comeuppances

26 May

regretsy callout:http://www.regretsy.com/2011/05/24/compare-and-save-16/

fake vintage glasses etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/comeuppances

etsy glasses: http://www.etsy.com/listing/27967943/vintage-tortoiseshell-eyeglasses

ebay:http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230441698675#ht_1425wt_730

etsy seller feedback: http://www.etsy.com/people/comeuppances/feedback?page=1

“The glasses do not appear vintage at all. Cheap and Fake. The story behind them is as fraudulent as the seller. Bad APPLE! Buyers Beware!”

“Unfortunately very disappointed. I received a pair of glasses that were of very poor quality and did not appear to be authentic vintage. (Not to mention the status of the item was never changed so I didn’t know if it had been shipped) After emailing comeuppances about my dissatisfaction, as well as shipping the glasses back, all I received was a note from the seller assuring me that the glasses were in fact vintage. I understand that a seller may choose not to issue refunds, or in comeuppance’s case only issue them if the item is misrepresented; however, if a customer is unsatisfied and feels that the item was misrepresented, I believe a refund is due… otherwise it’s just bad business.”

“Unfortunately, these were not the vintage glasses I thought they were going to be (in fact, they were Forever 21). However, the seller dealt with the issue promptly and professionally.”

“I was hoping to put prescription lenses in these glasses, but they are a much cheaper quality than I was expecting, so I won’t be wasting money doing that.”

“The glasses I got aren’t actually vintage even though I specifically asked if they were before buying them. They are cheap plasticy and probably made in china and bought in bulk and sold on etsy. the first pair i ordered never came, and i had to wait a month for a replacement to be sent. i’m probably just going to end up throwing these away cause they’re not worth spending the money to put my prescription in. be cautious.”

29 Responses to “comeuppances”

  1. you suck May 26, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    whenever I see a person under 50 wearing these ridiculous vintage style glasses I want to smash them in the bridge of the nose with my fist.

  2. megansbeadeddesigns May 26, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Seriously? Different tastes and styles doesn’t really hurt anyone. Reel it in there jock-o.

  3. you suck May 26, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    only thing I will reel in is my fist before it pummels to their face. AND? This style is not “different it is hipster 101

  4. stinkypants May 26, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Might not hurt anyone, but it sure as hell stings.

  5. Life During Wartime May 26, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    I don’t understand, megansbeadeddesigns. Are you suggesting it is okay for sellers to pass fake vintage on Etsy? That’s fraud. comeuppances certainly knows the frames she is selling are new.

    As someone who had to wear glasses until age corrected my distance vision, I can tell you that finding any quantity of plastic frames that are truly vintage would be an amazing feat. I still have my 60s and 70s wire rims, but the plastics from the 80s and 90s fell apart…and they were not cheapie frames, either. And the glasses she sells are not shaped anything like eyewear from 60 years ago. Fauxtique seller.

    Some great callouts there on Regretsy!

  6. em May 26, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    I agree, the matter is not personal taste, it’s the scamming seller. I’d be pissed as hell if I paid almost $50 for a pair of cheapos that I could have gotten on Ebay for 10. Guess it’s a classic case of ‘buyer beware.’

  7. Kick The Can May 26, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Megan is referring to the post before her, by the user “You Suck”.

  8. you suck May 26, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    right right duh they are fake vintage yes they don’t belong on Etsy but why would etsy care when they fit the mould they want.

  9. iona May 26, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    “whenever I see a person under 50 wearing these ridiculous vintage style glasses I want to smash them in the bridge of the nose with my fist.”

    Well aren’t you just a little ray of sunshine?

    The seller of the fake vintage glasses sucks. Let’s see some verification of how old her items are.

  10. Life During Wartime May 26, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Yeah, you’re right, you suck! Etsy loves obviously faux vintage. To borrow a slogan from the SCA: Vintage not as it was, but as it should have been…real cheap imports from China.

  11. sickofetsy May 26, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Wow, you suck, your name sure fits you.

  12. JK May 26, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Like I said in the other post, that the frames appear to have lenses but aren’t distorting the eyes of her models is a dead giveaway to their being modern ‘fashion’ glasses, all usually cheap factory crap, and not the vintage real deal. I never use models for my vintage frames unless the lenses are out, because those prescription lenses will give quite a headache! I suppose she could claim that she had all the lenses replaced, but who on earth would go through all that trouble and expense?

