LetterParade

9 Apr

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71750352/the-bronte-sisters-blank-journal

http://www.amazon.com/dp/0307408515?tag=schildnet0c&link_code=as3&creativeASIN=0307408515&creative=373489&camp=211189

39 Responses to “LetterParade”

  1. EtsyDontCare April 9, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Looks like someone bought it

  2. JAC April 9, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    LMAO… Are you serious?
    What the #&$@….

    I hope someone has reported this silly little reseller.

  3. snowqueen April 9, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    I reported a bunch of the other listings in this shop, hope something gets done about this Ugh.

  4. stinkypants April 9, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Raceytay and MySelvegedLife, together again on the FP. SO fucking sick and tired of Etsy giving the same people all this free advertising. The faves are playing the game well gotta say that.

  5. Kathy Williamson April 10, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Hi all, I’m new to this blog and I just love it. I’ve posted several protest treasuries and of course had them all removed. I also like to hang around the Regretsy site. Anyway, I wish I could find the post that I really want to comment on. Some of you were having sympathy for the reseller because she promises to send money to Autism Speaks. As the mother of an adult with severe autism, I have been schooled and I would like you to be schooled as well. My son and his friends don;t have much nice to say about autism speaks, and I agree. There comes a point where you have to stop thinking of your child as someone in need of a cure, and learn to appreciate who they are. This is also the vaccine bunch, and with their nonsensical screeching, they did a lot to set back the cause of autism awareness and neurodiversity. For that matter, many adults with autism don’t like the Autism Society of America either, because it is parent-centric. It’s all about the providers, not the individuals. My guy is 26 and still learning how to use the toilet. He hasn’t spoken a word but he can type, and his favorite saying is “I am not puzzled!” Furthermore, he is about to launch his own Etsy site in the next few days, and while he does call himself out as an artist with autism, he wouldn’t break the law and expect you to go easy on him. Neither would I! I started my successful sewing business on Ebay and Etsy and I would expect to be held to standards.

  6. Kathy Williamson April 10, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    PS He’ll be offering the “I am not puzzled” line of stenciled shirts and items this week as well, so please don’t steal his phrase!

  7. sickofetsy April 10, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    I would never have sympathy for any reseller no matter where they claim to be sending money to. If they are dirty enough to be a reseller, chances are they won’t be sending money to anyone but themselves.

  8. sickofetsy April 10, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    ..and we are not the ones you have to worry about stealing your son’s phrase.

  9. Kathy Williamson April 10, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    LOL you never know who might be reading!

  10. Ellen April 11, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    I have aspergers and love your son’s phrase. I wonder if you can protect it somehow. There are many folks against autism speaks. I’m sure your son’s phrase will become popular.

    All the best, Ellen

  11. Kathy Williamson April 11, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    Legally, the first person to use it owns it. Try enforcing it though! 😦

  12. heartsabustin April 11, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Here’s a “vintage” seller – look at her sold items, she’s already sold some of those nice “vintage” pieces she’s selling again. Hmmmm, really?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BeijoDesign

  13. Trista April 11, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    This item is on the front page right now – a 20 cent item that’s not for sale.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/41483672/vintage-50s-blue-prom-gown-not-for-sale?ref=fp_treasury_6

  14. Trista April 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    The dress has now been moved off the front page but the listing wasn’t removed and it’s still available in the treasury when you click to see the whole thing.

  15. Yaya April 11, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    How do you prove you were the first person to use a phrase??

  16. jenjasmine April 11, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Wow Trista- that is the most confusing listing I think I’ve ever seen.
    For sale, not for sale?! What?!
    Another stinking ad disguised as a PIF, I guess is what it used be.

  17. PussDaddy April 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    The link now says photograph for sale and is $14.99?

  18. Trista April 11, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I can’t believe they removed the dress from the front page – basically showing that they know the listing isn’t allowed – yet they didn’t bother to delete it.

  19. Trista April 11, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I just noticed whenever I clicked the link – the seller has changed the listing title & price. Look at the link I posted above for what the title originally was when it was on the front page – “vintage 50s blue prom gown not for sale”. Now it’s changed to “photograph for sale” and it’s 14.99 instead of 20 cents.

  20. FaintingCouchDestash April 11, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    IT’S

    ROB

    KALIN’S

    BIRTHDAY !!

    That boy jumped on his birthday thread. Can’t get him in there much any other way.

  21. Trista April 11, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    The description is different too. Someone is covering their tracks. Here’s the original when it was on the front page. Thank you Google cache.

  22. Ellen April 11, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I don’t get it why put a vintage cress on etsy that is not for sale? Did I miss something?

  23. FaintingCouchDestash April 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    That blue dress. She changed the listing from $.20 to $ 14.99.

    You can buy that photograph, for educational purposes, or just save it and look at it when you feel a need for ” glamour photography “.

    She lists all the treasuries it’s been in. LOOKATMEEEEEEEEE. And how can an admin say that it was a mistake. How difficult is it to take a really quick glance.

  24. Whisperia April 11, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    It’s even more confusing now because the listing for the blue dress says that it’s for the photograph and it’s $14.99. But there’s nothing in the description about size of prints or anything. And there are 5 photos there, do you get them all? It does say that you can use the photos to design notecards, so does that mean you get them emailed to you? If that’s the case, then I can just click on the pictures in the listing and copy the images. So I’m still not sure what’s for sale here.

  25. meh April 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    haha we all sound like little nancy drews here.

  26. Life During Wartime April 11, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Both the cached 20 cent item and the revised photo were listed as vintage. A photo of a model wearing a (maybe?) vintage dress isn’t vintage. So that is another violation that made it into a treasury and onto the front page.

