fineartcn, raceytay

28 Mar

Just found this Chinese fauxtiques shop on Etsy. One of the items was shown in a tiny just-listed thumbnail, and I said WTF and had to click it.

Here’s the shop:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/fineartcn

Note the way the antique paintings on paper are tacked to a background for the photos! I took a course on antique Chinese painting at college, which involved weekly trips to the Freer in DC. And a tour of the basement archival storage area for pieces not currently displayed. I can tell ya for sure that antique art is NOT handled this way.
_________________________________________________________

OMG – I just went back and added up the front page features raceytay has had since Jan 1!!!!!! 167 – yes, one hundred sixty seven times she has been on the front page this year thus far!!! 3months

wow….ok, I got nothin’…. except I smell a rat, and there seems to be a whole damn herd of rats on Etsy! WTF????

ECO ETA: All of TeamX gets overexposure. Can the admin picking the treasuries not take the time to look at the tags and when they see “teamx” decide that maybe they don’t need to feature them 10x’s a day and to pick another out of the thousands?

90 Responses to “fineartcn, raceytay”

  1. PussDaddy March 28, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    OMG this is kinda morbid but all my dead cats are cremated and the crematory place puts them in this

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/70961587/pair-of-five-colored-porcelain-lidded

  2. JAC March 28, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    I am pretty sure at this point that the front page is a scam… They pick form thier favorite teams and sellers.
    It makes me sick!

  3. Dee March 28, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I was wondering how many treasury teams she is on. Hard to say because she hid her teams from public view.

    Based on her tags, she is probabaly in 8-10 or more treasury teams. No wonder she is on the FP so much.

    Guess I’m jealous, as I don’t have time to be on that many teams and make multiple treasuries a day. Is she a robot? just kidding and I really do wish her congrats on her success.

  4. sick of etsy crap March 28, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    I love how there’s supposed to be certain rules to follow for making & choosing an FP treasury (have nice pics, have diverse items, use the merch report, don’t include your own stuff all the things repeated ad nauseum by admin & their favorites) but there is NO rule that says do not choose the same sellers multiple times a day/week/month

    If you are going to have some rules why not have this be one of them? I mean, come on is it really that hard to see? Crafcult makes it SOOOOOOO easy for the rest of us to check it out. Don’t tell me its so hard to pick a treasury without a repeat in it b/c they are in so many. That’s such bullshit.

    This is why it makes me think there really is pay for play going on, or just plain old blatant favoritism.

    Admin thinks we are all just stupid, and the people that slobber all over etsy’s knob every time they make a move saying how great it is no matter what don’t help.

  5. Maul March 28, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    It’s hard work that gets them on the frontpage! Everyone else’s photos are poor and they don’t work hard enough flooding the treasury or getting people to put them in treasuries or sending xenotees shirts to DanielleXO. Speaking of sending gifts to the admins, congrats on 372 appearances on the Etsy Front Page thepeachtree! The only conflict of interest I have is which one of your wirewrapped jewelry pieces to buy!

    There is no such thing as front page favoritism on Etsy, despite the overwhelming and clear evidence to the contrary. I mean, it’s not like we can look it up and see how many times the same 30-50 people have been on the front page in the last two years.

    That reminds me, I forgot the congratulate Polestar for her completely original wirewrapped jewelry appearing on the front page for the 300th time! She’s now up to 315 appearances, congratulations Polestar!!!

  6. stinkypants March 28, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Just a ” funny ” shop I ran into today.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MustHaveBeenTheCat

    Handpainted in Peru. 14mm and somebody with the tiniest paintbrushes.

  7. stinkypants March 28, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Project Treasury team is where the action is! Found a treasury featuring Polestar, GlitzGlitter AND Raceytay. A bonanza of circlejerkers!!

    Created by JDWolfePottery, who is not getting to the front page as often as her/his friends. The humanity.

  8. sick of etsy crap March 28, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I think Raceyaty is in like 8-10 teams liked noted. I mean, even if there was a team that said you couldn’t join another who’s going to turn down that FP juggernaut? Having her guarantees any team mate FP exposure as well.

    If anyone thinks there’s no favoritism, there’s a bridge for sale….

    Admin we all know you pop in & look here. WHY do you continue to do this shit?

    I really wish etsy would just fade & crumble already. They’ve ruined the ideals of handmade, ruined so many people’s faith in them, all just to play favorites and celebrate mass production just like any big business.

  9. joybells March 28, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    What I’ve noticed is that there are thousands of fabulous treasuries being made everyday that don’t make the FP. There are terrific photos of products being done by shops who have NEVER made the front page.

    It’s so unfair that it’s sickening. But, we’re preaching to the choir because etsy doesn’t give a rat’s ass. IT’s their site and they’ll do what they want.

    Where, oh, where is that site that has only true vintage and handmade, and is fair and balanced as to who they give FREE publicity to? I wanna go there!!!!

