Reader Email- MissIndie, headthreadz

18 Nov
This is just the tip of the iceberg w/ me and MissIndie.etsy.com
She bought my pattern for a trellis headband about 7 mos. ago.  She then gave me horrible feedback, dissing the pattern and everything in my shop.  I had to contact etsy admin for them to remove her lunatic’s ranting.  They did, thankfully.
Now she lists these headbands in her shop as her own.  Beyond that, she is even selling MY pattern for said headband.  She is even using MY OWN DIRECTIONS word for word (I know this via 3 friends who bought “her” pattern for the headband)  My very words.  So take a look here, at my listing.
The douchebag even copied my own graphics, and is using them as her own!
here is missindie’s blatant copy of my own:
Etsy will boot your ass if you “call out” on the forums, but you can be an outright plagarist, and still be allowed to exist in Etsyland.
oh yeah, read missindie.etsy.com‘s feedback, and her other shop’s: headthreadz.etsy.com.
Here is a shop that needs a swift kick to the ASS.
40 Responses to “Reader Email- MissIndie, headthreadz”

  1. WangFu November 18, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Wow. What a turd. You know, just post it for free on ravelry, link to your blog and write more patterns. Then, she can’t make money from it. Make it a PIF too.

    I can’t believe etsy hasn’t stepped in…

  2. Voice November 18, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Were you the first to come up with this headband design? Or did you create your pattern based on an existing design you saw somewhere?

  3. jenjasmine November 18, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    Issues of copying aside, how does she sell those patterns for 50 cents? Wouldn’t she be losing money?
    20 cents etsy listing fee, plus .30 paypal and then the transaction fees, leaves her in the hole for a few pennies at least. That doesn’t even include the time it takes to list and send a pdf.
    Wierd, unless she is just trying to sell them to spite the other shop somehow.

  4. jenjasmine November 18, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Also, creativehook, it is too bad you got rid of that feedback.

  5. WangFu November 18, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Yeah, that feedback was pretty telling.

  6. WangFu November 18, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Frankly, you need to move on. Keep evolving or your creative soul will be stuck here.

  7. WangFu November 18, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    WTF is this?

    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/34566184

  8. megansbeadeddesigns November 18, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Holy crap whatever that is she sold a lot of it!!!

  9. Sydney November 18, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Don’t even get me started on Mandy.. (missindie)

    I’m actually really surprised, and excited she got called out here, because I’ve had problems with her from the beginning..

  10. Sydney November 18, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Also, her feedback isn’t as glowing as it looks.

    I wish I took screenshots, I know for a fact at least 3 of them were negatives before she kiss-and-makeups them (3 on the first page)

    But, in between all the blogging and twitter and posting more items and changing feedback, she hasn’t the time to email me back.

  11. kitten November 18, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    missindie has been brought up on this blog before…. She was selling grocery type tote bags that were made in China I believe and passed off as hamdmade by her. A link was given on here for the exact bags.

    She’s a nasty one, I’ve been hearing about all the unethical things she’s done for quite awhile in the forums. I’ll see if I can find some old threads about her since closed threads are now searchable. Her mom also sells on etsy and I recall a

    thread she started ions ago that another seller was copying her daughter.

    OP, didn’t you once link to where she was harassing you on Twitter? Honestly, she appears to have some mental issues.

  12. sick of cupcakes November 18, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I see someone left a neg today for a Harry Potter looking scarf she ordered a month ago. Poor girl probably wanted to wear it to the premier tonight.

  13. Inspector Yuk November 18, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    That really sucks balls. If you have proof of when she bought your PDF listing and proof that you sold it before she bought it that should be enough for Etsy to remove her listings, I would think.

    I’d buy a copy of her PDF as proof of her copying yours as well.

    It’s obvious she selling them cheaply to spite you, if she actually were the originator of this pattern, she would value it far more than she does. It sure looks to me like she has a personal beef with you, whether it’s real or imagined. What a spiteful bitch.

  14. Sydney November 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    I could make the poor buyer a Harry Potter scarf, tonight, and send it to her, before Mandy will. The buyer would probably even receive it before Mandy starts hers.

    Honestly, it would make the world of a difference if she said that her items were made to order. And if she was more honest with her customers, the ones she actually emails back. (sent three in the last week, and *still* am waiting for a reply)

    It sucks that she’s passing off someone’s pattern as her own, and thinks its okay. It sucks that I had to actually purchase something from her to realize what a horrible seller she is. It sucks that she wants to be an Etsy success, but apparently can’t handle it.

