Double Clutch

21 Apr

Isn’t it amazing how separate artists can make silk brocade clutches using the same fabrics (with identical positioning of the print) and the same hardware?

links removed.

14 Responses to “Double Clutch”

  1. oneangrybird April 21, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Looking closer….

    can’t tell if the lining on the first two is the same since puck513 does not show her lining per se.

    3 and 4 – redrubyrose and puck513 – two different lining I think?

    What I don’t get though is why would you want to offer the same fabric clutch, same size yada yada as 3 or 4 other sellers?

    Even if I were the first to make it I would probably go find different fabric just so I didn’t look the same as the others. I totally understand if you were the first etc. and how frustrating it is to have someone copy you but what a bore… at some point I would say – forget it – I want to look different! Trying to stay one step ahead of the pack is the way I approach my jewelry designing;, yes it is exhausting and frustrating and disheartening and enough to make you eat glass but, for me – I have to be creating all of the time and striving for uniqueness is the goal.

  2. Life During Wartime April 21, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    It looks like these sellers make their own bags. There are only so many different styles of purse closure hardware available, and like oneangrybird says above the fabric is available to crafters. If you look at google images for peacock print clutch purse there are hundreds available — the peacock thing is a trend. (I wonder if wearing peacock feather print is bad luck, like wearing the feathers?) With the number of shops on Etsy with handmade purses, it would be surprising if there were no duplications in fabric and hardware.

  3. FormerEtsyBuyer April 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Etsy seller BagNoir (in Ireland) also has these same clutches–the teal one and also the ivory bag with embroidered peacock feather.

  4. PussDaddy April 21, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    I am not 100% or anywhere near that number that this is reselling (yet).

  5. iona April 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    I find it annoying when the initial post doesn’t clearly come out and say what is being implied. This isn’t the first time the commenters are left wondering exactly what the call out is.

    Are you implying that these are all resellers? Because they aren’t. Or is it that puck513 is copying the work of other bag makers?

    Another example:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/72051740/silk-clutch-purse-bagembroidered
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/58713279/coral-chrysanthemum-silk-clutch-purse

  6. Red Ruby Rose April 22, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    I was the first seller on Etsy to sell this clutch, starting in 2008 – you can check my sales history. It became a best seller and as with popular items there are going to be other sellers who want a bit of the action. At first I was upset about it and considered discontinuing the style but I didn’t see why I should be bullied out of selling one of my most popular clutches, especially as Etsy is my full time job. I’d like to think that I have enough diversity of styles, including my own fabrics, that this clutch can remain in my inventory. As for being on this blog….. reseller or mistagger, what a joke! I make all my clutches completely by hand myself.

  7. Meg Bartholomy April 22, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Whoever is in charge of this blog needs to do a little more research before posting.

  8. etsycallout April 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Each post is written by the readers. Lay off the people in charge!

  9. etsycallout April 22, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Reread the post before repeating yourself. Thank you.

    Speaking of repeating it sounds like we need to do so again. All posts on this blog are written by the readers. The admin of this blog posted the readers call out yet later removed the links.

  10. kitten April 23, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    @iona, this was put in the reseller category…not sure why if these sellers make their own.

    @Red Ruby Rose, if this material and hardware is available to everyone, how are people copying you? Surely you didn’t invent the clutch.

  11. Tania Schupack April 23, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    DITTO to kitten

  12. Miis P April 23, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Ditto…………..

  13. Meg Bartholomy April 23, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Wait. So, this is your process?

    1.) A random reader submits a “call out.”
    2.) Person In Charge posts that call-out with no absolutely no research to confirm it is true/legitimate.
    3.) Person In Charge finds out through other readers/shop owners that the called-out party(ies) aren’t actually doing anything wrong.
    4.) Person in Charge removes the links.

    Guilty until proven innocent. Yikes.

    I think this might border on slander. Be careful.

  14. Miis P April 23, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    It’s slander to those shops that are being accused of reselling and so called “”copying”….Don’t know about you, but I live in a free country….Who trademarked the clutch??? There are enough buyers out there to keep all of the clutch makers busy….

Leave a Reply

