TheMousesDen

28 Apr

I have flagged this store a few times and it’s still around.  She’s selling “Cookie Lee” jewelry and has written in the item description “new with tags”.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheMousesDen?ref=seller_info

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71274878/cookie-lee-turquoise-karma-pendant

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71274074/cookie-lee-polished-seascape-pendant

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71271619/cookie-lee-royal-arches-bangle-bracelet

http://www.etsy.com/listing/71245751/cookie-lee-melrose-vibe-bracelet

There are many listings…….

25 Responses to “TheMousesDen”

  1. AngryEtsySeller April 28, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Dang–I have only found another reseller selling jewelry items with tags! Do you think this person is aware that this clearly violates Etsy policies? You know, I wonder at times if people simply don’t know the difference between Etsy and eBay other than Etsy is much cheaper!

  2. oneangrybird April 28, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    also flagged with examples….

    Had never even heard of Cookie Lee, but a quick Google search was all it took!

    I agree, some folks are just not aware that this type of merchandise is not allowed on Etsy.

  3. hmmmmmmmmmm!! April 28, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Wow!!!! 😦

  4. Trista April 28, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Reported.

    OT – This person lists in my category all the time and drives me crazy. I’ve reported their mistagging and miscategorizing a million times but of course nothing is done.

    This is commercial supplies, not handmade:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/62338018/100-neodymium-rare-earth-magnets-38-inch

    This is not a pendent or a scrabble tile, or a magnet or a refrigerator:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/62678024/10-tubes-of-e6000-industrial-strength

    A chain is not a bottle cap or a scrabble tile or a glass pendent:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/57898333/high-quality-shiny-24mm-silver-ball

    A glass circle is not a pendent or a magnet or a bail:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/41087413/15-inch-premium-domed-glass-circles-set

    I could go on but the you get the point. The entire shop is like this – nearly everything is tagged with potential uses rather than what the items actually are. No wonder search doesn’t work and I can’t find anything I’m looking for. Because of people like this I try to find a pendent and instead I get a bottle of glue.

  5. Yaya April 28, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/pomberousa?ref=pounce

  6. Yaya April 28, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Luuki?ref=pounce

  7. PussDaddy April 28, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Who the hell is Cookie Lee?

  8. oneangrybird April 28, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I have flagged that supply shop a couple of times and just did it again! I agree it is completely ridiculous and so very frustrating when you are searching for something in particular like earrings and you have to wade through a bunch of supplies!

    I am floored that this shop hasn’t been etsy coached on tagging!!! Good grief she does enough business not to have to tag stuff to that extent.

    Honestly, I have problems with some supply shops – some of this stuff can be picked up at the corner drugstore or hobby lobby/michaels- why does it have to be listed on Etsy? There is a fine line between wholesale crafting items that are easier to buy online, thus on Etsy is fine… AND other supplies like light bulbs, glue, tape, string etc. that I think are ludicrous to see on Etsy and shouldn’t be allowed. But that’s just me…

  9. oneangrybird April 28, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    yaya – I assume you are referring to potential resellers?

    say something, do a little research, have an opinion at least and I for one may help but just posting links makes me not want to click!
    thanks!!!

  10. Yaya April 28, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I’ve been posting on this blog since its inception under a variety of pen names. Click or don’t, I don’t really care. Yes, they are resellers. I think that is pretty obvious.

  11. angryjeweler April 28, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    cookie lee is a catalog/rep co – like avon or pampered chef or scentsy

  12. em April 28, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    oneangrybird-
    I’m sure there are a ton of people who either can’t get to a craft store or prefer buying stuff like glue online. To say something shouldn’t be listed on Etsy just because one can get it on another site or in a retail store is a bit ridiculous…

  13. Fake April 28, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Uh oh … looks like the items have been removed from the shop.

