luchador, mylovelymom, nurlu, Starpompon, Ayca

11 Jan
Check this guy out, selling new wrestling figures and dvds

http://www.etsy.com/shop/luchador
 ______________________________________________________________________________________________
I thought I was seeing double when this scarf was on the front page, in what appeared to be a duplicate treasury
http://www.etsy.com/listing/63589097/red-cocoon-curly-mulberry-ponpon-extra?ref=tre-4d2b0ad8231a6d9187c1517f-8

Then I found this
http://www.etsy.com/listing/64727867/crimson-pompom-curly-mulberry-long-scarf?ref=tre-4d2b0ad8231a6d9187c1517f-6

and this
http://www.etsy.com/listing/65519570/hand-crochet-scarf-pompom
and this one
http://www.etsy.com/listing/34901325/yellow-shining-pom-pom-scarf?ref=sr_list_37&ga_search_query=pompom+scarf&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=&order=&includes[0]=tags&includes[1]=title&filter[0]=handmade

They're all from Turkey/Istanbul. 
It's much bigger than just these.  They make it easy to find
them because they put each other in their treasuries.

EDIT: Adding Ayca
http://www.etsy.com/listing/60524288/sporty-curly-mulberry-long-crochet-scarf
79 Responses to “luchador, mylovelymom, nurlu, Starpompon, Ayca”

  1. Life During Wartime January 11, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Isn’t EddieJames altering the garments? If so, then that is Etsy legit.

  2. EtsyDontCare January 11, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Yeah I don’t think Maidenform has come out with panties like that. They care cut but I don’t think I will be leaving me cheeks bare.

  3. EtsyDontCare January 11, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    That was supposed to say cute

  4. Life During Wartime January 11, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    WTF luchador? I guess it’s equal time for dudes’ new collectibles since Etsy has been allowing the shabby sh+t and other girly faux vintage to fly under the radar for a couple of years now. Lovely.

  5. Life During Wartime January 11, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Oh, even better…luchador is listing them as Handmade-Toys. Why not…it’s being done with manufactured girly stuff.

  6. Cat Power January 11, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Luchador’s shop is empty at the moment.

  7. WangFu January 11, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    BTW, LOVE LOVE LOVE the new look.

  8. Life During Wartime January 11, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    If admin disappeared luchador’s items, it’s because the shop wasn’t girly, in addition to being a reseller.

  9. apple January 12, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    I love your new look.

    Wait, is this shop just re-seller?? Please say no.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/60524288/sporty-curly-mulberry-long-crochet-scarf

  10. sick of cupcakes January 12, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    Apple, I believe that shop can’t tell the difference between knit and crochet on some items.

  11. megansbeadeddesigns January 12, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Not sure if this shop has been mentioned yet or not…

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/GlammyCouture

    Ugh

  12. em January 12, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Sorry to post off-topic

    I can’t log into either of my Etsy accounts. They both say they have been deactivated. No emails, no previous convos. I have been a little late on my bills but am currently paying them off steadily.

    Pardon my French, but what the fuck is going on? Did I just get booted?

  13. megansbeadeddesigns January 12, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Yikes em! That may very well be… !

  14. Jael January 12, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Re: the new blog look… for me, on foxfire (mac) the text is cut off at the right hand edge of the main part of the blog. I’m not crazy about the new look, sorry. Kind of boring.

  15. madmomma January 12, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    ohh Em, that doesn’t sound good…
    I hope you aren’t booted. Keep us posted.

    I think my shop is invisible at the moment, actually had to ask someone else to search my shop earlier. Renewing like mad and nothing as much as a convo in days, and hardly any views.

  16. etsycallout January 12, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    We are trying to find a happy medium between links getting underlined and text size. Sorry if it’s boring. We will still keep looking.

  17. Ayca January 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    This design is not exclusive to me infact it’s available in every yarn store in Turkey, to help manufacturer with the sales. If it was an original design of another Etsy seller, there was no chance that I would sell it.

    I am the first one who listed this design as “Curly Mulberry Scarf” and now this name is used by all sellers and I am proud of that!!!

