Zakkamate, ArtisticJewelry2010

29 Jan

I was browsing around and found this shop..
http://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticJewelry2010

I dunno smacks of reseller to me and the fact that she has 17 feedback and 192 sales most in the last couple of weeks. Very fishy, I just had to say something.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

I'm an avid follower of your site, an Etsy vintage seller and
 sister vigilante. 
Here's a shop that has been flagged numerous times by my
vintage team members and me.  Zakkamate
is a reseller who doesn't tag its mass-produced items vintage
or handmade (but does tag them
"French" when they're made in Hong Kong).  

All items ship from Hong Kong and they encourage wholesale
purchases of multiples.  They even
have a vintage knock-off coffeepot in their shop banner!
Take a look 
http://www.etsy.com/shop/zakkamate?ref=pr_shop_more 

Thanks for all you do for sellers of genuine vintage and handmade items!
10 Responses to “Zakkamate, ArtisticJewelry2010”

  1. Bo Diddy January 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Haha! Oh my god… look at this:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/63293457/le-parisien-wood-cabinet-with-six-square
    and then it says: ” wholesale discount:
    Available for minimum quantity of 4. Please send us convo for details.”

    i don’t know… you wouldn’t think a cabinet like that would be available for wholesale…

  2. Life During Wartime January 29, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Yo Bo! What is really OMFG funny is that other shops on Etsy, shipping from the USA, are selling the same decor items as Zakkamate. Some are selling them as Handmade, some as Vintage. These items have been featured many times (like the ‘Victorian’ plant misters) by the Etsy staff who are too stoopid to know that when a whole bunch of identical antique items get listed within a few weeks, all perfect and in a range of colors, it’s faux vintage you’re lookin’ at. Argh.

    I’ll have to check my bookmarked reseller shops.

    If I remember correctly, I called out either Zakkamate or one of the other Etsy shops selling the same items on the older version of Garagetsy.

  3. freckleyredhead January 29, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    No way is that jewelry in ArtisticJewelry2010 handmade, not at those prices.
    It irks me to no end that these jewelry resellers sell more in a couple of months on Etsy that I sell in a year.

  4. Life During Wartime January 30, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    Found another recently opened reseller of faux French decor:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/FineFrenchCountry?ref=seller_info

    Looks like more stuff from Creative Co-op.

  5. Joleen Carrico January 30, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Resellers make me sooooo angry.

    Thanks for creating this site 🙂

  6. EtsyDontCare January 31, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    How many “vintage” cameras do they have? That is what amazes me with these shops that sell supposed vintage. Usually a vintage find you find one if you’re lucky two. I bought a vintage pink caddy salt shaker ONE the seller didn’t have two. I hope someday to find the pair.

    They have sold almost 25 and there are two listed in the shop.

  7. Lalaland February 3, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Okay, I’m from Thailand and I can tell you that 95% of “handmade” items from Thailand listed on Etsy are cheap factory-made and widely available, ArtisticJewelry’s included. Her profile says she’s in Chiang Rai, and her bracelets are the kind of souvenirs sold there.

  8. ckinsobe February 3, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    This was just on the front page!!!

    I reported it. I have a b&M and sell this stuff for 1/2 of what they do and I buy it at a number of Korean jewelry vendors.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BrooklynArts?report=report&show_panel=true#report

  9. senza nome February 20, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    That shop “FineFrenchCountry” is apparently reselling many items by a company called “America Retold.” Hee. Maybe they can sell me some Freedom fries too.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/65432572/patina-songbird-welcome-sign-with-bell

    http://www.amazon.com/America-Retold-Welcome-Sign-Design/dp/B002HMD8P8

  10. senza nome February 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Woohoo! FineFrenchCountry’s shop is empty now!

Leave a Reply

