katwise sweater swap

22 Jun

Before we start with today’s callout we need to yet one more time point to the very top line on this blog, “Calling out blatant mistaggers, resellers, and other hot topics since admin won’t let us.” that has been there since February 2009. We are tired of the butthurt we hear when the post is not about resellers. We cover all topics alright?
Now back to a callout that isn’t about a reseller-

“I have bought several upcycled sweater coats from this seller:

She is a sweet lady, don’t get me wrong…but a horrible business owner!
First, her sweater coats sell out SOOO fast that if you have a slow internet connection, you don’t have a chance.  She has a waiting list months long…She is well aware of this issue but REFUSES to sell them on Ebay or online where others with slow internet connections could actually have a chance to buy them! She says “Well if you are meant to have one the right one will come along” uh-huh except if you have a slow internet connection…I guess…
Okay, but here is where it gets STUPID….She has upped the prices on her sweater coats over the years from 200.00  to now 300- 400.00.  She has a Facebook page “Katwise” where if you want to sell one of her sweater coats, you are supposed to use her “sweater swap” discussion topic to sell it there…She and her followers/collectors bad mouth people who try to re-sell them on Ebay because it is not “in the spirit of selling things”…whatever!  Anyhow, I went to try and re-sell one of her sweater coats on her discussion board on Facebook.  Since her items are now selling for around 300+ dollars, that is what I asked for mine.  Well, she GOT ON ME about it and put up a post that it was NOT the original price I paid for it and I needed to ask for significantly LESS ..as if to DICTATE which price I could re-sell it at!! SERIOUSLY!!!??? Who does she think she is!!!! I think all the sweater fibers are contaminating her brain…
 Now I have a dilemma…do I sell it on Ebay and face more of her wrath and the wrath of her followers or re-sell it at the original price on Facebook even though the fair market value has clearly risen?  I feel like it would be easier to sell a stolen Warhol painting at this point!!!!”
74 Responses to “katwise sweater swap”

  1. Pox June 22, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    She’s a horrible business owner because she sells out on her sweaters in minutes and has raised her prices along with the demand? That sounds like a good business owner to me. You are in no position to tell her where to sell nor what to charge and likewise she isn’t in any position to tell you what you can do with your own property.

  2. nyc designer June 22, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    You made my day. Smiling. The day my hand-made goods I sell on Etsy skyrocket up to $300-400, creating a resale market for them on eBay and complaining customers with slow connections, I’ll be in HEAVEN. This woman is damn smart. She’s obviously been able to create some hype to push up demand, while lowering supply…..lucky her……hope the phenomenon spreads to my store….

  3. Dee June 22, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    wonders if she would do some PR for me. I need some hype for my shop. I see nothing wrong with her selling where and when she wants to.

    The one thing I don’t get is that once you buy something, it is yours. You can do what you want with it. If you try to resell your item and people harass you, I would report them for harassment.

  4. Abi June 22, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Yes, she has no right to tell you what to do with your property. So you should be able to sell it for whatever you want. I personally think the sweaters are hideous but apparently there is a market for them, so whatever. If the sweater is in good condition and you want a certain price for it, that is the price you should ask for it.

    I would also suggest getting a faster internet connection, you can find good rates out there for a cable modem or dsl.

  5. megansbeadeddesigns June 22, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    This is a seller who renews “reserved” listings over and over again, collecting thousands of views and hearts without the item actually being reserved for anyone.

    Technically, it’s breaking the rules because it’s a listing that isn’t really for sale, but rather, an advertisement.

  6. ThankYouGoogle June 22, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Good for her! Wish we could all have such great success on Etsy!
    Keep selling!!! 🙂

  7. Andrea June 22, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    So basically she called you out for trying to scalp one of her hard to find items for an extra 50% and you’re mad. I also don’t understand ranting about your slow internet connection, how do you propose that she fix that situation? Why would she list her items on ebay and how is that better for people with slow internet unless she puts them up for bid and risks them going under her pricing? Sell it on ebay or whatever, who cares, but stop bitching about how she sells her items because it’s clearly working for her.

  8. Life During Wartime June 22, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I love her work, but I don’t think Etsy should allow a seller — however successful — to have a shop full of listings for items that aren’t actually for sale. Showing reserved items when the transaction hasn’t completed is okay, but renewing these items as advertising seems unethical. It would be an easy fix for Etsy not to allow a renew for an item with ‘reserved’ in the title.

    Of course anyone can resell a sweater they purchased from her previously for whatever price they can get. Such is the nature of art-to-wear collectible clothing. Buyers are not responsible for her prices being raised over time, along with continuously rising demand for her work. She needs to realize that older pieces being resold closer to her current pricing helps support her price increases, rather than undercutting her business.

  9. Sammy June 22, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I don’t get it. A seller has nothing to do with a slow internet connection. So that’s a separate issue and shouldn’t even have been mentioned here. Also, where she sells is her choice, so also irrelevant. So basically this call-out is about her trying to tell you where and for how much to resell her goods, which, true, isn’t any of her business, but makes for a pretty lame call-out by itself. I don’t understand how someone would be stopped cold by a request not to resell on Ebay, but then scurry right over here to post a call-out. My opinion, for what it’s worth: /ignore /list on Ebay /camp and done. Does it matter if her cult following on Facebook clutches their pearls in disapproval?

