jodieholdman

18 Nov

Here’s a seller who calls her self out in her shop name: “Real Pretend Vintage” http://www.etsy.com/shop/jodieholdman

All handmade items as she claims? Here’s some pencils with “China” stamped on them. Maybe she made the box http://www.etsy.com/listing/60634052/box-of-no-2-pencils

12 Responses to “jodieholdman”

  1. Sue November 18, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    I sell “vintage and retro inspired” items.
    All of the artwork and creations are my own,
    and everything I sell is new and un-used.

    Hummmm….. interesting announcement she has~

  2. DJ November 18, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    She does say that they’re vintage inspired, not actually vintage….
    It says she’s a graphic designer, so I’m thinking she makes the boxes for the crayons and pencils. Not sure about the etsy legality of this, however.

  3. Sue November 18, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    You may be right DJ

  4. Discord Threads November 18, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    I HATE the term new vintage or vintage like! Wouldn’t the term REPRODUCTION really be more appropriate… The boxes are cute, but NOT paying $3.25 plus shipping for a box of 12 pencils. I can get twice that for under a dollar in a plain box.

    Some of the sweaters I use for my designs were vintage, so maybe I should start calling my newly made, upcycled clothing and accessories vintage-like or new-vintage too!!!

  5. Life During Wartime November 18, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I am not sure why this shop is being called out? The seller makes the graphics for all the items she sells. Putting her designs on a box filled with commercial crayons is okay for handmade on Etsy AFAIK. The only issue I see in her shop is her 20 cent announcement listing because it is not an item for sale. Otherwise, she looks okay to me.

  6. wigged out November 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Thanks to this callout I found a great seller on Etsy. Her stuff is completely adorable.

  7. stephanie November 18, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    I agree with Life During Wartime – I see nothing wrong with this shop, in fact it’s a cute idea. I do hate the term new vintage – reminds of shabby chic — so over used. Discord’s use of reproduction sounds so much better.

  8. Trista November 18, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Yeah, I’m not seeing anything wrong this shop. And I think her “pretend vintage” is a really cute idea.

    I’m not a vintage person so I’d actually prefer to own new stuff that has a vintage style like this rather than authentic vintage.

  9. PussDaddy November 19, 2011 at 3:17 am #

    Jelousy breeds comtempt.

  10. PussDaddy November 19, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Can I buy a vowel?

  11. sickofetsyshit November 21, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    *hugging PD and wiping eyes* for that video *wigglewigglewiggle* o m g \\\

    😀

  12. PussDaddy November 23, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m sexy and I know it.

Leave a Reply