    I refused to get some help from anyone else even during the busiest season and lived with 3 hours daily sleep just to catch up with the orders, let alone resell something.
    Every single piece in my shop is made alone by me and being talked about in this thread makes me incredibly sad!

    Please check it out for same type yarn , different my own design options ;
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/37486683
    http://www.etsy.com/search_results_shop.php?search_type=user_shop_ttt_id_6738104&search_query=cocoon+pin
    http://www.etsy.com/search_results_shop.php?search_query=6&search_type=user_shop_ttt_id_6738104

  18. Dee January 12, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    hmm, noticed that Ayca is on a street team, or 2 treasury teams? I hope they take note as I think teams have a responsibility for their members. You shouldn’t be featuring resellers in your team treasury lists.

  19. toastycrackers January 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    how are you sure ayca is like the rest of them? i thought she was the one who was not supposed to be.

    and off topic.. what happened to chinacherie’s shop?

  20. Ayca January 12, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    03:06 night time in Istanbul…
    My first comment is awaiting moderation…
    I’m still crocheted and I read our thread…

    If you want to be sure I can accept guest in Istanbul 🙂

    So sorry for my broken & creative English…Because of my assistance isn’t here now

  21. Ayca January 12, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    This design is not exclusive to me infact it’s available in every yarn store in Turkey, to help manufacturer with the sales. If it was an original design of another Etsy seller, there was no chance that I would sell it.

    I am the first one who listed this design as “Curly Mulberry Scarf” and now this name is used by all sellers and I am proud of that!!!

    I refused to get some help from anyone else even during the busiest season and lived with 3 hours daily sleep just to catch up with the orders, let alone resell something.
    Every single piece in my shop is made alone by me and being talked about in this thread makes me incredibly sad!

  22. Tina Ellcey January 12, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Hi, I am new to this site but wondering how you find out who is a reseller and who had the original idea? How can you call out these shops? What kind of information did you have before you wrote about them?
    Thanks

  23. WangFu January 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Tina, a reseller is someone who purchases items wholesale and resells them on etsy. They violate the Terms of Use because they are not handmade by the seller or vintage (more than 20 years old). Those of us who have been around a while or who have been doing our crafts for a while can spot the resellers pretty easily.

    You seem to be referring to copycats or copyright violations? Correct me if I am wrong…

    We can call them out here because of our First Amendment rights. lol

  24. Carla January 13, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    I am in an online marketying group with Ayca and I believe that she MAKES everything she sells. She is extremely busy and and very talented. She participates in the group regularly and her merchandise is beautiful. She is very upset that she has been ‘called out’ on this board. This is exactly why Etsy doesn’t allow this type of thing in its forums – because people who don’t know what they’re talking about make GUESSES and accusations that are unfounded. Acya does not speak English and it is hard for her to understand what is written and how to respond. Acya should be removed from the list of callouts immediately and the poster should apologize. Too bad the effort spent accusing innocent people can’t be channeled more positively.

    Happy sales everyone.

  25. Carla January 13, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    WangFu – First Amdendment does not include
    SLANDER – LOL!.

    Ayca uses a pattern – but makes her items. She needs to have her shop removed from this post.

  26. JK January 13, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Actually, Carla, a written statement would be considered LIBEL – LOL!
    Slander covers transitory statements, such as spoken words. If you’re going to accuse someone of defamation, it helps to make sure it’s the right kind. 🙂

  27. Stacey January 13, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    It looks to me like they’re all making scarves with the same type of yarn. I appreciate what this site does, but being unoriginal is not the same as being a reseller. Not worthy of a call out, imho.

  28. Carla January 13, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    JK – you’re absolutely right – I stand corrected. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to make me feel like a jerk.

    WangFu – First Amendment doe not include LIBEL – LOL!

    And if someone is going to accuse someone of reselling when in fact they don’t – it helps to make sure your are correct before you make such a statement.

    The whole point is – this site is fine when it’s the truth – but when false accusations are made – you are messing with someone’s livlihood – that’s just wrong and it should be corrected.

    Happy Sales!

