lepetitminou, silversmithhk, aprimiao

14 Aug

I found something really weird. How is it that these three separate sellers are all selling the SAME “handmade” ring? I would have never known had it not shown up several times in my search:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/67753732/kitty-on-fingers
http://www.etsy.com/listing/48313680/cat-925-silver-ring
http://www.etsy.com/listing/52644378/lazy-cat-ring-white

18 Responses to “lepetitminou, silversmithhk, aprimiao”

  1. Life During Wartime August 14, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    The Profile for silversmithhk says their stuff is made by their own artisan, so no claims by the shop owner to make the items. Looks to me like three people in cubicles in Hong Kong setting up shops to sell for the same manufacturer.

    But I love that kitty ring. Too bad I don’t wear rings (I do too much with my hands, not being a lady of leisure). I adore it when I see a kitty sleeping with their arms out like that. Neither one of my current cats does that very often…I think to spite me LOL

  2. sickofcupcakes August 15, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    That giant ring would drive me crazy!!

  3. angry jeweler August 15, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    descriptions are almost identical – looks like a reseller trying to hedge their bets by opening multiple shops..

  4. elizabeth August 15, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    Did you notice that every shop ships from Hong Kong? Those may be handmade by somebody but not by each seller. I’m kind of surprised at how expensive they are, usually the Hong Kong stuff would be like 3.99.

  5. DeClawed August 15, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Manufactured crap. They will sell plenty, when the price comes down to $9.95

  6. EtsyVigilante August 15, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    It may be time for a “kitty ring” treasury.

  7. jjobradleyviamargutta51 August 15, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Obviously the same seller: same photo location (wood table), all minimal descriptions and tags are identical. Two undisclosed shops, looks like reseller BS to me. I’ll bet the .925 sterling isn’t legit either. More mass produced crap for cat themed treasuries.

  8. Rachel August 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    How do I post on here?

    I want to do a post on Dear Golden Vintage, who is claiming this 1960s dress is 1930’s. It is not 1930’s and I fully believe she know this. She’s ripping people off…AGAIN.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/79809072/vintage-1930s-dress-deco-print-chiffon

  9. Wolf August 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Identical descriptions- right down to the exact same phrasing of ring sizes and how long it takes.

    AND silversmithhk- who wants to bet ‘hk’ stands for ‘hong Kong’???- and aprimiao use the exact same photos. I’m thinking not only a Reseller, but a Reseller with 3 shops. Extra padding for Etsy, I’m sure, since legitimate sellers are leaving.

  10. Amy August 16, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    SO here is something I found browsing vintage. Not sure if it is a reseller or just mistagging:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/spookcityarts

    All of their prints say that they are new reproductions, so they shouldn’t be listed in vintage. But, do they do the prints themselves or resell?

  11. Life During Wartime August 16, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Amy, the posters are NOT vintage. All the listings I looked at said ‘new print’. The seller is dating them by when they were originally designed. There is nothing in the shop I read to tell whether the seller makes the prints himself, or not. Looks like a situation for Etsy to deal with, so go ahead and report this shop. Even if he makes the prints, he needs to get them out of Vintage.

  12. whydoibother August 17, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    In seller profile: “…know me for my spooktacular artwork that I creat …”

    He “creates” the posters by inkjet printing. No design work involved, no illustration, only direct scan or copy/print.

    Cheesy to take credit for real artists’ imagination and artwork.

    Shitty, in fact.

  13. DeClawed August 17, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    flagged those repro posters, using the descriptions as proof I doubt they will go anywhere, as they are doing quite well, frankly.

    Completely wrong to be in vintage, and handmade is debatable only if you are very open minded.

  14. TootieSkates August 18, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Aren’t there copyright implications here as well?

  15. JK August 18, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    Unrelated, but I was browsing Heartsy today and noticed they’ve added a ‘Report this shop’ link. Interesting!

Leave a Reply