  10. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    So I have been sleuthing 🙂

    In the Taste Test feature which I didn’t even know existed until polestar mentioned it was how she did Treasuries in the Etsy Fora, … it doesn’t matter what you click on, raceytray, polestar, glitzglitter, and a bunch of other “hot” sellers show up constantly. So if you use this you are bound to get some of their stuff.

    I clicked as much jewelry as I could during one session and didn’t once click any of polestar or glitzglitter (can tell what’s theirs so easy) and still- wait for it- LOTS of their “simple” earrings came up! Same with raceytay – I didn’t even click any photography and her prints came up.

    here’s taste test if anyone needs: http://tastetest.etsy.com/

    and my latest obsession which is great for finding stuff…
    Explorer – http://www.etsy.com/explorer

    Same thing here – I did a search for Honeysuckle just out of curiousity since my latest Lucky Magazine is touting that color pink as the new spring trend! Guess who shows up numerous times???? raceytay and polestar!
    I could not believe it….

    check out their tags….

  11. kitten March 28, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Raceytay is currently in 25,130 treasuries. She has been included in 10 treasuries in this hour alone. Today as of 3pm Est she is in 127 tteasuries since 1201am.

    She, herself, has made 22, yes TWENTY TWO so far today. She’s on 8 or more treasury teams.

    Good for her, her hard work is paying off!

  12. Stephanie March 28, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Raceyaty creates A LOT of treasuries. Take a look – go back several pages. Some days Raceyaty creates 11. This has to be more than a one person operation.

    http://www.etsy.com/people/Raceytay/treasury?sort=creation_date&order=desc&page=1

  13. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    I find Polestar to be even more of a joke than raceytray but figured I just had a severe case of sour grapes, jealousy etc since I am a jewelry person too!

    But, I am glad to hear someone else finds her whole shabang quite the laugh!

    There is nothing remotely unique about her jewelry – it blows me away and yet she has capitalized on her minimalistic designs and style of photography. And glitterglitter or whatever the hell her moniker is – she is just a polestar wannabe – in fact there are several.

    My thing is, why do you want to look like someone else?

    and…it is really easy to fill a shop with earrings made in a design you saw somewhere one day and thought oh, I can do that! when you don’t have a unique thought in your brain you can whip those puppies out round the clock. But, gotta give her kudos, she is a smart one. I can’t believe she gets the kind of satisfaction a lot of us do who strive to be unique and stay one step ahead of the jewelry apes trying to come up with original and clever designs though. And that is what keeps me motivated…. when I am not hell bent on “hatin’ on” the polestar puupets that is 🙂

  14. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    She can spend all of her time making treasuries since her shop is full of “prints” – which is fine and all good, don’t get me wrong, but it does not appear she lists “new” things very often. (raceytay)

    What is up with these treasury teams – I think they should be banned – it is not an even playing field – especially for jewelry where you can’t even get on a team since there are already so many jewelry people!

    Not that I want to be on a team – seriously I don’t play well with others – I get totally riled up and pissed of when dealing with way too happy control freak soccer mom’s. FYI – I am a soccer mom (an old one) but no one is ever gonna ask me to bring the cupcakes to a game!!!

  15. Me March 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    PoleStar will be on here momentarily to remind us all that we just need to take better photos.

  16. Life During Wartime March 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    In my opinion — and I have no proof of any kind to back this up — I think the investors have a lot to say about how the Etsy FP should look. I mean, seriously, what other large, multi-shop, venue has a ‘merchandising report’? On other sites, merchandising is left up to the shops and is pretty much common sense: you work with whatever holidays and seasonal occurances relate to your inventory, and sell to your niche market.

    For a while now I’ve been seeing some not-so-hot photos of item on the FP, and there is the ongoing problem with resellers and fauxtiques getting there on a daily basis. The staff is obviously looking more at the identity of the curator, the inclusion of certain shops, and the marketing trends list, than at any quality issues. Lots of times the FP Treasury makes not one single sale during its hour of fame.

    Buyers are bored with seeing SS/DD, too.

  17. Life During Wartime March 28, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Just saw another forums post from Etsy’s current Queen of Self Call-outs, JessicaAnneVintage:

    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/6834931/

    She shows up nearly every day with a post about her slow sales, but she has her items listed as handmade. Most of the group huggers comforting her don’t see the problem with her shop, but a few times other sellers have told her to edit her listings and move her items to vintage so shoppers can find them. Like talking to a brick wall, so funny.

  18. sick of etsy crap March 28, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    TVP, like there’s not enough of those in the forum.

    The how can I make more sales? posts are just as bad as the how I made XYZ# of sales and you can too! posts.

    And why hasn’t that I love Etsy thread been closed yet? Its not constructive criticism and its not an Idea. Biased much, Admin?

  19. Wolf March 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    There is no way Ming Dynasty- not to mention Tang Dynasty- vases are only 300.00. Every item in that shop is a replica and therefore, likely brandnew.

    Warring States period would make the items several thousand years old and in a museum, not for sale for 800.00.

