TheHomeCentric, anandaart

13 Dec

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheHomeCentric
With almost 800 items in her shop you can figure out that she’s not making these herself. And look at the prices! This is the type of stuff you’d find at Pier One Imports or Pottery Barn. Handmade by cheap Indian labor. This Etsy seller from India claims she was fashion designer. The first line of her profile talks about the skilled hand work and craftsmanship that her country is known for so that’s a subtle way of saying she doesn’t make the stuff herself.

And then there’s this shop http://www.etsy.com/shop/anandaart that just opened with exactly the same pillow covers claiming to be made by rural Indian artisans.

43 Responses to “TheHomeCentric, anandaart”

  1. elizabeth December 13, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    I give up. I don’t care about resellers anymore because it is glaringly obvious that etsy doesn’t care either. The first shop has over 3000 sales. At least their stuff looks nice, though, and the people that buy from her obviously don’t care that it’s not handmade by the seller either, but handmade by little kids in sweatshops. It’s cheap and pretty and sparkly so who cares who made it.
    The big money for Etsy is in resellers and mass producers, not some honest hard working crafter selling one or two items a week, so we might as well get used to resellers and mass producers being welcomed with open arms. Just call your factory a collective and you’re good to go.

  2. em December 13, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    I came across this shop a long time ago when I was an Etsy newbie. I think I found them on the front page. I actually almost bought something, and I’m glad I didn’t. This was all before I discovered the cluster fuck that was going on behind the scenes, and even then I found the huge selection and low prices a little suspicious. That’s really sad that no one else can tell, though, they have over 3000 sales already 😦

  3. Jael December 13, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    thehomecentric.com

    just sayin’

  4. Cat Power December 13, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    The second shop mentioned is also located in Pume…coincidence or is Pume a factory town that makes home dec products????

  5. stinkypants December 13, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Craft kit sold for 5.50, when you can buy enough for 12 @ 4.99. Nice little mark-up there, sparky.

  6. Dee December 13, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    oooh, SparklePeach callout. http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6716585

  7. WangFu December 13, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Yeah, I think I give too. No sales, tired of competing with resellers, etsy doesn’t give a shit. Besides, I think I am going in a new direction with a fresh product line. Etsy does not understand who its customers are.

  8. Sydney December 13, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57037232/start-your-own-etsy-vintage-shop

    Hmmm…?

  9. linda December 13, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Looks like sparkle peaches shop is closed?

  10. Sydney December 13, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/63850719/the-return-of-the-living-dead-vintage?ref=fp_treasury_2

    On the front page, is this shop allowed to do this??

  11. priti December 14, 2010 at 2:37 am #

    I stay near her house in pune & these are not remotely made by her……………..but she is a top seller on etsy & makes loads of money for E……………so she is NOT going anywhere!

  12. mrpouncy December 14, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    4 | sick of cupcakes
    December 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    From Regretsy:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/63258328/fish-catch-game-craft-kit
    NOT listed as supplies.
    ^^^^^

    She even says “these aren’t handmade” in all her listings, yet they’re all listed in the handmade category, clogging up the works. So irritating. The entire shop needs to be relisted under supplies. Why is that so hard to figure out?

    I’m also hugely tempted to convo her and ask why I’d buy one fish thingy from her for $5.50 when I can get 12 for $4.99!

  13. sick of cupcakes December 14, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    No, but since when does etsy care?

  14. Lucy December 14, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Wow Dee, that thread you linked to is sad. A new to Etsy buyer gets ripped off by a dishonest seller, and the advice of the admin. who closes the thread is to contact SASSY? What are they going to do? Etsy doesn’t help the sellers or buyers, who do they help?

  15. theunknownetsian December 14, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    At some point Miss Purcell will be contacted by the postal authorities for mail fraud.

  16. detroit December 14, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Aaaaand Raceytay on the FP. Again.

    Must be nice to be on the FP twice a day most days in December.

    Must be nice to have like 2,500 sales in one year on Etsy!

    Nothing against the seller. Just Etsy. Like about everything else there, their management of the FP is a massive fail. No transparency. No discussion allowed. No fairness….

    And no, I have no store, so I’m not jealous. Just tired of seeing the same-old on the FP all the time. Despite all of Etsy’s problems, there are many GREAT people who use their site, and make breathtaking items. It would be great to see them on the FP once in a while.

    I guess they’re trying to be like McDonalds. For McD’s, no matter where in the world you go visit it, the store feels familiar. For Etsy, no matter what time of day you visit, the FP feels familiar.

    Well, I flippin hate McDonalds, and have not even set foot in one in years. Just sayin,

  17. detroit December 14, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    12 | priti
    December 14, 2010 at 2:37 am
    I stay near her house in pune & these are not remotely made by her……………..but she is a top seller on etsy & makes loads of money for E……………so she is NOT going anywhere!
    _________________________________

    Ha ha! I believe it!

    And, not to insult your country Priti (it’s clearly a great civilization with amazing art), but the labor conditions are APPALLING for many CHILDREN!

    At least with reseller crap from China, you know some 22 year old is working in a factory 80 hours a week to make it. They have *some* standards and enforcement when it comes to child labor.