  29. capecodjewel January 13, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Wow…did you take the time to look through Ayca’s whole shop to see the beautiful original work she does? Just because she hand makes something that other wholesellers have for sale doesn’t mean that hers aren’t handcrafted by herself. Maybe if you didn’t take all this time looking for crafters to libel (and single out because of national origin), you’d be able to make enough product yourself to be as successful on Etsy as Ayca is.

    I have also looked through all of the other shops that you are accusing in this post, and frankly, they all look to be carrying handmade items to me. Just because they are all from Turkey, and using a particular yarn to make a scarf in a particular style doesn’t automatically mean the items are mass produced. You have no proof and your logic is flawed.

    Your blog is hateful and bigoted, and this will be my one and only visit and comment; I will also not tweet, FB or promote it in any way… even though I would love to expose you for the troll you are.

    I WILL post this response on my group, who are already aware of your hate mongering, as I’m pretty sure you won’t have the guts to allow my reply to be posted.

    Linda Stranger (yes, that is my real name… what’s yours? I thought so. It’s easy to be a troll when you wear a mask.)

  30. Madi January 13, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Maybe some of the mentioned are not resellers, but for sure they are copycats (and it’s sooo hard to prove who copied who) – just look at the pictures! Except the yellow one, they are almost identical…

  31. Carla January 13, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Madi – I have NO idea at all about the pictures – I’ve often wondered that myself.

    But MANY MANY knitters/crocheters use purchased patterns, but do the knitting themselves.

    I don’t knit- but I have a friend who does – and it takes SKILL to do it in a way to make something someone wants to buy and wear. It also takes a lot of time.

    Just because someone uses a pattern – that is available to everyone – doesn’t mean they aren’t a talented craftsperson.

    It also doen’t mean they are copying – they are just applying their skill to a pattern they think will sell well in their shop. They have every right to be on Etsy.

    The pictures are either being copied from the first original seller – which is WRONG but nearly impossible to prove – or they are using photos from the pattern packaging – which would also explain why they are all the same (but I have no idea).

    If the original seller did take the photos herself/himself – and others copied them – then THAT poster should take it up with ETSY.

    However – it is very possible the NONE of the shops in this post are doing anything other than using the same pattern. I KNOW Ayca is hand knitting her items in her shop.

  32. sick of cupcakes January 13, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Oh please. Can you explain how mylovelymom lives in Turkey,America,UK,Japan,Canada,Europe, and ltaly?

    And which is it?

    “Your blog is hateful and bigoted, and this will be my one and only visit and comment; I will also not tweet, FB or promote it in any way… even though I would love to expose you for the troll you are.

    I WILL post this response on my group, who are already aware of your hate mongering, as I’m pretty sure you won’t have the guts to allow my reply to be posted.”

    Will you or won’t you? Make up your mind.

  33. FormerEtsyBuyer January 13, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Oh, dear. Sparklepeach’s Artfire shop is now closed. I guess she closed it because she used the same “policies” verbiage in her new etsy shop, MintyFreshStudio—which is now completely gone from etsy. Too bad her GardenSecrets shop is still there gathering negs (feedback is now at 79% positive).

    Hey, Kristin Purcell! TheLovelyWhimsey still has the same verbiage up–you know, the shop you claimed “stole” all your descriptions and pictures and policies etc. (see sold items), yet etsy never closed it down. Odd.

  34. Angel January 13, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    As many people have pointed out in the past, in many posts through the history of this blog, people don’t give their real names for many reasons. The lack of identifiers does not a troll make. In addition, the site does not only deal in the realm of re-sellers. And I think we all can agree that when multiple sellers spring up making the exact same item, from the exact same location, it looks mighty fishy. That is something that is worth a discussion, and since Etsy doesn’t allow that on their venue, we can have it here. Shops are routinely dismissed from the “calling out” list when participants do leg work that benefits the community here.

    It should ALSO be noted that the people who visit this site are not restricted to sellers on Etsy. Many of us, including myself, are buyers who don’t sell anything. Buyers who spend ridiculous amounts of money and want to ensure they aren’t throwing good money away. It would be wise to remember that not everyone is, and I throw it back to the motto that was dreamt up a while back and is now featured on the sidebar, a jealous hating bitch who has no life. If I’m spending my money on a product that I haven’t seen in person, you can bet your ass I’m going to look into a number of things to ensure that the product, and the seller, are reputable.