    If a serious Collector was buying these pieces, they could glance at them and know from a single look they were fake. Authentic pieces would eith be in a museum or fetching several hundred thousand dollars at the maximum.

    I feel for the buyer who thinks they’re getting a deal on an ‘authentic’ artifact (nowhere in the few listings I read did they say replica, or museum shop, etc).

  20. it stinks March 28, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I’d chew off my hand before I’d buy a wire wrapped glass bead from glitzglitter, polestar or thepeachtree.

    Polestar seems particularly full of herself in the etsy forums.

    But still, etsy admins created this problem and they know good and well what they have done and they don’t give a crap. You can’t blame it all on the crafters – and I use crafters because I don’t consider one wire wrapped bead to be art.
    Etsy admin has there little set of crafting favorites and they really don’t appear to like anyone else who makes handmade. They only like resellers who are making them the big bucks. Oh, and the “vintage” sellers who shop wholesale to deliver that “etsy look”.

    I don’t see anything changing in the near future. At least not for the better for the real handmade folks.

  21. Life During Wartime March 28, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Thanks for your comment, Wolf! I am the person who called fineartcn out. I found a few sites selling items similarly priced and titled, but clearly described as new reproductions. fineartcn is listing their carp as Vintage. No serious collector would purchase from this shop, but shame on Etsy for allowing such obvious fraud to take up server space on the site.

  22. you suck March 28, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    awwww you guys just lack moxie.

  23. stinkypants March 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Kitten, it just sucks large ones that people like her and her buddies are on teams that are not even open to much of the rest of Etsy, and treasuries featuring their work are picked so often for the FP. Other people work hardtakegoodpicshavewonderfulproductblahblahblahyoucandoittoooooo, and they will NEVER see their work on the front page. So maybe a little less undeserved awe for those who are no better, in any way, than a ton of other sellers. The chosen are just running with what Etsy has set up, but let’s stop making them into goddesses or gods.

  24. kitten March 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    @ stinkypants:

    I never said they were goddesses or gods. Raceytay works DAMN HARD! That’s is how she promotes her shop and it’s working. I am a slow treasury maker, I think the most I’ve made in a day is 4.

    How can you begrudge someone their success when you can see how hard they work? If you’re mad at Etsy that’s fine, but you’re calling out someone who’s done nothing wrong.

    I guess I felt the same way until I realized how much work Raceytay and others put in. I decided to work on my shop, improve my pictures, tweak my tags, pay attention to the merchandising report and so far that little bit is paying off. One of my curated treasuries made the front page. I was invited to join a new treasury team.

    If you can’t get in a team, get friendly with a couple of sellers and start your own. Send out invites to sellers who you think would be a good mix for your group.

    The thread Polestar started awhile back regarding how to get in a lot of treasuries is true, at least for me. My treasury total has skyrocketed and I’ve been on the front page several times this year.

    Not saying doing what I did will work for everyone, but it can’t hurt to try one or two of those things and see if you notice a difference. Or try something different.

    ((Jealouscat, who is one of the recent more vocal people in the forums regarding Front Pages, has not made ONE treasury. She needs to quit relying on others for her success and do some of the hard work herself. Use that forum time to make a treasury and network.))

    ::: off the soapbox now :::

  25. Thud March 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Well, the days that Etsy rolled out the international homepages, they left the same damn treasuries on all day, in one of them, there were four items from one seller.

    And the problem with treasury teams? i joined one and everyone on it is brand new with sucky images and products, so there is nothing good tomake a treasury with!

  26. kitten March 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    @ Thud:

    I did the same thing, joined one for folks in my area. They aren’t real serious about it, we weren’t even told to tag our items with the team name. I made one treasury for them and it was like pulling teeth to get one that looked half way decent.

    Join another team or start your own. It’s good to have at least one or two people who have experience of being on a treasury team. I’ve learned a lot that has never been mentioned in the forums.

    I know starting a team isn’t for everyone, not sure I could do it. It’s a lot of work for the captain too (if the team is good) to keep teammates advised of events, changes, new members. Since joining a couple of teams, a whole lot of things make more sense to me.

  27. etsycallout March 28, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Making too many treasuries is not a reason to put someone on the front page or say that they work harder than everyone else. It’s admin that keeps putting them there which is the problem. It’s not like it takes a sleuth either, it’s tagged with the same team! It’s just pure laziness or they don’t give a shit.

  28. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I would never buy from the fineartcn because they have no banner, no avatar, no profile, no address and listed a ton of product in a short period of time. Despite that I do not know my ming from my tang it all reeks of quackery.

    How do you flag them without proof though?

  29. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    So silly that “poor” jessicawhatever doesn’t “see” what her problems are – it doesn’t take rocket science to figure out that 10 items do not make for a good selection…

    a couple of people have now told her to stock up and change tags – yet again!

  30. PussDaddy March 28, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I have never heard of taste test either so I am going to blog it because other people may not have heard of it either. Thanks.

