ananwang, candybead

16 Jun

It is sad to see a once-handmade shop became a reseller shop.
Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/listing/71474884/women-summer-knit-crochet-cotton-flower
eBay: http://cgi.ebay.com/Korean-romantic-crocheted-hooded-sweater-/260748571910?pt=US_CSA_WC_Shirts_Tops&hash=item3cb5d37506#ht_14033wt_1139

The listing on eBay says… “The item will be shipped from China directly!!”

Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/listing/71478705/summer-women-knit-crochet-cotton-lace
Wholesale: http://www.causewaymall.com/shop/jackets/j0913-sweetie-crochet-wlaces-wavy-vest-p-8096.html
__________________________________________________________

I did a search on your site and didn’t see this one come up, so I’m submitting it.
First, inappropriate tagging:  http://www.etsy.com/listing/53872431/
I was searching a beaded felt bracelet.  This *necklace* is obviously not a bracelet, felt, anklet, enamel, brooch, nor does it have any charms…
Checked out the watermark and it links off Etsy: www.candybead.com

I’ve flagged this item several times and saw the watermark tonight, and then flagged the entire shop.

Edit to add: Candybead’s self callout in the forums: http://www.etsy.com/teams/7718/site-help/discuss/6687229/page/1

18 Responses to “ananwang, candybead”

  1. megansbeadeddesigns June 16, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I recall candy bead starting a “copycat!” thread in the forum awhile ago, eventually turning into a reseller self call-out.

  2. cynicallyopenminded June 16, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    and yet CandyBead is still there. Sad. Flagged the other item.

  3. um no June 16, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I remember that thread too! I can’t believe she’s still there! Wait…yes I can…

  4. etsycallout June 16, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    found the thread!
    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7718/site-help/discuss/6687229/page/1

  5. Life During Wartime June 16, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    What sez Etsy more than Thai mass made jewelry, or clothing from Chinese and Korean factories?

    Except maybe Thai reseller clothing, and Chinese factory produced jewelry?

  6. cynicallyopenminded June 16, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    And admin’s response was pathetic. I can’t believe she is still open, but with that many sales, I doubt Etsy would get rid of her. Heck, she’s making them money.

  7. Dee June 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    reseller self callouts are the best!

    Come on Etsy, get the scram program fired up!

  8. Alli June 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    I love candybeads post

    “A few months ago, Etsy team asked me to clarify myself about my works. They want to know that I made all of jewelry in my shop or not. And yes! I made them all by myself. I sent everything to proof my ability. ”

    So nice of them to let her know exactly what they want her to say.

  9. toopoopedtopop June 16, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Perhaps she makes the little items that sell for $3.50. By listing those truly “made by seller” in amongst the resale items, she’s made herself legit in etsy’s blindered eyes.

  10. nolongerbuyingetsy June 16, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I love it when resellers call out themselves. I think it’s pathetic that Etsy will keep the resellers that sell so much. The reseller shops they do close don’t usually have very many sales. The shops that have a lot of sales, they tend to ignore. I guess I would too if it were that lucrative for my business, but it is unethical on Etsy’s part and that is why I quit purchasing anything from Etsy.

  11. etsy flea market June 16, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    ok, one more for wang (and I’m happy I found it b/c I don’t want to pay $55 for it)

    http://www.causewaymall.com/shop/jackets/j0903-romantic-charm-crochet-knit-boleros-white-p-7822.html

    is this: http://www.etsy.com/listing/72725536/women-spring-summer-knit-crochet-cotton?ref=v1_other_2

    BAM. done.

  12. Yaya June 17, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    All brand new bags:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/kbt512?ref=seller_info

  13. Life During Wartime June 17, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Good one, Yaya! Even though the shop mails from Japan, based on how their listings are written I think the owner knows the difference between a ‘used’ designer bag and a vintage piece.

  14. Yaya June 17, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I think this seller has been shut down before. The avatar is familiar.

  15. Reseller? June 24, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Candybead: I think she’s not a reseller.

    There is no harm in making these easy & simple bracelets. Just the shop is asian, and similar bracelets are also available wholesale doesn’t mean the seller isn’t making the items in her shop. Maybe the shop is up after being reported because it turns out she is not a reseller.

  16. cynicallyopenminded June 27, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Candybead may not or may not be a reseller. What they are doing is referring to a link off-Etsy where anyone can purchase the same bracelet. In addition, many of the items were mistagged. I think some of the tags were cleaned up, but the photos? Nope there is still the off-Etsy link quite visible in many of them.

Leave a Reply