    In India it could easily be a 12 year old.

    Shop local y’all. From people you know, or sources you trust. I bet, wherever you are, you can get most of the food items, gift items and crafts you need produced right in your state / province. It’s something I’m trying to do with ALL of my xmas shopping this year.

  18. detroit December 14, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    And last thing – I’m sick of people justifying their Walmart / Etsy junque from Hong Kong shopping because of the prices.

    Nice things cost money! Someone put in a lot of labor to make it. If you don’t pay the real cost of the item, someone else along the chain does.

    Buy less and buy thoughtfully.

    (Whoo! Getting light headed way up here on my podium – lol! And I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir with you all. I just hate the Walmartification of Etsy!)

  19. Jennifer December 14, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    the Walmartification of Etsy… I like that! (the term, I mean, not the fact that it’s happened.)

  20. Life During Wartime December 14, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I especially take issue with Etsy consistently encouraging handmade (and to some extent, vintage) sellers to market their creations as if they were consumables/disposables. That works if you are selling supplies, bath and body, or food. Otherwise, no.

    Wal-Mart is the larval form of the landfill.

  21. stinkypants December 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Here is a photo of SparklePeach dated November 24. I wonder if all those bags in the background are the orders so many of her customers have not been fortunate enough to receive. Bet she was gonna rush right out to the PO to mail them after the nice meal.
    http://www.facebook.com/SparklePeach#!/photo.php?fbid=1582282889508&set=a.1031286474942.6391.1608789962

  22. megansbeadeddesigns December 14, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    The team leaders in a couple of the teams I am in are telling, not just suggesting, but TELLING members to include “Heavy Hitters” in team treasuries because it will guarantee a lot more hits and a better chance at the front page. I am sure these HH’s are fully aware of this cycle and just LOVE to reap the benefits.

  23. Jennifer December 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Priti, you should take some pictures, maybe with ENOUGH public embarassment etsy will be forced to close that ****-factory down?

  24. Stephica December 14, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Last year during the holiday season I spent well over $300 for gifts on Etsy. This year I’m spending $0.

    There are a couple of reasons, the first being that I really don’t want to make a mistake and pay marked up prices for reseller crap. The bigger reasons is because all the stuff I bought for friends last year left public feedback and of Etsy’s favored cupcakes decided it was a good idea to publicly talk shit about me because I bought marijuana related merchandise for my pot smoking Cali friends (which they loved by the way). Too bad Etsy promotes such douchebaggery, nay rewards it!

  25. WangFu December 15, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Stephica, I am also not buying on etsy. I used to buy every gift there for all occasions. I bought my wedding ring off etsy. No more for much the same reasons except the last. Oh and being muted.

  26. sick of cupcakes December 15, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I don’t know about these gloves. No where does she say that she knit them. These would take hours to knit and at 19.00 I’m just not believing that she makes these…..

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64135348/lovely-magic-fingerless-gloves

  27. sick of cupcakes December 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Re: fingerless gloves….

    http://wholesalebestbuy.mybisi.com/product/warm-knit-gloves-stripelong-open-finger12

    She charges twice as much for hats that would take half the time to knit. She is a lying cheat.

    Soon all that will be on etsy are these asshole reselling liars and the cupcakes.

  28. Life During Wartime December 15, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I’ve stopped buying on Etsy because the site has rejected me as a shopper.

    Mistagging and category abuse is encouraged by the staff.

    Reseller merchandise and faux vintage have become established and accepted.

    Search sux.

    The Jump To a page box was removed to prevent shoppers from speed browsing a subcat by ignoring titles, categories and tags — which on Etsy are misleading as often as not — and focusing on the photos.

    Search results have been arbitrarily limited.

    If by some chance I saw an item I wanted, I’d purchase it. But I don’t care for the Etsy trends I see in features, and only a small percentage of shop owners post in the Forums, so finding cool stuff to buy has become a huge challenge.

  29. Sydney December 15, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/FistaCuffs

  30. losinghope December 15, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6718183&page=1
    Big debate on the forums right now about breaking the TOU’s by using the Artfire importer. All the cupcakes are just shocked that someone would do this when esty forbids it. HOW ABOUT ALL THE BROKEN TOU’S BY RESELLERS, TAG AND TITLE STUFFERS, CATEGORY VIOLATIONS, LYING ABOUT VINTAGE AND ON AND ON.
    Tou’s are breaking all around them and they are making a big deal about this???? Puleeezeeee….

  31. pissed off December 15, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/worldwideoddities?ref=seller_info Check this seller out. Cheapo Ebay Indian Silver pieces being pawned off as vintage. Shameful.

  32. Lucy December 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    I agree losinghope, Etsy enforces the TOUS when they lose money, such as the importer and items sold elsewhere, but looks the other way when they make money, such as re-sellers.

    They must be getting worried about Zibbet and Artfire, because there really is no reason to get your panties in a wad over this.

  33. detroit December 15, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    27 | sick of cupcakes
    December 15, 2010 at 12:22 pm
    I don’t know about these gloves. No where does she say that she knit them. These would take hours to knit and at 19.00 I’m just not believing that she makes these…..
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64135348/lovely-magic-fingerless-gloves
    __________________________________________________

    Not a professional knitter – so I have no comment on this item.

