aptvwt, turkish jewelry

24 Jan

This shop is a a reseller claiming to sell “vintage” clothing. Yet she has sold 6-7 of each style. Also check out her recent negative feedback – it says it all.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/aptvwt

_______________________________________________________________________________

this jewelry is being sold in grand bazaar in Istanbul…tons  and tons of them…none of them are made by those sellers…
http://www.etsy.com/shop/yeganeart
http://www.etsy.com/shop/beadycats
http://www.etsy.com/shop/takiperileri

38 Responses to “aptvwt, turkish jewelry”

  1. Life During Wartime January 24, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    aptvwt items look like the shop that called itself out in the forums (last week?), with some Etsy braintrust saying she wasn’t a reseller ’cause she sells vintage and western clothes are available in Hong Kong’ and blah blah blah. Had the same Sweetie Pie Collection graphics in the pics. I wonder if that is a ‘vintage’ online catalog she got the photos from?

    The 3 jewelry shops look like most of their items were made in Thailand: pendants, rings, etc. Some of the wrapped beaded styles look like they could be from Turkey, though.

    I just signed up for the amusing new UEF board, and saw the thread bashing call-outs with a link to ECO…because nice girls like them don’t call out. Fine with me.

  2. WTF January 24, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    God what an awful website… where did you give PROOF that those items were made in Istanbul? (Yes… I know all of the sellers are from there) I hate resellers just as much as the next person, but whoever owns this website certainly has no idea how to write a proper persuasion piece, or even a good entry in her blog.

  3. megansbeadeddesigns January 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Do these sellers not realize that we can all see the negative feedback they leave for buyers? Do they not realize how BAD it makes them look? Seriously… ugh.

  4. sick of cupcakes January 24, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    WTF if you can do a better job, than feel free.

  5. Life During Wartime January 24, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    WTF, ideally the items would be made in Istanbul because that is where the shops are located.

  6. EtsyDontCare January 24, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Wow I can’t believe how fast the UEF has grown!

  7. EtsyDontCare January 24, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    And WTF you are taking this a bit personal:

    https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/about/
    She posted this:
    I HATE YOU AND YOUR WEBSITE YOU DUMB BITCH!

    Is that your idea of how to to write “a proper persuasion piece”

    Is one of the shops in questions yours or something? If it is feel free to prove this blog wrong!

  8. sick of cupcakes January 25, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    Ahah! I can picture her screaming at the screen and pounding her keyboard, her eyes bugging out and spittle flying from her lips.

  9. mrpouncy January 25, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    For the love of dairy, this item was just on the front page:

    http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/366291744/Fashion_Lovely_Fox_Ring.html

    And big surprise – it sold! Seller has sold at least 9. Clearly not handmade. Why can’t Etsy hire someone to do Etsy Call Out’s job?

  10. Linda January 25, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    Ugh. I hate to see this obvious new resale stuff on the front page treasury. The treasury curator doesn’t check? The Etsy staff doesn’t, before choosing for the fp? I’m not too experienced, but I can tell this is not handmade, and two minutes of googling turned it up on Alibaba, as well as other sites. This seller’s shop is full of the stuff. Yes, I reported it.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/62898362/fox-ring

    http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/378251234/Vintage_Fox_Ring_Fashion_Ring_Costume.html

  11. Inspector Yuk January 25, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    WTF you are either a reseller of said items or an ignoramus. I, however, am quite informed in the jewelry arts and I assure you these items are not being made by the people selling them. Gold plating is a commercial process, as is bronze casting. At the very minimum they could be buying stones and setting them in premade castings, but 3 shops with virtually the same style of jewelry leads me to believe that they are factory produced and are being purchases as is and resold.

