sourlemontree, madebyhumanhands, mydogandi

10 Jan
A couple of reader emails about copycats:
She likes to use patterns from other sites in her shop – not only is she using patterns that aren’t her own, she’s stealing pictures from the sites.
Listing:
Site she stole from – granted it’s in Turkish, but still:
She’s also taken patterns and pics from Ravelry, claiming she was friends with the girl she stole the pics from. The shop that found her out sent a convo to the copyright holder on Etsy and the chick was not happy. She comes into chat all the time, and takes all these compliments on how beautiful her work is. I think it’s time that stopped.
__________________________________________________________________________
I admire the originality of Yokoo and think she’s ultra talented. I spotted this person copying Yokoo’s style and it disgusted me. So sick of people with not an original bone in their body.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/Yokoo
copycat:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/madebyhumanhands
__________________________________________________________________________
Hello. I don't go searching through my 'competition' on Etsy,
but someone in my circle hearted a set of terrarium ornaments
that was eerily similar to a set I sold (under the shop name
TerraFarma) months back. Someone requested a caterpillar,
rabbit, top hat & mushroom. I made a teacup and a watch on
a whim that was sold to the same customer.
Here is what I made:
http://www.etsy.com/transaction/25183595
http://www.etsy.com/transaction/25183594

Here is their listing:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/64942583/alice-in-wonderland-inspired-figurine

I'm kind of at a loss for words over this. I know some similarities are
to be expected when you work with the same medium, but geez! What should
I do?
14 Responses to “sourlemontree, madebyhumanhands, mydogandi”

  1. Jael January 10, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    @terrafarma – if it’s any consolation, your items look far better than the copycat’s. You could email them, but Alice in Wonderland is kind of a well-known book… it really stinks, I know. On the other hand, imitation is supposed to be the sincerest form of flattery… blah blah blah

  2. sick of cupcakes January 11, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    I don’t really see the Alice in Wonderland as being copied. Not even the same items. Unless you are Lewis Carroll, there is nothing to be upset about.

  3. mrpouncy January 11, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    Speaking of copying, I almost fell off my chair when I saw this on the FP:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64164394/sale-free-shipping-merry-christmas

    I recognized this immediately from a featured seller article from not too long ago. Virtually the same as this:

    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/40742035

    Not sure if the “shop opened date” is a reliable indicator, but it sure makes it look like someone got the idea from the featured seller. Unfortunate.

  4. Mymy January 11, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    People who copy characters they have no claims to really shouldn’t be crying foul about potential copying of those same characters.

    As for the Yokoo copycat I almost thought it was a joke since it was so blatant! That is a dedicated copier to get the same haircut and glasses. Actually stalker may be a better term.

  5. WangFu January 11, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Sour doesn’t even know the difference between knit and crochet. PATHETIC.

  6. it's a dude, too! January 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    the yokoo copycat, that is…and, it really doesn’t bother me too much since in her featured seller interview she said there’s nothing wrong with a little plagiarism when asked about inspiration.

  7. madmomma January 11, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    terra-
    I don’t really see what the other person made as being copying… they don’t even look the same. I wouldn’t fret it. People make tee shirts with similar designs on them all the time. If they would have copied your colors and pattern, then I would say it was copying, but in this case, nah.

  8. kitten January 12, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    The Yokoo copycat, yeah well since she has “Minnie” ears and copied the PayPal snowman picture into her banner and didn’t remove it until she was called out about it, it doesn’t bother me. In fact, I think the copier, if she is, is clever. Kind of reminds me of Pee Wee Herman.

  9. The sincerest form of fuckery January 17, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Madebyhumanhands is a parody of Yokoo, I think. The wig, the costume-shop glasses with no lenses, the ill-fitting 80’s clothes, it all seems like a really clever satire. And that model is a dude, isn’t it?

  10. Laura R. January 23, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Hi,
    Someone let me know I was on this, so i went to check it out.
    I can see how my item and the seller’s item was similar, but I can honestly tell you I have never seen that set before… she sold her set almost 1 year ago, and why would I go through a seller’s sold items? Her shop isn’t even active, and to be honest, her set is a lot cleaner looking than mine. So, if Terra wants to contact me she can and I will take the listing down.
    Thanks,
    -Laura
    mydogandi.etsy

  11. kitten January 23, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Laura R. said:

    Hi,
    Someone let me know I was on this, so i went to check it out.
    I can see how my item and the seller’s item was similar, but I can honestly tell you I have never seen that set before… she sold her set almost 1 year ago, and why would I go through a seller’s sold items? Her shop isn’t even active, and to be honest, her set is a lot cleaner looking than mine. So, if Terra wants to contact me she can and I will take the listing down.
    Thanks,
    -Laura
    mydogandi.etsy
    _______________________________

    If you didn’t copy, why would you take it down?

    Terra has no problem using “Alice in Wonderland” which you did too.

    I think Terra is full of herself.

    Leave them up!

  12. kitten January 23, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    kitten said:
    The Yokoo copycat, yeah well since she has “Minnie” ears and copied the PayPal snowman picture into her banner and didn’t remove it until she was called out about it, it doesn’t bother me.
    _____________________

    Added to clarify: Yokoo has “Minnie” ears and copied the PayPal snowman picture, not madebyhumanhands.

  13. TheBargainBabe January 29, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Ooh I remember sourlemontree. Pretty stuff but FAKE. Ugh.

  14. Bobbi-Jean Newell August 20, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I was checking my shop stats and this was in my top traffic sources. What a hoot! I love how people think they own things that they can never in a million years possibly lay claim to (like a pom pom or a haircut). Thanks for the free advertising! Word, B.

Leave a Reply

