platformninevinyl, twostringjane

27 Jan
I found your site from the etsy forums, hope you don't mind my 
barging in! I just had a completely ludicrous experience 
purchasing some laptop decals, detailed here:
http://erinire.net/2010/12/21/spend-enough-time-at-the-pool-eventually-youre-gonna-get-wet/

I'm really new to etsy, so I don't know if platformninevinyl 
qualifies as an actual reseller, but he sure was an actual 
douchebag.

Looking forward to reading more!
Cheers,
Erin
______________________________________________________________________________________
This shop:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/twostringjane
Is selling new items as vintage
See the brass animals in this section:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/twostringjane?section_id=6292553
She's already sold a bunch, here's where she buys them, 
$35 for a set of 12:

http://collectibles.shop.ebay.com/Animals-/1335/i.html?_catref=1&_fln=1&_ipg=&_ssn=merchantofeurope&_trksid=p3911.c0.m282
20 Responses to “platformninevinyl, twostringjane”

  1. Cat Power January 27, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I’d say the markup was a bit outrageous, and obviously there are a lot of gullible people out there, as seen by viewing her sold items.
    It really is incredible that people fall for this crap!

  2. Angel January 27, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    And off to alert all the copyright departments of the various companies that asshat ripped off. Disney is the very opposite of pleasant when it comes to thievin’.

  3. Life During Wartime January 27, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Erin, not all online sellers treat their customers that way! I’ve been selling online for almost 9 years. I’ve always offered satisfaction guaranteed as my policy. No one has ever asked to return something, but it could happen. People make mistakes — I know I do, and I am sure my customers do in real life, too. Maybe it’s more obvious to me that customers are buying on faith when they can’t examine my vintage stuff in person because I’ve watched so many collectors shop for vintage in bricks and mortar. This seller needs to grow up, and get real!

    I can’t say I am shocked about twostringjane. From my researches regarding called out shops here and on Garagetsy, it looks like many ‘vintage’ decor and homewares sellers who offer multiples of supposedly old items are reselling new stuff. Especially the ones that Etsy features repeatedly. The Etsy community isn’t really into actual old decor styles. They like contemporary adaptations, properly called ‘retro’ more than real vintage.

  4. Whisperia January 27, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I agree that he’s a douchebag (for both the retaliatory negs and the copyright infringement), but just playing devil’s advocate for a moment here… Before leaving the neutral, was there an effort made to contact the seller to return the decal and get one in the correct size? Because I’m not sure I agree with leaving a neutral before giving the seller a chance to accept an exchange for a decal in the correct size. I don’t see an attempt to return or exchange mentioned in the blog post.

  5. erinire January 27, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    It’s true, Whisperia, I didn’t contact him before leaving a neutral. But, in my defense, the decal was literally the first thing I’d ever bought on Etsy! I left a neutral for another vendor as well, not knowing Etsy review SOP, but instead of retaliating against me she contacted me to see what was wrong. I really appreciated that, and changed my review to a glowing positive. Since then I’ve had only wonderful experiences and truthful, decent, honest sellers, and now know to contact before reviewing šŸ™‚

  6. JK January 27, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Disney’s email is tips(at)disneyantipiracy.com, and they have an Antipiracy voice mail hotline, 818-560-3300. Disney takes theft seriously even though Etsy doesn’t give a damn.

  7. WangFu January 27, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I would love to do an all out war on Disney infringers. I can’t believe Disney doesn’t actively search the site on a regular basis.

  8. caregiversnotebook January 27, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Interesting… one of the etsy admins bought a sticker from this person – Ironman, which I’m sure is also copyrighted
    http://www.etsy.com/transaction/39747346
    Apparently doesn’t bother him that he’s buying an illegally used image…

  9. Life During Wartime January 27, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    caregiversnotebook, I think the standard of ethics on Etsy is you do what you can get away with.

  10. gertie January 27, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Unbelievable!

  11. mrpouncy January 28, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    Actual douchebag. My new favorite insult.

    I’m also surprised that Disney’s not monitoring Etsy more. I was in West Elm yesterday – the homeware store that’s like a gussied-up Ikea – and the place was full of Etsy knock-offs. They’re clearly monitoring Etsy for trends. To complete the circle of life, I’m tempted to go in and buy one of their industrial felt laptop cases and resell it on Etsy.

  12. Angel January 28, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I just wanted to post a quick update to my own recent round of emails to piracy departments. Within an hour of sending an email with store names and links on Etsy to the email address that JK helpfully posted (I didn’t just report the store in question, I also went through some sellers that sell a lot of knock-off Disney merch and also advertise that they wholesale and reported those as well – along with the methods I used to search for them within Etsy.com), I received a non-canned response from the Disney legal department.

    No one has ever accused Disney of being inefficient, and they never will.

  13. Thud January 28, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    That was easy.
    10 minutes = 13 offenders reported to Disney. And I just did the ‘handmade’ folks who are making their own Disney items (ie decals and vinyl, silhouttes appliqued to clothing, beanies of characters…) and not the folks using disney branded elements (like bottlecaps).

    Now to do Hello Kitty, Seuss, lego and more šŸ™‚

  14. Thud January 28, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Cross posted with Angel šŸ™‚
    I have also had appreciative responses in the past from Eric Carle and fabric designers.

  15. JK January 28, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Glad to be of help, Angel! I’ve found Disney to be pretty responsive in the past, and I’m pleased that you also got a response. Hopefully, they’ll take action. I’m all about supporting small sellers, but making your money off someone else’s work is never cool.

  16. Angel January 28, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    I don’t see these types of sellers as any different than the kind that peddle their wares in alleys, trying to hustle tourists in. A subpar Canal Street with less Chonel and more glitter bitchy.

  17. AF February 1, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    twostringjane is on the front page with the brass animals this morning (9:30 EST). Ridiculous.

  18. Abi February 23, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Making stuff with other people’s designs is not cool. Neither is buying crap from people who copy other people’s designs. Seriously the buyers should know better.

  19. Alyssa Zukas January 12, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    Hi everyone. Thanks for your concern but the figurines I’m buying are actually old. I contacted the seller and they told me the figurines are new old stock from the 60s. Not trying to hide anything, obviously it was easy for you to find my source. If the figurines were new I would not be able to sell them on Etsy. I have already cleared it with the Etsy team. Thanks and have a nice day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Call ‘em as you see ‘em « ThisihT - January 27, 2011

    […] post about this guy is featured on Callin’ Out on Etsy! I love being on other people’s websites. Especially when I’m calling out […]

Leave a Reply

