7thousandislands

24 May
Hi, I absolutely love your website. I found it recently and have been there several times.
I have some information that I think you might enjoy. I also think it may possibly be linked to someone you previously wrote about “shadejewelry” because all the pegs seem to fit into place. I am not saying it is so, but it sure seems like it could be because it would explain the non deliveries and late shipping complaints on your blog entry replies. Not to mention that the name Shade pops up in both cases.
Here is a site that has a buch of etsy members products for sale as well as other items..
There they have my own hand faceted seaglass listed FOR SALE without my permission.
and here it is in my own shop
I raised the price so if they sell it, they will have to pay me more than their asking price. hahaha revenge can be so sweet sometimes.
This person has done this with other etsy sellers items as well.
Here is some info that is supposedly about this person which I was sent from another etsy member who was also hjacked by them.
I have info from several people on etsy who say that this is fraud. here is the info about this woman:
Here’s her facebook:
www.facebook.com/kymberlyshadeduffin

She has an etsy site, I’d definitely complain to them, too: www.etsy.com/people/ksduffin

Domain is registered through GoDaddy to:
shade duffin, kymberly kymberlyshadeduffin@gmail.com
seven thousand islands
112 n johnson rd
sterling, Virginia 20164
United States
(703) 232-9914

Hosting nameserver is CORECOMMERCE.COM
Support: 1.888.221.6019Kymberly Shade Duffin ..Share..

Your readers seem to be awesome researchers so I thought that if you got your hands on this info and the two are indeed linked, you would be the one who could prove it.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read my ramblings.
Gloria
sandchica at etsy
24 Responses to “7thousandislands”

  1. PIF May 24, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    This is a very confusing entry. None of it looks anything like shade’s stuff unless someone cares to enlighten me.

  2. kitten May 24, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Confused also. Did this person buy an anklet from you Gloria? If so, they can sell it without your permission. (although they shouldn’t sell it on Etsy since it was made by you – and isn’t vintage).

    Can you tell us the exact reason why you brought this here Gloria. Not trying to be mean, just wondering if I missed something.

    Shade is also a man and nothing looks like anything that was in his shop.

  3. Gloria May 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    The point is that the person owning the site 7thousandislands has 100% been hijacking etsians products and listing them for sale on that site without the etsy members permission.

    Are you one of them?

    There are several etsy products for sale there that are listed for a higher price than the etsy seller is asking for it.

    The fact that the persons name is Shade could very well be just a coincidence and I am not in any way saying that this is absolutely that person. But, after reading about how products were not delivered by them or took a very long time to get there makes a person wonder.

  4. PIF May 24, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    How do you hijack a product?

    If you got your full price for it, and then it was resold, why are you bothered by that? Isn’t that better than doing wholesale? If they stole your pics, sure, complain, but otherwise I’d be happy about someone willing to pay me full price on a product. I have no control over what happens to my goods once they’re sold and delivered to my buyers. Again, stealing my pics — a no no. Anything beyond that I don’t care as long I’m paid the price I set. If they’re able to sell your products at higher prices, maybe it’s time to raise your prices. 🙂

    Shadejewelry was/is a spotty moocher who lives in his mom’s basement. I think it’s fair to say this has nothing to do with him.

  5. Gloria May 24, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Oh, um google cache

    http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:GTqIGZdPBLwJ:7thousandislands.com/Sea-Glass-Turquoise-Anklet.html+http://7thousandislands.com/Sea-Glass-Turquoise-Anklet.html&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&source=www.google.com

    as you can see the listing was deleted along with my pics but you can clearly see that my copy was hijacked with the listing of a product that was on my site. They even used my etsy name in the SKU number. Egads not so smart there eh?

    Further more, what if I wanted to take that product down and give it as a gift for some reason. What would the would be customer on the other side of such transaction do when they couldn’t get what they biught from that person. The point is they were trying to sell something they didn’t even own without permission. Not cool.

    And yes they use the artists original pics as well as print copy.

  6. PIF May 24, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Again, your product wasn’t “hijacked”. It was in your posession and in your control as to what you do with it.

    “Further more, what if I wanted to take that product down and give it as a gift for some reason.”

    You take the product down and give it as a gift? What else would be the answer? Why worry about their customer who they would have to deal with?

