TheAppleTailor

18 Feb

This seller is selling decals of artwork without permission
http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheAppleTailor?page=1

This is the artwork in question
http://www.etsy.com/listing/55638173/family-crest-cut-ipad-decal-sticker

and here is the artist’s blog about the matter, she clearly states that she has NOT given permission for this artwork to be sold by this seller or anyone else
http://pallanoph.deviantart.com/journal/38537713/

and here is the original artwork
http://pallanoph.deviantart.com/art/Pallanoph-Crest-110087484

21 Responses to “TheAppleTailor”

  1. em February 18, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    what a scumbag. That’s really all I have to say… although I can’t say I’m too surprised, she is a fantastic and very talented artist. I hope this all gets resolved for her.

  2. snowqueen February 19, 2011 at 5:02 am #

    Looks like her fans are reporting this to Etsy, instead of her reporting it using Etsy’s copyright violation process. Which means it will never get removed. I tried to leave a comment on the artist’s blog, but I don’t have a deviantart account. Can someone who does, please let her know how to report this to Etsy herself? The rest of us reporting it will never do anything. Etsy’s copyright violation procedure: http://www.etsy.com/policy/ip?ref=ft_copy

  3. Stacey February 19, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    The Apple Tailor? Yeah, someone should just report this douche to Apple. That’d probably be the fastest way to get him shut down.

  4. PussDaddy February 19, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Apples make me fart.

  5. em February 19, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    that’s what I was thinking, too, Stacey.. I’m sure Apple wants shoddy decals and stolen art with their name on it. Ha ha. Whoever owns the rights to Harry Potter would probably like to know about this person as well.

  6. Wolf February 20, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Snowqueen-

    I and several others left comments to the effect of she needs to create an account and report the theft herself, as the original Artist.

    Hopefully she does.

  7. andie February 20, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I am so confused…. is this handmade or Vintage?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64036588/victorian-style-bridal-earrings?

  8. andie February 20, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    sorry – not sure where to ask or list my question – probably wrong place.

  9. WangFu February 20, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Andie, those are new and I doubt they are handmade. It doesn’t take a genius to change out the stock items or posts. Nothing else in her shop looks handmade and screams reseller.

  10. andie February 20, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    well I spent a lot of time searching for brides jewelry and then found her shop and went through all of this crap and found she has more shops and she does a boomin business on Etsy!! I guess if I want actual handmade brides jewelry I have to go somewhere else.

    I was told to check for resellers here – now I am on a mission not to buy from resellers!

  11. mrpouncy February 20, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Poster in the forums right now talking about how successful they are, 1000 sales in a year. Well, when you tag stuff like this, yeah, you sell a lot.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64098938/little-girls-starter-3-pack-of-bracelets?ref=v1_other_1

    Thread:
    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/6791507/page/1

  12. sick of cupcakes February 20, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Good for you, Andie. I wish more people would open their eyes like you.

  13. sick of cupcakes February 20, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    I can see having a favorite seller, but 1227 feedbacks and ALL from the same seller?

    http://www.etsy.com/people/hopeful09/feedback?type=from_sellers

  14. Jael February 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Andie, there are some wonderful jewelry artists on etsy who really do make their own jewelry….

  15. WangFu February 21, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    My advice to you is to request something custom using Alchemy and do no mention its for a wedding. That seems to = a massive mark up.

  16. sick of cupcakes February 21, 2011 at 4:48 am #

    They got rid of Alchemy, didn’t they? They prefer people buy the China crap instead of handmade.

  17. stephanie February 21, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Seems TheAppleTailor stole more than just one drawing from DevintART. I found another one and let the artist know. She also reported the seller to Etsy.

  18. oneangrybird February 21, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    First time posting although I lurk here all of the time mainly because of Vintage…but that is a whole different story!

    THIS! THIS! thread that mrpouncy refers to:http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/6791507/page/1

    has got my blood boiling! I have been a jewelry maker for over 30 years, online for 11 of those, fought and persevered and worked my arse off to build an online presence and following… I am not a Gemologist nor expert but I am fairly knowledgeable and pride myself on full disclosure of stones used in my jewelry. I abhore those on all venues (not just Etsy – but Etsy has some of the worst I have ever seen) who do not know what the hell they are selling and sputter jibberish about their stones! YECH, blech, downright trash monger liars!!!

    Usually I can turn away and not let it bother me but this chick is so full of shit – here she is lecturing about how to successfully run an online business and succeed when she is claiming her stones are holisticly sound????? Blueberry Quartz if GLASS and I don’t care how many times you wipe it’s ass with smudge sticks or clorox clean up – it does not generate positive ions etc.

    Her pink chalcedony is dyed fushcia – how can that be healing??? Raspberry Jade???? right –

    Oh My GAWD – I could go on forever but yall are probably rolling your eyes – sorry.

    Only one person I saw in that whole damn thread questioned her tag stuffing – the rest of them blew sunshine up her butt. I soooo want to respond but just can’t afford to say anything using my shop name for fear my customers will see it. You never know who is reading the Fora over there!

    Thanks for letting me vent….

  19. shannon conlin February 21, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    I found another vinyl decal shop – do you think she has permission to use all these characters?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Decalz?ref=pr_shop_more

  20. Sammy February 21, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    oneangrybird, I hear you. It drives me crazy when people label any old piece of glass “cherry quartz” or “strawberry quartz” or whatever. So misleading! What, like it’s quartz because you say so? Most people don’t know that that stuff really isn’t natural stone. The person making the jewelry SHOULD know. I too like to be pretty particular about saying just what type of stones I use in my jewelry, to the best of my knowledge. If for some reason I don’t know what the stone is, I’ll say so.

  21. freckleyredhead February 23, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I’ve reported a bunch of the vinyl decal shops to Disney. So far they’re all still there. I don’t know how long it takes The Mouse to get to all the rip off artists, but I hope it comes soon.

Leave a Reply