  31. kitten March 28, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    etsycallout said:

    Making too many treasuries is not a reason to put someone on the front page or say that they work harder than everyone else. It’s admin that keeps putting them there which is the problem. It’s not like it takes a sleuth either, it’s tagged with the same team! It’s just pure laziness or they don’t give a shit.
    ____________________________

    If you sign up and read the Etsy emails (not just the finds), they say to tag your treasuries with team words.

    Making a lot of treasuries is not a reason to put someone on the front page, but chances are when you are in over 25,000 you have a excellent chance at being on a lot of FPs. (provided you can make a decent treasury). I’ve seen sellers complain in the forums that they make a ton of treasuries and never make the front page. When you look, they’ve made about 30. That’s not a ton.

    A lot of sellers work hard, Raceytay just blows everyone else out the water in regards to Treasury Making and Networking 101. It’s not the same team that’s picked, she’s in 8+. She’s got it down to a science.

    Anyone can make treasuries, so it’s not like she’s using something that isn’t available to every other Etsy seller. I’m happy for her.

    It doesn’t seem so sinister when you really do the math.

  32. you suck March 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I’ve heard some of these highly visible sellers have lice. Just sayin’.

  33. Maul March 28, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Don’t forget kitten, these worthy frontpage favorites were on the front page of Etsy hundreds of times before the current treasury system, back when it was one per person and you had to wait and hope you could snag one when the slot opened up!

    They deserved all those appearances too, such hard work!

  34. Wolf March 28, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    oneangrybird
    March 28, 2011 at 4:42 pm #
    I would never buy from the fineartcn because they have no banner, no avatar, no profile, no address and listed a ton of product in a short period of time. Despite that I do not know my ming from my tang it all reeks of quackery.

    How do you flag them without proof though?

    * * *

    In this instance, you shouldn’t need proof. A little knowledge as to the history of China should be enough to raise the red flags on this shop.

    Anyone should know that Ming Dynasty vases are *expensive*, just from watching TV, for example. That should be enough to give Admin pause (I know, I know) and make them want to take a closer look at this shop.

  35. you suck March 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    speaking of simple jewelry, look at this seller, I don’t think she is on the front page alot but she has a ton of sales.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/briguysgirls

    I don’t think it’s fair that she has so many sales without working for it.

  36. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Well that’s what I thought Wolf so again just another example of Etsy not following through…

  37. Life During Wartime March 28, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Holy cow, fineartcn has 3 times the items now they had yesterday. In fact they are listing right now!

    oneangrybird, considering the block-headedness of the Etsy staff, I don’t think we can expect them to GET that a plate 800+ years old isn’t going to be listed on Etsy, with a description which includes only a repeat of the title, the dimensions of the piece, the weight, and a statement that the condition is ‘good’ — which suggests some kind of wear and/or flaw, not specified by the seller. I do not deal in antiquities, as many of the items in fineartcn are supposed to be, but I could tell right off that the prices were too low and the listings are all about their policies and shipping, not the items. On any other site but Etsy, the staff would take one look and shut them down…and set the mythical SCRAM software to keep them out in future.

  38. DannyGirl March 28, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Do you know why TeamXtreme’s treasuries are so popular? Because it is a pain in the ass to get in…

  39. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Geez Kitten I hope you are getting paid a lot to advocate for “works harder than anyone else raceytay”…
    seriously out of thousands of sellers you think she works harder than anybody else on Etsy!!!
    Give me a fracking break!!!

    You assume a lot in your incessant banter of “she works so hard she deserves everything” – you don’t know any of us and you surely have no idea what I or anyone else have done as far as hard work!!! You may be really surprised.

    Shame on Etsy for letting this “gaming” go on like it has in the Treasury’s etal… and that is “what” it is – gaming-favoritism-blatant bad business; they do not need to allow this to happen.

    Ok, I gotta go find my happy place ….rant over.

  40. oneangrybird March 28, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    @you suck… good points (head cooties and hard work)
    I need to be succinct like that.

    @LDW – yeah, I forgot to mention the price…. I even noticed that – I am off to flag as many of their pieces as I can!

  41. Jael March 28, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    oneangrybird – thanks for pointing me to the taste test. I actually got quite a few truly hand-made things (oh, and one glitzglitter offering that I would not have chosen), surprisingly… and favorited a few shops to look at later.

    I’m not actually BUYING at the moment (sending a child to college, I’m broke) but it’s fun to look.

  42. HistoryChick March 28, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    I never respond to these even though I enjoy reading them, but this one has really gotten into my crawl.

    There is NO freaking way fineartcn is selling items from the dynasties they have chosen to grab from the sky and use. Seriously, a vase that is at least 900 years old? China’s Song dynasty ran from the 10th century to the 13th Century, so that is one wicked old piece of pot. The Ming dynasty ended in 1644, so they’ve got a pile of 500 year old pot in perfect condition just lying around?

    Holy crap, this is an archeologists dream, except I dream of legitimate finds, not factory made, mass produced knock-offs.

    Should I be more offended that people try to sell this stuff or that other people aren’t bright enough to do some research before purchasing this garbage?