    If you have an emergency, you put your shop in vacation mode to catch up on back orders. You DON’T put your shop on sale, when buyers from 2 months ago are still waiting for their items.

  15. whoreforcolor November 18, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    It looks as if she has given you credit for the pattern now.

  16. megansbeadeddesigns November 18, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    WHAT the HECK? She’s even ADMITTING that she’s ripping you off!? WOW

  17. whoreforcolor November 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Pretty absurd. She should NOT be able to get away with this.

  18. megansbeadeddesigns November 18, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    You should probably have a short disclosure in your pattern listings to the effect of, “Items made form this pattern may be sold if made directly from you and not form a manufacturer, but the pattern itself may not be reproduced or resold in any manner as protected by copyright law.”

  19. megansbeadeddesigns November 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    …You should also look into actually obtaining a copyright for your patterns, costs about $30 online. Then you could legally sue other sellers selling “versions” of it and stealing your graphics.

  20. Artfire Seller November 18, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Missindie is also pimping the pattern on Artfire, here: http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=1917727&ga_query=trellis%20headband

    Link to the entire shop here: http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&seller_id=14122&op=new&body=1

  21. linda November 18, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    looks like she removed the item?

  22. anon November 18, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    i found these and think they are kind of a cool idea, but not handmade!
    http://www.dhgate.com/funlife-mix-order-20pcs-lot-roll-friends/p-ff808081259b5b760125a710a9636ec7.html

    i don’t know if the ‘supply’ category would even include this, but it’s under handmade at the moment
    on etsy
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/58752802/roll-friends-wire-winder-rubber

  23. L November 19, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/diytower

    uhhh….

  24. sick of cupcakes November 19, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    What an ass. This is what she says on Artfire:

    –NOTE—
    This Trellis Headband is an ORIGINAL pattern written by me and is available in both my shops. If you do a search on ArtFire, you will see many other sellers with their own versions of this same idea. One seller in particular is slandering the rest of us by claiming this is her pattern and that we are all copying her. I can assure you that this is my own pattern, written by me after seeing a similar design on a trellis scarf online. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to send me a quick convo 🙂

    And on a sold Etsy item:

    NOTE: I’ve been so inspired by another Etsy seller/artist and I feel the need to be an inspiration to others. The wonderful artist I speak of is Marta of CreativeYarn.etsy.com. Over the years at Etsy she has created some of the cutest designs, and when I first saw her Original Trellis Headband design I just fell in love – http://www.etsy.com/transaction/14542414. I spent quite a bit of time writing a pattern for my own version of Marta’s adorable design and want to share it with everyone on Etsy for only 50 cents! That way you too can create this gorgeous headband for yourself or as a gift for family, friends, etc. If you purchase this listing and decide to resell the pattern or the items you create from it, all I ask is that you give me credit as the pattern designer and Marta credit as the Original creator.

    ____________________

    She has mental problems for sure.

  25. losinghope November 19, 2010 at 5:17 am #

    There’s raceytay and thefancylamb on the FP AGAIN! You’d think they would be embarrassed. But no one really notices except us. And, etsy just plain doesn’t give a damn.

  26. whoreforcolor November 19, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    I have seen noblegnome on the FP with the kind of simple jewelry that Etsy sanctions more than ever now.

  27. Deborah November 19, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Sparklepeach was on the front page yesterday. I thought her shop got shut down again, but nope, there she was!

  28. Dee November 19, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    I almost feel like doing a treasury of 16 sellers with sterling silver necklaces and pink wrapped teardrop beads. Such an original idea….

  29. CitizensArrest November 19, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    7 | WangFu
    November 18, 2010 at 10:33 am

    WTF is this?

    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/34566184

    WHAT THE FUCK IS IT? Inspired maybe but MESS FOR SURE. Nothing for sale on that site now. Should have been shut down.

  30. mememe November 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Dee- LMAO
    I actually did one once of all those stupid NOT handmade crochet headbands for babies (the ones that everyone puts flowers on and then calls them handmade…)
    anyway a zillion shops sell the plain headbands (ask ANY one of thos shops if they can crochet in one two colors or stripes- and most of them are like WHAT???

    so anyway- I made a treasury full of ONLY the headbands that were un decorated! what a gallery of fun!

  31. Sydney November 19, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    I finally got a response from Missindie.. WJW is all I have to say.