    BUT, my suspicion of all things East Asian extends to Etsy shops in the NY region and especially in California (like this particular shop) – MAJOR ports of entry for factory goods from China.

    I’m sure you’ve all seen the photographs of the immense cranes making city-sized stacks of giant cargo containers of goods from China in Long Beach, CA, etc.

    Yeah, go, Etsy, GO! You’ve already ruined the reputation of every shop (honest or not) from the far East by allowing all the reseller merch. Time to bring it on home to the USA! Already people boycott items from China. People aren’t (that) dumb. It won’t be too long until they figure out half your tschotske shops located in Cali are reseller crap too!

    Reap what you sew!!! lol.

  34. theunknownetsian December 16, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Detroit – you are out of line. California is not full of China crap unless you talk about Walmart. However, CA is full of people who were not born here such as people from Asia and Latin America who think selling this way is perfectly fine. (they also like to sell things like bootleg DVDs on street corners). As for the cargo ship containers, I suspect more than one of them is full of illegal aliens as well. And, yes, I grew up in Long Beach.
    Oh, and the native born Californians like myself consider “Cali” to be an east coast insult.

  35. Bedazzled VONdom December 16, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    “Oh, and the native born Californians like myself consider “Cali” to be an east coast insult.”

    Well, this native born-still living here Californian thinks some people need to get over themselves and this native born-still living here Californian also doesn’t give a rat’s ass what you call this shitty State, which, as Detroit correctly surmised, is indeed a vomit-fest of crap from China.

    No Walmart around here either.

    “And, yes, I grew up in Long Beach.”

    A true CALI shithole. You have my sympathy.

  36. Annonymus December 16, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Not a reseller, but check this out anyway. Etsy is sending out emails to sellers about Paypal updates which includes a link to PP in the email.

    What have we been told a million times? Do NOT click on alleged Paypal links you get in emails!

    So someone asked in the forums if it was a scam, as well as posted a reply from PayPal telling them it was a phishing email hahahaha.

    LisaJune tripped all over herself apologizing and explaining that it wasn’t a scam, then closed the thread to avoid further “confusion” ooops embarrassment.

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6716259&page=6

  37. detroit December 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I don’t think you actually read what I wrote. I did not insult Cali. I insulted Etsy.

    However, I think you’re being racist saying that the reason there are resellers in California is because they’re not ‘American.’

    California is filled with good and bad people just like any other place on earth.

    However, California people have unique access to Asian imports due to being one of America’s biggest ports. That’s why you see a lot of the same reseller crap from Californian shops as from Asian shops.

    Etsy already ruined things for poor genuine crafters from East Asia by allow all the resellers. Many people immediately dismiss a shop when they see the location is China.

    And, if they keep up letting resellers from California, the same thing will happen. New York has a similar reputation.

    And finally, YES, California is FULL to the brim of Chinese crap. Just like the rest of the country. Are you aware of our trade imbalance with China?

  38. Stephica December 16, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    I’m from SoCal and don’t consider Cali an insult. I do consider barely concealed passive aggressive racism an insult though.

  39. theunknownetsian December 16, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Well, this native born-still living here Californian thinks some people need to get over themselves and this native born-still living here Californian also doesn’t give a rat’s ass what you call this shitty State, which, as Detroit correctly surmised, is indeed a vomit-fest of crap from China.
    No Walmart around here either.
    “And, yes, I grew up in Long Beach.”
    A true CALI shithole. You have my sympathy.
    __
    You should probably leave CA asap as you obviously have nothing worthy of contributing.
    And for the rest of you, “passive-aggressive” racism? I think not. I suggest you do a little research to see who the sellers I spoke of are. They are not people who were born in this country. I am sure there are native born ones as well but my telling you what I have personally observed has nothing to do with racism. I notice that using the term “racism” seems to be Detroits favorite pastime except when she is calling people “whores” like she did me for no reason and I don’t even know her. Get a grip people.

  40. detroit December 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Ha ha. Hm. I don’t remember calling you a whore (Not that I’m doubting I did (bad memory here)). Well, I’m sure you deserved it.

    Looks like you must’ve struck me as an idiot on more than one occasion then!

    ___________________________________

    40 | theunknownetsian

    “I am sure there are native born ones as well but my telling you what I have personally observed has nothing to do with racism.”

    ___________________________________

    Well, okay then genius. Based on your infallible logic, and based on my observation of you, I’ll assume that native Cali folks are morons.

    Nope, I’m not being unfair, or generalizing at all :eyeroll:

  41. detroit December 16, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Oh, and I apologize to everyone for all my missing words and typos above. I just get so excited when I’m arguing in a blog comment section – lol!

  42. Cali December 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    I always knew Homecentric was a reseller! How much more obvious can you be. But of course Etsy continues to support them and I’ve seen them in a well recognized magazine that featured handmade items! Ugh!!! I wonder how many people are going to turn away from Etsy once they catch on??? Welcome to the “homemade” Walmart…aka Etsy.

Leave a Reply