    Regarding the issue that many sellers are selling the same design out of the same area. The seller has come to the site to state that she is not a re-seller. Fantastic! Thank you for contributing to the discussion, Ayca. The bigger issue than proving to those that visit this website that you are legitimate is “Why are people not able to tell that the items in my shop are handmade by me?”.

    First and foremost, where are you located? Pick a location. One location. The location you live in and where the items will ship from. Those locations should be the same. Re-sellers generally don’t like to advertise where they are based out of, although some just don’t care if the buyer is made readily aware that they are buying from one of the sweat mill cities.

    You said that you didn’t steal a pattern, that you wouldn’t do that. You are using a pattern bought in a store that is widely available for others to purchase. Does that pattern clearly indicate that the person who developed the pattern has expressly allowed purchasers to make money on it by making items using the pattern and then selling them? Most don’t. Most actually expressly indicate the exact opposite. That items made with it CAN’T be sold for profit. That is still stealing. You did not create the pattern, you’ve said as much, so you need to be absolutely certain that you have permission to commercialize the work of someone else.

    These are not unreasonable questions to have, and given the volume of people located in the sellers area selling the same item, it gives buyers a very bad feeling. So instead of instantly jumping to a “you guys are haters, go get a life” (my paraphrasing), how about some time spent thinking about, and resolving, the issues that cause the confusion and wariness to begin with?

  35. Angel January 13, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Now I know why my husband tells me to start off each of my posts with “Warning: This will be tl;dnr for most sane people”.

  36. Facing The Lens January 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Your post was wonderful, Angel. No apologies necessary.

  37. Whoa January 13, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Here’s a lovely little shop with a bunch of “estate” (pawn shop) goodies. The shop title says Vintage, but most of the items here are certainly not.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/thegoldexchange?ref=seller_info

  38. madmomma January 13, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Bravo Angel!

  39. sick of cupcakes January 13, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Angel is an angel.

  40. toastycrackers January 14, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    You guys do realize there are other shops just like these, no? Why don’t you find and post them all so it’s fair. Then we can find out who came up with what first, because I really don’t like the idea of saying they’re -all- the same. Only because one of them surely came up with the photography and picked the patterns she wanted in her shop first..

    Right?

    I would tend to think whoever that is deserves some slack. I say this because I’ve heard of this matter before this post, so it’s not an unknown topic.

  41. WangFu January 14, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    Do these sellers have permission to make and sell items from these patterns?

  42. Thud January 14, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    While I am very much in ETHICAL favour of seeking permission from a patternmaker to use their pattern to create items for commercial use, I think legally, it is a little fuzzier. They can copyright a pattern, yes, and after that, they cannot control what someone makes with it~ try as they might.
    I think, personally, that *even* if permission is not obtained, at the very least, creators from patterns should give credit to the pattern maker.

  43. Buyer Only January 14, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    I’m confused. Are these supposed to NOT be the same seller? Two of the shops photograph against the same stucco wall or piece of watercolor paper. Not sure which, but both happen to have the same texture flaws in the same place.

    Is it a coincidence that two of the shops use the same color name “mulberry” and the same care instructions? All of the shop owners knit with the same guage?

    I’m not convinced.

  44. WangFu January 14, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Well, a lack of integrity in a seller is a big turn off for me.

    I mean, if I leave my wallet on the seat of my car, does that give someone the right to take it? Of course not.

  45. Jen January 14, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Starpompon was in my Suggested Sellers list this morning.

  46. Carla January 14, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    This thread has digressed so far from it’s original intent. If you have PROOF of something – post it here. But the general consensus is Ayca is NOT reselling – which is the original accusation of this post.

    Since it is agreed she is NOT reselling – then her shop should be removed from the callout – that is only fair.

    If you want to start a NEW post about other topics then do so. But I still believe – Innocent until PROVEN guilty. Guessing and conjecture have no place here.

