RareEarth

15 Nov

This entire shop:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/RareEarth

buys most everything premade from Stuller, a wholesaler. Even the customizations are available from that company.

Theirs: http://www.etsy.com/listing/79547270/14k-morganite-amethyst-gemstone-earrings
Stuller’s: http://www.stuller.com/products/68510/?groupId=108972

Theirs: http://www.etsy.com/listing/79594441/swiss-blue-topaz-diamond-ring-14k-white
Stuller’s: http://www.stuller.com/products/67078/?groupId=93114 (the picture is mirrored)

Theirs: http://www.etsy.com/listing/84312814/14k-rose-gold-diamond-ring-diamond
Stuller’s: http://www.stuller.com/products/67809/?groupId=103627

and on and on

26 Responses to “RareEarth”

  1. DonCholodecki November 15, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Counterfeit seller:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/justinaudo?ref=seller_info

  2. Discord Threads November 15, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    what exactly is stuller? would love to see the price from stuller vs theirs….i set the stone myself….what BS!!!

  3. Life During Wartime November 15, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Discord, if you look at the links in the callout comparing Stuller to the Etsy shop, the items shown on the Stuller pages have no prices. Just text telling you contact Stuller to find a jeweler that sells this item to the public retail. That is pretty good proof IMO that RareEarth is a reseller. Not to mention that Stuller is located in Louisiana and RareEarth is in SF, so they are not the same company with Etsy being their retail shop.

    This is a great callout. Etsy cannot say there are no long term reseller shops on the site and be taken seriously.

  4. PIF November 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    No doubt this shop will become an Etsy favorite. Already seem in the gift guide pages.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/limoryaron?ref=pr_shop_more

    It first of all links every product to their website where you buy them there. But their products are not made by them. Their candles: “Manufactured by “Yotzrim Or” a Candle factory that occupies mentally challenged people. Part of the non-profit organization “Shekulo Tov”

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/34707181/train-candles-colorful-and-scented-set
    http://www.limoryaron.com/Train_Candles.html

  5. Isay I say November 15, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Do you ever wonder if a side effect from Hipster, is not being able to see resellers?
    It’s like a disorder I swear to GAWD! They have Hipster blindness!

  6. DonCholodecki November 15, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/FramboiseChocolatVtg?ref=seller_info

    Love the Chanel Kiera Knightly necklace. Just one piece of crap among many.

  7. Life During Wartime November 15, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Lately you can browse the Vintage category, shown by recency, and just watch the clothing and accessories violations load. By the dozens. No one is watching.

    Any shop listing items as vintage that uses the names of major designers, famous recent brands, or contemporary pop culture figures is so easy to find. This has to be a case of deliberately ignoring rule breakers IMO.

  8. WittyBird November 15, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I am SO tired of Etsy being called Hipsters!
    They are not Hipsters!
    Hipsters wear striped tights & carry their feelings journal around in their dirty backpacks because it’s who they are, it’s what they are.

    Not Etsy..
    Etsy wears black horn rimmed glasses and wrinkly un-ironed natural fiber clothes, stratching at their dry shampoo’ed heads because they got the memo from Corporate to do so! They got “word” on their plushie phones on what the new trend item is going to be. They aren’t hipsters – the name hipster implies that they are at least HIP!

    They are..Corporate Hippies!
    Bought and sold. Boring, smug, and smelly.
    Corporate Hippies..or ..Corppies! ( pronounced Corp Peas )

    oh man..I like that! Corppies! : D

  9. cynicallyopenminded November 15, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    I read that as Crappies.

  10. Life During Wartime November 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    OMG when I read Corppies, I thought of the Carpy character from the film AUTO FOCUS, about Bob Crane. Eeeew! And LMAO!

    I agree with the observation that Etsy’s oddness is corporate in nature. With the increasing influence of the investors on the feel of the site — and the Big Brother like Merchandising Desk — Etsy is too commercial to be really considered Hipster any longer. If Etsy were truly Hipster, the resellers like the Chinese faux vintage style pocket watch jewelry people would stand out more as not belonging on Etsy.

  11. michele November 15, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    think this one might be a reseller:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/VintageBazaarhk?ref=seller_info

  12. Life During Wartime November 15, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    michele, yup — that is a reseller. An online accessories and jewelry shop, probably none of which are made by the seller.

  13. dinger November 16, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Etsy staff are just plain ignorant. They must hire based upon personality and the abiity to bullshit the bullshitters.