  27. Inspector Yuk April 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Yeah, but the ninny forgot to change the category and tags so it’s still showing up under vintage, which it clearly is not. No mention of print, photograph or what the item actually is.

    Good job ya moron, you certainly fooled me……………not.

  28. susan April 11, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I was waiting in the grocery line today and was checking etsy, first time in a long time and saw the twenty cent dress. I couldn’t figure out the listing and then checking it at home, saw the seller changed it.

    From what I can guess, she sold the dress in January but it was/had been a huge treasury gem for her, so her way of keeping that karmawhoring alive was to relist it at a PIF price and write NOT FOR SALE all over it.

    I was hoping someone on ECO had a cached page. Thanks!

  29. Trista April 12, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Susan – I think you’ve got it figured out. That seems to be the only reason why she’d keep something listed that’s not for sale.

    I wonder what will happen if someone actually buys the now $14.99 listing? What will they even get? If you look at the listing where the actual dress sold back in January she says that only the last 3 photos were taken by her. If the first 2 pictures weren’t taken by her, I’m guessing she doesn’t even own the copyright and has no right to sell them.

  30. senza nome April 12, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Wow, about that dress, she really wouldn’t mind if we used her photo to design our own note cards? Woohoo, well let’s go! Let’s design some better-than-moleskin journals too! And copyright them. She’s given us permission, right? Think of all the treasuries we’ll be in then.

    I hope the Bronte journal person isn’t going to claim they repurposed an existing journal by adding an elastic.

  31. senza nome April 12, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Haha! I like the description on these:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/69025503/clearance-sale-smart-funny-magnetic-note

    “This Shannon Martin magnetic notepad…” At least giving the designer credit.

    “This is sold on Amazon.com for $9.95 each!!!”

    She called herself out!

  32. EtsyVigilante April 13, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    She has now removed the “on Amazon.com” part. Why in the world is this shop still up?!

  33. Jen April 13, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    I’ve been getting a LOT of resellers in my “Suggested Shops” section in Favorites lately.

    WTF, etsy? I thought they actually vetted the Suggested Shops?

  34. Life During Wartime April 13, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Suggested Shops are NOT vetted in any way. They are chosen on the basis of popularity. Formerly just shop Hearts, but maybe now Circles as well?

    I get a bunch of resellers in my Suggestions, too, and I always have. Check out the Hearts and Circles of the shops that get called out here. They are often more ‘popular’ than their TOU-observant competition.

  35. Getem April 13, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I wish someone had BOUGHT the dress at 20 cents! Wonder how that would have been handled…

  36. Life During Wartime April 13, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I keep forgetting to comment that the elastic band added by letterparade to the commercially produced journal would satisfy the Etsy requirement for hand-altered. It’s no different than hanging a commercial pendant on a commercial chain. Or attaching a commercial sewing notion bow or flower with a few stitches to a commercially made garment.

  37. Yaya April 13, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    How is repackaging spices handmade or hand-altered? I am not talking about blending spices into mixes. I am talking about talking bulk spices and putting them into different containers. Seems like a gift basket to me.

  38. jenjasmine April 13, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Getem,
    I bought some Not for Sale 20 cents pifs awhile back.
    All you get is sellers yelling at you for not reading their listings.
    Then, if you try to take your neg feedback away, etsy won’t let you do it unless the seller cancels the sale. Before you cancel the sale, you are free to use Kiss and Makeup- but why? Why Kiss and Makeup for a transaction that never went through, since though I paid and never received anything?
    One seller selling a 20 cent not for sale listing- I left them neg, and tried to get etsy to remove it- it took me at least 10 emails, and etsy never ever even looked at the shop that was violating the rules!

  39. Cindy September 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Wow! I just found my way here and I feel the need to give you my side of the story.

    My name is Cindy and I run Letter Parade. Yes, the LETTER PARADE that sold none handmade items that pissed a lot of other Etsy sellers off. Believe me, I am embarrassed at myself.

    You would be happy to hear that Etsy did shut my shop down and I went through the whole process of providing proof that the items you can view currently on my shop are the ones I CREATED.

    When I opened my shop last December 2010 I barely had five items. When I saw other sellers re-selling stuff that aren’t necessarily “vintage” but “vintage looking” enough (like the set of nice looking paperweight I purchased from one seller months ago that were also sold on Amazon) and I had these unused and in good condition items lying around my home I thought would make my shop look even more full with these items. They were under the category “COOL FINDS” so I did not ever claim these items to be mine to begin with. There was only one other seller who sent me a message telling me I shouldn’t sell items that I did not create and back then, it was hard to take her seriously because her products were famous paintings like Andy Warhol’s reprinted on tiny paper and covered with glass for a pendant! But that is a whole other story/argument.

    I wish somebody had sent me a link to this page CALLING OUT LETTER PARADE but I’m glad Etsy stepped in and did something about it.

    When I spoke to a live Etsy rep in getting my products active again, she explained to me that at that time, they’ve shut down many shops like mine for this very reason. I can’t help but admire Etsy for encouraging sellers like myself to create more and stay true to the handmade mantra.

    So an apology is in order to all of you and I’ve since learned my mistakes the hard way.
    You can be sure that all the products found on my shop now (and all that will be added in the future) are my own designs and creation, even the stock photos used are paid for to be used commercially if some of you wonder.

    I’m sorry my ignorance stirred up anger from a lot of you. I admit I was being unfair but rest assured you won’t be able to see me do the same stupid thing again.

Leave a Reply