  43. stinkypants March 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Kitten racey is on the FP right now. I can hear her on the hamster wheel as I type. Poor dear. All that superior hard work. I worry about her health. Etsy is broken, and the relative few who reap the rewards should at the very least, stay the fluck out of the forums with their bs about how everybody else just needs to work harder. Keep to their closed to most treasury teams and be the canned frosting to Etsy’s cupcake. Some of those people might be nice and are just working the system, but polestar is not one of those nice people from what I have seen. She gloats. That is not nice.

  44. etsyhate March 28, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    I agree with kitten. Raceytay pays for all the fp promotion with all of the time and effort she puts into a gazillion treasuries. It’s no different than paying to advertise on a blog, she just uses time instead of money. Also, if you make treasuries, you’ll notice that her items come up in search a lot. She renews a often and uses the merchandising tags.

    (And no, I am not Raceytay, Polestar, a front page regular, or a member of teamx, project t, etc. I just think this stinks of sour grapes.)

    But while we are calling out non-reselling individuals, can I just say Artisanwoodcrafting is so freaking obnoxious I can’t even read the forums anymore. I try to avoid him, but he posts in EVERY thread. SO ANNOYING. Sorry, I just had to vent that somewhere.

  45. Cat Power March 28, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I have to agree about Artisanwoodcrafting! It’s been more than a year since I could read one of his posts! I’d start reading a thread and when I saw his avi, I’d just scroll past it to the next comment. Such a pompous ass and arrogant know-it-all! Sorry but I’ve been holding that in for a long time and you just opened the door, etsyhate!

    Please resume your regular broadcasting….

  46. Mandy Howerton March 28, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Just because you make the FP it does not mean you make sales.

  47. Kim March 29, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    I’m missing something. How do you see how many FPs a person has had? And which treasuries they’ve been in?

    “she just uses time instead of money”
    It would be perfectly easy to hire some people to do it for you if you wanted.

  48. Mrs. Dooch March 29, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Raceytay also leaves retaliatory feedback. At one point, she had about 7 negs, all with the obligatory retaliatory feedback. The negs don’t hurt her, but to a new buyer, the retaliation destroys their feedback. She’s a class act.

  49. etsyliars March 29, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    Rolling out the old ‘she’s in so many treasury’ arguments I see.

    Yes, she is. But there are still LOADS of treasuries she’s not in.

    It simply doesn’t wash. If there are 1000 treasuries a day and she’s in 500 of them, there are still 500 that she is NOT in.

    Still, she’ll get her three to four time per day exposure no matter what.

    It doesn’t add up.

    I’ve heard racey has a day job. How in the hell is she making all those treasuries, filling orders and working a day job?

  50. Ewwww March 29, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    Artisanwoodcrafting is a complete asshole with barely any sales. He gives all this fab advice, yet his store sucks. I scroll past him whenever I see his avatar. If I could block someone it would be him!

  51. BelleStarr March 29, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    There is a real need for this site for calling out the resellers and other shops that etsy doesn’t seem to monitor. Raceytay is not a reseller, she follows the TOUs, and successfully plays the game that admin has set up. Someone else has already catalogued the number of collections she curates in a day, the number of teams she’s involved with, nevermind all the clicking and commenting. She’s playing fair and marketing hard.
    I’ve been on two treasury teams since January. I have a ‘real’ job and a family. I’m totally stressed by the number of collections I have to make to retain my membership. Since teaming up, though, I’ve been on the fp 6 times. Grease up my wheel. I’m going to keep scrambling. It pays off.
    Admin selects FPs. They are very clear about what they want on it and have made no secret about how to get it. Raceytay works smart. Calling her out for that is just plain sour grapes.
    I get the jealousy, and the resentment over having to share what little time we may playing/working the system, but Admin made the system, and they decide who wins. Not Raceytay.
    I think it sucks. I want to make my stuff and sell it. I want to go back to making collections full of things I like, with themes I develop, with shops I adore, with people I’ve met here. I never got on the fp once when I did that.

    On the reseller front 😉 I’ve been using taste test lately, the burden of curation and all — it’s a resellers paradise.

  52. oneangrybird March 29, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    Lol…. I noticed artisanwoodcrafting too and couldn’t figure out what nasty critter got up in this poor man’s craw? He sure knows how to get the estrogen going doesn’t he???

    I think he’s probably a brow beatin’ pitiful milque-toast at home who’s honey-do-list is so long that he can’t get no satisfaction unless he comes to the Etsy Fora and riles up the masses.

    He needs to be avoided and ignored because the minute you acknowledge him he goes for the jugular. Not good when all a girl needs is to vent.

  53. Ewwww March 29, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    If he had sales to prove that the bullshit he was saying was working then awesome, say what you wish. But his sales don’t prove anything for all the garbage he talks

  54. oneangrybird March 29, 2011 at 5:45 am #

    I don’t notice the resellers on Taste Test as much as I do the really popular sellers – and yes, good for them, they deserve it because they work so hard. Doesn’t matter what you ‘like’ on Taste Test one of the annoited by Etsy comes up every flippin’ time.