    If you have SUSPICIONS and don’t want to spend your money with a shop – then don’t. But don’t bash another shop with accusations that many readers will take as FACT when, in fact they may very well not be.

    If the owner of the this forum is serious about accuracy – then Ayca’s shop needs to be removed.

    I have seen pictures of her piles and piles of yarn, her work area, works in progress, and pictures of her knitting.

    None of you have ANY IDEA whatsoever if she is allowed to sell something made from the patterns she purchased or not. But just take a look at the knitting section in ETSY – thousands and thousands and thousands of items for sale – Do you think those people designed their own patterns? Really? Plus – are you experts in the laws in Turkey?

    If you’re going to go down that road then this list should be a WHOLE LOT LONGER. Nearly every person who knits on Etsy should be called out because the MAY have used a pattern that doesn’t allow the item to be made and sold for profit. Why are you listing others?

    If you KNOW – really know that someone is doing something against ETSY policy – then yes, use this forum to call it out. Otherwise – stay quiet – you’re messing with peoples lives.

    If you don’t want to spend your money with them because you’re “NOT SURE” – fine. But don’t make accusations you can’t support and don’t ask the seller to “Prove their innocence to you”.

  47. mrpouncy January 14, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    If an item ships from Turkey, then your location should be Turkey. If an item ships from Canada, then your location should be Canada. Reseller or not, pick a location, one location, be honest and clear with buyers about where you and your items are located.

  48. Buyer Only January 14, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Whether she, or any of them are resellers, you can find them cheaper on Artfire at this shop, which also happens to be in Turkey.
    http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=2644090

    Or try this seller on Dawanda.
    http://en.dawanda.com/product/14513073-SaleCurly-Mulberry-Long-ScarfSoftGreenGift

    And you missed them in this Etsy shop, I think, because I don’t see it listed
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/37385602/cream-cocoon-curly-mulberry-ponpon-extra

    And I think you missed this shop
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64775933/ready-to-ship-clearance-purple-mulberry

    And this one, having a BOGO sale right now (that’s two scarves for $14)
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64497825/bogo-sale-yellow-light-green-light

    Here’s another on that stucco background
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/63534209/smoky-grey-cute-pom-pom-mulberry-scarf?ref=v1_other_1

    If you’re looking for a more colorful scarf, try this shop
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/65589719/colour-cocoon-ponpon-mulberry-floss

    Coincidentially, all or most of these sellers are from Turkey. This must be some real popular yarn!

  49. Buyer Only January 14, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Oops, I forgot this other shop located in Turkey

    http://www.etsy.com/people/zuzusworld?ref=ls_profile

  50. Angel January 14, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    It’s fantastic that you’ve seen piles of yarn and that you believe the seller in question to not be re-selling. Unfortunately, those statements don’t overcome the issues that have been raised in the comments, and they aren’t issues that are your responsibility to resolve. That is the responsibility of the seller.

    It’s very tough for sellers when the legitimacy of their business and/or wares is called into question, but that is also part of running a business. It is DEFINITELY not required that potential buyers have damning proof before raising these types of questions. A buyer brought it into the ECO realm and we in the community are disseminating it via discussion and research. If you don’t think that buyers should discuss shops or items that they find questionable, then we have a fundamental disagreement on how businesses should view a customer (my belief is “not as someone to be duped”).

    While the conversation may have evolved as more information has come to light, to demand that it be shuttered completely is simply ridiculous. I would actually think it would do more harm to open continual new discussions about the seller and her wares for each individual charge than to leave it all in one place and let readers – who are not stupid, despite the accusation that we merely take what we read as fact – follow the discourse. Perhaps the admin of the blog could amend the tags on the post to include a tag that includes reference to this type of issue. That seems fair.