    If they stole your pics, and your listing, get your lawyer. But, as usual, they’re such small fry even a call out like this made them pee their pants and take it down.

    I still don’t get why sellers have a beef about someone buying their product at full price (which is clearly what this shitty site would have to do to get it to their customer). For all I know my stuff is sold every week at a farmer’s market for 3 times the price. Why worry about what I can’t control?

  7. Gloria May 24, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    My, aren’t we defensive. Here is just one screenshot of pics from that site…one of mine. Not sure how many the other girls have but I am not the only one peeved about this.

    If you find your stuff there and it upsets you too, you may want to do the same in case they take it down and you need evidence.

  8. hum May 24, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    She says in her own etsy bio that she is 7thousandisland.com, etc. She also is up-front about buying things and re-selling them Supposedly it’s for charity, but I have a REALLY hard time believing that since nothing specific is mentioned. It smells as though she might be looking for price breaks from Etsy sellers in order to be able to “make a profit so she can donate to poor unfortunates.” Yep, call me a skeptic when no specifics are shared as to specific charity names, non-profit ID numbers – either hers or the recipients.

    While it is pretty unethical of her to
    1) use someone else’s photographs and
    2) sell things that she doesn’t own (even if she intends on buying them after getting paid from a customer) and that really only screws herself since you could have sold the item to someone else before she has a chance to buy it. In that case, she’d have to return the dough to the person who paid her. Yes, queen of the run-on sentences, that’s me! 😀

    There’s nothing hurting your business, in fact, if your info is still on the pics, then she could actually be sending people to see all your stuff.

    It’s tacky tacky tacky that she IS using your photos which is theft, and selling something not in her possession so I suggest watermarking all your photos. Everyone should watermark their work! It takes skill and time and equipment to take good photographs of your art!!!

  9. PIF May 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    I’m not sure how I’m being defensive by pointing out obvious facts and logic.

    So what exactly are you going to do with that evidence? Sue them?

  10. Gloria May 24, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    My personal actions don’t matter here.

    What is important is that other etsy members know about this site in case they too have been or will become exploited without their prior knowledge or consent.

    I think my statement has been made. Mission accomplished. Feel free to rant on if you like, I have work to do.

    Thanks for listening to my own rant
    Gloria

  11. JAC May 24, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    OMG… Another Queen City Emporium! Has anyone done anything about this site?

  12. Kick The Can May 24, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    One problem here is that this person from the other site is selling Gloria’s item (and those of other artisans too apparently) without credit to the maker.

    The big issue is that she’s selling her items as “fair trade”, under the ruse of benefiting low-income women from the Caribbean (if I remember correctly), when in fact it appears the items are from people who have nothing to do with the site or its supposed altruistic leanings.

  13. Kick The Can May 24, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Frankly I wouldn’t care for that one bit myself. If I found my work being sold on another site before it even sold out of my own shop I would be annoyed. Yes, people can do with it what they want once they’ve bought it, but if they haven’t bought it then they should get it off their site!

    If my work was being shown on a fundraising or fair-trade site I would also want to know about it so I could see who my work was associated with.

    It’s just good taste to ask somebody before you sell their stuff on your site. It’s also good taste not to lead people to believe they are supporting a fair trade network when that is not the case.

  14. adoringhag May 24, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    “Shadejewelry was/is a spotty moocher who lives in his mom’s basement. I think it’s fair to say this has nothing to do with him.”

    I agree, this isn’t shade. He made completely different jewelry.

    Someone trying to resell your jewelry and not giving you credit, sorry to hear that, it sucks. Someone stealing your pics and descriptions? Send a cease and desist letter or contact your lawyer, that is a violation of copyright.

  15. denise May 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    the real problem is that this person is ‘selling’ items that she does not have. the items of mine that she was ‘selling’ are no longer available to sell. she is not reselling items she owns. she does not have and never has had these items. nor has she ever had many of the other items that she had listed to sell. it is not a matter of her marking up prices or her copycatting. it is not about getting credit for ones work. it is about fraud. offering to sell something you don’t have and saying you are sending the money to charity is fraud. there is no other way to see this. i tried. i wanted to believe this was an error. after talking with several sellers i KNOW this is not an error.