  10. Yaya June 22, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Yeah, lame.

  11. Fake June 22, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    I love her work, but I don’t think Etsy should allow a seller — however successful — to have a shop full of listings for items that aren’t actually for sale. Showing reserved items when the transaction hasn’t completed is okay, but renewing these items as advertising seems unethical. It would be an easy fix for Etsy not to allow a renew for an item with ‘reserved’ in the title.
    ______________________________
    Are the items renewed for advertising or are they actually reserved? Each listing I read was reserved for a particular buyer – it’s not clear in the title of the listing, but it is clear in the description of the listing itself. I’m stumped as to whether this is a TOU violation or not. Other than this issue, the rest of this call-out is BS.
    1) Basic Business 101: Supply and Demand. When there is an increase in demand there is an increase in price and a decrease in supply. Business owner profits and so does the consumer by getting an unique (one of a kind item) or by getting that item first. Sorry you have to pay more for this!
    2) slow internet connection = how is this the seller’s problem? Go to the library, use a friends computer, ditch the dial-up and join the 21st century. Not the seller’s problem.
    3) resell the sweater wherever and whenever you like – it’s your’s, you purchased it. Sell it at a garage sale, in the local newspaper, sell it to a friend. Why does katwise need to know you are selling a sweater made by her? Do you inform the GAP, Eddie Bauer, Walmart, [enter other store here] when you are selling their junk? I do, however, think you have a lot of nerve asking more than you paid for the sweater, given that it is obviously used and an earlier piece (we’re not talking Louis Vuitton here, but a katwise sweater). Just because she currently sells these sweaters for more than she did previously doesn’t mean that you’ll get more for your used one (I could be wrong here, as I don’t really understand the appeal).
    4) Again, I don’t understand this call-out. You are complaining that your internet is slow and you cannot purchase a recycled sweater coat, yet at one point your internet wasn’t so slow because you had the opportunity to buy one, but now you what to sell it? *shakes head*

  12. megansbeadeddesigns June 22, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    The original call out is lame, but as Life During Wartime pointed out, this seller is practicing an unethical business model. I am fairly certain that the person in which these listing are “reserved” for do not actually exist. They say they are on layway for “Kitty” which, I am pretty sure, this seller has had more than one customer.

  13. etsy flea market June 22, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I don’t understand. You can afford a $200 coat made from thrift store sweaters but you can’t afford a faster internet connection? Bizarre.

    Sell the coat wherever you damn well please. Personally, I’d donate it to Goodwill so they can deconstruct it and clothe 12 homeless people, but that’s just me.

    Katwise has 32 items for sale and they’re all (not most, not 75% but every single item) reserved? Give me a break. Not a single listing has a picture of the actual item for sale. As a buyer who’s dropping $300 for an ugly recycled coat, I’d like to know what it looks like exactly but again, that’s just me.

  14. em June 22, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    wow. She must be a great businesswoman if she’s managed to corner a niche market like this. The coats aren’t really my style, but I can respect the planning and work that goes into making them.. so I don’t think the prices right now are even that outrageous. That said.. I don’t think she should be harassing those who are trying to resell her coats. Once you buy it, it’s yours to do what you want.

  15. JAC June 22, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I think her coats are pretty neat, but at the same time I dont understand why she doesnt have any listings up. I would be pretty frustrated if I had to wait a year to get a coat. I mean they are cool, but not that great. She should really invest in an assistant to help her with the coat making.

    And I think it is pretty lame if she is telling you that you cant resell an item of hers. I am sure others are doing the same thing.

  16. JoeBradley June 22, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    How does Kat sell anything if everything in her shop today is on reserve? At an average of $350 she has over $10,000 sitting in her shop with nothing but down payments? I don’t get it. The orange/red coat has been on lay-away for Rebekah since Dec. 2010. I see she’s had a lot of sales but mostly for the fingerless gloves. That whole relisting of reserved items with incorrect photos of sight-unseen items and tens of thousands of views is wack. Sometimes I search “reserved” and go to the oldest pages and highest prices and see whats never been paid for. I guess when the economy is this bad you need to get your moneys worth out of the 20 cent listing.

  17. MegansBeadedDesigns June 22, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I don’t think that the items have “never been paid for” I think they they aren’t meant to be bought, but rather, as mini 20 cent advertisements.

    Just a little rewording and the listings would actually be legit. Changed “Reserved Sweater” To “Made to Order Sweater” and she would be following the rules.

    Very strange indeed. Perhaps be a “reserved” item sparks curiosity and makes the listing more likely to be clicked? Not sure… I ignore reserved listings most of the time.

