how ’bout them apples?

20 Sep

Browsing for Green Apples and found 5 shops selling exactly the same necklace.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/79349308/pretty-retro-copper-green-resin-apple

http://www.etsy.com/listing/80310245/who-ate-my-apple-green-apple-necklace

http://www.etsy.com/listing/80801300/green-apple-eaten-off-bardian-necklace

http://www.etsy.com/listing/80633633/green-apple-eaten-off-bardian-necklace

http://www.etsy.com/listing/81892129/retro-style-fashion-big-apple-necklace

34 Responses to “how ’bout them apples?”

  1. Discord Threads September 20, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Ah, and no big surprise that they are all from CHINA! And what the heck is ‘vintage like’???

    Oh lookie at this new ipad. I rubbed it in the dirt, so now it is VINTAGE LIKE!!!

  2. QueefLatina September 20, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Please someone do a treasury of the vintage like pieces.

  3. still looking for HONEST Handmade Crafts Seller site September 20, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    yeah. all from china, all have same chain, so they can’t even claim it’s “handmade”.

    GO ETSY! 😀

  4. Life During Wartime September 20, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Vintage, antique or retro is a standard reseller key word for new factory made jewelry in a contemporary style. But what the fark is ‘bardian’? Two of the resellers use that word.

  5. Life During Wartime September 20, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Shop selling vintage clothing, and listing their ‘reworked’ items as vintage, too.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/69961130/vintage-80s-reworked-black-floral-lace

  6. Life During Wartime September 20, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    A table full of repainted brass listed as vintage:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/82195690/vintage-painted-brass-candlesticks

  7. Life During Wartime September 20, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Shop full of altered items that belong in handmade:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MandolinGoose?ref=seller_info

    These things are flooding the vintage category today!

  8. Pam September 20, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Bizarre. I had a red one back in the late ’60’s they must have revived the old mold. I believe mine was made in China as well. Nauseating. This kind of thing always makes me want to trap the Chinese Ambassador to the U.S. in an elevator and make him explain WHY the people in his country can’t seem to respect the rest of the freaking WORLD!?
    I need to know WHY they feel that they can’t compete unless they are stealing, cheating and aggressively lying. And the bullshit excuse about how it’s their “culture” is so old it stinks. They’re like freaking insects, one finds something interesting and then before you know it there’s too many heaping on the thing to even see what it was.

  9. Life During Wartime September 20, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Reseller found on Regretsy:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/dramaofgiftedlife

  10. Dee September 20, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    yup, those apple necklaces all have the exact same curb chain. These don’t even qualify as “charm on a chain” handmade by the etsy rules.

    Shame on Etsy for not scramming these shops outta there and shame on the buyers, buying up this cheap carp.

  11. PussDaddy September 20, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Looks like it was a bumper crop this year.

  12. imwithya September 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Wow Pam. That was offensive. Insects? Really? I don’t want the resellers on Etsy either but I mostly blame Etsy for allowing them to stay, plus the people who buy stuff because it’s cheap and don’t care about quality, where it was made, or who made it.

    The majority of resellers on Etsy are not the manufacturers of the items they sell. They’re just people who bought stuff cheap in their country and are trying to make a buck selling it to those who have money to spend on clothing, jewelry and accessories. I can’t really blame them (well, sometimes I do). But I can blame Etsy for NOT enforcing its own rules.

  13. QueefLatina September 21, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    If these resellers had any moral fiber, they would follow the rules and etsy wouldn’t to do so much enforcement. The blame lays squarely and righfully on the resellers. I would call them much, much worse.

  14. Pam September 21, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    My apologies to any insects that I may have offended. I beg your pardon all.

  15. MegansBeadedDesigns September 21, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    Gotta love the web address plastered all over the photos. If Etsy won’t take proof that the item is a resell, then the address should be reason enough to at least take the listing down.

  16. Life During Wartime September 21, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    toofashion dot net redirects to the Etsy shop, so I am not sure that Etsy would have a problem with it being shown on the photos. In itself, that is not a proof of reselling. Wish it was!

  17. Life During Wartime September 21, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    More vintage hilarity on the front page:

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/80027463/vintage-brass-door-knob-wire-picture?ref=fp_treasury_3

    This is a handmade picture holder, made with an old door knob. Etsy = stoopid.

  18. imwithya September 21, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    I still blame Etsy. For allowing blatant resellers to stay, and for constantly featuring mass produced items, faux vintage and barely handmade stuff all over the front page and finds. If English was my second language (or first language for god’s sake) and I came to the site, I don’t think I would be able to tell what was supposed to sold there. It’s a fucking free-for-all.

    And yes, there are lots who knowingly break the rules. But comparing all Chinese people to insects is disgusting Pam. What about all the cute American girls with vintage shops selling well photographed rusty forks for $85 because they’ve jumped all over the latest Etsy trend of the month. Are they insects too? As long as people buy stupid shit, people will continue to sell it.