    Sour grapes – damn strait I’ve got sour grapes – I just want a fair playing field.

    I have been building Treasuries left and right and have had one FP out of the last 30 or so. The odds with these damn Teams are such that I would have to make upwards of 15-20 a day myself to have a similar chance to be chosen. And yes, I know the rules and follow the plan, trend, good photo, Etsy pale yada yada.

    So basically I understand that one of the chosen are gonna be on the FP several times a day – it is impossible to not be given the playing field.

    It is not fair and treasury teams should not be etsy legal imo.

    BUT…. I do know that sales are possible without ever being on the FP – I am slowing building my business up here. And I am not new to selling onlinem just at Etsy.

    This is my full time job and has been for the past 20 years.

    I love that we can call out here – if for no other reason than to just plain vent –
    resellers and fauxtiques/vintriage piss me off too

  55. oneangrybird March 29, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    fineartcrap is still listing today, right now – I have flagged them and written Etsy, not that matters but the historychick gave me amunition.

    I noticed now they have Han, in addition to Ming and Tang and grapefruit dynasty.

    I may have to go google all of this stuff cuz now I am interested in getting my facts straight.

    Where the hell do these people come from with their semi loads of reproduction crap?

    It’s like Etsy has a cyber-dock with strob lights and handmade banner screaming Back Up Here and Sell Your Shit Handmade and Vintriage!!! We’re not picky we let anyone SELL anything!

  56. oneangrybird March 29, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    I know I am not a hipster – but wtf is a man-cowl? There is one on the FP right now? I just don’t get it…

    are y’all sick of me yet???

  57. Wolf March 29, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    Life During Wartime
    March 28, 2011 at 6:27 pm #
    Holy cow, fineartcn has 3 times the items now they had yesterday. In fact they are listing right now!

    oneangrybird, considering the block-headedness of the Etsy staff, I don’t think we can expect them to GET that a plate 800+ years old isn’t going to be listed on Etsy, with a description which includes only a repeat of the title, the dimensions of the piece, the weight, and a statement that the condition is ‘good’ — which suggests some kind of wear and/or flaw, not specified by the seller. I do not deal in antiquities, as many of the items in fineartcn are supposed to be, but I could tell right off that the prices were too low and the listings are all about their policies and shipping, not the items. On any other site but Etsy, the staff would take one look and shut them down…and set the mythical SCRAM software to keep them out in future.

    * * *

    Jesus H. Christ, now they’re coming other Dynasties just as old and older than the Ming.

    This shop should be automatically raising red flags with Etsy, right from the get go.

    Quite obviously, they don’t care.

    Here’s a quick rundown-

    Han Dynasty- 206BC-220AD
    Three Kingdoms- 220-280AD
    Jun Dynasty-265-420AD
    16 Kingdoms- 304-439AD
    Southern & Northern Dynasties- 420-589AD
    Sui Dynasty- 581-618
    Tang (2nd Zhou- 690-705AD) 618-907AD
    5 Dynasties & 10 Kingdoms- 907-960AD
    Liao Dynasty- 907-1125AD
    Song Dynasty- 960-1279AD
    Yuan Dynasty- 1271-1368AD
    Ming Dynasty- 1368-1644AD
    Qing Dynasty- 1644-1911AD
    Modern Era started in 1912 with People’s Republic of China

    So there is absolutely no way these are not museum replicas, therfore are brandnew and do not belong on Etsy.

  58. Wolf March 29, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    HistoryChick
    March 28, 2011 at 8:27 pm #
    I never respond to these even though I enjoy reading them, but this one has really gotten into my crawl.

    There is NO freaking way fineartcn is selling items from the dynasties they have chosen to grab from the sky and use. Seriously, a vase that is at least 900 years old? China’s Song dynasty ran from the 10th century to the 13th Century, so that is one wicked old piece of pot. The Ming dynasty ended in 1644, so they’ve got a pile of 500 year old pot in perfect condition just lying around?

    * * *

    Older than that, try 1000+ to 1800+ yrs old on quite a few.

    Here’s a huge tipoff- a vase or piece of glazed pottery with any significant age, but especially centuries old, would be crazy cracked through the glazing. Look at the closeups- THEY AREN’T.

    Not a single piece of pottery has crazy cracks.

    Hell, even the Japanese tea set my FiL gave his mother 40+ years ago is so fragile, that it falls apart simply by barely touching it!

    So for these to be in ‘good’ condition with no crazy cracking in the glaze? They’re obviously fakes.

  59. Wolf March 29, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Just checked and the faux China replica seller now has an empty shop.

    Any bets on how long it’ll stay empty before Etsy coached listings reappear?

  60. PussDaddy March 29, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Wouldn’t Dead Cats In Ming Vases make a good band name?