  18. katwise June 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Hiya! This is Katwise, here to speak up for myself. I am genuinely confused by this call out!
    My stuff sells out in a few seconds, so, in order to facilitate people getting coats, I started a “Sweater Swap” on my FB where it clearly says to please not charge more than what you paid. I have no problem with anyone selling a coat on ebay for whatever they can get – in fact, it is fun for me to watch. I personally don’t sell on ebay because I am afraid they will get too expensive, and I don’t want to be greedy. I have never once told anyone not to sell on ebay! People do it all the time.
    This customer was selling a 2 year old, $64 dollar sweater on my FB for $225. I honestly thought she was confused. What follows is the entire conversation we had:

    “Katwise: hiya C—–! i just checked the price of that brown hoodie, it was well below $225. Are you perhaps confusing it with a coat?
    C——-: Oh yes I was…I have bought about 4 or 5 things from you and must have got them all confused.. could you please provide me with the correct cost? I would greatly appreciate it so I can adjust my asking price! Thanks for your help…”

    So, I am pretty sure she wildly misunderstood my intentions to be helpful. I agree that once a person buys something they should be able to do whatever they want, sell it for any price, set it on fire – I totally don’t care. I just ask that on my facebook, you don’t try to make a profit. I truly thought she was confused about the price. I am not quite sure how she extracted such negative sentiment from my attempt to be helpful.

    Yes, my prices are higher than they were 2 years ago, but that is because my work is triple the complexity , uses way more material, and my growing business now had WAY more overhead. In fact, I make less per hour now than I did 2 years ago. So in that regard, I am a bad businesswoman. But at least I am not greedy. The sweater she was selling would be still be about $64 now if I were selling it new.
    I greatly appreciate all the kind things people said here about me (thanks!). I admit it is tough to read when others calling me unethical and accuse me of things that are simply untrue or wild misunderstandings. I support etsycallout’s mission to expose sellers that are in flagrant violation of etsy policy, but I am feeling a bit hurt that this negativity was directed at me. I am not some soulless corporate entity – I am an artist struggling to make an honest living by making patchwork clothes in my attic. The mean things people say do actually sting a real girl. I strive to be positive and ethical in all my business practices, and I suppose I must accept that I can’t make everyone happy. But…I will still try! 🙂

  19. ohmeohmy June 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Hi Katwise,

    I agree that your shop should not be here on ECO. It makes total sense to raise costs each year you have been on etsy (since 06) and because the demand is huge right now. I think you could even charge more for all that sewing!

    Yes, the FB is your page and you do have a right to nix a sale which you feel doesn’t fit in the philosophy of your FB page. It’s a sweater swap, so not about making profit.

    One thing though–what about the constant relisting of already reserved items? This does seem a bit shady. Another poster suggested pics for your listings and “custom” added to the title. This would make more sense, be totally ethical, and would still get you the veiws you need.

  20. Kelleyanne June 22, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Wow, I actually used to sell on Etsy, and saw her stuff. She inspired me to come up with my own designs from old sweaters on Artfire – Discordthreads.artfire.com. When I was on Etsy, I convoed her a couple times asking advice and complimenting her stuff, and she was nothing but gracious and kind in her replies…

  21. em June 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Thank you for the clarification, Katwise! That makes MUCH more sense.. and I agree that your customers shouldn’t be allowed to profit off your Facebook swap thing. I must have misunderstood the call out – sorry to accuse you of something you don’t do.

    Now this is how you respond to a call out (thinking of a certain soap seller from a couple weeks ago.. 😛 )

  22. ThankYouGoogle June 22, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Well said Katwise 🙂

  23. sickofcupcakes June 22, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    I would like to see your explanation about all of your listings that aren’t actually selling anything. Seems to me you don’t need advertisement to that extent if your items sell immediately.

  24. KooKoo June 22, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Much ado about GREAT DESIGNS!

  25. nolongerbuyingetsy June 22, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I think this is the most undeserved call out I have seen on this site. If I had been the owner of this site, I wouldn’t have allowed this one. As for the original OP, why should you care who tells what the seller thinks about selling on Ebay. You can sell any personal property there you want, but to complain about seller not wanting you to sell it in her advertised sweater swap, that is just petty.

    As far as the seller is concerned, I do find it unethical that she is allowed to list items that are not really for sell. She says in her listing that they are reserved and yet says she lists items as a first come first serve basis and does not reserve them. Therefore, her listings are advertisements for upcoming sales. Take it for Etsy to allow this since the seller is making so much money for them. If I tried to do that, they would have me shut down in a week. Shame on them for not following their own TOU.

  26. Wolf June 23, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    When the demand for what I hand dye was high, I raised my prices accordingly. Now that the demands has significantly dropped off and there are many, many others selling similar hand dyed items, I have to lower my prices again to compete.

    That’s all a part of doing business. Problems with a slow internet? Well, how about sending the seller an email politely requesting a custom order, then it’ll be YOUR order only and praticaly guarentee you get one, without all this unneeded whining.

    When someone buys one of my items, I have no right to tell them where and how they can resell that item, as it now is their personal property. Though I can hope that they won’t resell my item, it’s not my place to tell them they can’t.

  27. Jamie June 23, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Really? This is a call out?

    2 wrong call outs in a row….what is going on here?

