MoldMuse, ShopSakura

23 Nov

http://www.etsy.com/people/MoldMuse

This shop claims to make their molds….
so does this shop sell the molds from the first one?  The molds are identical…

http://www.etsy.com/people/ShopSakura

8 Responses to “MoldMuse, ShopSakura”

  1. Life During Wartime November 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Is Great American Trading Company small enough to qualify for a ‘collective’ on Etsy? I think not. These supplies should not be tagged ‘handmade’ but ‘commercial’, I think.

  2. Gila (11m2) November 23, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Don’t look identical to me – they just happen to use the same ready-made plastic parts to make their molds. Like the skull cameos – I bought those on Etsy before. They apparently just bought and molded those – and both shops are using similar plastics to mold. Probably illegal, but that’s up to the copyright holder.

  3. cindi November 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I have that molding compound sitting on my desk too. I guess they picked something to mold that made them look alike but I don’t think they are the same people.

  4. burnt toast November 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    interesting… i wonder if they both use the same supplier? because the titles are VERY similar in regards to how they are worded…
    and it is interesting that each shop has completely different items, photographed slightly differently, but with the same sort of samples?
    i say if anything they use the same supplier and are just using info that comes with the mold?

    too hard to say exactly as i cannot find anyone anywhere else that sells molds that are round like that, but there are two on etsy. hmmm

  5. Thud November 23, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    Well one claims to handmake everything, including their molds, the other is obviously selling commercial supplies but their commercial supplies are identical to the all handmade stuff, how is that?

  6. JoJoy November 23, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Wow- just looked at the listings,
    something is fishy.

  7. Ludi Long December 3, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    Hi,
    I am Ludi from MoldMuse and I would like to clear up a few things regarding your comments.

    Great American Trading Co is not a large company and not even a collective. It is simply my husband and I which I state in my profile.

    Sakura and I do mold some of the same cabochons as do almost all mold makers on Etsy. I also mold some of my original work which I state clearly is a Moldmuse exclusive.

    The reason Sakura and I are the only molds on Etsy that look similar is because we both pour rather than press our molds, this gives them the round shape.

    Our titles are similar because we know which keywords are important to attract our customer base.

    I do not claim to make everything, only the molds. I personally hand pour each mold individually, that’s why I list under handmade rather than supplies.

    I do not know Sakura personally so no, we are not the same person. I only know of her work from Etsy.

    I’m not trying to make this post sound snarky, I just want let everyone know that you were wrong on this one. I totally agree that Etsy needs to clean its act up as far as resellers are concerned because it hurts us all as well as the integrity of Etsy.

    My husband and I work in our shop 10 hours a day and do everything ourselves, it is a constant and daily struggle but we love it. It has been my profession for over 30 years.

    Just because I do it for a living does that not make it etsy worthy?

    I only hope that others read down to my comments rather than only reading the first few, this really upsets me and its very important to me that others are aware that I am NOT a reseller.

    I do have to say however that I am flattered that you think my handmade molds look professional enough to appear mass produced. 

    Thanks for listening,
    Ludi

  8. Jannie July 8, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I find it amussing that mold muse starting selling right at the same time shop sakura closed shop. HMMMM! Same mold style, same everything but color. Give me a break.

Leave a Reply