  61. Life During Wartime March 29, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I guess Etsy could find a way for fineartcn to list their stuff as handmade vintage-style. And maybe even let them continue to list as vintage…groan.

    fineartcn was open for almost a month. Etsy needs to look at EVERY shop that opens if they ship from CHINA, taking action as appropriate. If China is the new global manufacturing leader for consumer goods, it’s just reasonable to expect that many of the shops shipping from there will be listing newly manufactured goods, rather than vintage anything.

  62. etsyliars March 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    racey follows all TOUs?

    Have you checked her titles and tags lately? I recall fondly last year how all of her items were tagged “back to school”.

    She stuffs her titles and tags so much I bet if you searched for “dead hooker dildo” you would get some of her items in the results.

  63. Stacey March 29, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    My real problem with raceytay is that she is such a blatant tag stuffer. Small sampling: “fresh green grass”, “moss green leaves”, “rustic wall art”, “gleeful summer fun”, “golden topaz light”
    If she wants to make eighty bajillion treasuries every day, fine, whatever. But it sucks to see someone who stuffs their tags like a Thanksgiving turkey on the front page so much.

  64. Velamint March 29, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I did the taste test, and lolz, guess who was in my results? idea2lifestyle!

    I hate the Treasury Treadmill. Some people seem to think treasuries are the only way they can sell anything! The way Etsy has set things up, sometimes it seems like they are.

    Privately, I think treasuries are f#$king stupid. Can you imagine, I dunno, Amazon having treasuries?? Or some other multi-vendor venue asking its sellers to waste their time “curating” instead of listing & shipping.

  65. Thud March 29, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I’m sorry, I don’t buy the ‘works so hard’ bit.
    I checked. raceytay and I have the EXACT same # of sales.
    i have been on the front page maybe 10 times in aproximately the same time in business (ie having an etsy shop) as she has.
    If I had the kind of exposure and free marketing she has, just think where I could be?
    I have a day job and Etsy, too.
    I just don’t have a free ride and daily free promotion.
    Who works hard?

  66. Andrea March 29, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Amazon does have treasuries – they have member curated lists and have for years. Same concept, just not as visual.

    Thud, the anecdotal evidence doesn’t mean much. What do you sell? Prints and art are harder to sell than, say, supplies.

  67. kitten March 29, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    @Thud
    How many treasuries do you make a day, a week? Are you on any treasury teams?

  68. Tryingtoohard March 30, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    So is it about how many treasuries we make in any given week now?

    What happened to quality not quantity? The treasury system is now officially borked.

    I make about 3/4 daily, i guess i need to up that to 20 to prove i am working *hard* enough to make the FP with one of mine. Utter rubbish.

    I am on a treasury team, i work hard, i follow all the rules, i use all the tips.

    Nowhere does it say that i need to spend half my day throwing together 50 half baked collections.

    I have to conclude that the admin treasury picker knows exactly what she is doing. Picking the same curators and teams over and over ad nauseam. That is what i have a HUGE problem with. My teams treasuries are very visible, we have great makers and still the same ole collections get pulled. So much so they morph into one.

    I don’t have a problem with the FP regulars, they are playing the game.

    What i do find irritating beyond belief is the assertation that these regulars *deserve* the features they get because they work SO hard. I can’t believe folk actually think that? That they are more deserving than others. Get real. What a wind up.
    Have you been brainwashed or do you say the same thing on the Etsy forums hoping Polestar will pick you for one of hers?

    LOTS of us work just as hard and deserve a shot. Producing lovely treasuries, products, and photographs and being active Etsy member’s. MANY of us actually achieve this, NOT just the chosen few, that the FP and it’s cheerleaders would lead you to believe.

    Admin know what they are doing and don’t give a shit. I will most likely be leaving in a few months, after selling on Etsy for 4 years. It has become a farce.

    ———–

    Btw Bellestarr i TOTALLY agree with this:

    “I think it sucks. I want to make my stuff and sell it. I want to go back to making collections full of things I like, with themes I develop, with shops I adore, with people I’ve met here. I never got on the fp once when I did that. “

  69. Thud March 30, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Not the point.
    She works hard, you say.
    I sell handmade items, and not at a low price point.
    I don’t print pictures off my computer to complete a sale.
    My point is, that there are many kinds of hard work…
    Even if you equalize as many factors as possible, there is still an element of favourtism.
    I guess the difference is that no, I can’t make 30 treasuries a day because I am making the things I sell.
    I just don’t buy the hard work line. Period.

  70. ugh! March 30, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I am so totally frustrated by this whole issue that etsy admin just won’t face up to!

    Have you ever noticed that if you do a search under ‘handmade’ and you start to type in ‘pole’ the drop down menu automatically shows ‘polestar’ as one of the word suggestions?

  71. Megan March 30, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    The really sad thing about Raceytay? It’s so obvious she’s just doing it to get on the FP. If you look at her treasuries, she uses tons of the same items in multiple treasuries.

    Just 2 of her treasuries I looked at yesterday, had 9 of the same items in both.

    So yeah, I guess she’s “working hard” if you mean working the system, and making bazillions of treasuries with close to the exact same items just to up her chances of making on the FP.