    I’m glad that at least I can say that I run an honest business, that there are sellers out there that are honest with their buyers and their shops.

  32. Sydney November 20, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Are you ready for the feedback she left me? I’ll even break it down.

    “Buyer purchased an item which stated in my shop would take 1-2 weeks to be made, prior to shipping.”

    Her shop announcement and policies differ on this matter.

    “Item did ship within that time frame.”

    I bought it on the Sept. 8th, it was marked sent on the 28th, so it’s actually closer to three weeks, not 1-2 weeks.

    “Buyer sent a nasty email to me about a month later demanding her item. I informed her that her item had been shipped a couple weeks before and should have already arrived.”

    Please point out in the conversation where I was nasty… I don’t know what’s nasty about ‘Hey, it’s been about a month, and I don’t have my package, just wondering where it’s at?’

    “I tried tracking the item but is was not showing a scan anywhere, so I offered to remake her item at my expense and promptly ship it out.”

    I asked for this tracking number twice now.

    “As soon as she received the item she immediately left me negative feedback stating that I did not send the advertised item, which was untrue. The replacement item I made was actually a tad bit larger than the original item. I did everything I could in this transaction to make sure that the buyer was 150% satisfied.”

    Well, if the one you sent was a tad bit larger, then no, it’s not the advertised item. (oh, and the advertised item didn’t have any measurements). Also, you’ve done absolutely nothing besides making the “replacement” item to insure my satisfaction.

    “The feedback that she left me was spiteful.”

    And yours wasn’t?

    “Her responses to each of my emails were VERY rude.”

    Again, point out where I was rude. Factual, maybe, and I could have been a bit blunt, but not rude.

    “She even went as far as to make false accusations against me and about my packaging! I really don’t know what else I could have done to make this a good transaction…I shipped her item when I said I would, it got lost in the mail so I dug into my own pocket to replace the item, even making it larger and better than the original, I took extra care in gift wrapping her item…”

    Mandy, we both know how you sent the package. Inside a large “Mailing Envelope”. If that is giftwrapping, well, I am over doing it with my packaging by a long haul.

    “…only to be met with a negative feedback once she received the replacement item.”

    The experience is what prompted my feedback, not the replacement item.

    “I see that this person is a seller herself. How would she feel if a buyer treated her this way? Is her customer service toward HER customers as bad as the way she treated me? I would think twice before dealing with this person.”

    Pot calling the kettle black? Think about how you treat your customers.

    Go ahead and ask any of my customers how I treat them. I go above and beyond the call of duty for my customers. There was a family emergency, and while I was out of town I made two sales. Do you know what I did for those customers, because it took me a whole FOUR days to get their items in the mail? I gave them coupons, one for free supplies and one for a free pair of earrings. That is how I treat my customers.

    “I would hate to see anyone else have to go through what I have gone through with her.”

    What, Mandy, have you gone through? Really?

  33. 1come1n9eace December 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Take a look at her latest feedback. Crap, I would have posted sooner but I forgot my user name here.

  34. 1come1n9eace December 15, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/people/missindie/feedback

    Oh please please please, everyone! Read this feedback quickly before etsy removes it because of the F-word.

    LMFuckingAO

  35. 1come1n9eace December 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    If you’ll carefully view her shops positive feedback, you will see that she even contrived a “sock puppet” shop to buy the patterns, then give herself positive feedback. Hello psycho!

  36. samguine January 31, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Had to get my money back from Missindie via an escalated Paypal claim for 4 hats I ordered when the 45 day limit was nearing. 3 orders I never received and paid for them in October (it’s not January of the next year.) So I filed a non-delivery report and left negative feedback about how I never received my items and Missindie goes ahead and trashes my feedback when I am an excellent buyer and I paid for my items immediately after purchase. How immature and unprofessional. Etsy is a scam. I can’t believe they allow this to go on.

  37. samguine@gmail.com February 1, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    it’s now January of the next year*
    haven’t had my coffee yet, woops!

  38. Thea Maybe April 30, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I wonder if this despicable human being is still ripping people off?

  39. Thea Maybe April 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    http://getoffmyinternets.net/forums/lifestyle-bloggers/miss-indie/page-27/#p945205
    My my! I see that she is indeed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Art Thief: Mandy Ferrugia / Miss Indie | Erin E. Flynn - July 23, 2013

    […] 11/2010 – Stolen headband pattern […]

Leave a Reply