  19. DungBeetle September 21, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Thank you for your apology Pam. Can’t we all just get a dong?

  20. Pam September 21, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    No worries DungBeetle, I was just callin’ ’em like I see ’em. I can’t avoid it, I’m a NYC born Jersey Girl. It’s the way of my people.

  21. Pam September 21, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    @imwithya:
    I suppose we all have different ideas of what is disgusting. Personally I find the eating of companion animals disgusting. I saw a doco recently where the British host found an entire street in China dedicated to eating dogs. I gather from what was said, that Brown dog is a favorite. I don’t know that my German Shepherd would appreciate that any more than I do. I suppose feline is too regular a dish to be favored with a street of “restaurants” I guess DISGUSTING is all in the eye of the beholder.
    Oh and while I’m on the subject, let us all keep in mind that to Etsy WE are the food. They do not care about fair, or rules, or integrity. They care about the money, and whomever is best at bringing that home to them is just fine.

  22. Pam September 21, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    NICE treasury Thud! And one of the featured sellers has commented!

  23. Dee September 22, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Nice Treasury! Of course, 2 of the items have sold already. I can’t believe people buy this cheap stuff!

  24. Life During Wartime September 22, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    What imwithya said!!!

    Yes, Etsy is at fault. The resellers from China have done a super job copying the favored Etsy look in their photos, and use all the trendy tags Etsy recommends. And shops shipping from China are not the only shops reselling the same items. How many shops that special in Wedding items are at least partial resellers? I see vintage shops mailing from the USA every day listing housewares as ‘vintage’ that are still being sold retail, or clothing and shoes from companies that didn’t do business with that name until this century. It’s a disgrace. I can’t blame the Chinese sellers from trying to get a piece of the action on a site where the rules are rarely enforced.

  25. TharSheBlows September 22, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    People with no taste is the foundation of the Etsy niche.

  26. pajac September 22, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Not sure how to share another reseller so I’m doing this. This shop is soooo a reseller. I have reported to Etsy several times. I have found every item in this shop on Ali Baba. Come on, Etsy should be able to recognize the blantant reseller. Selling “handmade gemstone jewelry” free freight and many items under $5-come on people. Definitely sweat shop made at the expense of the legitimate handmade shops on Etsy

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/jewelry1016

  27. Pam September 23, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    It seems that there are too many out there that either do not understand, or do not want to see that Etsy is NOT Ebay. Either that or Ebay just isn’t enough and they want to grab as much as they can, as quickly as possible before someone else gets the money. Ruthless and dirty business practices are the only way they know, and I will NEVER get over my resentment for these types that are doing their best to ruin the only viable venue for quality handmade products. And I CAN blame everyone that is cheating, because they are cheating us ALL. If they want to sell on Etsy then let them make something by hand rather than sell RUBBISH. There is no excuse. The rules are clear.

  28. Foundit4u September 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    All 5 stores are probably the same seller…

  29. GernBlanston September 24, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    Pam, you are preaching to the choir. I hear ya, and I feel ya. Here my theory: Etsy staffers were raised in this period of “everyone gets a trophy so noone’s feelings get hurt”. This means that they are too scared to be ruthless in their enforcement of the rules. They can’t make good business decisions because they aren’t really running a business.

  30. Pam September 25, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    I agree with that theory GernBlanston! I remember getting really annoyed when my own daughters brought home what we all called loser ribbons.
    I just get so enraged when I see that I put hours into a handmade product only to have some sneaky, thieving reseller come and not only take all the sales by undercutting us all, but they make my products look cheap as well! Etsy is the worlds biggest flea market. I think the only way to remedy the whole mess would be to split the site up and not mix handmade with ANYTHING else. But I don’t see that ever happening, they make too much money the way they have it.

  31. Life During Wartime September 26, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Pam and Gern, I think your reasoning is spot on! A couple of years ago when HeyMichelle posted in the forums about her concern that resellers might be financially harmed by being found out, I thought I was seeing the educationally correct ‘non-competitive games’ concept applied to business.

    I have yet to see anyone from the Etsy staff talk about how the presence of resellers or faux vintage shops on Etsy financially harms professional vintage sellers and artists/crafters who follow all the rules.

    Handmade does not need to be separated from vintage and supplies, IMO. The rules could be effectively enforced as they are now. I notice that the job listing for Marketplace Integrity Manager on Etsy is STILL open. Nobody wants to walk across that minefield LOL

  32. timwii October 9, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Hi, I’d just like to say that if there were large amounts of cheap factor-made jewellery round the corner from my house, I’d be tempted to sell it on Etsy. It’s horrible and it’s greedy, but it’s human trait, not an Asian one. I’m white and British.

Leave a Reply

