PinPinApparel

20 Jul
Found this new shop while playing a favorite Etsy game, Pouncing for Resellers, waiting for my laundry to dry:
Their shop announcement is their website, and the addy of their website is in every listing.
where you can purchase her clothing for a few dollars cheaper than in her Etsy shop, a no-no!
The Etsy shop has no Profile or Policies pages, but the website has this About page:
I guess this is Etsy’s version of a ‘collective’ where a designer in the US farms out the real work of making garments to a Third World country.  If I want to buy clothing made in Thailand, I can go to a mall store.  Are their really no people in Washington state who can construct tailored garments?
Pretty sure this is NOT a ‘reseller’ by Etsy’s standards.  But seeing the website ticked me off, so I thought I’d send it in for consideration.
20 Responses to “PinPinApparel”

  1. cynicallyopenminded July 20, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I reported them. I think you’re right in that this shop could be called a collective. The photos have that “resellerish” look.

  2. TootieSkates July 21, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    She also has entropycustom and entropycustomapparel. I don’t think this is a collective at all.

  3. DOH! July 21, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    reseller item on the FP right now.

    I would think handmade twig pencils would cost more if you factor in supplies, time and labor.

    But since they added the vintage doilies they tagged them as vintage.o_O

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/63372214/twig-pencils-with-vintage-doilies?ref=fp_treasury_2

    i found them at amazon..
    http://www.amazon.com/Twig-Pencils-Twig-uums-Whimsical-Inches/dp/B004EG4VLU

  4. Life During Wartime July 21, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    entropycustomapparel has no current listings or sold listing transactions, so I have no idea what their shop looked like. For some reason, though, I keep thinking they were called out at some point?

    entropycustom shows these sold items:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/EntropyCustom/sold
    which were a bunch of jewelry the shop owner purchased in Asia and resold, listed as handmade. I am wondering if Etsy closed the two entropy shops for reselling? I am going to see if I can find any old callout comments about the entropy shops.

  5. Yuck July 21, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    They can’t be a collective if they are in different locations. There are no more items listed so it looks like Etsy removed them already.

  6. Life During Wartime July 21, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Wow, Yuck, that was fast!

    How about a fauxtique on the front page as I type:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/75370140/vintage-shadowbox-chalkboard-made-of-a?ref=fp_treasury_11

    An old drawer coated with chalkboard paint is a new, handmade, item — not vintage. Folks who choose the Treasuries to be featured on the FP are still not clear about what “vintage” means or is. How about we have them write out the dos and don’ts on a chalkboard painted door, like 1000 times?

  7. cynicallyopenminded July 21, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    The tags categorize it as Vintage, yet another one says modern. Well done.

  8. Rachel July 21, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    there is a seller that I need to “call out.” But I’m not sure how to go along with it. She has cheated me and at least one other person that I’ve heard of. What is the proper way to report her?

  9. cynicallyopenminded July 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    etsycallout@hotmail.com

  10. Mick July 22, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Not sure if this is Etsy legal or illegal — but it’s certainly bizarre:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/78194946/fairport-high-school-class-of-2001-10

  11. WittyBird July 22, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    Is the *report this item* button at Etsy not working for you too?
    Another bug?
    Or is it just me?

  12. TheBargainBabe July 22, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    Who buys a high school reunion ticket from etsy? That is odd.

  13. Life During Wartime July 22, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    DOH!, wrapping pieces of vintage doileis around reseller pencils is NOT a vintage item. It is hand-assembled, so is okay as handmade on Etsy. Vintage misuse, rather than reselling.

    The reunion ticket…WTF? Isn’t that what Facebook is for?

  14. MegansBeadedDesigns July 22, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I wonder if I would be welcome if I bought a ticket… LOL

  15. Life During Wartime July 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    1990s dress sold from current front page treasury:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/78041020/vintage-dotted-line-dress?image_id=257917204

    Baseball neck, blue with tiny white dots — 1990s trends.

  16. DOH! July 22, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I just had to share this treasury..

    I didn’t make it but it is damn funny.

    It started b/c 2 different shops purchased treasury showcases and used the same reseller photo

    From there a whole can of worms opened.

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury/NTI1Nzg3MHw0ODA1NTAxMTY/hello-world-theres-a-song-that-were

  17. DOH! July 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    uggh..ETSY just deleted the treasury I posted above.
    I wish I had a screenshot.

    The treasury was of all the silver lariat “HANDMADE” bird necklaces

    like these for example
    http://www.etsy.com/search/handmade?search_submit=&ref=auto&q=silver+lariat+bird+necklace

  18. jobradleyviamargutta51 July 22, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    In regards to the high school class reunion being held in Rochester: is that New York, Minnesota, Washington, Michigan OR ??? I couldn’t resist flagging it. I wish I could make money selling “tickets” to an undisclosed location.

    I had no idea the mod bird lariat necklace was so popular! Prices from $10 to $34 on nearly identical items consisting of the chubby birdie and the leaf branch. Exactly the reason why I stopped making and selling jewelry in my shop, over saturation and very few sales. Things were very different on etsy 5 years ago.

  19. EtsyVigilante July 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    An entire shop of Faux Vintage “My Painted Porch” http://www.etsy.com/shop/mypaintedporch1

  20. Life During Wartime July 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    mypaintedporch isn’t doing anything against the rules on Etsy. She is listing her handmade signs as Handmade-Housewares. You are allowed on Etsy to call anything ‘vintage’ in your titles, and use ‘vintage’ in your tags anywhere, for anything handmade, as long as you don’t put it in the Vintage category. Confusing to shoppers, maybe. Or even misleading. But perfectly legal on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

