BallyhooJewelry

23 Mar
Edit to add: while the ring is mass-produced, she “antiques and darkens it” herself.
Etsy Seller Ballyhoo Jewelry ( http://www.etsy.com/people/BallyhooJewelry )  mentioned in the forums that she was getting custom jewelry requests on Facebook as a result of her Heartsy sale. The only custom request I saw was for this item:
Tried searching two necklaces from her shop and they popped right up:
She’s been going on in the forums about profit made via her Heartsy sale. Unfortunately, even with the low cost of her rings and “supplies” courtesy of Alibaba – the numbers don’t add up.
20 Responses to “BallyhooJewelry”

  1. you suck March 23, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    hahahaha! ah. hahahahaha!

  2. PussDaddy March 23, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    We have just about narrowed down the number of people who sell real handmade to about a dozen, maybe a baker’s dozen to be generous.

    PD

  3. JAC March 23, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I actually reas the same forum. You can tell right off the bat that she doesnt make these items. The ring would be mega expensive if she really took the time to make it.
    on the other hand it is allowed for her to buy a charm and use that in her work. Etsy wont ding her for that.

  4. megansbeadeddesigns March 23, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    This same seller has come into the forums accusing other sellers of copying her. Seriously? Because her ideas are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO original!

  5. ya right March 23, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Alibaba –

    http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/433682079/Double_two_2_finger_Gold_Love.html

    I don’t think they take too long to make.

  6. stinkypants March 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    BallyhooJewelry says:
    Maybe the things left in my shop are like that, but the are not all normally., It’s very very picked over. I am actually offended you think you know my figures and time put in when clearly you do not. Go through my sales, you will not find all charms on chains quick items

    **********************************

    I went through just the first two pages of her oldest sold items. That fox ring must have taken a lot of work. She is calling herself out as a bit of a reseller. Nice.

  7. Trista March 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    “Go through my sales, you will not find all charms on chains quick items”

    No, sometimes she actually takes 1 minute to glue a cabochon onto a ring or bobby pin. I can’t believe you guys don’t realize how time consuming that is!

  8. bellacruz March 23, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    @Pussdaddy, count me in among your dozen. I make my own jewelry with my own two hands! And my rugs/baskets, scarves, hats, yup, all me.

    As to the shop under discussion, this one made me sad since I participated in the etsy thread:

    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/6825829/page/1

  9. bellacruz March 24, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    check out this Fabulous treasury by a very brave soul!

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4d8ab08f8d756d91277f3556/buy-hand-made?index=0

  10. ya right March 24, 2011 at 3:59 am #

    I am surprised that treasury is still up after 9 hours – I highly doubt it will survive the rest of today.

  11. PussDaddy March 24, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    Maybe it would be easier if people who do make handmade just leave their name here bellacruz.

  12. Brenda March 24, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    We have just about narrowed down the number of people who sell real handmade to about a dozen, maybe a baker’s dozen to be generous.

    PD>>>

    Im one of the Dynamic Dozen then…I make everything, sometimes right down to the chain.

    This stuff sickens me but I keep hoping Etsy will clean them up.

  13. megansbeadeddesigns March 24, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    Awww man, I can’t view the treasury. What did it feature?

  14. ya right March 24, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    And it’s gone – featured owls on chains, owl rings – basically the same product for sale in several different stores. So much for handmade! I really wish I had taken a screen capture of it – it was brilliant and had over 2600 views when I looked at it!

  15. megansbeadeddesigns March 24, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Awesome. ☺

  16. Jael March 24, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    If you join regretsy on facebook, you can find the password for a post that has a screen capture… hint hint…

  17. JK March 24, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I make all my own work — that’s why I don’t sell it on Etsy. Why try to compete with factory wholesale and cheap-charm-on-a-chain? If people want that, what I make will probably be considered too expensive for them.

  18. bellacruz March 25, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    The featured shop is closed, probably to catch up on orders. How sad that so many sales went to someone who doesn’t make their own jewelry.

  19. Amy Endee March 30, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    I had to submit photos, purchase history etc.. to etsy proving I didn’t resell, they have cleared me and all my listings are acceptable and fine to sell as handmade. Remove these lies. My guess is your shop failed miserably so you spend HOURS a day searching for this,seriously, how long are you looking around just to call people out? That’s just sad. My shop kicks ass and I’ve done well…so kiss my ass. Get a life, get out of the house. You are bitter, jealous, and pathetic.

  20. Sally March 31, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Yeah, all lies. With those links and all to Alibaba. Lies I tell you! Just because Etsy clears you doesn’t mean you aren’t a reseller. For shame!

Leave a Reply