  28. angryjeweler June 23, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    you can’t blame anyone else for your slow internet connection.
    i agree you can sell it for however much you want, but if you’re gonna do it on HER fan page, then you’ll need to follow HER rules. Just don’t sell it there. She should have control over how her own fan page is run.
    I don’t understand how this qualifies as any of the items in the blog tag line. Only one that comes close is ‘hot topic’ which I don’t even think this is. This affects ONE person only. This doesn’t appear to be a seller treating customers badly, just one person that disagrees with the way she chooses to run her business.
    This can’t possibly be all there is to blog about.. there has to be something more important than letting one person with a grudge smear a seller.

  29. kitten June 23, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    We could just change the call out to seller katwise has nothing for sale and is using Etsy as her own personal portfolio. What if all sellers did this?

    The seller has conveniently ignored all questions concerning this.

  30. anontoo June 23, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Here is a shop with identical coats and sweaters. Each of this other shop’s listings are reserved as well. This other shop’s prices are higher, which is the only difference so far as I can tell. Same seller, perhaps?

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/EnlightenedPlatypus

  31. sickofcupcakes June 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Exactly, Kitten. What if every seller did this and Etsy turned into one big photo hosting sight? If this was a crappy reseller doing this, people here would not be so nice and ass-kissy.

  32. Kelleyanne June 23, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Different sellers… If you search for upcycled sweater coat, you’ll find several Seller’s copying Katwise’s designs. I have my own upcycled sweater designs, but really want to know how I can get so popular that I can only list reserved items…

  33. etsy flea market June 23, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    from EnlightenedPlatypus:
    “My Dream Coats have become so popular I can never seem to keep any in my shop for more than a few minutes. To give everyone the best chance to capture their very own Enlightened Platypus Dream Coat I post new collections at pre-scheduled sale times.

    Each big collection will have wonderfully soft and cozy coats in sizes S to XXL. Preview pictures with measurements will be posted on my Facebook page and sent to my mailing list.”

    sounds familiar but I doubt it’s the same seller.

  34. etsy flea market June 23, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    @Kelley sell them dirt cheap and then gradually raise the prices. You’ll be in Reserve City before you know it.

  35. Kelleyanne June 23, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Actually, if I wanted to, I could make the same type sweaters as Katwise, Enlightened Platypus, Snuggle Pants or any of the other upcycled sweater coat designers, but I have chosen to create my own designs. For the amount of time it would take, I could certainly justify charging $300-400 per sweater. And when I list my Fall collection, my prices WILL go up, because my skills have improved and so have my designs. The whole OP is just sour grapes to me…

  36. buylowsellhigh June 24, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    I disagree that it’s lame to sell something for more than one paid for it. That’s the very definition of good business! It’s the same as selling anything that has gone up in value. That’s exactly what any successful business does: buy low, sell higher. Value, perceived value, yadda yadda… Sorta like that person who paid over $4 million for Marilyn Monroe dress recently.

    I do agree that it’s lame to blame any seller for selling out and not giving everyone equal opportunity – that is good business, too.

    To OP: I say go for it and list it on eBay and make yourself some money.

  37. buylowsellhigh June 24, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    Katwise says she lists 40 new items every two weeks. Busy girl. I like the sweaters and I’m an old lady. If I could afford one, I’d buy one in a heartbeat. That’s the kind of business we’d all like to have; come up with something unique – something you actually enjoy creating and producing – make money from it. 40 every two weeks, that’s a lot of buying, washing, drying (possibly some blocking, I dunno), deconstructing/cutting, auditioning pieces to a whole design look, more cutting, and then constructing. Wow. Lots of work. totally worth 3 – 400.

  38. buylowsellhigh June 24, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    LOL, another comment, this about the Reserved listings: How else does one list something that is requested before being made, i.e. custom listings for someone? That’s all katwise is doing here. Kat is smart to do this for 1) documentation should be there a problem with a buyer retracting their paypal money and thus screwing the seller, and 2) as you all mention, it’s advertising and pretty pictures and all around excellent marketing for her. Am I wrong to assume that when a buyer requests a custom item, most etsy sellers then create a reserved listing? Of course, I have no idea if she listed the reserved listings for full value (and thus would have to pay full freight etsy fees) or just a nominal placeholder, in which case, it would be not cool. Pardon me if I’m wrong, I often am. 🙂

  39. em June 24, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I don’t think she’s creating the listings after someone requests the coat. It’s the other way around – she lists the items, then buyers ask for them to be reserved (the ones I looked at already had a down payment). I read somewhere in her shop that she doesn’t take special orders.

  40. marie June 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    i think using a popular designer’s name in your tags is pretty shady . . .

    http://www.etsy.com/search?search_submit=&q=katwise

    just sayin’

  41. Yaya June 24, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    You definitely have a lot of shady things going on. Oh and you are fool not to sell them for as much as the market will bear.

  42. em June 24, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    the link shows shady behavior being performed by other people (and shady it is!), not by Katwise. They are using her shop name in their item tags to take advantage of her.

