ladiesandgentlemen

6 Dec

Ladies & Gentlemen Studio – http://www.etsy.com/shop/ladiesandgentlemen – interviews an Etsy seller she makes a purchase from – http://www.ladiesandgentlemenstudio.com/blog/2010/7/21/simple-delights.html – and then goes and lifts the seller’s marketing strategy eerily straight from the package her purchase came in: http://ladiesandgentlemenhome.blogspot.com/2010/08/whos-embosser.html . Anyone who has purchased something from etaletc on Etsy knows what I’m referring to where the golden seals “original L&G idea” comes from and knows how OUTRIGHT LAME it can get on Etsy. L&G, get your own marketing strategies and ideas! At least give people proper credit and delete the interview for the sake of the people you’ve ripped off.

Please post this on your blog, and so that I’m not an anonymous coward:
Kyrsten Oates

32 Responses to “ladiesandgentlemen”

  1. Inspector Yuk December 6, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Really? Etaletc invented the embosser? Give me a break.

  2. madmomma December 6, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    I’m confused.. what did L&G steal from Etaletc?

  3. Linda December 6, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m not really sure I understand this. I’m sure tons of sellers have received something from a seller that they liked- a thank you note, a business card, a free item, etc. Why shouldn’t they use it? It’s an embossed envelope that no one knows about until they receive the item from them. They didn’t copy a listing, an item, reselling, etc. This seems like a weak call out.

  4. theunknownetsian December 6, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    I am not following this at all as to what it is supposed to be about.

  5. Sara December 6, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I don’t get it, but I don’t trust Etaletc at all – I don’t understand how they are making so many different garments out of whole cloth (as they imply) for so little – and how they managed to make, out of “vintage remnants,” a modern-looking new machine-knit sweater.

  6. madmomma December 6, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    I think this person is being snarky and actually calling out Etaletc…
    I would love to know how the yellow sweater is made – especially the unique stitch pattern near the shoulder and those cuffs.

    no offense, but I am not sure I am buying that these are all 100% handmade. repurposed from an existing garment yes, 100 new? ummm.
    na.
    ummmm. well may
    NO

  7. kitten December 6, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    So confused… Come back Krysten Oates and explain to those of us that haven’t ordered etaletc.

  8. sick of cupcakes December 6, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    I thought I was missing something before when I read this, but I see I’m not the only one. That yellow sweater is in no way handmade.

    And those pics are just annoying.

  9. Krysten December 7, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    The seals = an idea completely ripped off from etaletc’s packaging after she purchased something from etaletc AND interviewed her. That’s pretty low.

  10. Krysten December 7, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    The sweaters are listed as machine knit, I think.

  11. kitten December 7, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    All this over seals?? Don’t think etaletc invented using gold seals on their packaging…. I’ve gotten packages with gold seals in shops and I’ve done it myself – not on Etsy, but on gifts.

    sick of cupcakes said:

    And those pics are just annoying.
    _____________________________________

    The pictures and item titles are ridiculous. What a joke.

  12. hagwithmorals December 7, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Hey, Hallmark’s been using embossed gold crown stickers on their envelopes for years and years. I get one every time I buy a card there 😉

  13. Anne Shelley December 7, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    This happens on Etsy all the time. Seems this call out is not about the seals, but is about how easily ideas are taken from sellers and the callout is about the shamelessness in which it is done. Etsy has turned into the place to go to buy a good idea to use behind someone’s back. Golden seals could easily be a pattern or a painting or a graphic that are resold in another almost identical format on Etsy. What else can be expected from ladiesandgentlemen or people like them whose work is conceptually flaccid and dull as dishwater, work which doubles as low design tchotchkes that can be found at Target?

  14. ohmeohmy December 8, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    I think it’s very odd that almost all the clothing is xs-s. I know that clothing from Asia is often tiny and the sizes are different. A “large” from asia would not be a “large” in the US or Europe.

    Who would take the time to make tees? They are only selling for $17. And jeans would be very hard to sew. What kind of machine can do that.

    Something’s odd about that shop. It’s looks so much like dept. store stuff. Hmmmmm.

  15. ohmeohmy December 8, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    I could take stuff from Old Navy, put it in a shop and claim, even though mostly all sizes are petite/ small, that I handmade each from a pattern I made.

