technical problem

8 Apr

This was on the front page:

It’s here on amazon:
overstock:
another etsy seller cupcakescraft:
and many many more.
definitely not handmade or vintage.
What made us laugh the most is if you look at smoothgroove’s now empty shop the announcement says that “due to a technical problem my store now has a new address http://www.etsy.com/shop/2smoothgroove” (Can being caught reselling be considered a technical problem? lol)
27 Responses to “technical problem”

  1. sickofetsy April 8, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    2smoothgrove is lo longer empty, with her handmade colored pencils and all.

  2. morgen April 8, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    There’s nothing much in ‘cupcakescraft’ that is handmade, if anything. How do people get away with this?

  3. sickofetsy April 8, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Ignore my post……I had a reading problem earlier. 😉

  4. Yaya April 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    How many copyrights can one piece violate at once? I think that is a good Regretsy contest:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/71152674/free-shipping-logo-mouse-giant-chic

  5. jac April 8, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I reported this scum bag too!
    I can’t believe these idiots think they can sell this crap

  6. Fake April 8, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Well smoothgroove may be empty, but 2smoothgroove is still reselling. Their apple note pad: http://www.etsy.com/listing/71312754/fruit-memo-pad-red-apple Can be found on the paper source site. I fact I was just looking at these this morning. http://www.paper-source.com/cgi-bin/paper/item/Fruit-Slices-Memo-Notes/3202.010/414571.html

  7. Sammy April 8, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Here are their fruit notepads on AliExpress.
    http://www.aliexpress.com/product-gs/285149155-Fruit-Notepad-apple-pear-notepads-wholesalers.html

  8. Sammy April 8, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Oh, and also: tips@disneyantipiracy.com
    to report Disney copyright infringements. I wish Disney would throw their corporate weight around a little to scare Etsy into policing their own listings better.

  9. Life During Wartime April 8, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    With that Asian banner and reseller products listed as handmade, I’d say the technical problem is Etsy’s! What happened to the SC(r)AM software that was supposed to stop resellers from reopening after they were reported and caught? And how the f^#k did one of their items get on the Etsy front page?

  10. Nancy April 8, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    My sister shared your site on FB and I think you’re doing a good deed!! There is nothing handmade about these shops. Disgust! They should be ashamed of themselves and Etsy hmmm… Is everything just all about the sale? I seriously think there has got to be SOMEONE out there that can start another website for handmade artisans!

  11. nolongerbuyingetsy April 8, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    I’m tired of reporting this crap and nothing is ever done. I just quit buying anything on Etsy. I had some sellers whose work I admired. Sent them a convo asking for their private email address then explained I refused to buy off Etsy, but I would still like to purchase from them. Etsy lost a lot of money in sales from me and I was glad the seller put an extra 4.5% in their own pocket.

    Geez, I’m going to China next week. Wonder what crap I can bring back to make a boatload on Etsy. As long as it sells, they could careless.

  12. stinkypants April 9, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    One of the tags on the ChanelMouse ring is felted facinator. Would have looked jaunty on that rodent.

  13. EtsyVigilante April 9, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    A little off the current topic but I just ran into a seller who tagged a nest “handmade” “vintage” “French” and “Pottery Barn” http://www.etsy.com/listing/70133348/spring-birds-nest?ref=pr_shop

    Then I did a search on all items tagged “Pottery Barn”: nearly 3000!

  14. oneangrybird April 9, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    The Pottery Barn tag on the bird’s nest is no longer there…

    Yeah, 3000 items tagged as PB is a bit bothersome to me, kind of defeats the whole handmade vibe doesn’t it?

  15. PussDaddy April 9, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    That made the FP? Seriously?

  16. PussDaddy April 9, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    nolongerbuyingetsy
    April 8, 2011 at 8:05 pm # I’m tired of reporting this crap and nothing is ever done. I just quit buying anything on Etsy. I had some sellers whose work I admired. Sent them a convo asking for their private email address then explained I refused to buy off Etsy, but I would still like to purchase from them. Etsy lost a lot of money in sales from me and I was glad the seller put an extra 4.5% in their own pocket.

    Geez, I’m going to China next week. Wonder what crap I can bring back to make a boatload on Etsy. As long as it sells, they could careless.
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    That is how I buy too but even that is getting farther and farther between. To be honest most of this stuff bores me now and I lose more interest in it daily. I just can’t really work up anger over any of it anymore.

  17. PussDaddy April 10, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    How sad that if you start typing pottery barn into etsy’s search by the time you get to the letter b in barn it suggest pottery barn for you and you can just click that and find pottery barn.

  18. sickofetsy April 10, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    That handmade ship sailed away from etsy’s port long ago.

  19. PussDaddy April 10, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Someone posted on my blog in the comment section of my blog post about the Inc Article/flea market thing tha this summer artfire is going to allow resellers. I asked where they saw this said but they never replied. Has anyone else heard this? I know I was looking for rings, a button ring to be exact, and I got lots of reseller crap and I tweeted about it.

