriously who puts these trending themes together. ”

    Seriously? Maybe in Brooklyn. If I gave anyone a mustache for Christmas they would think I was insane.

  36. sick of cupcakes November 10, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    This lady just takes pics directly from GarnStudio.com and then knits the items. That can’t be right.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Zarina2009?ref=pr_shop_more

  37. Etsy Made Me Do It November 10, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    I’d give a moustache to someone- (someone that I don’t like)…
    I don’t get the whole moustache thing. Is it supposed to be cute? I saw that the FP had a treasury chocked full of moustaches…
    Blah…

  38. The Unknown Etsian November 10, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Really though, I do wonder what goes on among the employees
    there. Is it genuine, or willful ignorance? Like, is it an office full of Homer Simpsons there (who are just cheerful, dumb and ignorant of what really goes on)? Or an office full of Mr. Burns’s (totaling up the profits from resellers / crap sellers, and whipping the admin slaves if they let the forum get out of control)?
    ____
    I think they are actually like Mimi on Drew Carey but look like hipsters (with cowls).

  39. The Unknown Etsian November 10, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    I have new collection of tie dye dress.
    Welcome you and your reader to see them at http://thetiedye.etsy.com
    Thank you.
    The Tie Dye
    ____
    Maybe if you had a better grasp of English, you could read Etsy’s TOU and see that you are not allowed to sell factory made items on Etsy. And, as the other poster noted, go away you slime.

  40. LoveandRage November 10, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    I have new collection of tie dye dress.
    Welcome you and your reader to see them at http://thetiedye.lazyassreseller.etsy.com
    Thank you.
    The Tie Dye

  41. Inspector Yuk November 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Erm, the tiedye seller has another shop on Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/showkate

  42. Inspector Yuk November 12, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    And a shop on Artfire that ties both the Etsy shops together: http://www.artfire.com/users/TheTieDye

    they are like fungus that you can’t get rid of.

  43. TheTieDye November 12, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Hello Everyone,

    I’m from TheTieDye Shop. I’m not exellent in English.

    My aunt is the expert about tie dye, patchwork and clothing design.

    I and my aunt designed and makd our clothing together.
    I’m also design tie dye and clothing pattern and manage online store, take a photo, listing and shipping.

    My aunt and her assistant are cut out cloth.
    The last is hand tie dye process we work together.
    We have 3-4 people working together.

    I want to sell our tie dye items on Alibaba and Artfire.
    If I also sell on alibaba and Artfire.
    Can I sell our handmade tie dye items on etsy?
    I am new on etsy. Maybe I made something wrong.
    If all of you have any suggestion please let me know.

    Yes, I have on open another account to help other local artisan. They are don’t know about English and E commerce. I just only manage online store, take a photo, listing and shipping their products. It is ShowKate at http://ShowKate.Etsy.com

    Thailand have many local artisan. Most of their artwork are handmade product and high quality. I would like to help and support them to sell thier art work more than sell at local street market.

    Thank you for your comment to let me know.

    Kate from the Tie Dye.

  44. CommonNom November 14, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    Good luck Kate.

  45. PussDaddy November 18, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Well gee, it’s fucking Kate Plus 8.

Leave a Reply

