markus71

28 May

Handmade Tiffany & Co
http://www.etsy.com/shop/markus71

“My shop sells genuine hand made products that are made from raw materials sourced from remote parts of Thailand from local villages and their markets and businesses. ”    Um, yeah.

19 Responses to “markus71”

  1. JAC May 28, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    It states in the description “Tiffany & co. Style”, so they do admit it is not real, but did they make it? probably not. And who would want to wear something that said “please return to Tiffany & Co.”?

  2. oneangrybird May 28, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    just WTF….

    I don’t even know what to say about some of this shit…. I flagged it – can’t believe it even had to be flagged, ie: how does this even get on the site????

    There is something so wrong with Etsy, I am at a loss…

  3. Fake May 28, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    What’s sad is that some poor unsuspecting soul is going to purchase that Tiffany crap thinking it is real or vintage. I agree something is terribly wrong over there at Etsy. Maybe they all drank the cupcake kool-aid.

  4. Life During Wartime May 28, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    The shop has fake Tiffany jewelry, soap, tropical wood products, silk scarves, and ‘pashminas’ listed. That’s an online Pacific import mart, or just call them a reseller.

  5. nolongerbuyingetsy May 28, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I am confused as to how Etsy can even get away with this. It is a blatant copyright violation. Doesn’t Etsy bear some responsibility in making sure these items stay off their site or does the responsibility only lie with the seller??

  6. Life During Wartime May 28, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    It’s a holiday weekend in Brooklyn, so fauxtiques will make the front page:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/74298571/vintage-restored-candle-holder-light?ref=fp_treasury_2

    Psst! Since when do vintage candle holders come wired with a light bulb (or blub, as it is spelled in Woodlands dialect of Etsian)? Or do you all still believe that a sure sign of true vintage is that the item is described as ‘one of a kind’ and made by the seller? Keep ’em coming!

  7. sickofetsy May 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Well Markus has been emptied for their coaching instructions. I guess someone at etsy is working this weekend.

  8. Lisa May 29, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    I sent a email to Tiffany and they had it all taken down. She said thanks for passing it along and they would have it removed. It was goon soon after. lol

  9. oneangrybird May 29, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    Do people think their rigged lighting will sell better if it is listed as Vintage rather than handmade?

    I for one find no preference and would be ok to buy if it was listed in Handmade as upcycled?

    Is this just ignorance with a dash of I don’t care or is this a supposed marketing ploy?

    I guess there are people who truly believe it is Vintage…

  10. oneangrybird May 29, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Glad to see Tiffany’s reacted quickly – let’s see if this reseller comes back with all new pickings for her shop!

  11. hum May 29, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Yup. I’ve emailed Tiffany before and they are very appreciate for the notifications, and they act quickly to let etsy know what’s what and what can happen…

    Now, if only disney and others would act as quickly and definitely

  12. Life During Wartime May 29, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    That’s good to know, oneangrybird, that you have no preference concerning fraudulent listing of new items as ‘vintage’.

    Professional antiques dealers and sellers of vintage collectibles — and their savvy customers — certainly do have a preference. And nothing says CAVEAT EMPTOR more clearly to someone who knows about old things than seeing listings for faustiques on a site.

    And Etsy is fine with this type of fraud because junkyardlighting (and their competitors on Etsy, one of which I emailed to ECO for a suggested callout) are on the FP every few days, at least.

  13. oneangrybird May 29, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Wow!!!
    That is NOT what I meant LDW,

    Obviously I did a truly poor job of conveying my thoughts…let me try again.

    In general I think some sellers feel Vintage is “worth” more, sought after more, or holds a higher “quality” factor than handmade. IMO some of this stems from the general feeling that many ‘collectors’ have deeper pockets and are willing to shell out for a “Vintage” item. Therefore folks who upcycle, recycle, paint over or add whatever to an original Vintage piece/ part think they will sell said item even faster or for more money if they list it as Vintage as opposed to handmade.

    My question/comment then was….. just as a point of interest/conversation…. do you think these idiots who sell fauxtiques and list them as Vintage, are doing this out of ignorance and are just idiots (ie: don’t understand the listing categories) or is it a calculated tactic to entice the not so savvy wanna-be collector?

