heartmycloset

26 Apr

http://www.etsy.com/listing/62647613/lana-pencil-dress-custom-made-all-sizes

If you look at the watermark in the listing above, it kindly informs you that “toprunway” will custom made this for you. (sic)

So I looked up “toprunway” and I found stores.ebay.com/TopRunway

If you click on an item, the seller’s name is actually “oriental_treasure” who sells from “fast ship, China.”

Oh look! The matching listing: http://cgi.ebay.com/LANA-spring-pencil-dress-ruffle-custom-made-special-/300549831838?pt=US_CSA_WC_Dresses&hash=item45fa2a7c9e#ht_3830wt_934

23 Responses to “heartmycloset”

  1. Fake April 26, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Sad. First of all its not a ‘dress’ it is a two piece suit. Don’t buyers realize that sellers that hand ‘make’ clothing can tell the difference between a ‘dress’ and a skirt/ top?

  2. Fake April 26, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Oh. Custom made and ‘new with tags’ is not the same.

  3. AngryEtsySeller April 26, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I wish I could find that thread again, but it was either lisajune or heymichelle that said that just because a person may have an eBay store (or brick and mortar) along with an Etsy shop doesn’t make them resellers. I wonder if that “logic” applies to this reseller… ridiculous!

  4. Life During Wartime April 26, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I think maybe because this shop mails from the USA the Etsy staff are coRnfused (rustic, farmhouse) about how this could possibly be a reseller?

    Because it is so damnned obvious. Like when a description clearly sez heartmycloset and toprunway are the same?

    Great callout! Here’s a link to the shop in case the items get disappeared and the link goes to the oopsie page:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/heartmycloset?ref=seller_info

    ECO, I think all the callouts should include a link to the shop because so many times either the seller or Etsy removes the called out item.

  5. etsycallout April 26, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    We just assume the readers are smart enough to realize we put the shop name in the post/title, just throw it into the token Etsy URL and you’re in!

  6. iona April 26, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Did the listing always say

    “heartmycloset and toprunway are the same :)”

    or did heartmycloset add that after her call out here?

  7. Life During Wartime April 26, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    iona, a cached version of the Lana dress listing from March 23 of this year shows the same text, that heartmycloset and toprunway are the same.

    I think she wrote that because of the watermarks on the photos, to avoid suspicion of reselling or not using her own photos. Why ever would anyone accuse this shop of using copied photos or reselling?

  8. Stacey April 27, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    I saw this shop a few weeks ago… another “collective”? ugh. They did say then that they were the same as toprunway, so that’s not a new addition.
    Btw Fake, it IS a dress, not a 2 piece…
    http://www.net-a-porter.com/product/47374#

  9. EtsyVigilante April 27, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Do you think this is all handmade?? http://www.etsy.com/shop/fairytaleinc

  10. AngryEtsySeller April 27, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    EtsyVigilante,

    I don’t know, but that shop’s items are fairly expensive and usually when I see elaborate items at a high price, I don’t bother researching, because maybe they are handmade. That is just my approach, because sometimes I run out of time researching these resellers!

  11. jessica April 27, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/shebycindy?ref=pr_shop_more

  12. Life During Wartime April 27, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    The ceramic items seem expensive compared to other handmade by seller shops on Etsy. Obviously the glass cloche covers are add-ons purchased by the seller.

    fairytaleinc has no shop policies, which is strange for someone who sells in multiple outlets in the US Midwest. Judging by the diversity of the products listed, if any of these things are made by hand it is a collective. I thought collectives were required to state somewhere in the shop that they are a group, and what they all do. A shop which needs some attention from Etsy admin, in my opinion.

  13. falseprism April 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    They aren’t shipping from the US – look at the feedback…
    oh then again, not like you can verify the buyer to see if they are legit…

    but quite funny how shops that once had feedback saying things like “fyi the items ship from China even though they say UK”
    and all the NEW feedback says stuff like “superfast shipping from UK to US in 2 days! Thank you!”

    yeah, right.

  14. keating May 2, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Why does having an ebay store with a different name make them a reseller? The ebay items they are selling are also custom made and you provide them with the measurements for the dress you order. I have had several dresses made by heartmycloset and they were all made to my measurements (which we slightly differing in fit, length, etc) so it’s not as though they’re buying standard sizes from somewhere and selling them on. Couldn’t they just be trading under one name on etsy and one on ebay? I know that seems kind of weird but it’s possible that’s the case rather than them reselling.