  43. marie June 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    exactly – if i was kat – i would call them on it.

  44. buylowsellhigh June 25, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Oh my…Steampunk? In addition to the skanky misuse of an original designer name spam. Yup, Katwise should notify etsy. It’s also a lame move on the copycats because Katwise uses far more material, has a truly creative and wonderful silhouette as opposed to the cheap copies. Same as always happens when someone knocks off any designer. Cheaper, less material, shoddy construction

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/69948400/dark-purple-striped-2xl-pullover-sweater?ref=sr_gallery_28&ga_search_submit=&ga_search_query=katwise&ga_page=2&ga_search_type=all&ga_facet=

  45. Kelleyanne June 25, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Ouch that’s, er, um…different…and nothing like Katwise. Sheesh. Kat and I have conversed, and I am purposely trying to NOT copy her, And while my earlier designs may have looked somewhat like the original sweater I started upcycling, now I deconstruct all the sweaters I am going to use – keep some elements intact – and then put it together on my dress form until you really can’t tell what the original sweaters looked like. It is hard to avoid some similarities, but my designs are not as detailed and labor intensive, hence the lower price. I’ve never held a Katwise sweater in my hands, but just looking at all the detail tells me they take a LOT of time, and are worth the price she charges.

    Sure I could copy her designs, and I’ve even had people send me pictures of her sweaters asking me to make it for less. First I won’t copy her, and even if I would, I wouldn’t charge less. I’ve been sewing for over 30 years, and I don’t discount my time, talent and ideas. And that’s what you buy from me too – My IDEAS! See for yourself, though my newest designs are yet to be listed – discordthreads.artfire.com

    Boils down to – get to a computer with a fast connection if you want to buy one of her sweaters, since they go like hotcakes.

    If you’re going to trade it on her sweater swap, then go by her rules.

    If you’re going to sell it on eBay, then I don’t think there’s any rule against it. Selling it for way more than you paid for it is your right on eBay, but any guilty feelings about it is yours alone…karma… Don’t know what the sweater looks like, but there’s definitely a difference in a simple hoodie sweater and a full blown sweater coat with a huge swirly skirt and elf hood…

  46. Betsy Aoki June 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Hi,

    I’m a multiple Katwise sweater (including 1 fancy coat) purchaser for last 6 months, and I’m here to vouch for the fact that her stuff does in fact sell out in seconds, and even my fast internet connection does not guarantee success (the Paypal gods do not always smile even if you have commercial level broadband).

    Because of the fast pace of her “posting parades” and resultant heartbreak, Kat instituted a sweater swap on facebook for women who bought the wrong size in the fury of clicking on ANY sweater during the mad rush, or, got the sweater/coat in the mail and found out they were a different size than purchased. In the spirit of goodwill, she asks that folks who meet their sellers or buyers on her forums don’t charge more than they paid originally.

    Because of the fast pace of her sales, people employ certain strategies – get their husbands, friends or even strangers to “proxy” for them – anything to increase chances. She has a policy that she will do layway – and there have been numerous examples in her feedback/sales you can check – but you have to “win” the coat first. Then, she refunds you the money, you do a deposit, and you make the difference up in one of those strange listings on her site. I notice that the elf coat shops that have sprung up after her, also seem to use this reserved policy in order to do payouts for customer orders and other clothing shops as well, so not sure that’s as big a deal as folks claim. Kat says on her shop does not do custom work because she is kept busy putting 30-40 sweaters/coats out every few weeks…

    Being a Katwise community fan, I saw the original callout poster above on the Katwise forums and while it was as Kat described above – she seemed confused – it looks like from this callout post, she was not – she wanted to take advantage of the community Kat created on Facebook to make more money off her sweater? Awkward.

    The reason for the sweater swap is to create better feeling among a crowd of very disappointed “near misses” who did not get a sweater despite trying. I’ve had my share of near-misses with Kat’s sales, and they are disheartening – worse if you are ( as I have been) a proxy for someone with slow connection trying to get them a fabulous coat.

    Just figured it useful to put the two cents of someone who does not have a shop on etsy and does not make elf coats for a living :).

    Betsy

  47. Betsy Aoki June 26, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Sorry one addendum – “different size than purchased” means – the lady was a different size than the sweater she purchased or perhaps was too ambitious in thinking what size she was. 🙂 Didn’t want to imply the measurements in kat’s store are wrong – they are in fact quite accurate.

    Cheers,

    Betsy

  48. Martina June 27, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Katwise is one of the most authentic and talented artists on etsy. We should be happy to see a seller doing so well! I wish my shop had half the demand of hers. It baffles me to see anyone want to badmouth her here.
    It sounds like the person who wrote this post was just angry that her attempt to be greedy was innocently twarted.

    I have had an etsy shop for 3 years now, and during that time I have also followed the rise of Katwise’s shop. She has continually impressed me with her ability to create community and interact with her customers. It seems like all the midunderstanding in this blog stem from the fact that she tries to keep the prices of her work down, and has endless patience for people who need to have their purchasse on layaway. You are getting on her case for being NICE! This is a NICE girl with a BIG heart, shame on anyone who is too bitter to see that! Etsy would be a much nicer place if more people were like Katwise. She deserves every bit of success she gets.