  16. Trista May 24, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    100% agree with everything Denise said. When I purchase something online, I do so under the impression that the person I’m buying from has the item in their possession (unless otherwise stated on the website). I would never knowingly give my money to somebody for something they don’t actually have.

    And unfortunately there are a lot of scammers out there who pull this kind of crap with no intentions of ever sending anything. I have known one personally. Whenever they weren’t able to get the items they sold they would tell the buyer it was on “back order” and if they could string them along for 45 days then the buyer could no longer file a claim with PayPal and they just kept the money without ever sending anything.

  17. booboo May 25, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    Pretty much the exact same situation happened to several ArtFire sellers last week:
    http://www.regretsy.com/2011/05/17/time-saving-tip-for-new-etsy-sellers/

    An Etsy seller copied the photos and descriptions word for word from various ArtFire listings, then listed them on their Etsy shop as if they were their own creations but with much higher prices than what the original creator was asking. I would assume that the Etsy seller’s plan was to get a sale then buy that particular piece from the original artist then turn around and ship it to the unsuspecting buyer.

    I saw Gloria’s jewelry on the 7K Islands site before they took it down, and she most definitely has the right to be ticked off at them for stealing her photos & text and falsely representing her work as being done by a “disadvantaged person” from the Caribbean. It is illegal, unethical, and I really can’t understand those of you who are defending 7K Islands.

  18. sickofetsy May 25, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    PIF I don’t think you understand what is going on here.

  19. JK May 25, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    The dead giveaway on the fake ‘vintage’ glasses seller is how none of the models’ eyes are distorted by the lenses, which implies that all the lenses are plain, non-prescription, clear plastic. This would be extremely unusual to find in actual vintage frames, especially in so many pairs of them (and having them all replaced for photographing would be expensive), yet is very common in modern just-for-looks glasses of the cheap variety sold in places like Forever 21 (which is, of course, exactly what they are).

  20. megansbeadeddesigns May 25, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    “If someone where smart they would buy your items and sell them at much higher prices!”

    Something I was told the other day. Haha

    I wouldn’t mind, at least things would SELL.

    But it’s a totally different thing when other sellers are trying to sell items that they haven’t even bought yet. It’s not right, and in all likelihood, they are not planning on even sending the item after it sells.

  21. Life During Wartime May 25, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    I first heard about an online seller stealing photos and descriptions from legit shops from several venues — without purchasing the items — about 5 years ago. IMO, this is some kind of behavioral disorder, and I feel that venues and sellers who are being copied by these disturbed persons need to take it seriously.

    If you are an artisan, and your photos and descriptions are being misrepresented as items made in the Third World and sold to benefit foreign workers…seriously, people! Wouldn’t you care, because the false connection here could lead shoppers to see the legit artist as a reseller?

    The shop that came to my attention years ago on AuctionBytes was stealing descriptions and photos from sellers of antiques and collectibles all over the web, the most well-known of the victims being Replacements (huge merchant of discontinued tableware). An antiques dealer who had shops at many venues found the fraudster when doing test Google searches for his items while checking on his SEO. Boy, was he p.o.ed when he saw duplicates of a bunch of his listings, same titles and all, from this fake shop. It was the same M.O. as the seller in this callout, where the seller owned none of the items and had marked up the real sellers’ listed prices by just a small percentage. It wasn’t easy to convince the venue the fake shop was on to close the seller out, because she was paying her fees and the attitude was ‘why complain, at least you might make a sale to her’. WTF?

    People who don’t see the potential harm here to legit online shops haven’t thought it thru. Even if a fake shop stealing your listings only impacts your SEO, what right do they have to copy your listings? I often find braintrusts who are copying chunks of my descriptions when I check Google to sell their own items. I’d be livid if someone was actually pretending to have my inventory for sale.

  22. Sammy May 25, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I agree that this is completely sketchy and unethical.

  23. Trina House July 21, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    This Kymberly Shade Duffin pathetic! I began divorce papers when I confirmed the ex was cheating (again) and attempted to serve the papers right to the new gf door. The gf was none other than kymberly shade Duffin at 112 N Johnson Rd Sterling!! DOB-7/2/68
    While attempting to recover monies, shallow manuevers which anyone with an ounce of pride wouldn’t dream of doing….she had no problem with which included an auction for a vehicle doen in front of her home by the Loudoun Sheriffs Dept

Leave a Reply