  14. JK November 16, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Hipsters are all about artifice — lensless glasses, fake mustaches, pretend poverty — so I think Etsy’s promotion and allowing of resellers under the guise of handmade is totally in keeping with the hipster aesthetic.

  15. Rare Earth November 17, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    This is Rare Earth. I am not a reseller and my shop was completely vetted by etsy some time ago. I provided over 30 photos of my supplies, my gemstones, my tools, shop and jewelry in process. I am a gem setter. That’s what I do, and if you don’t think that’s an art form, I beg to differ. It takes many, many years to master.

    In addition to custom designs using Rhino, I do use some commercially available settings, as do many other people, including those of you who use components available from manufacturers such as Rio Grande and Hoover & Strong. I also import all of my own gemstones, which is clearly noted in my listings. I use these stones in my own designs and sell them wholesale to other artisans on etsy through my gem shop http://www.rareearthgems.etsy.com

    I am no different than those of you who use any commercially available materials, be it yarn from a yarn store, or sterling silver clasps from Fire Mountain. My work is completely within the guidelines of etsy.

  16. GRRRRR November 17, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    awww is that why your shop announcement says you are revamping your shop?? Hmmmm common thing resellers do when they are caught is empty their shop and hide when Etsy finds out or when they are in fear etsy will find out…..

  17. Rare Earth November 17, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I am not hiding at all. LOL That message is for my customers. I routinely roll up my shop in late November as most pieces take four weeks to complete and I can’t meet Christmas deadlines. I found that out my first year on etsy, when I got orders all the way up to December 23 expecting Christmas delivery.

    Since becoming aware of this post here, I have been in contact with integrity@etsy.com. They already have documentation on file that I’m not a reseller. I was told during my last communication with them that a notation would be added to my file, so that any reports by well meaning “reporters” wouldn’t result in a shop closure.

    I am a long time etsy supporter and have been very active in the forums over the years. Things aren’t always what they appear. That’s why I’m glad etsy reviews reports and allows the shop owners to respond.

  18. Hollie Moore November 18, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    To Rare Earth:
    I feel that you may really be a gem setter. However, your pictures and the Stueller wholesale site are identical. So, it makes it hard to believe. If your using all of the supplies from Stuller, you should take your own pictures and not copy and paste the picture from the wholesaler. This would make it seem less commercial and more personal on your behalf. I personally make all of my own items or sell authentic vintage items. i spend almost as much time making thins as I do taking my own pictures just right. I really hate resellers and I personally reported your shop because it was definately looking like a commercial reseller with your presentation.

  19. WittyBird November 18, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Yes,
    PRESENTATION.

    Take your own pictures, that would save egg on face.

  20. Fake November 18, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Do you ever wonder if a side effect from Hipster, is not being able to see resellers?
    It’s like a disorder I swear to GAWD! They have Hipster blindness!

    ________________________

    hehe. hipsteritis

  21. Fake November 18, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Since becoming aware of this post here, I have been in contact with integrity@etsy.com. They already have documentation on file that I’m not a reseller. I was told during my last communication with them that a notation would be added to my file, so that any reports by well meaning “reporters” wouldn’t result in a shop closure.

    __________________

    This statement by rare earth says a lot. Does this mean Etsy does not re-investigate resellers?

  22. Life During Wartime November 20, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Many artisan jewelers use some commercial suppliers, including those that have online stores, but do not use their suppliers’ photos in listings for their handmade jewelry. Beadwork artisans use commercial patterns to make jewelry to sell, but they don’t use illustrations of the finished item shown in the pattern when they list their own version for sale.

    In the case of fine jewelry at a higher price point, I cannot understand not being able to pay someone to take your own stock photos rather than borrowing from a site that both sells supplies and wholesale finished jewelry. The risk of being misunderstood, for me, would seem to great.

  23. Life During Wartime November 20, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Fake, an interesting comment and your observation! So if Etsy were to vet shops before opening, as some forum cupcakettes have been requesting, those vetted shops would have a pass to do whatever once they opened. Integrity, Etsy style?

  24. Opine Jewelry & Accessories May 13, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    gains. If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  25. Derek June 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    sounds like some of you are just jealous rareEarth is able to sell $1000+ jewelry on Etsy and not you… Who cares if they’re a reseller or not.. The pieces look terribly ugly and overpriced. If the customers are that stupid to buy from them, let them be. I’m sure there are thousands of stores online they could buy similar items from also.

  26. hF2unfybUzs July 7, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    92020 905897Currently it seems like BlogEngine may be the finest blogging platform out there proper now. (from what Ive read) Is that what you are making use of on your weblog? 772983

Leave a Reply