    As a buyer on Etsy, I expect nothing less than my fellow shoppers coming together to discuss potential issues. If the response to advising the seller to ensure she has permission to commercialize the patterns she is using is “Plus – are you experts in the laws in Turkey?”, it’s not only a disservice to the community by attempting to trivialize an important and often discussed issue on the Etsy website itself (and a very very serious issue to ALL artists and artisans), but it is simply a disingenuous statement to be made. If you are a seller on Etsy, I would think that it would be a very important issue to you as well and I suspect that you would have a very different outlook on the applicable laws if you were the one who had created something that someone else was selling. The excuse of “everyone does it and everyone who does it isn’t listed here” doesn’t cut it for buyers, and it certainly shouldn’t cut it for sellers.

    It is the seller’s responsibility to state that she has been given legal permission by the holder of the copyright (Turkey has intellectual copyright laws, and a quick internet search would have provided that knowledge) if she is telling sellers that she uses patterns that are not of her own making. And potential buyers should absolutely ask that of her, as responsible members of the Etsy community.

  51. imwithya January 14, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    I knew about the tutu mafia but not about the Turkish pompom scarf mafia! lol

    It does look like a case of readily available yarn and lots of people copying each other. Kinda like the little love envelope and octopus necklaces. Jesus people have an original idea! Oh wait I forgot, original ideas don’t translate into sales on Etsy. Carry on.

  52. Buyer Only January 14, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I did find a China wholesaler that has identical scarves for $3.00 each but my virus program closeed it down with a virus warning when the website page started loading so I won’t post the link.

    I will check to see if I can find a safe link to post.

  53. Angel January 14, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I also don’t see a link to this other shop of hers anywhere on her two crochet shop profiles, although she clearly has those linked together.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/IchaPhotography

    Likewise, no link to the crochet shops on the photography page.

  54. bellacruz January 14, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Wow. This is absolutely interesting. All of the scarves are identical? I mean, not even the slightest variation? Not an eensy weensy bit?

  55. Angel January 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Another crochet shop not listed by the seller Ayca…

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/icha

    Another seller from Turkey selling the scarves…

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/61778191/grey-mulberry-scarf-no4

    I also found a number of shops that had similar styles and photographs with suspiciously similar profiles that sold items like jewelry (we’re talking alibaba stuff on cheap black plastic displays) out of the same location with the same first name. I wasn’t completely able to determine they were the same person (there were two shops interconnected). I suspect I’ll find more.

  56. bellacruz January 14, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    After looking at the other items in some of the shops, it appears (to my plebian eye) that the other things could be handmade. I don’t know.

  57. Tina Ellcey January 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Angel- just to let you know Ayca does not have those other two shops, her last name is not the same as the one in the photography shop. All of her items are handmade!

  58. Tina Ellcey January 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Actually I was just looking at Ayca’s shop and did notice that the photographer was also named Ayca and the one that owns Icha and Ichaphotography. A total different person, just an fyi

  59. Buyer Only January 14, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    If you Google, you’ll find these all over the internet.
    Here’s another from textile monster

    http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=963624

    I find it hard to believe that so many people are making these and selling them using the same “mulberry” name, the same length, etc… It’s just too much of a coincidence.

  60. Angel January 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Both Ayca’s have near identical shop announcements, both have one another repeatedly featuring in their favourites (among their respective other disclosed shops), and allude to one another in a number of listings.

    I’m willing to concede that the two might be different individuals, despite the incredible coincidences. I am still not convinced of the authenticity of the items, either handmade or ethically (as it relates to intellectual property rights of the pattern if she is indeed crafting the items herself) despite your assurances, but I appreciate the vote of confidence in the seller.

  61. Angel January 14, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    @Buyer Only,

    The rest of that schlock in the last Artfire store you linked is definitely re-seller crap, not lending confidence at all to the handmade nature of those particular scarves found elsewhere.

  62. Buyer Only January 15, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Angel, I did find the scarves on a China wholesale website for $3 each but I didn’t provide the link here because the when I clicked on the website, it came up long enough for me to see a photo and price but then my virus program shut it down with a warning that it could harm my computer.

    There are just too many seller with the same scarf, same length, some of these shops even have identical descriptions.

    I am not at all convinced these are handmade. And I came across some of the other crochet items in a few of these shops on wholesale sites.

    I mean, how many people actually crochet identical?

  63. WangFu January 15, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    I sell knitted and crocheted items and I never use patterns. Lots of sellers have been doing it long enough that they don’t need them.

