Melamine Plates

6 Apr

Update: Olligraphic got emailed from Kim, admin “The plates you feature in your shop are ok to sell on Etsy since they are your original design. They will need to be shipped by you in order for them to meet our policies. ” WOW.

I always really liked Olliegraphic–until I saw them selling their non hand made plates on Etsy. They are a pretty big entity, so I am sure nothing will happen.
They make household stuff personalized to your kid’s face/name, but their plates and bowls take “1-3 weeks for production plus 1-7 days for shipping” because “This item will ship directly from the manufacturer in Dallas, TX.”

http://www.etsy.com/listing/62809236/olliegraphic-personalized-melamine-plate

They have two shops:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/saratams
http://www.etsy.com/shop/olliegraphic

And apparently there is a small outbreak of others following suit:
SimplyStellaStudio http://www.etsy.com/listing/61352261/personalized-melamine-plate-tiger
personalizedchildish http://www.etsy.com/listing/71577581/personalized-melamine-plate

I just think it is lame because there are a lot of artists/crafters out there who hand draw, or do screen printed/hand transferred drawings onto plates. How can they compete?
Also, if you want to make your own or start you own non-hand made business on Etsy, here is (the?) a manufacturer from Dallas, Texas:
http://makit.com

__________________________________________________
And check out who made an appearance yesterday in the comments (and our reply below it): https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2010/12/16/uprootedshop-gardensecrets-missindie/#comment-21359
Busted! Link fixed!

15 Responses to “Melamine Plates”

  1. Angel April 6, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Looks like there is an issue with the bottom link – it heads to Etsy for me instead of a comment on ECO.

  2. etsycallout April 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Link fixed

  3. Stacey April 7, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    From saratams profile:
    “Finding that my limited artistic abilities couldn’t keep up with the aesthetic I had in mind for sarah + abraham, I began incorporating illustrations from several talented artists to create unique products that I enjoy using myself,”

    Nice…

  4. Meg Bartholomy April 13, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Hey there, it’s Meg from Olliegraphic.

    Etsy recently contacted to me and asked me to remove my melamine plates.

    I was not aware that my plates violated etsy’s policy. I had seen several sellers carrying the plates. Once I was notified this was against the rules, I promptly removed them.

    A couple things I’d like to point out however…. to call me a “pretty big entity” is a laughable. I am a one-woman business. All orders on http://www.olliegraphic.com and my etsy shop go through me, Meg.

    Here are some exceptions: Olliegraphic pillows are sewn by a local seamstress (etsy seller TheCleverBobbin). She uses templates created by me to create the pillows. My understanding is this is allowable on etsy as long as I identify her in the product description (I do).

    Also, I license a limited line of my illustrations to etsy seller SaraTams Again, this is completely legal. Sara has provided invaluable help to me in growing my business over the past 1-2 years and I feel lucky to work with her. Our products do overlap, but we are separate businesses. She is not part of some enormous Olliegraphic conglomerate.

    Finally, I hope you will understand that, not all etsy sellers are out to make maximum profits, etsy policies be damned. And not all “big entities” may be as big as they seem. Please remember that when you “call out,” you may be identifying misunderstanding, not malice.

    Hope you enjoy your day.

    Meg

  5. Meg Bartholomy April 18, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    UPDATE: Yesterday I received an email from Kim at Etsy support informing me that melamine plates and bowls featuring original designs ARE allowable to sell on Etsy.

    To quote Kim,

    “The plates you feature in your shop are ok to sell on Etsy since they are your original design. They will need to be shipped by you in order for them to meet our policies. ”

    I am re-adding the plates and bowls to my shop. I plan to have plates shipped to me so that I can examine the products before sending them on to my customers.

    Because I am operating legally and within Etsy’s policies, I would greatly appreciate an update, clarification or even full redaction of your April 6 Post on Callin’ Out on Etsy. However, considering that no one responded to my first comment, I won’t hold my breath.

  6. Meg Bartholomy April 18, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    Sorry, by “redaction” I meant to type “removal.” Thanks.

  7. Make a plate can be "handmade", ish April 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    I think that “make a plate” company is kind of like getting your photos printed at a third party, isn’t it?
    http://www.makit.com/Plates.cfm
    The seller makes the artwork themselves. I think this sounds like it would be allowed as long as it’s not drop-shipped. I have done these make-a-plate things for my own use and I did very elaborate artwork for my own plates, I wasn’t selling them but I definitely put more work into it than into some assembled jewelry I also make.
    Is this seller doing her own art or using a template?

  8. Stacey April 20, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Olliegraphic’s shop doesn’t bother me. Having your own designs printed out by someone else is reasonable, and obviously okay with Etsy, too.
    I don’t how saratams is allowed to sell the exact same things that olliegraphic sells, though…?? She even links back to olliegraphic’s shop.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/61046148/olliegraphic-personalized-name-print
    You can buy the exact same thing from olliegraphic’s website:
    http://olliegraphic.com/item/8_x_10_art_print_name_boy_/81/c4

    How is this not reselling?

  9. Sara Tams April 22, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Hi Stacey,

    As Meg mentioned in her comment, she licenses a limited line of her illustrations to me, which is completely legal and permitted on Etsy.

    When a customer places an order with me, I use Adobe Illustrator to create a custom illustration based on the options the customer has selected (ex. hairstyle, hair color, eye shape, eye color, etc.) I then print note cards, stickers, notepads, and art prints using those images.

    Please let me know if you still have any questions about how this is not reselling.

    Thanks,
    Sara

  10. Bernadette Stephens November 3, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I would really like to make some of these plates for my family and friends. I do not want to sell them. Does anyone know a company that will print my design for me?

  11. Steph March 25, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Sometimes I wish Etsy sellers would pay more attention to their own shops and work to make the best products they can RATHER than focusing so much on other peoples shops. Look, if your stuff isn’t selling either you or your product is not up to par. Just saying.

  12. Ann Rodriguez November 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Bernadette – Makit Products will do that for you. Our website is Makit.com, and we are offering free shipping from now til the end of November.

  13. Dena Sewell May 26, 2013 at 5:44 am #

    I think your point is that etsy is a market place for “Handmade” Goods as well as supplies .As etsy has grown larger it seems what “handmade” means has been grossly distorted and has become commercialized so that the Real Independent Artists can’t compete …Going into photoshop and changing the color and resizing an image isn’t really digital art and it definitely does not fit into the definition of “Handmade”

  14. Whtiney July 12, 2014 at 4:09 pm #

    This is a year ago so I am sure no one is even looking at this but this was extremely unfair to “call out” someone you know nothing about. Meg I am sorry you had to deal with this. I agree with the other poster. Focus on your own shop and stop crying about other people’s shops. Let Etsy deal with the people who are not following policy. This is very frustrating to see shops “call out” other shops period. Unless they are seriously doing something illegal maybe we should all just let each other alone and focus on making OUR products better. Just my 2 cents.

  15. Whtiney July 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

    Wow, this is an entire blog….thats kind of sad.

Leave a Reply

