hicolor

1 Jan

I didn’t really care much about jewelry resellers until the day I went searching for peacock feathers and what with Relevancy search, got an entire page of peacock jewelry that was all the same. I had no idea how bad it was. Although since I’ve kept track, there are new shops opening every day with the same crap. Absolutely I agree that Etsy is aware of this, they must be sick of owl (fox, robot,peacock, camera) charms as much as we are.

Its a bit harder to catch those that rephotograph the items or Charm on Chain people who swap out the chain and then sell it at a huge markup. Like
American http://www.etsy.com/shop/waterwaif http://www.etsy.com/transaction/64356254 for $24. 00
Or buy it from chinese reseller http://www.etsy.com/shop/hicolor http://www.etsy.com/listing/87565843 for $12.00

21 Responses to “hicolor”

  1. JunkEEE January 1, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    hicolor GONE

  2. susan January 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    How about higirl instead?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/87096129

    70% feedback http://www.etsy.com/people/higirl/feedback?ref=ls_feedback

  3. GRRRRR January 1, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    wow that was fast

  4. luisamila January 2, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Great! It’s gone!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Life During Wartime January 2, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I never saw the hicolor shop, or added them to my jewelry resellers list (up to 38 shops now). It’s odd that Etsy would shut hicolor down so quickly, while leaving all the others open. Considering all of them have items in common which are not being altered or embellished or customized in any way by the sellers.

  6. Life During Wartime January 2, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    waterwaif is not on my jewelry resellers list. She has an offer in the listings for Chinese factory made jewelry to change the chain length. This makes the listing a possible ‘charm on chain’ assembly, so this is probably her teflon coating. There are a handful of US resellers doing the same exact thing. (I smell Etsy coaching here.) It is the same teflon applied to weddings shops that list unaltered items from Save On Crafts with an option to personalize the item at no additional charge.

  7. JK January 2, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    It’s a pretty weak get-out in my opinion, and while I’d like to think that a genuinely creative person wouldn’t lower themselves to that level I can also see how Etsy’s encouragement of resellers could tempt an artist to want to play by those rules.

  8. Life During Wartime January 2, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    higirl shop is on my list. I have found shops reselling unaltered Chinese factory jewelry from China-Hong Kong, countries in the South Pacific, North America and Europe. Some shops took a break from listing during the holidays, so I expect my list to top 50 sellers by the end of this week. I have been using browse-recency to find sellers of these items.

  9. Life During Wartime January 2, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    The FB for this transaction
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/86349378/brass-bicycle-pocket-watch-necklace-with?image_id=287131880
    says the item arrived without the handgun charm. Suggests to me that the sellers are not altering-embellishing the jewelry themselves by adding charms to the items to make them appear ‘handmade’. I think Etsy sellers are requesting a charm be added at the factory to their pieces, which is why you sometimes find the same charm added in exactly the same place on identical pieces in more than one Etsy shop from China. It looks like higirl grabbed a package without the charm by accident and mailed it to an Etsy customer. Busted?

  10. Resellers...AARRGH January 2, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    How about this one?
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/juliexu1?ref=pr_shop_more
    All of her items say” Handmade by juliexu1 and made to order”
    She has been opened less than a month and has already listed 174 items and has had 46 sales.

  11. Life During Wartime January 2, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Good one! I added juliexu1 to the list. 40 shops so far. Yes, juliexu1 is a reseller. She says in her announcement that her items ship from Singapore, but all the listings I saw say the items ships from China — two different countries! Julie’s items are from earlier in 2011, and many are no longer available for wholesale. I found the photos, but the links to ali baba say the items are no longer available. But I found the toucan pendant necklace and the green crystal frog ring on the ali sites and Ebay, and the elephant head necklace is a reseller standard.

  12. Devora January 3, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I care deeply about jewellery resellers as jewellery is my ‘bag’ as it were … Only just found this site and can only congratulate you for your blog!

  13. brickwall January 3, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Glad to see that hicolor and higirl are gone already.
    I have little respect for the ‘charm on chain’ gang of sellers, as JK says, no genuine creativity there.

  14. heather January 3, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    hey @ life during wartime…will you email me your list? I have one also but maybe you have ones I don’t I woul;d like tocross reference them:-)

  15. Christa January 5, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Waterwaif has become a HUGE scammer as of late. She once did her own work but not anymore!!

    here is a few examples. She now sucks..like all the other resellers

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/89713134/eyeglasses-necklace-glasses-nerd-geekery
    I bought this same necklace for A BUCK on eBay from China with free ship lol

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/89663876/binoculars-necklace-antiqued-binocular

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/85272087/sale-camera-locket-necklace-rhinestone

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/88605578/tribal-feather-necklace-turquoise-and

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/87697577/crystal-owl-pendant-necklace-citrine-and

  16. waterwaif January 6, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Yes, I take a lot of flack from friends for selling some hand-assembled items in my shop, especially from my regretsian friends. But it was purely a business decision. Multiple customers and followers would ask for one of the owl necklaces or the ever-popular camera necklace, insisting that they only feel comfortable buying from me. I do switch out chains, shorten and lengthen by request, etc, and make it known in each listing that it is a charm on a chain construction.

    But I’ve been saying for months that Etsy should add a hand-assembled category. I’d be the first person to sing hallelujah if they did that. It would clear up a lot of confusion.

  17. Resellers...AARRGH January 6, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Hey Life During Wartime…do you have all the pashmina sellers on your list? They are my pet peeve along with the “jewelers” that put a chain on a charm and call it their own. (I work in a retail store and put chains on pendants everyday…but don’t claim to have made them! ) BTW..what will you do with your list?

  18. heather January 6, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    we all have lists so that we can watch resellers we have already flagged or as time permits research their itemsorigins/ manufacturers or where else they sell so when a shop says two girls sell 14,000 coats on etsy in 2 years and 10,000 on ebay and have their own web site with 1800 items listed its easier to show its a factory!! maybe war time does something else with theirs Im not sure:-) I don’t like having to have them in my favorites because I don’t want them to have one more admirer than they already do, so I just write them on a list i keep next to my computer…Im not a flag happy idiot I flag things with proof so sometimes I just jot down a shop to check out later:-)

  19. Resellers...AARRGH January 9, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    As far as hanging a charm on a chain and calling it handmade, I , as a former jeweler find it offensive. And as far as going in that direction for a “business decision” I would like to know what the going rate for intregrity is these days.

  20. holly January 28, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    you know, the charm on a chain people don’t piss me off nearly as much as the mass production resellers posing as shops like mine. with charm on a chain, you see what you’re getting. a charm. on a chain. and you’d have to be a pretty big asshat to think it was anything more than what it is. but there are sellers from certain countries out there mass producing elaborate necklaces like some of the items in my shop and selling them for 1/3 the cost. i know because i’ve inspected their creations at the international gem and bead shows where they also sell them. and they sell them for even less than they do on etsy at these shows. the problem with this kind of reseller is that no one suspects. and they’ve killed my business. so now i have a choice to make….put charms on chains, like everyone who shops on etsy seems to want? or try something else? or just give it up and get a job. tough spot, when you have 5 kids to feed. and i don’t believe there’s any lack of integrity in assembling a necklace when etsy allows assembly. they’re not breaking any rules.

Leave a Reply