  12. Inspector Yuk January 25, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Oh, and I would be very careful purchasing if you think they are using genuine stones. Zircon is a genuine stone, not very expensive, but because of the language barrier, cz is often referred to as zircon. As I look over the stones in the various shops, I am skeptical of them all being genuine. I know the one shop that claims that one stone is an emerald, given the size and the price, if it is it is likely treated and dyed and may not even be totally one stone as often they make doublets using quartz to enhance the stone. It could also be fissure filled, which is still technically a genuine stone, but is glass introduced and filling cracks during the heating process, this is common in rubies, and that lowers it’s value considerably, as the treatment is not guaranteed to be permanent. The glass can fall out of these cracks and fissures.

    Anyway, just a word to the wise, use caution because even if you love it and the price is right, it might not be such a great deal in the long run.

  13. Life During Wartime January 25, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Other shops are reselling this ring:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/littlefei

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/littlemouse11

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/springstore5566

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/toofashion2010

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/mylilygarden

    If you search for fox ring under handmade jewelry, there are other reseller items that fit the search terms. It would be soooo easy for Etsy to find these resellers, but the will isn’t there.

    As for the treasury curators, there was a thread in the forums within the last week or so about ‘would you want to know if you included a reseller in your treasury?’ About half of the posters said NOPE.

    The ethical fail on Etsy isn’t confined to the investors and the employees, unfortunately.

  14. Joni January 25, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Wow, I commend you guys for finding all this garbage on Etsy. I’m shocked really. I guess I don’t go shopping enough to have noticed although I have heard of this problem. I wonder if anything will ever be done about it.
    It could be the thing that eventually kills Etsy.

  15. imwithya January 25, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    I rarely do any shopping on Etsy either. Sadly, most of the resellers I come across are on the front page and in treasuries 😦

  16. Life During Wartime January 25, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Joni, the resellers are so easy to find that there is no way the Etsy staffers can’t find them, too. Obviously, they aren’t looking, not ever. If I was leading a group of content integrity staff there, I know I could train a group of students (older teens) to review treasuries for the FP to catch blatant resellers like the fox ring featured this morning. Any time you see a jewelry item that is one single piece of cast metal for a few dollars you KNOW it is a factory produced thing. You verify by checking the Etsy site for other examples, and then check the web for sources (which I didn’t do).

    If Etsy was utilizing its personnel correctly, the group that selects (and maybe ? vets) treasuries for the FP would also direct shops it found reselling to the content people. This doesn’t happen!

    I want to know: does anyone who selects treasuries to be featured on the FP have any idea how the fox ring is made…like making the mold, casting, finishing, etc.? Do all the treasury selectors think you can make the fox ring at your kitchen table?

  17. Lucy January 26, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    I’m afraid to buy on Etsy as well. I’m looking for a tunic top in a certain style, and would love to support handmade, but I’m afraid if I buy it on Etsy it will show up for much less somewhere else. I might as well buy it on e-bay since I can’t find one locally. That way at least I know what I’m getting. Re-sellers are so rife in clothing, and some are obvious, but not all of them.

  18. JK January 26, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    ‘Do all the treasury selectors think you can make the fox ring at your kitchen table?’

    Honestly? I’d wager a good portion of them believe exactly that. People who have never done that kind of work don’t usually understand all the effort that goes into a piece, plus there’s the whole anyone-can-do-it mentality that often accompanies handmade; in the case of casting, there’s a *lot* you have to know how to do (and do well) in order to make a good piece. I’ve never met anyone who did it that would charge a pittance for their work.

  19. jeweljewel January 26, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    long time etsy seller turning to reselling…
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/66533322/purple-silicone-jelly-watch-with

  20. EtsyDontCare January 26, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I have a shop on Etsy and I sell clothing. Sometimes I will put an “Inspiration Photo” on my site usually in the case where a customer wants me to recreate it. I clearly state that it is an inspiration photo sometimes watermark it on the picture itself.

    You would be surprised on how many people think I’ve actually made the dress pictured.

