TheVintageGoldsmith

5 Feb

In yesterday’s “Etsy Fashion” e-mail,

the “Royal Engagement Ring” they prominently feature,
uses all images pulled from the internet, including the MAIN photo:

http://www.bostonherald.com/track/celebrity/view/20101117how_stars_engagement_bling_stacks_up/srvc=home&position=4

11 Responses to “TheVintageGoldsmith”

  1. kitten February 5, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Well that’s disturbing… that is was in an Etsy email, disgusting.

  2. Life During Wartime February 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    The VINTAGE Goldsmith, WTF? Making copies of other jewelry, age unknown has nothing to do with ‘vintage’. And it looks like they tag all their items with ‘vintage’, too.

  3. It's about frelling time February 5, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Longtime reseller Kiskastyle is finally closed on Etsy, it looks like from bad feedback, not for being a reseller. They had at least 50 negatives before they closed, and they had a reputation for leaving nasty retaliatory FB for buyers..
    Oh yeah, they are also being sued by Chanel for trademark violations. Google Chanel and Kiskastyle.

  4. Life During Wartime February 5, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Interesting! Kiskastyle is still showing the melting Chanel logo pieces on their website.

  5. mrpouncy February 7, 2011 at 5:33 am #

    Isn’t it illegal for them to be using that image of William and Kate? It belongs to Vogue/Mario Testino.

  6. Jen February 7, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Is this website still active? When I log into it, I get a message saying it’s been archived, but I found these posts from another link…

    I’m sorry if this has already been addressed, but I’m so confused…

  7. Life During Wartime February 7, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Jen, I don’t know what you’re seeing. I have the ECO blog bookmarked on both of my computers, and the bookmark links to the home page just fine. Maybe ECO can explain what is happening with you.

  8. Jen February 7, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Thanks, LDW. It’s so bizarre.

    This is what I see when I click on those big black “Callin’ Out on Etsy” words at the top of the page:

    etsycallout.wordpress.com is no longer available.
    This blog has been archived or suspended for a violation of our Terms of Service.
    For questions or concerns, contact WordPress.com Support.

    I thought for sure that ECO was down but then someone linked to it on another website (I don’t remember which) and I was able to get to the Archived postings.

    Maybe it’s my computer, haha. I just found out that I missed an event because I never received an Evite email for it, but I’m on the guest list with the correct email. So annoying.

  9. Jen February 7, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Oh my goodness I am completely losing my mind.
    I just clicked my ECO bookmark and came right to the blog, no ‘shut down’ message, hooray!

    I wonder if it was my browser…

    Anyway, don’t mind me 😉

  10. Marisa February 8, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    @Jen, regarding the evite: Evite has been having some intermittent problems where it will appear to send an invitation but not actually mail it out.

  11. kate_24 March 30, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Every seller on etsy including this one is showing the official picture of kate and william used for the press release not the copyrighted mario testino one. As long as the item is handmade as this is I think its fine, it would be silly not to include it so that customers can familiarise themselves with the original design!

Leave a Reply