  49. Cole June 27, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    Wow
    The thing about a call out is, maybe stick to the facts and not add judgmental / attacking/ sarcastic statements about Kat ( or anyone ) when trying to get your message across about being professional . Being a good business person & trying to please everyone is very difficult – so anyone who is as diplomatic and graceful as Kat is when hundreds of folks are asking for more of everything – all the time … Should not be graced with negativism from others.
    Kat is a talented artist & a lovely person. She is not into price gouging or bidding. She has actually gifted sweaters for those in poor circumstances. She cannot fix the issues of supply & demand – and simply works her butt off in a hot attic to try to meet the demand she’s given. She also does great work- I own a ton of kats creations and always felt her work is great & prices are fair. Folks do have items in their shops on reserved because many folks need payment plans ( which is nice of business owners to do) and some make listings for custom orders. Maybe ETSY needs to have some gallery space so folks who do sell out quicky can show what they make. I would beg to say THIS is an error in ETSY design space & not the sellers issue. How can people show what they make if they are sold out? Maybe esty can work on that. MANY sellers do it, why not go find something productive to do instead of tattle tailing??? No one likes a tattle tail. Artists sell things & esty makes money- that is what matters. Kat makes ETSY alot of money, might be one of their top sellers.
    And it’s hardly a sellers issue if one has slow Internet connections… Omg really?

  50. Abbie June 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    She has a way of running a business, different, but not horrible. Obviously she’s doing something right when her coats sell out in minutes!

    That said, now that you own a sweater of hers, it’s your right to do what you want with it. The hippy dippy artist in me says it’s still her intellectual property and you should do with it as she has requested. However, the logical part of my brain says it’s you’re physical property and you can sell it where ever, to whomever, and for however much you want.

  51. Allyson Foote June 28, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Her designs aren’t my style but the artistry is amazing. She’s obviously a very talented designer. I have a question though; If she’s not “allowed” to list items that aren’t actually made how can she sell custom items? I sell custom invitations on my website but not in my Etsy shop for this very reason. I come up with the design concepts for my brides and bring their vision to life. I work with artists whose talents include things like printing on glass, mirror, wood, etc. I sell the ribbons, crystals and any other embellishments that make up the invitation suite. I bring all those materials together to create a unique one of a kind event invitation. I am the designer but not the actual manufacturer of the individual components. I sell DIY bridal supplies in my Etsy shop but designing invitations are my true passion. I’d love to sell/offer them through Etsy but like Kat I don’t have an “actual” product to offer. The very reasons some of you are calling her out for here are why I haven’t. Custom work, custom orders, bringing someone’s vision to life is art in my opinion. I don’t see anything wrong with what she’s doing. There are so many differing opinions here it’s a little confusing to know what’s allowed and what isn’t. Can someone clarify the policy for me? I’m a newbie and my supplies shop has only been open for a few months so I’m still figuring out what’s allowed and what isn’t. Thanks! 🙂

  52. Allyson Foote June 28, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    @Cole I so agree!

  53. PussDaddy July 6, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Stupidest. Callout. Ever.

    Are you connected to her facebook page by some kind of subliminal, hypnotic pull? If not nut up, ignore her, and sell the shit wherever you want to for whatever price you want.

  54. Cricks November 3, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    The reserved listings aren’t just blank listings. They actually are reserved for people who are making payments on a coat.

  55. Discord Threads November 4, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    I wanna get so popular that all my upcycled goods are reserve only!!! Pass some of that my way Kat. If you’re too busy to keep up with the demand, I have plenty of upcycled duds available, and will do custom orders too…. Not complete copies of Katwise either, but my own designs…not quite as detailed and intricate, but also not as expensive either!!!

  56. Lexi November 21, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    I feel that this is more of a tantrum then a call out.
    Way to fail at your own rant.

  57. Discord Threads November 21, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    It was a silly callout…but it has brought a bit of traffic to my site…

  58. Allerlei January 13, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    How can she put up photos of what she makes when her stock has sold out, without using photos of past creations? Yes it’s unusual for any business to be completely sold out of stock 80% or more of the time, especially these days. But she shouldn’t be penalized for that- would you rather she have a shop with big blank windows 80% of the time? And I’d hate to think any of this complaint stems from jealously- that’s an ugly word. When a new batch of stock is ready she already puts up preview galleries of stock without taking sales for a little while, to give everyone a chance to take a good look, on Facebook- and that is, in my opinion, a very considerate practice.

