Elohar

29 Apr
I know you guys already posted Elohar on your blog last summer.
https://etsycallout.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/reader-comments/
Unfortunately, they are still doing business via Etsy. And they’ve been doing it since 2008! What a damn embarrassment. (All of these shops on your blog should be a huge embarrassment to Etsy…)
The seller is Elohar International Corp.
Some links:
I do not believe that this company fits etsy TOU. Etsy is supposed to be for handmade artisans, these people obviously either resell or mass produce in quantities which no individual or collective ever could. They also charge more for shipping than for the actual items in many cases. Doesn’t that count as fee avoidance?
I just reported them again today – but I highly doubt it will do any good.
21 Responses to “Elohar”

  1. PussDaddy April 30, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    When that style first came out I was not sure if it was handmade or not. I have seen people do thread wrap and wire wrap stuff. Also I wasn’t out on the ecnonmy in stores doing much shopping then. But now since I go out to shop more I see these thread earrings everywhere and now of course I know they are not handmade.

  2. Lillie April 30, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Nothing to do with Elohar, but is anyone else annoyed by the way a deleted shop on Etsy just disappears without a trace?

    I’ve been scammed by some vintage sellers on Etsy (to be fair, I’ve made hundreds of purchases so the percentage of scams is fairly low, and most of the disappointments were re: the condition or age of the item, not non-delivery) and it has happened to me a few times that I’ve bought an item, it was never delivered, and a while later when checking up on the seller again I found the shop had simply vanished. I complained to Etsy about not receiving my item, but received a copy/pasted generic reply and after the shop was gone I had nothing to refer to anymore. (PayPal couldn’t help because I allowed the sellers too long for international delivery and so I was late in filing a complaint. I know better nowadays.)

    Anyway, long story short, one of those items later showed up in a “different” seller’s shop. With the SAME PHOTOS. Same item, same background, everything – only the seller was different and the price considerably higher. I reported them to Etsy but never received any kind of a response. And of course, I couldn’t show them the same photos in the former seller’s sold items, because the former seller’s shop no longer existed!

    Another non-delivery annoyed me more, as I’d paid much more for the item, so I googled the hell out of that seller and discovered that she’d once had an Etsy shop *before* the shop that scammed me. Google cache showed me this previous shop had a feedback rating of 94% or so but I couldn’t find out anything else as the shop had since been deleted. It would have been helpful to see the list of sold items, for instance, just to check whether my item had been “sold” there too.

    I think it would be much more helpful if offending sellers were disabled from listing new items etc. but a record of their sold items were still kept for everyone to see. For instance, there’s one particular seller – at least I assume it’s the same seller – that I’ve never bought from but keeps popping up in vintage under different names. I see the same (very recognizable) model, same environment, similar items, with not quite perfect feedback and I keep wondering if their feedback always sinks so low their shop gets deleted – and then they start all over again. I’d assume it would be easier for Etsy themselves to keep track of things if all these previous incarnations of the same shop had a visible track record on the site.

  3. Yaya April 30, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I challenge anyone to find thread earrings on etsy that are actually made by the seller.

  4. J.A.C April 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    I often question items that are priced this low. Who in thier right mind would sell something that they put that much time in for a few bucks?
    These earrings would at least take you thirty minutes or longer to make.
    I wonder why they are still up on Etsy… A damn shame!

  5. Life During Wartime April 30, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Resellers of imported handmade or fauxtiques that are located in the NYC area seem to be extra safe on Etsy.

    Here’s a link to elohar’s website:

    http://www.wholesaleearringonline.com/

  6. em May 1, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Being a jewelry maker (and all around crafter), when I first saw earrings like this I really just wanted to figure out how to make them for myself. I didn’t quite have the money to invest in all the supplies and stuff so I put it on the back burner. This call out makes me want to try it again.. would be nice to have an alternative to the cheap “silver” and questionable origin of these earrings.

  7. falseprism May 1, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Lillie-
    You are right, the shop should remain visible. The more I thought about it I think that the actual shop owner may be closing their own shops.

    Just another BRILLIANT and well thought out idea from the geniuses over at Etsy. (but hey why fix the things that are broken when it is much more fun to create ways for scammers to resellers to get away with crime?)

    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7716/announcements/discuss/6812307/
    (close your account without Etsy without having Etsy oversee whether or not you have open transactions, etc… and now it makes sense how this seller can open up shop night after night-
    sometimes making quite a few sales in the first few hours (they list upwards of a hundred items back to back all night long- lots of quick views and sales) rake in some sales, and close up shop by morning or before anyone can report them. take the money and run.
    come back the next night and do the same.
    Looks like a quick way to make a few hundred bucks.