  72. you suck March 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    seriously, who fucking cares? and who the fuck searches for pole on etsy? fire fighters? strippers?

  73. you suck March 30, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    if raceyty is using the same people in treasuries, why, on earth. would you give a shit.

    ?

    IS it sour grapes? that is the only reason I can see for why you would be so pissed at the way a person fucking makes a treasury.

    Sad in this big wide world that is what you are upset about.

  74. Life During Wartime March 30, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    It is clear to me that the daily repeating curators and shops are not there because of superior products and working extra hard. Etsy mostly doesn’t even look past their go-to list of curators. Etsy views the chosen curators’ treasuries as a dependable product they can use to promote the Etsy image. It’s the same kind of standard used by any corporation’s advertising.

  75. PussDaddy March 30, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    As a buyer I never used a treasury on purpose to buy anything. Meaning I did not purposely set out to go shopping by treasury. I did however make a few buys from them when I made my own treasuries and put something on a treasury I liked, or when I was in the promo section looking at treauries and getting people to look at mine. It didn’t happen a lot though, just a few times. Are they really a shopping destination, do people shop from them a lot?

  76. PussDaddy March 30, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    speaking of simple jewelry, look at this seller, I don’t think she is on the front page alot but she has a ton of sales.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/briguysgirls

    I don’t think it’s fair that she has so many sales without working for it.
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    Not sure I agree 100% with this. On a lot of it it appears that she at least wire wrapped something, a dangle, a gemstone, a pearl. Then hung it on a chain with other stuff. It’s simple but wire wrapping has to count for something, along with tying knot’s in cords and opening jump rings (if she did). It may be simple to a certain degree but I have bought something of this nature myself for someone who preferred that type of thing. I did not look at all of her items though to see if they all look handmade, I just browsed a page or two.

  77. uh-huh March 30, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Sad that in this big fucking etsy admin can only find 9 or 10 people.

  78. Life During Wartime March 30, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh, they can find people when they want to. Like for bannings, mutings, and stuff like that.

  79. etsycallout March 30, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    It’s sad that you come back day after day to post.

  80. you suck March 30, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    it really is eco. guess we are all losers

  81. tineyeferart March 31, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    is there a program that “helps” one create a treasury? So many tens of of thousands of treasuries being created that it sure seems like someone designed a program or macro or sumthin like that. Anybody hear of anything like that?

    Frankly, I only see a treasury when it’s on the front page, I do not shop from them, I do not get curious or click on any of them. I look at FP and immediately search on my own.

  82. tineyeferart March 31, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Im with ya Wolfe and regarding the 900 year old (whatever) chinese ceramics pottery:

    um, those would be in a museum, private collection or being sold through a high-end auction house. NOT ebay, certainly NOT etsy.

    sheesh

  83. kitten April 1, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    you suck said:
    speaking of simple jewelry, look at this seller, I don’t think she is on the front page alot but she has a ton of sales.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/briguysgirls

    I don’t think it’s fair that she has so many sales without working for it.
    ____________________________________

    You’ve got to me kidding me. This is one of the most petty, arrogant things I’ve read. It looks like the seller works pretty damn hard and has a very lovely AND successful shop.

    Jealous much?

  84. you suck April 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    yep I was kidding. My point is that people only focus on front page repeats b/c they are visible but would never tear down someone just for having a lot of sales. But for some reason it is bad to want to be on the front page a lot.

  85. oneangrybird April 3, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    The tag stuffing is obnoxious and drives me insane – when I see a listing that is titled with 3 or 4 lines of superlatives I just move on.

    The fact that ‘racey’ employs this type of marketing and it is so against Etsy TOU’s makes for even more frustration on my part.

    “Jealous much”…. ???? this statement seriously shouldn’t even be addressed as far as I am concerned!
    Jealousy plays no part in my utter frustration with the obvious inequity of who Etsy chooses for the FP. I would tend to think that this is the way most feel – who really gives a rats ass about ‘racey’ or ‘polestar’ or whoever and their specific art/craft. They are not that damn good – come on! What they are, is brilliant at gaming…playing the system…and not even playing by the rules for that matter.

  86. crispyduck April 5, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I guess all the bad press over raceytay’s tag stuffing made her sit up and take notice. Or else she got a jillion reports sent to admin:)

    Why doesn’t she just cut all her prices in half? She only gets lots of business when she’s having her semi-permanent BOGO sale, so clearly nobody wants to pay full price for her photos.

  87. PussDaddy April 10, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    But even if a lot of the same people make the FP all the time their pictures and items do for the most part look good and possible attracts buyers who may also look around and possible buy from some one who has never been on the front page right? I can see how it is annoying and feels unfair though I’m just saying that maybe there is a bright side to it as well.

  88. tiny June 20, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Polestar…fp…354 times in just over two years.

    Almost every other day. Noooooooooo favoritism there for the junk she hangs on chains.

  89. BelleStarr June 20, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    Get over it, whiner.

Leave a Reply