    Also one of the first things I said to myself when I read up on her amazing pace of sales and the frenzy that accompanies them was “Thank God she doesn’t auction on Ebay!” She has every right, you know, to make a staggering amount of money that way and thereby make a minority of us pay a mint and the majority give up hope entirely, but she doesn’t. As far as I can see, this is the only truly kind and consumer friendly way to sell, as frenetic for us as it is. 🙂

  59. Donna February 14, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    Hi, I think katwise is great and her coats are unique! everything else is going up, so what’s wrong with her asking for more for her beautiful coats? I am just happy she sells her pattern which I have bought on ETSY from her shop Katwise! It’s a great pattern with lots of pictures and detailed! I think she is a wonderful person and very talented to have created these sweater coats. Why would you want to sell one of her coats if you were lucky enough to get one? Keep up the great work Kat! Donna

  60. Kristi April 1, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    When you get a custom order, you list it as a reserve item. If you do a lot of them, you use generic pictures that you relist over and over. I dont list a custom item until I am getting it cut but if I listed them as I got them, my etsy site would be filled with reserved items as well.
    There is nothing wrong in what she is doing. She is successful, she is smart, she needs to raise her prices as her garments get more and more complex. Its supply and demand. If her work sells out in minutes, she could still raise her prices significantly and yet she doesnt.
    She is doing something right in a big way.

  61. cherylmikel April 22, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    I love it, a year later and people are still commenting! Even negative statements are helping to promote katwise’s business. You’ve helped to further increase her business on the Internet search engines. She’s got a great business, and good business sense – hats off to katwise! But like any business, katwise cannot dictate the price of her products once it’s left her possession. So you can sell it on eBay, you probably shouldn’t however use her intellectual property which is the “katwise” name, unless you specifically get permission.

  62. Discord Threads April 23, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Yup – any publicity is better than no publicity. If you’ve tried to buy a Katwise, but you always miss out, take a look at my upcycled sweater creations at discordthreads.artfire.com. Inspired by Katwise!

  63. Seller1 December 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Why don’t you sell the sweater for $600 and REALLY piss her off?

  64. Blinkie December 17, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Lots of people make these sweaters for a fraction of that price, I have two of them, and they look better than those hippie ones on Katwise. Check out the sweater coat maker at Fish Princess Farms in Bonny Doon, CA. She does really nice work.

  65. katwise December 17, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    Ug…i cant believe people are still replying to this thread. This is Katwise here. As i stated earlier, the original poster was not telling anything remotely close to the truth. The entire interaction is still on my FB sweater swap page for anyone who cares to verify this (though, for your sake, i really hope you have something better to do with your time).

    ***i don’t care what you do with your sweater once you own it. It is yours. Set it on fire. Sell it for $5000. it is none of my business. I know this*****

    I know that there are people who do not comprehend the unique issues my business faces because of the high demand, but I am sure that anyone who takes 2 seconds to look into it will see that I always run my shop with integrity.

    Yes Blinkie, there are people who sell them for cheaper, Many of those people learned how to make sweaters using my tutorial, and they are jumping on a trend that I worked very hard for many years to promote. I am happy that so many other people can make a living off this, and I don’t need to look at them as competitors or put them down.

    And frankly, I don’t see what you get out of putting me down. I am just a girl who cuts up sweaters and sews all day. I treat people well. I am not evil Wal Mart or something. I am one of the lucky people who works her ass off and can make a basic middle class wage on my art. I bet a lot of you are hoping for the same some day….come on…With all the legitimate crap going in in the world, why is this even worth your while to think about?

  66. Kit January 31, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    I must say I had to start laughing so very hard when I stumbled across this board. I was looking for Kat’s actual sweater swap board. OH the irony–

    This woman with this huge gripe with Katwise was LYING on her ebay listing about having bought this coat directly from Katwise for $600 and then upped it to $675. Katwise sold this coat for around $250; I forget the exact amount; and contacted the above ebay lister to tell her “I am really sorry if you paid over $600 dollars for this coat. That is not what I charge for coats of this size, and it is misrepresentation to tell people you bought it directly from me for that price.”

    -At least that’s what I gathered from the fb conversation that Kat and her “Followers” had. Having had multiple contacts with kat I can guarantee you that she spoke kindly to this woman and was simply trying to stop people from getting swindled by lying about the original value of the coat. Kat has said multiple times in my direct line of sight; that once you buy something it is your to have or to sell at your own discretion.

    But don’t lie about what you paid Katwise directly. Please. Of course Kat’s fans are going to take umbrage. Get a life chicky. And the coat did Not sell within the past year from Kat, as stated by this ebay lister.. It was sold in 2010 and that can be directly interpreted from Kat’s posted photo albums.

  67. Kit January 31, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    Okay I have to start laughing again at myself too, because I just read through the comments left on this and now realize this is old news; except it just happened Again this week. -Because this is an old post you would think that my comment would not be relevant but it’s an instant replay., and this just happened AGAIN in almost the exact same way. I am amazed at the coincidence and want to know how to contact the ebay seller who just pulled this this week. How the crazies will come out when people are successful. GO Betsy for your considerate and kind responses, along with everyone else who used their brains to interpret this situation back then.

  68. Diane Mann February 1, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    The reserved listings on Kat’s (and some other Sites) are for coats that have been partially paid for and sold through her etsy sales. They are not custom ads. And the buyer has seen the pictures and description of “her” coat before she is lucky enough to get it. All of this information is readily available on Kat’s site. And the forums are a treasure trove of information. The sweater swap is really useful as sometimes a sweater is just not happy in its new home and needs to find another … usually with somebody who also wanted that sweater but wasn’t so lucky!