  13. Life During Wartime May 26, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Another TOU violation from comeuppances:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/26990343/vintage-mod-yellow-lamp

    a 90s flower pot made into a lamp (supposedly by the seller) with what looks like a new shade attached, but listed as ‘vintage’. Neither the components nor the lamp are ‘vintage’.

    Fauxtique.

  14. Life During Wartime May 26, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Urban Outfitters/Urban Renewal boots from comeuppances:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/24320845/vintage-leather-boots

    listed as ‘vintage’.

    Photo is distorted; same pic appeared on old listing from January 2009 on ioffer.

  15. megansbeadeddesigns May 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Just to clarify, I am not saying it is okay to sell fake vintage crap on Etsy.

    I am saying that if an individual chooses to wear vintage “style” sunglasses because they are big fans of Katy Perry (or whoever) they may or may not be idiots, but they do not deserve to be punched in the face because of their style preferences.

    Seriously…

  16. stinkypants May 26, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I took it as a bit of funny. Like saying some of the Etsy Cupcakes should have other of their kind smushed into their faces. I feel slightly homicidal when I see the requisite hipster uniform. I won’t actually kill anybody, so relax.

  17. you suck May 26, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    aw am I too mean for you? Let me help you get your panties out of your crack.

  18. flowers and roses (you suck) May 26, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    my deepest apologies, I am sorry I offended anyone.

    (hah)

  19. it stinks May 26, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    There is a national chain prescription eyeglass store in my area that advertises super cheap prescription glasses for (I think) $29 – including frame and all. The thing is that you have to pick from the hideously ugly cheap frames that are in the special section.
    Those “special” frames look alot like what this person is selling in her shop. You can get them at that store for about $10.

  20. nolongerbuyingetsy May 27, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    I come across real vintage frames every so often at my local thrift store. The frames are sturdy and feel different than the cheap crap from China. They often already have a prescription lens in them. I understand the buyer who was disappointed that she couldn’t put her own prescription in these crappy glasses. It’s a shame to those of us that sell real vintage to see this crap going on. It gives us all a bad name. When I am looking for vintage to resell, I look for the Made in USA tag. I find quality vintage items that way and it gives me the confidence that the items are truly vintage.

  21. mrpouncy May 27, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    Fake vintage eyeglass frames aside (and which appear to be gone today anyway) comeuppances is one weirdo shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/72016838/bad-employee-venn-diagram-framed-print

    What is that? And why is it $30? Some really weird, sad stuff for sale up in here.

  22. megansbeadeddesigns May 27, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Bawhahaha, I call Regretsy bait on that loverly little item!

  23. Fake May 27, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    When I am looking for vintage to resell, I look for the Made in USA tag. I find quality vintage items that way and it gives me the confidence that the items are truly vintage.
    —————————

    Sorry, but I just about spit my coffee on the screen. I commend your efforts to identify your vintage items, but isn’t the above statement a bit sad. Speaks to the U.S. no longer manufacturing goods – that everything today is made in China.

  24. Fake May 27, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    BTW – the cheap fake vintage glasses seem to have been removed from the shop in question. Either that or she sold out – wasn’t this shop just in a front page treasury or something?

  25. Life During Wartime May 27, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I would guess that the shop owner removed the frames after being called out on Regretsy and on ECO. Because if the items were sold, the links would go to a sold item instead of the oopsie page at Etsy.

  26. Fake May 27, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Ya, yes LDW. I didn’t click on the links, was just looking in the shop.

  27. Sab May 28, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    http://www.etsy.com/people/Derricris/treasury

    derricris is supposedly a buyer account.

    In every treasury by derricris, GABEADZ is featured.

  28. etsy flea market May 28, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    oooh, good one Sab! 2 pages of treasuries: http://www.etsy.com/treasury/search/?search_query=gabeadz+derricris&search_submit=&search_type=treasury

    I’ve got a guy selling handmade Tiffany & Co. jewelry. http://www.etsy.com/shop/markus71?ref=pr_shop

  29. cars May 31, 2013 at 4:52 am #

    Everyone wants the best deal when it comes to buying
    a car. Many people are unaware of what is required of them if they
    are going to get that job done. Some people even think they got
    the best deal when they actually are mistaken. Consider the following helpful advice when learning more about finding the best deals.

Leave a Reply