    (although I am not sure how the credit card thing gets by SCRAM- different cards? eh, who knows…)

    but just some of the names they have used – some are gone and some are still around, just empty, but even the ones that are still visible no longer show their sold items. (weird)

    xianzai305
    chule038
    shuru887
    lovyann233
    naodai357
    fadong202
    study339
    dongxi007
    iom558

    (some nights I didn’t catch the name, but they always follow the same style- same images, same EXACT korean style China made clothing items, same listing info, etc…)

    So what happens to the buyers?

  8. sickofetsy May 2, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    Can’t you see elohar’s profile pic? That is proof enough for the etsy morons that she sits at that table and makes those earrings for hours and hours, and is happy to get three bucks for them!

  9. PussDaddy May 2, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Etsy doesn’t care about buyers Lilie. Never has and never will. They don’t care if you lose your money, if they close a shop and you lose contact info for a buy. Hell, they even have stated to me personally that in the case of bad sellers who rack up oodles of bad feeback their goal is to try to help keep the shop in question open by encouraging them to address their problems-the fact that buyers are getting ripped off in the process didn’t even come into the equation when they told me this.

  10. PussDaddy May 2, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    This is a copy and paste from an email admin sent to me when I asked why they allowed a certain Etsy seller to list, not deliver, force buyers to file paypal disputes, then close shop for a while, only to reopen and start the process again over several times.

    Thanks for contacting us about this issue. I’ll explain a bit about how Etsy’s non-delivery process works.
    We contact the seller both by Etsy Conversations and by email to be sure they are aware of the buyer’s complaint. Part of the process is also to open an Etsy Conversation between the buyer and the seller in hopes that the two parties will correspond and work things out.
    We have found from experience that is helps to stagger our contact process, so we make several attempts to contact the seller, to account for illness or other factors. If we do not hear from the seller within 3-4 weeks, we will suspend their selling privileges on Etsy. At this stage, the account is suspended, but still accessible by the seller. This provides the seller a final opportunity to work things out before their account is terminated completely. If we don’t hear from a seller after this point, then we will terminate their account completely. They are no longer eligible for membership unless they resolve any outstanding transaction disputes.
    If PayPal was used as the method of payment, the buyer may file for a refund with PayPal within 45 days of the purchase date. We make sure a buyer is aware of this early in the non-delivery process. In the event that the seller’s account is terminated for failure to resolve the transaction, we will provide the buyer with information about further action they may want to consider taking.
    I hope this helps you understand the non-delivery process. If there is anything else we can help with, let me know
    Best,
    Erin
    Etsy’s Support Team

  11. angryjeweler May 2, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    this shop is now all of a sudden selling “90’s second hand” wallets & purses & such. Dude, 90’s is not vintage.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/72842757/90s-second-hand-folded-wallet-grannys

  12. angryjeweler May 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    and hello kitty figurines tagged as handmade:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/68292036/hello-kitty-waving-figurine

  13. Pox May 2, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    That seller KalliaSuppliesland you just mentioned is another who includes her other shop KalliasWonderland in all her treasuries:
    http://www.etsy.com/people/KalliaSuppliesland/treasury

  14. Life During Wartime May 2, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Why is a wallet supposedly from the 1990s something that belonged to ‘granny’? How old is a ‘granny’ in Greece? I know an hour’s drive west of where I am typing a ‘granny’ can be late 20s-ish…and that is just plain sad.

  15. Rainy Girl May 3, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TRACCEbags?view_type=gallery&page=3

    As someone who sews handbags 16 hours a day from scratch I do not believe for 1 second that these bags are handmade by the seller. The construction methods visible in the close up pics reek of factory production. I’ve flagged this shop numerous times but it looks like the seller has just called herself out in this thread:
    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7718/site-help/discuss/7550540/page/1
    For drop shipping her items and for a mention in her blog that her bags are made by a manufacture.

  16. Dee May 3, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    Love it when a rule breaker calls themselves out in an Etsy post.

    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7718/site-help/discuss/7550540/page/1

  17. PussDaddy May 3, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Isn’t anything on Etsy that is 20 years old considered vintage? At least that is how it used to work.

  18. falseprism May 6, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/mumunn365/sold
    20 items sold before they got shut down.

    this seller has been doing this ever night for over a month- when will Etsy put a stop to it?
    or figure out that they need to have a content team that works around the clock, 24 hours a day???

  19. Kiki May 20, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Just found this seller. Her shop just opened, she’s shipping from HK, and her fashions are very polished for handmade.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/chiclusive?ref=pr_shop_more

  20. Tonka May 23, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    LOL I have a pair of their earrings and they are definitely not handmade, bought them in some market in Holland but have seen them also in Bulgaria and Turkey…But wow I paid much more!

  21. Lorraine August 2, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    I was just browsing Etsy for zippered pouches and found TRACCEbags (http://www.etsy.com/shop/TRACCEbags). I agree – that much inventory for those types of bags? Reeks of reselling. Plus, one of those bags is a designer knock off so I investigated a bit. Voila – the shop isn’t what it claims to be.

Leave a Reply

