copycats: ceeologyy, nailedinny

28 Feb
I have a copyright/rip off “artist” to call out.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/ceeologyy (even the banner is a stolen image)

 

The whistle was blown here: http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/6799266/page/1

Some of the images have been easy to track down – but others I suspect are from other artists’ already sold items or from other websites.
Aside from the OP’s images there is this:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/66080141/never-enough-8-x-10-art-print
http://www.etsy.com/listing/60573493/never-enough-mixed-media-stitched-canvas

_________________________________________________________
Hello there!!!
First off, Etsy Callout is a secret pleasure of mine as I can never believe how outrageous some Etsy sellers can be. Though I would prefer to remain anonymous, I would like to point out the fact that a dear friend of mine’s item is being blatently copied. I know there are hundreds of copy cats out there, and that copying is the highest form of flattery, but.. seriously??? Check this out:
Sparkly Pony’s Item (which was named one of Etsy’s top 5 Valentine’s Gifts for 2011 and will be featured in an Israeli design magazine) “Boyfriend in a Bottle”:
Copycat item:
This person’s attempt to copy is so lame, but what really bothered us is that they actually copied and pasted the exact measurements that the sparkly ponies took the time to write out (including the manner in which they were written out in fractions with spaces!). The funny part is that they are using very cheap plastic people from China that are actually smaller than the size they are claiming. Anyway, we just thought it was super lame and that you could come up with something clever to write about it if you needed some material.  We would really appreciate it, as I know the sparkly ponies would too since they aren’t sure what to do (other than laugh).
thanks so much for the great blog— you are really doing good work as I can tell by the  “Uh Oh Page does not exist” links! 🙂
9 Responses to “copycats: ceeologyy, nailedinny”

  1. Dot February 28, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    That poor girl, Candidate, must feel terrible. And, she is such a sweet nice genuine Etsy seller, I have seen her from time to time in the forums. Her art is so awesome.
    And that boyfriend in a bottle copier- lame. When I first saw those I loved them and thought to myself- I bet someone steals that idea cause it’s so cute.
    I despise copiers.
    Go get them.

  2. Sammy February 28, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    This is just revolting. I suppose I’m courting trouble by flagging the shop and telling Etsy exactly what I think of it still being open, but seriously. They need to pull their heads out of their collective ass and stop being such moral cowards. Shoot first, ask questions later in this case.

  3. kitten February 28, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    ECO, you spelled the seller Nailedinny with a M in the title.

    I rather pay the extra $2.00 for the cute “boyfriend in a bottle” with great the presentation. Very lame.

  4. Jael February 28, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Why are the links coming up to the lipstick poster instead of the eco comparisons?

  5. megansbeadeddesigns February 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Nooooo! Candidate is awesoem and she doe snot deserve this crap.

  6. Thud February 28, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Copiers suck!
    Here is another.
    Original (and long standing) wool soaker maker who makes amazing stuff:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/WildChildWoolies

    Copycat with ripped off design elements, staging and listing structure/ info and undercutting the original.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/welittlewoolens

  7. Jael February 28, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Gone, gone, gone!!

  8. zabrina March 1, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I’m glad these listings are finally gone, but I’m very surprised the shop is still there. Makes it easier to find her if she tries it again, I guess.

    You can still look in her sold items to see some of the stolen art she managed to make a profit from.

    Thanks for posting links to the REAL artists though! I was wondering where to find a few of them.

  9. Princess Jasmine March 1, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    OMG I actually blogged about ceeologyy! I taking that post down now!

Leave a Reply