  69. theburgomeister March 28, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    personally, i am in totaly agreement here. once you buy it from her, its yours to do with as you please, burn it, wear it, sell it on ebay for three times as much. She or her rabit fans have NO RIGHT to tell you what to do. if anything, its a smart move. people do it with ipads all the time, buy them the day the new one comes out and sell it for more. supply and demand, right? she makes them in huge batches and makes 300 per coat. considering the dirt cheap materials she uses, i dont feel bad for her at all. shes living well off her business. i support her, dont get me wrong, but her dictation of resales is silly. Im also not a fan of her lack of menswear.

  70. Kit March 30, 2013 at 6:46 am #

    Her supplies aren’t “dirt cheap.” Factor in gas costs of going from store to store to find said supplies, and the hours spent designing, washing, cutting, sewing, and marketing these coats and hoodies; the prices are way more than fair. Especially when she sells out 60 items in 11 minutes flat. She could charge twice as much.
    Give me a break. Kat herself has said that she doesn’t care what people do with it once they’ve paid for it. She just doesn’t want other’s being swindled by lies about how much these cost initially.

  71. Leslie July 14, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    She may be an ok business woman, but she is overstepping her boundry by telling you where and the amount you can resell your coat for. When she sold it to you it no longer is her property and you can do what you want w it. I think you should make a business where for a fee you resell her coats where you can get the best price for the. You could easily do better photograhy for the sale and make some money. Who cares what she or her followers think. Goodluck and may the highest bidder win.

  72. Marygayle October 4, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    I know this is an old post, but just wanted to put my two cents in.

    Kat is a kind, amazing, talented artist! Yes, I make these coats now because she was kind enough to share her tutorial. She doesn’t mind that we make them, especially for those of us that sew and can’t afford to purchase one. For me, I have been sewing longer than she has been alive and am an excellent seamstress if I do say so myself. However, I was inspired by her designs and bought her tutorial. All she asks is that we say somewhere on our sites that we were inspired by her. In my book, you can’t get any nicer than that. I am attempting to sell my designs on my Etsy site, http://www.etsy.com/shop/EarthCoats, however, have not sold one. 😦 So, yep, she is an amazing business person! My hat off to Kat. I have my own way now of sewing my coats, hoodies, gloves, etc. I now also sew leg warmers. I have other items that are not yet listed as I will be vending in a few months at an event and well, need something to sell. The reason I only have a few items on my site is I want them to be custom ordered so that when you receive your item, it is your size. I understand why Kat does not do this. She is overwhelmed by the sales and doesn’t have the time to do custom. I wish I had that problem. Yes, I have an item on my site that states, Deposit Only, Custom Item. It is a sample of what I can sew for you. You contact me and we discuss size, design, color, etc. You get exactly what you want. No, none of us can exactly “copy Kat” as each item is unique because of the nature of the used sweaters these coats are made from. I can’t even copy myself because I will never find the exact same sweaters again to duplicate it. Do we complain when we have a choice in cars, phones, televisions, etc. Nope, we don’t because we have choices in the products and prices which keeps any one company from becoming a monopoly. Something else I will be doing different than Kat is offering a men’s and children’s line, even dogs!

    So, in wrapping up, please don’t complain about Kat, she is wonderful in my book and don’t complain about all of us out there that are “copy Kats”. We each bring our own unique design to this wonderful creation of Katwise!

  73. Marygayle October 4, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    Oh, one more thing, even if I never sell an item, it’s okay as I am having so much fun creating them. If I just do it for myself, friends and family, that will be okay. Sure, I would like to make some money at this, but if not, oh well. I just thank Katwise for the inspiration to have some fun with my sewing. Another item I am putting out now will be for belly dance wear made on this idea of the upcycled clothing with serged stitches! Thanks again Kat!

  74. helen August 11, 2014 at 8:07 pm #

    I cant sleep so I just read all of this for fun so I guess I may be as sad as all the pointless moaners on here. I just googled KatWise as she is my craft hero. I can’t afford her coats but as an artist appreciate that she has put loads of time and effort into making them. I can just kind of tell that she really cares about her customers. She seems like a lovely hippy soul full of colour and life. That is what I love. I love colour and life. It is awesome to make a living doing what you love. There will always be people who don’t understand this. Cynical people who think with their wallets and not their hearts. They get jealous and need to have a little bitch. I am glad to see as many nice people on this forum defending the forces of craft and beauty. It is great people have been inspired by someone so creative and talented. She will get a buzz from that. To all those cynics I hope you get a little joy in your lives and open up your imaginations so you can make some real craft rather than putting down a real crafter. I share Kat’s pics sometimes in the craft group I set up on facebook for inspiration. Thanks for being a force of creativity and positivity Kat. I just really wish you did wedding dresses like I messaged a while back. I will have to get a copy Kat to do one. haha xxxxx

Leave a Reply