  16. already gone December 8, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    I thought the callout was maybe for etaletc. too. When I was looking at the ladiesandgentlemen site that huge doily rug caught my attention. It’s really cool and quite possibly their original design, however when you read the details in the magazine pic there is a gross exaggeration. I can assure you that rug would not take weeks to create, hours perhaps. And I suppose that’s not a crime really.

  17. Jennifer December 8, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Golden seals on packaging is not original. It is in fact extremely common, and perfectly fine to borrow. It is not a product, an item for sale, or even remotely anyone’s intellectual property.

    Also not impressed by a seller with only asian wholesale sizes available….someone missed a few hangtags, too.

  18. madmomma December 8, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Sorry, but I must say that is pretty weak to jump on someone because they “copied” the embossed seal idea. Seriously, I got an embosser with my name on it after I graduated and used that damn seal on EVERYTHING.
    So what this person is trying to say is that if I buy a package and say someone ties a twine bow around the package and if I decide I like that look, and start doing the same I ripping off somone else’s original idea?

    Eh. Please. If that is the case, one could say it looks like Etaletc pretty much ripped off Ikea’s font and minimal packaging design.

  19. it stinks December 8, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    That’s exactly what I was thinking madmomma! That packaging at etaletc is EXACTLY like Ikea.
    And, that whole shop looks like resell stuff. I mean really? They “make’ those stamping kits along with all those clothes. And they have the stamping kits listed under art.
    How is that art?
    And this sweater in the sold section:
    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/39157920
    is in no way handmade.
    I don’t think anything in that shop is even remotely handmade.

    As far as the gold embossed labels though, who cares. That was bazaar to call that person out because of labels.

  20. Karen December 8, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    “I think it’s very odd that almost all the clothing is xs-s. I know that clothing from Asia is often tiny and the sizes are different. A “large” from asia would not be a “large” in the US or Europe.”

    PETITE SIZING. It is not necessary for hang tags to go in the same spot.

    “So what this person is trying to say is that if I buy a package and say someone ties a twine bow around the package and if I decide I like that look, and start doing the same I ripping off somone else’s original idea?”

    She is trying to say that the person whose work was mimicked was interviewed and flattered before the work was taken. The dates seem to match up. I guess you have to imagine if this happened to you; you might get a little offended. This looks like L&G trying to advertise while trying to make a case for themselves. I agree with the “conceptually flaccid” comment about the L&G work. Designers come up with that work without thinking. Those are scratch ideas.

  21. burtha December 8, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    sorry, but the gold seal-
    no big deal.

    HA-
    Etaletc STOLE from Ikea

    what a massive weird call out

  22. Jennifer December 8, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Wow, a lot of (wholesale?) socks jumping in here…

  23. Krysten December 8, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    The golden seals is not that big of a deal. The principle of it all is the reason behind this posting. I guess it is and will remain standard issue to use ideas that come with your package because the other end will not ever hear about it on Etsy and that it is all free-for-all? I thought there was more integrity between sellers and buyers or sellers to sellers on Etsy.

    Reselling a good idea that you don’t improve is just the same as reselling.

  24. Krysten December 8, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    * Or using one.

  25. Something is Up December 9, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Krysten,
    I understand what you are saying, but you have to realize that using one element of another design isn’t really that abnormal. Starting to use a decorative stamp doesn’t really prove a “free-for-all” attitude between sellers and buyers on Etsy.

    It’s a big world out there, this sort of idea influence happens on a daily basis… A packaging designer steps into a fast food chain and likes the box that his hamburger came in, so he goes back to his job at a different fast food place, sits down at his desk and drafts up a similar box for his company to start putting their hamburgers in.
    A cosmetic sales person gets invited to an in-home party of competitor and wonders WHY she never thought of doing in-home parties.
    Etaletc bought a package from Ikea and liked the minimalist font and packaging, so they decide to start using the same for their product.
    So, if you were really concerned about L&G “copying” Etaletc, should you not be concerned that Etaletc “copied” Ikea? Or does it not matter because Ikea is a large corporation and EVERYONE copies them?

