FleaMarketRX

17 Jun
Just saw this shop on the Etsy front page
with this item
and guessed that the handmade lamp would be listed as a fauxtique in Vintage — and I was right!
The shop is full of new items made from vintage bits and pieces, as well as reproductions.  All self called out in the descriptions with words like “vintage style” “reproduction” and “one of a kind” but listed as Vintage.
FleaMarketHoax also lists comercially produced postcards as Handmade Paper:
Notice the ripoff of the publisher’s description of this item on their own site in FleaMarketHoax’s description:
RESELLER!!!
They are listing copy/prints of the graphic work of other artists under Handmade Art.  Do they have permission/license to make and sell these?
“Purchased early 1990s” clothing item
might be vintage if it is pre-1992, otherwise not.
Shop full of issues sailed thru the Etsy admin vetting process and onto the front page.
17 Responses to “FleaMarketRX”

  1. iona June 17, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Yeah, some are listed in vintage and some are listed in housewares. Shady.

  2. etsy flea market June 17, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    FMRx’s feedback is messed up. Its says 95% with 35+ and 2- but when you view the FB, there are only 5 visible positive.

  3. Life During Wartime June 17, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I see they moved the commercial postcards at the link to Supplies. Seriously, contemporary postcards available retail are Supplies?

    What about ‘representing’ an artist online, like this item (and there are more pieces in her shop):

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/75583033/ass-bath-by-robert-redfield-no3-of-100?ref=v1_other_1

    Being an online rep for artists is not a collective, at least by my standards. The artist is not mentioned in the Announcement or Profile as being part of the shop.

    I’d like an explanation from admin how a shop with so many issues got featured on the FP.

  4. JK June 17, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I’m starting to think that a shop almost HAS to be full of issues in order to make FP.

  5. Yaya June 17, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Has anyone contacted the artists that are “represented”? That should get some action. I would but I am in the middle of cooking dinner.

  6. Life During Wartime June 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I think the artists/artisans are known to the seller, so it doesn’t seem to be that kind of TOU violation. Looks to me like an online version of a gallery.

    The new lighting fixtures have been moved from Vintage to Handmade Housewares. Don’t know if the shop owner actually makes them, or not, because one of the sold listings for a ‘vintage’ (actually new) lamp gives the name of the artisan (not the shop owner). Am guessing the lamps got listed as vintage in the first place because the shop owner was not the artisan, but this is just a guess.

    This is all for Etsy to sort out…unless the seller decides to read the Terms of Use herself and fix her shop to comply.

  7. nolongerbuyingetsy June 17, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    The front page is a joke. I refuse to buy from any seller that makes it on a regular basis.

  8. etsy flea market June 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    portobello called out in regretsy

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/71337632/double-magnolia-bridal-headpiece

    http://www.weddingfactorydirect.com/comb-5690-ivory.html

    I can’t believe they’re still selling their crap..

  9. TheBargainBabe June 17, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    etsyfleamarket—the feedback means that rest were given to the seller for things she had purchased..and those feedbacks are now private. This person has had 11 sales and received 5 feedbacks for those sales.

    I reported the penguin postcards, that is just blatant.

  10. Yaya June 18, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Another “let’s see what I can pawn off from my closet” shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/LuxuriousDemand?ref=seller_info

  11. FormerEtsyBuyer June 18, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    I love seeing Portobello featured on Regretsy! Now she is redirecting buyers to her website, right in her announcement. I guess she feels she can do no wrong now.

  12. Life During Wartime June 18, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Didn’t Portobello remove the reseller jewelry items to her webstore last year? After her Etsy shop was called out, and items disappeared?

  13. FormerEtsyBuyer June 18, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Yes, LDW, she moved the called-out jewelry to her website last year. I guess for 2011 she needs to “make room” for her newest reseller bridal combs and hair accessories on etsy! It must be really lucrative for her (and etsy) to gouge brides-to-be.

  14. FormerEtsyBuyer June 18, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    ETA: Portobello has now removed the picture of the double-flower hair comb (that was featured on Regretsy too). The ITEM is still there, but the picture she stole from the wholesale site is now deleted. What a fraud.

  15. rd November 3, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    here are 15 more SHOPS NOTHING BUT made in china crap from HOBBY LOBBY

    NOT VINTAGE OR HANDMADE PERIOD WHO ARE YOU KIDDING

    THATS WHAT FLAG THIS SHOP IS FOR

    etsy.com/shop/AlacartCreations

    etsy.com/shop/FourRDesigns

    etsy.com/shop/OregonTimeTravelers

    etsy.com/shop/Theshabbyshak

    etsy.com/shop/MorrellDecor

    etsy.com/shop/shabbyroad125

    etsy.com/shop/LucyHaus

    etsy.com/shop/riricreations

    etsy.com/shop/TheDoorStop

    etsy.com/shop/AllCountryPretties .

    etsy.com/shop/monkeyandsquirrel

    etsy.com/shop/happybdaytome

    etsy.com/shop/beautifuldetailswed

    etsy.com/shop/OffTheHookOriginals

    etsy.com/shop/CamillaCotton

  16. rd November 3, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I think these are shops

    dusty lorraine opened

    its all made in china for hobby lobby

    if you dont flag them all, how is etsy going to know

  17. Hilary Nagler November 6, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Hello those of you who commented here regarding my shop Flea Market Rx. Etsy brought these issues to my attention, and closed my shop down until all issues were fixed. Please know that none of these issues were made with blantant disregard, as your comments have suggested. As a new etsy seller, one does the best they can to navigate. There is quite a difference here between the mistakes I made and those who are reselling goods made in China pretendeding they made them themselves. I realize etsy is upsetting in how it works for the little guy, but i hope you realize the damage you do with such a misinformation campaign such as the one you waged on me and my store. I think it would have been much more productive to have contacted me and told me there were issues/you had issues with my store. You would have realized with my swift response that I was quite unaware that some my items were non-compliant.

    The shop was not listed as a collective, now it is, and the items that did not comply with etsy’s policies we’re removed and I am rebuilding the store, practically from scratch, and revising item descriptions and categories under their supervision to comply. Just to clarify, I make all the lighting myself and sell to a growing list of retail shops as well as on eBay.

    My lighting is all handcrafted, made up of any combo of repurposed, reclaimed, refurbished, upcycled vintage, and then finished with reproduction vintage style lamp wire & plugs (using vintage wire would burn people’s houses down and that would be bad;) My lighting is some of the most authentic you will see, made with excellent craftsmanship and respect for vintage parts and discarded unwanted bits. There is a good reason it landed on the front page – its beautiful.

    The photography I sell is that of my boyfriend, Robert Redfield. Someone above mentioned contacting the artist to see if he is aware. You may contact him at any time to purchase his art … And he will send you to me. Etsy’s integrity department has confirmed back to me that this is allowable under their “collective” policy.

    If you have any further issues with my store, please first contact me through my etsy store before waging a disinformation on me and my livelyhood. I can be reached through my etsy store Flea Market Rx, by email at hnagler@fleamarketrx.com or hilary@redfieldpictures.com, email photographer Robert Redfield at robert@redfieldpictures.com, and please cc Elizabeth in Etsy’s integrity department.

    Thank you and all my best,

    Hilary Nagler
    Flea Market Rx

Leave a Reply