    Or think of the shops who use pattern pictures (not the pattern itself but the model on say Vogue’s websited0. I guess if you don’t sew you would not know that it is a picture from a pattern. I always love how they say the fabric pictured is not available. Of course it isn’t you never had it in the first place.

    I guess my point is that I think it is hard for buyers to see the difference and are believing what they see. When I buy especially clothing I check their sales and if they sold over 50 items in a month and actually have feedback for the majority I know there is no way if you are one person to make that many dresses. Oh I forgot you have the collective shops. Me my mom sisters and husband are a family team. We make all our items out of LOVE.

    These shops affect my sales. I just can’t compete with their prices.

  21. Aww January 26, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Jeesh people are so protective over this person who write this blog. How weird… They don’t even know her!
    The lady is insulting people every day, and if anyone says anything bad about her at all, they get all Pissed off… why? How does that make sense… protecting a person that is obviously not very nice.

  22. etsycallout January 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    If you would take the time to get to know the place before coming to conclusions you would know that all entries are written by the readers.

  23. EtsyDontCare January 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Another great thing about this blog we can tell if you change your name. Yes Aww you are the WTF poster above.

    Some here may seem mean to you…sometimes the truth hurts, but you by far WTF don’t have much room to talk with what you posted in about section

  24. Life During Wartime January 26, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    ‘Not nice’ is breaking the rules by reselling on Etsy.

  25. em January 26, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    nice catch, EtsyDontCare. I wouldn’t have noticed that!

    to WTF/Aww, do you want resellers on Etsy? Of course, you could be so defensive because you are a reseller, and in that case, please kindly eat sh*t and go back to Ebay.

  26. sick of cupcakes January 26, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    My guess is that AWw/WTF has been a naughty little reseller and has been called out here. Shame on you WTFAwww.

  27. EtsyDontCare January 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I doubt she will be back since no one gave her any kudos for her comments. Awww how about a pity party…I guess that is not very nice :/

  28. Life During Wartime January 27, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    Yeah, those little modernistic-folkloric icons tell all! Mine shows my _nom de guerre_ from other blog discussions on WordPress.

  29. Facing The Lens January 27, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    I’m getting married in April and had been looking around for some fun little handmade items for my wedding, but there are so many barriers to finding actual handmade items on Etsy as opposed to resellers, that I don’t think I’m even going to buy anything there for the wedding because I just don’t want to be taken for a ride, you know?

  30. Mimi January 28, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    i have a question… why do you think that WTF is Aww ?

  31. Aww January 28, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    “I doubt she will be back because no one has given her any kudos”…
    #1 why would you think I am WTF? How would you know?
    #2 why would I care what you people think/”say” about me? It is not like I know you in person and what you said about me is going to effect anything besides the comments you type on this pitiful website.

  32. EtsyDontCare January 29, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    hmmm…your pretty pitiful to go through all this trouble to try to hide yourself.

    So answer your own question #2 Why do you care?

  33. em January 29, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Aww/WTF/Mimi you obviously do care because you keep coming back and trying to hide yourself (in vain). 🙂

  34. etsycallout January 29, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    “I doubt she will be back because no one has given her any kudos”…
    #1 why would you think I am WTF? How would you know?
    #2 why would I care what you people think/”say” about me? It is not like I know you in person and what you said about me is going to effect anything besides the comments you type on this pitiful website.

    This commenter is Laura from mydogandi. *WAVING*

  35. EtsyDontCare January 29, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Thanks Laura, I was thinking she just used another computer so the IP would change and I thought I didn’t have a life 🙂

  36. Laura January 30, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    haha! that took a total of 10 minutes… well, it was fun anyway 😀
    Glad you found me! It’s like hide and seek internet version.

  37. EtsyDontCare January 30, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Well not for long if you have my e-mail and I forget to opt you will be able to find me 🙂

    I actually was going to post here from my mom’s computer to throw things off but nah. I love this place!

Leave a Reply