    Fact of the matter is, that people are constantly “inspired” by others, and many will use an element of of that design in their own design. When you create an EXACT duplicate or NEAR duplicate then you have something to worry about.

    And please take into consideration that If one were to follow your path of thinking, that they would also be willing to point out that Etaletc is no better than L&G as they have both committed the same offense.

  26. Jean December 10, 2010 at 2:38 am #

    whao…I’m not sure why this conversation even exists…..or happened… And I’m not sure whether to laugh at all this or go “Wha?!? is this for realz?!”
    This is the first time I’ve seen this site, and it’s unfortunate that this even exists because it feels that it’s all just a whole lot of bickering with no valid support besides your own assumptions & general speculations on things.

    Karen:
    Please don’t start calling people coward before you even really know what is going on. I can see how you can interpreted that I “copied” etaletc base on your preliminary observation that the interview happened before I posted about the embosser. If I did’t know what’s going on at all, I wouldn’t argue one bit that you played a really good detective.

    But since I DO know what’s going on, I say that this CALLING out post is just you trying to stir things up based on your own imagination.

    First of all:
    I had ordered the embosser on JULY 1st…and I can actually send you my receipt if you want me to prove it. The post about etaletc was on July 21st…and I didn’t even receive etaletc’s order (packaged with the embossed sticker) until end of July or so. So that really just blow your whole statement out of the water. OH! SNAP!!
    Really…what is your email? I’ll send you my embosser receipt…and my etaletc receipt just so you can see it side by side.

    Second of all: Isn’t the use of an embosser MEANT to be used as a branding tool??? It has been around forever and that’s what its for…to put some one’s logo, name, or whatever. No where in my embossing post that I said I came up with that. So there’s no bases for you to assume that I’m claiming it as an original idea since I never said that!
    I’m sure if you asked Evita from Etaletc that she wouldn’t claim that her use of gold seal is at all original either. Plus i’m pretty sure that there are PLENTY of others out there beyond just me & etaletc who are using the embosser for branding….I don’t know for sure, I may be wrong….

    I like Evita’s style & aesthetic very much and our style is very much inline. So it wouldn’t be at all crazy if we happened to have done the same thing or like the same things.

    For others who are questioning etaletc….instead of just questioning her here and making up your own statements, please just email her directly and find out! have a conversation with her and ask how she does it all?? versus making all these assumptions!
    But pretty much that’s what I did. because I was so fascinated about how etaletc makes all those stuff, I just started asking her bunch of questions about how she works which lead to the interview post since i felt that people need to know more about her! But this lead to some really interesting conversations between us and I felt like we even connected as two creative individuals living in different places where now we’re even talking about some collaboration work!

    I’ve purchased multiple things from etaletc, and I can tell that its handmade if not from scratch, its altered by her, which is not a crime!! I stand by her work and believes that she puts a WHOLE lot of heart into it and for that. Why is it so hard to believe when something is actually well-made!? just because we sell on etsy doesn’t mean we have to sacrifice our quality of work because everyone elses’ standards are low!
    she deserves to do what she enjoys!!

    We all do!!
    So stop wasting all this time (like I just did writing this whole thing!) doing the witch hunt looking for something that isn’t there and start focusing on something good for yourselves…

    Lastly, Karen if you REALLY want me to share this on my blog, I will… Only because it’s ridiculous as hell… as much as I’m not proud of this particular conversation or moment about L&G, I don’t want to ever forget it…. 😛

  27. Jean December 10, 2010 at 2:38 am #

    Thanks for taking the time to read all this…..didn’t realize it was so long…

  28. Jean December 10, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Oh but I DO have to thank you for directing a bunch of traffic to my site. Peace.

  29. Jean December 10, 2010 at 4:15 am #

    oops I meant Krysten….not Karen. Sorry!

  30. sick of cupcakes December 10, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    “just because we sell on etsy doesn’t mean we have to sacrifice our quality of work because everyone elses’ standards are low!”

    Bitch, please.

  31. Bozo December 17, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Hey well seller orangethyme copies sweetpetula completely. She has copied her lip balms, the blackberry and cherry tins and wraps them the same ways, she was on sweet petulas facebook page the other day under her real name asking her questions. Sweetpetula probably has no idea.

Leave a Reply