  64. madmomma January 15, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Goes to show you how much I know about this stuff…
    I thought these sellers were making all of the little pomps and was thinking that must take SO much time, and how do they do it so cheaply?

    Oh, the yarn already has the pomps in it. Duh.

    carry on…
    interesting subject matter here.

  65. Angel January 15, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I’m doing a search on Alibaba, as I thought I had seen something similar from one of the shops in question. Using the search words “crochet scarf” has actually ensured that I will never buy knit/crochet products from sellers on Etsy ever again. I’m seeing stuff that I had on my favourites list….it’s incredibly heartbreaking to see how much I’ve been duped, even being on high alert for resellers as I am.

  66. Buyer Only January 15, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Angel, the wholesaler I found with the pom scarves wasn’t on Alibaba but I did search there and I know what you mean. I think I’ve seen half of Etsy on Alibaba.

    It’s depressing.

  67. toastycrackers January 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I have some thread bookmarked where all these Etsy shops claimed to have their images -stolen- by alibaba. I’ll see if I can find it.

    Have any of you heard this or was it to cover their butts? They seemed sincere but I got bored with the thread and left it!

  68. toastycrackers January 15, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Here it is:

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6730653

  69. Angel January 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    The company mentioned specifically, Yunwen, is the actual shop I had been looking at on Alibaba when I realized I’d seen most of the items in it on Etsy.

    Thanks for pointing the thread out, toastycrackers. I recall now that stealing images from Etsy artists was an issue, and clearly it still is. It makes me feel a little better about the state of handmade on Etsy….but not much 😉

  70. WangFu January 15, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    And that is the reason I don’t want to sell my items on etsy anymore. I have to compete with resellers and etsy has zero integrity. I am too scared myself to purchase anything for fear that I am being duped.

  71. PussDaddy January 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Well isn’t THIS one a spine-tingling read?

  72. loveforcraft January 15, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I don’t speak a perfect English okkkk 🙂

    This is so sad,I always try to suport crafters,I always teach my kids how important is to apreciated what people do with their hands and WITH THEIR HEARTS!
    My daughters are just 9 and 6 years old, but I often encourage them to learn to sew, to create their owns designs.
    every year we attend to craft shows for the whole summer,last year they said they want to start selling their own little things; but I told them to practice more.. because they need to sell quality! I want them to learn to be proud of what they do, because is what
    represent them.
    Somebody need to start a new website whith talented and honest crafters!!

    NOTE:
    FOR THOSE WHO ARE RESELLING AND PRETENDING TO BE REAL CRAFTERS…PLEASE STOP…DO WHAT YOU DO BEST (RESELLING) BUT IN PLACES LIKE EBAY WHERE YOU DON’T NEED TO LIE, WHERE YOU DON’T NEED TO COMPROMISE YOUR INTEGRITY AS A PERSON.

    FOR THOSE WHO ARE REAL CRAFTERS, PLEASE NEVER STOP, KEEP GOING, KEEP CREATING, BE THE GOOD EXAMPLE FOR THE NEW GENERATION OF CRAFTERS (like my princess)I wish you the best!
    BLESSINGS

  73. truthshurts January 19, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    “Ayca uses a pattern – but makes her items. She needs to have her shop removed from this post.”

    Carla are you one of the advocates of Ayca or are you her another “treasury lover” ?Maybe you are ayca herself, since her posts stop when your posts begin.Like favouriting each other(maybe all are same person) you defend eachother(yourself) Consider about your words, she is using anybody else’s patterns without permission.She doesn’t have any copyright for this pattern,does she? Look at her explaning reasons : it is a same type of yarn in Turkey, so all items look each other. So don’t use that type of yarn.If you have an assertion that you have unique items, don’t use that yarn or create very unique items with that yarn.She always says that she is hard working for creating producing etc etc.Maybe some part of her “busy”ness is on how to “support”each other. I think she definitely deserves to be announced on this site.Well done blog owner!