    In saying I have ‘no preference’, I meant generally buying real-Vintage as opposed to real-handmade – I personally do not associate “more status” with real-Vintage than I do real-handmade so I am not one of the moron’s those ignoramuses are thinking they are marketing to. Whatever I buy I want it to be real, like most of you who take the time to read this site. I do not subscribe to the Vintage is better than Handmade or vice versa CLUB that is so apparent on Etsy!

    Sometimes I just can not tell what the motivation is behind listing in the wrong category – that’s all I meant.

    To set the record straight – I am an avid Vintage/Antique collector of many things. I love true Vintage.
    I have been dealing in antique and vintage jewelry for over 30 years so this is where I am most comfortable knowledge-wise.

    Additionally, I have taught myself the ins and outs of several specific genre’s in pottery and glass over the years, because this is what I collect, but I in no way profess to be an expert at those things – just savvy.

    As far as resellers go, that whole area is a bit foreign to me, especially where clothing and sewing, knitted, and crochet is concerned.

    So – I in NO way condone fraudulent listing of new items as ‘vintage’!!! Does this make sense???

    Lately I feel like I have completely lost my ability to communicate clearly –

    I will say – Etsy’s listing structure is a bit confusing for new people – I am not making excuses for fraudulent lister’s though.

  14. oneangrybird May 29, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    After looking through junkyardlightings store – his banner seems to accurately reflect what they are selling:

    “Handmade Industrial Lighting made in Cleveland Ohio. Made with salvaged and vintage materials, creating one of a kind lighting and decor.”

    Some of his listings are under handmade, the one LDW called out is listed as Vintage.

    Is it possible that he does not understand that even if you use mostly vintage parts, with any modification on your part it then becomes Handmade?

    Do these shops list as Vintage because so many other ‘like’ shops do?
    Many shops get away with it – so the general feeling is why not?

    I guess, more importantly – does it matter why they are doing it? really, I guess not, I am just curious and find it hard to believe that so many sellers are dishonest, are frauds, cheat, copy, lie etc.- and No I am really not that naive – I do believe i,t but it just AMAZES me!!!!!

    Honestly at this point though, I think we are past the benefit of the doubt on the majority of these shops and I wish Etsy would implement a ‘3 strikes you are out’ policy.

  15. Life During Wartime May 29, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    That’s cool, oneangrybird, I get it now…sometimes I get so p.o.ed with Etsy’s attempted corruption of vintage that I get way too touchy. Yeah, my bad.

    I don’t at all think that ‘vintage’ has an assumed value higher than handmade original designs. It shouldn’t, IMO. There is no vintage style that corresponds to the lighting fixture I linked to. I don’t think it is listed as vintage — and is promoted by Etsy as vintage — because the fauxtiqing adds value to the seller’s items, but because it makes an imaginary connection between Etsy’s marketing trends and vintage or antique styles.

    I’m not even convinced that any pieces of the lighting in question are actually old. How could the materials be old, if the seller can make the lights to order, in any quantity?

  16. EtsyVigilante May 30, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Reseller ~ “handmade” glass containers for weddings etc. just getting started http://www.etsy.com/shop/Embellish1122?ref=seller_info

  17. Lillie May 30, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I can understand some sellers being confused about what’s considered vintage and what’s not, and I can understand some other sellers listing handmade (or altered) as vintage because it might sell better there, and I can understand some sellers being downright frauds selling downright fake vintage, and I can understand some sellers not caring about TOUs and selling their 2005 Steve Maddens as vintage anyway. Sure. But then every once in a while you come up with a listing that only makes you think, what is this I don’t even…

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/75057013/betsey-johnson-350-dollar-gift-card-no

  18. Life During Wartime May 30, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Here are Embellishll22’s hanging glass bottle lanterns:

    http://www.isabellacatalog.com/p/Garden-Bottle-Lanterns-Set-of-6.cfm?tid=709060916

    Not made by seller. Good callout, EtsyVigilante! Another violator in Handmade/Weddings.

  19. glassninja June 1, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    As someone who actually MAKES wine bottle lanterns, this pisses me off. I hand cut and drill all of my stuff. these “lanterns” were recently on sale at the Christmas Tree Shop near my house for $1.69 each. I even had a potential customer bring these to me to show me what a great deal they had gotten, instead of my handmade lanterns that sell for $18. I told him to fuck off in so many words….

Leave a Reply