  20. Inspector Yuk April 10, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Hehe, Pussdaddy, It is very true, Artfire has given us 2 choices, leave the system as it is (flagging to remove singular items) or we can explore the idea of giving Resellers a category of their own. They’ve made it quite clear that they are not about to kick off sellers who give them money every month with a Pro account regardless of what they sell.

    According to them it is much easier to move them and have them prove their case, than it is to ;investigate and shut them down. the reality is they want the traffic numbers and Pro shop revenues just like Etsy. And some sellers there are genuinely fooled by the spin put on it. They have one guy there, I forget his name, but he can talk out of both sides of his mouth at the same time! What that guy doesn’t say speaks louder to me than what he does say.

    Oh, and I was reading another thread and a bunch of people discovered that their flagging ability was turned off. Apparently they can still go through the motions so they think they’re flagging and in reality they’re not registering. Someone asked about it and was told basically that the flagging rules are intentionally vague. They don’t want to let flaggers know they can’t flag anymore because then they’d clog up the customer service with requests to have it turned back on.

    they think it’s better to let people believe their still flagging than to actually treat them like adults and tell them they crossed the line.

    Artfire forums are a blast to watch! They got their koolaid drinkers and cupcakes too!!! I hardly post there, they claim to be so friendly and welcoming, but man, you post sumthing they don’t like and they beat you down with that bar thingy so you can;t post anymore.

  21. PussDaddy April 10, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Well let’s just say I am about as welcome on artfire’s forum as a nun would be at an orgy. I think I am probably banned there too. If not it wasn’t for lack of trying on my part.

    I wonder how people initially learned their flagging ability had been turned off?

    This is very disappointing for handmade. I often said I wonder if there is as big a market for it as Etsy and other places led people to believe there was. I often thought that it wouldn’t matter what Etsy did to the site, what changes they made, if there isn’t a market to support the site all the tweaking and bitching in the world isn’t going to matter. Now that is not saying that there aren’t very, very, extremely talented people on Etsy and these other sites, because they are, and they deserve to be selling like crazy. I am just not sure the market for handmade is as big as people think or have been led to believe. I know I never searched a handmade item in my life before finding Etsy. I had bought art and handmade things at live venues, but not online.

    I guess if people want a venue to sell on though they will accept whatever the conditions are so they can have a place to sell. It’s hard to blame them as it’s not really their fault or their decision to be selling next to resellers.

    As a buyer tho my own personal opinion is why not skip all the drama that it takes to buy handmade if a lot of it is reseller stuff anyway and just go to a store and be done with it. Unless you thrive on the drama like some of us apparantly do then it probably doesn’t matter one way or the other anyway.

  22. megansbeadeddesigns April 11, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    I think that the Artfire cupcakes are far WORSE than the Etsy cupcakes! They are friggin SCARY over at Artfire, if you say one thing critical about that site, hundred of ’em strike to attack you! NOT an environment I like to play around in, that’s for sure.

  23. Life During Wartime April 11, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    WJW, PD and Inspector Yuk! I am actually not surprised that ArtFire wants to fit reselling into the site. I closed my Pro studio (didn’t do much with it, never had a sale) when they started getting all hyped up over the big recruiting drive last year. I don’t want to sell on a site where everyone is paying a different rate for the same shop.

    I guess they expect the silly artifact for handmade to protect the reputations of handmade studio owners from bad association on a site with resellers. And what are they gonna do for vintage? There are many fauxtiques already on the site listed as old, which I doubt are flagged.

  24. em April 11, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I think I get where AF is coming from as far as the reseller issue goes. Yea, they want the money from the Pro subscriptions, but it seems like they also want to set the site apart from Etsy, where items are falsely advertised as handmade and vintage. At least this way people will know what they are buying, and the handmade customers may feel more comfortable buying on a site like this.

    I can’t predict if it will be a success or total flop, though. I tend to root for ArtFire though so I tried to see it from their point of view.

  25. PussDaddy April 11, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Well I think I have basically come to the conclusion that if a site ok’s it, and people know it has been ok’d for reseller stuff to be there but sell there anyway, then I don’t see why I as a buyer should care any more than the site owners or the sellers do and I should just buy whatever the hell I want to even if it is resller stuff. Etsy is different-they pretend it doesn’t exist-but I don’t buy at Etsy anyway. I was trying to stay away (and was staying away actually) from the reseller stuff on ArtFire but I have decided that I don’t care anymore and if I see some reseller crap that I want I am going to buy it no matter it it cots 13 cents or 13 dollars or 130 dollars and everyone can condemn my soul straight to hell I don’t care about that either.

  26. PussDaddy April 11, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I think a lot will depend upon if handmade or reseller crap sells best em. It alls sounds kumbaya happy together right now but if reseller stuff sells better then people will probably go apesht crazy.

  27. Fake April 13, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    2smoothgroove’s shop is now empty. I wonder if they are being coached?

Leave a Reply