  14. Life During Wartime April 29, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Yeah, Fake, the items have been disappeared. The shop was open for a month, though, because Etsy is too lazy to program a quickie bit of code to search the Handmade top level categories for ‘new with tags’. Like this search from the Etsy FP of Handmade:

    http://www.etsy.com/search/handmade?ref=fp_new_headersearch&q=%26quot%3Bnew+with+tags%26quot%3B

    Not that this isn’t a great call-out, and I am happy that Etsy did something. Even if they cannot be bothered to shoulder the burden of finding such obvious violators themselves.

  15. Yaya April 29, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    So very many TOU violations…empty the closet!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/prasads2create?ref=seller_info

  16. Life During Wartime April 29, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Good one, Yaya! It would be a positive step if Etsy would only remove the listings from Handmade for items not made, altered, or assembled by the seller. For years the admins have ignored all the vintage and newer commercial unaltered items listed in Handmade. I’ve given up flagging these shops because nothing was ever done if any of the shop’s listings could be viewed as a legit commercial supply or possibly 20+ year old vintage. Sheesh, Etsy admins! If you think the item(s) might be okay as a supply or vintage, then get the seller to move those items over to where they might belong while you dialog with them. Don’t just cover your eyes and shrink away in fear you might not get it right the first time…because the seller is clearly in violation listing newish manufactured items as Handmade, you wussies.

  17. oneangrybird April 29, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    yaya – point taken!

    It’s not always readily apparent to me what the issue is – still learning – but I am getting better!

    re: prasadscreate – besides lots of mispelled words and lack of information in her listings I gathered this was supposed to be Vintage clothing and accessories based on her profile blurb. The few pieces I looked at weren’t easily identifiable (sp?)… could have been either recent Vintage or yesterdays cast offs, in my opinion, did I miss something? seriously, I want to know what you all are seeing so I can become better at this.

  18. oneangrybird April 29, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    em-

    they can go to eBay then…. I personally don’t like that readily available simple things like light bulbs and tape are available on Etsy, looks desperate and cheap to me – my opinion only. I understand it is Etsy legal (I guess?) but I like to think of Etsy as more of a specialty venue. Just my wishful thinking!

    Not a dis at you or your supply shop, which I think is relevant and very nice! I thought this was the place to discuss and or call out things you can’t on the Etsy forum?

    Guess I better keep my opinions to myself – sorry –

  19. em April 29, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Don’t worry, I didn’t take offense or anything.. I suppose it reminded me of those who always complain about ‘hand assembled’ and think it shouldn’t be allowed just because *they* don’t like it.

  20. Yaya April 29, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    Well, I found that shop by searching handmade, Steve Madden. I can tell you that Steve Madden is neither vintage nor handmade. Those shoes are about a month old. That is but one example.

  21. Fake April 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    oneangrybird: take a look at the ‘tags’ the seller uses to describe her items. The first tag on many of the children’s clothing is ‘child’ – this means that the item is in the handmade category, but we all know the items are not handmade or vintage. I think this is what many on etsycallout are referring to.

  22. Life During Wartime April 29, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Yes, Fake! Sellers are dumping all sorts of newish mass made items in Handmade. They don’t list in Vintage because they know their stuff isn’t old. To them it seems Etsy looks like Ebay with lower fees, and they open shops and list away. The whole handmade emphasis of Etsy has been pushed into the background over the last few years, and this is one of the results.

  23. oneangrybird April 29, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Ok, I see this!
    Just went though the shop and it is all tacky on many levels and a lot of it appears to be literally yesterdays cast offs.

    She does have some genuine Vintage mixed in and if I understand correctly this makes it even harder as Etsy is more apt to let this slide?.

    Is it possible she doesn’t understand that you have to choose Vintage first so as not to get it in the handmade category?
    Tagging is not exactly straightforward even for the average computer literate person.

  24. Demarcus Juilfs May 11, 2016 at 3:53 pm #

    Your stuff is incredibly helpful.|

Leave a Reply