  15. Stacey May 3, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Their Etsy shop is empty now….

  16. EtsyDontCare May 13, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    I would say heartmycloset is a “collective” yes that is her Ebay page but even there the dresses are made to size not picked off a rack from a wholesale warehouse.

    I seriously doubt one person is sewing all the dresses and it is probably more of manufactured goods oh I mean collective.

  17. Dee May 14, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I’ve read about Heart My Closet / TopRunway on a few fashion blogs. They do genuinely make custom stuff, as in they will design custom dresses and make them, so they are not resellers in that sense. It seems the business operates in both markets to maximise its customer base.

    From the lightning fast production though, it’s pretty obvious they’re a professional set up, I see her seller info describes it as a “collective shop with myself and 2 assistants”. I don’t know enough about the Etsy handmade TOU to assess whether that fits Etsy policy – I usually use Etsy for vintage – but I can see that there are legitimate concerns over wages, conditions, just how ‘collective’ it really is, etc.

  18. Carolyn Forest August 11, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Hand Made my ________
    It really leaves people, artist’s,sewers, here in America dealing with incompetent sites (ETSY) which claims to have high regard for dress makers homemade items ect. We have spread the word. From an angry buyer
    CF

  19. Betsy Valentine February 13, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    From what I know as long as the items are handmade on etsy it doesnt matter if that is by a team of 20 or one lone person. I would say from a customer point of view that is what is expected of handmade.Numerous fashion blogs have highlighted how toprunway and heartmycloset are the same operation and have a great record for customer service and great workmanship. In addition have you considered how many hands the average Chinese/Vietnamese made dress in the store has passed through before you buy it? By cutting out all the middlemen you achieve a lower price it does not necessarily mean poor working conditions. Victoria Beckham dresses are UK made but a magazine journalist recently costed them in labour and material to have a cost price of £60 – £80 and retailing for £500+. I found this while researching heartmycloset because I am considering ordering one of their dresses and all it made me think was this clearly shows just how discredited calling out etsy is, people with a bit too much time on their hands failing to research before “calling out”. Invest your energy in something more positive for your own sake.

  20. Desirae April 15, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    I have ordered several pieces from the ebay shop. I am quite pleased with the quality, quickness of shipping, and the communication of the seller. She also has a heart my closet website. She adds the card to the shop with all purchases. My particular items have a return address to So. Cal.

  21. Nina January 28, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    I too have had a wonderful experience with her. All items have shipped from LA and she’s been great when it comes to customer service. I’ve sent photos of dresses I liked and tweaked some details and she’s always been more than willing to create my custom requests (which have always turned out beautifully). I can’t speak about the number of assistants she may have or if they are truly made here in the states but after several orders have no reason to doubt whether or not she belongs on Etsy.

  22. lesa April 12, 2014 at 2:58 am #

    Dearest Angry Etsy Seller, Etsy Vigilante and Life During Wartime. How creative. Your names say it all. But I digress. This is fairytaleinc responding to your ignorant rants. Let me quote your blissful lameness…”if any of these things are made by hand it is a collective.” Really? That is untrue, false and damaging. Not to mention liable. Your behavior is disgraceful. Do you not have a talented muscle in your body? Maybe just a nasty tongue with fingers that do what they are told? You should really keep your pie holes shut before someday you find yourself in court with your lies and misrepresentations of the facts by causing harm to others.

  23. rubysubi December 14, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    I’ve ordered 3 separate items from this seller, and they have always been made to measure. I know because with my body shape, absolutely NOTHING fits off the rack (super exaggerated hourglass, with super long limbs). Communication has always been prompt, very detailed, and overall the customer service has been fantastic. I have no idea how many people may or may not be involved in the day to day ops of the “store” but I have no complaints so far and don’t see why that should matter. Even if there were many people involved, all the designers I know do their own sketches, but then have separate pattern makers, and then folks who do the actual sewing, etc. Everything has mailed out from So Cal for me too. And the returns have gone there. In record time. This seems like a witch hunt to me..

Leave a Reply