  74. whysomuchayca January 19, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    I am in doubt too if CARLA and AYCA and ICHA are the same person as truthshurts doubts.Angel is a very careful person indeed.I was once intended to buy an item from ayca and saw all the relations too.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Ayca?ga_search_query=ayca&ga_search_type=seller_usernames

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/IchaPhotography

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/icha

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/SuppliesbyAyca

    All those 4 shops are doubtful for being belong to the same person but the relation between all is not announced by the shop owner.Just crochet ones are linked each other.Relation between the other two and the relation between the third is not mentioned.As Angel realised, i saw the very very similar photography styles.Plus, on very much selling shop of ayca, named ayca, there is an information as :

    Photographer: Ayca Karaoglan
    Asistans: Serhat Karaoglan
    Model: Bahar Kok & Deha Darendeli
    Accesories: Demlin Boutique

    Is it possible to omit the truth that, ayca’s some photos are taken by “another” icha ??Is turkey such a small place that two aycas simultaneously come accross? Or she was just advertising her photo shop on her crochet shop?? By the way icha and the ayca is read as the same, second one is just the turkish writing.

    Look at those two suspicious shops “attention please” part.Is it a coincidence that two has the same sentences and the same writing styles? One is ayca the other is icha :))))))) Don’t make me laugh.Her last name is different he? Probably one is before marriage surname, the other is after marriage.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Ayca?ref=seller_info
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/IchaPhotography?page=2

    She is probably a photographer herself and reselling the crochet items made by other people.Ayca karaoglan-the photographer- has her own blog which was posting a picture of etsy shop products of ayca.She just removed that picture after she is announced on here.

    http://aycanindukkani.blogspot.com/

    It is obvious that she is copying the models of the crafters which are put there to increase their yarn sales.Of course it is not her right to copy that item.Especially on this site that people are assuming they are buying unique items.In addition,she does NOT have true location information.She is making a trick so as to be appear on searches by location.This is enough for a seller to be announced here.I don’t believe her hard working, modelling, creating etc.etc.She has 4 shops on here and she is very probably made the items knitted to other people,means being reseller!
    Look at these two items,one is on ayca’s shop the other is on a turkish blog page.how identical they are:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/33994855/set-of-3-flower-blossom-necktie

    http://huzurlukedi.blogcu.com/orgu-cicekten-atki/3269612

    It is very difficult to be convince me if this seller does not have more than one but not mentioned connected shops, and if she is not a reseller! I really hesitate to buy her items anymore!

  75. Nil Akpunar January 22, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Icha and Ayca are two different lady with same name. Ayca is crochet and other Ayca(Nickname -Icha) professional photographer. Ayca live in Istanbul, Icha in Ankara. We all became friends at ISOT Etsy Turkish Team. Icha take Ayca’s items’ photos. To be promote each other they share their links.

    I had to say this story go 2 years before. I was admin of the team but had to close because of the this kind problems.

    There is very easy way to find out who is the real seller. Please look the who sell first. I know Ayca has more than 20 colors same crochet shawl. I know she is the first person created them.

    It’s very sad, if you don’t know the seller, it’s hard to understand whose original design.

    Please check this transaction from Ayca’s store :

    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/19846495

    Ayca sold on 3.26.2009! It’s end of the this mess I believe!

  76. isamo January 26, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I am really glad that I found this blog, I am not going to question anyone who is reselling or stealing from who. I was curious some time ago where do they all have the time to make all those things, I crochet myself and to make anything it takes time, no matter how fast you are…

    Most of those sellers must really sleep three hours a day to crochet and knit all of their creations, but they still have time to make treasuries and promote themselves everywhere on forums and blogs… how do they do it? I sleep five to six hours a day, have family and go to my part time job and crochet a lot and experiment… and can’t find time to make so many treasuries! it takes more time than creating things.

    I would like to find out one day that my lack of success on etsy was because they were all cheating, not because all the buyers love to buy things made in thousands of copies 😦

    anyway good luck on this blog, I will come back to check for some news on that subject

    🙂

  77. Dee July 11, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    This sucks. I’m glad I decided to search this blog. I wanted to buy a pompom scarf from ayca, but I don’t think it is handmade. :o(

Leave a Reply

