ArtPrintsoncanvas, artonlinegallery

23 Jan

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtPrintsoncanvas

they just changed their name to http://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtonlineGallery

Obvious art reseller.

First caught attention of some forum members when he posted asking if he should buy one of his own items in order to get his first sale:

http://www.etsy.com/teams/7714/ideas/discuss/9611881/

Several people questioned whether or not the work was his and his replies were, quite frankly, vague and weird.

He started several other threads, including this one, asking what was wrong with his shop:

http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/9625568/

Several people TOLD him what was wrong with his shop and the thread was closed for calling out. But almost a week later and after being reported, the shop is still up and running. He has changed his profile stating that he is not reselling and that he and his wife paint the paintings…

but a Google Reverse image search on many of these images tell another story altogether:

http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/401485/211271112-502420129/Free-shipping-100-handcraftsart-Oil-painting-Madonna-Virgin-Mary-Child-Christ-24×36-inch.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/90658115/madonna-and-the-infant-religious

He had up several paintings by Andrew Atroshenko, some Disney images, and several photos pulled off free wallpaper sites, but has pulled them down after people in the forums mentioned them specifically. I have screen captures of the Google Cache page from January 13th showing many of these images in his shop.

He has fooled many people in the forums — fawning over how gorgeous his artwork is and hasn’t sold anything yet…but is amassing new favoriters everyday.

It’s sickening that Etsy will take the time to close down threads in the forums where these resellers call themselves out…but won’t shut down the shops themselves.

26 Responses to “ArtPrintsoncanvas, artonlinegallery”

  1. Etsy Vigilante January 23, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Just when you think it can’t get any more far-fetched. Doesn’t Etsy care about it’s credibility? They’re going to become a laughing stock.

  2. ................ January 23, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Yes they are, maybe it is better most people do not know about Etsy

  3. Mike January 23, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    wow – that’s crazy – but have faith – no one is buying his stuff.

  4. Mike January 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MadisonStreetBeauty?section_id=10367940#
    I really question these guys too. They have a ton of sales in a short time. when you google them the reviews they are getting are not happy. people thing they are repackaged. considering the cost of making your own make up ( spent some time looking that up ) it seems odd.

  5. Свилен Павлов January 24, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    But did you saw that it is not the original artwork?!
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/90658115/madonna-and-the-infant-religious
    You gave links for the original one. As I told this painting IS painted by me and it IS handmade. I don’t use the images of the original to make prints with them.The original painting is painted by Gentileschi and I don’t pretend that the original painting is mine. But I pretend that this artwork – the reproduction is created by me!This is called REPRODUCTION and it’s absolutely legitimately.
    The copyright subsist on all original work for 70 years after European artists’ death and 50 years for non-European.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/90658115/madonna-and-the-infant-religious
    So, if you have any claims you can ask me. It’s so shallow to use the blog for similar purposes.
    And i I would like to emphasize that I’m NOT a reseller!

  6. Свилен Павлов January 24, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    Now you can delete my post, because it would be easier for you…..or when the admin asked you to do not use the Etsy Forums to negatively discuss other members and shops you replaced the thread here?
    Only one thing: about the removed items – yes, I’ve removed them because they are reproductions also (painted by me!!!), about Disney – sorry I didn’t know that I have no right, so I deleted them, about all other paintings – yes, they are originals, ORIGINAL ARTWORKS, which are copyrighted by me!
    Sometimes it’s easier to apologize.

  7. Свилен Павлов January 24, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    Аnd if you want to be really useful, there are many other stores that much more deserve to be discussed.

    Svilen Pavlov

  8. Свилен Павлов January 24, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    But did you saw that it is not the original artwork?!
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/90658115/madonna-and-the-infant-religious
    You gave links for the original one. As I told this painting IS painted by me and it IS handmade. I don’t use the images of the original to make prints with them.The original painting is painted by Gentileschi and I don’t pretend that the original painting is mine. But I pretend that this artwork – the reproduction is created by me!This is called REPRODUCTION and it’s absolutely legitimately.
    The copyright subsist on all original work for 70 years after European artists’ death and 50 years for non-European.
    So, if you have any claims you can ask me. It’s so shallow to use the blog for similar purposes.
    And i I would like to emphasize that I’m NOT a reseller!

  9. DonCholodecki January 24, 2012 at 3:53 am #

    I don’t believe for a second this guy or his “wife” paint a thing. The whole thing screams reseller.

  10. moi January 24, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    Re. madison, they are social networking genius’s. Maybe that’s why they have sold so much.

  11. SingSong January 24, 2012 at 5:55 am #

    I believe that the guy and his wife probably did paint all that.

  12. Kick The Can January 24, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Madison keeps adding me to their circle, then taking me out and adding me again so I frequently see their shop at the top of the circle listing. Next time they do it I’ll block them. There are a couple of shops that do that, presumably as a form of “promotion”.

  13. jobradley January 24, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Madison is currently favoriting EVERY purse and handbag in the vintage section (over 200+ pages of them just TONIGHT) so that she appears in activity feeds of all these shops. She currently has over 10,700 PAGES of favorite items. It’s a marketing ploy that I find annoying as she’s “favorited” most of the vintage jewelry in my shop, too. She also comments on numerous treasuries everyday. I think her products are probably legit and they sell like crazy since several other well known make-up shops are no longer on etsy. There is a big market for her product.

  14. Etsy Vigilante January 24, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    They’re baaack – faux vintage at Penny’s WdWsDesignTrends – reselling the same mass-produced baskets that she was previously outed for – can’t find the original call out – think she had them in her other shop which now appears closed : http://www.etsy.com/listing/90354823/industrial-galvanized-wire-storage

  15. nelle January 24, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    If I could paint that well I’d be painting original material not copies of others. What is the point?

  16. jobradley January 24, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    He’s changed the name of his shop today: http://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtonlineGallery

  17. Trista January 24, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    “Where all items are handmade with love…”
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BeQuest23
    Fake Coach bags listed as handmade, and the item titles even admit that they’re fakes.

  18. JK January 24, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Ah, Madison Street; I heard that Gina Silva (formerly known as Georgiana Grey of Le Gothique) was going to blow the lid off that one before she scurried off into her own little scandal. Too bad; I was looking forward to that one!

  19. ChargeIT! January 24, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    I was wondering what was going on with Madison Street, they favorited every purse in my shop,
    I saw their other store doing the same with other items in my shop too…such a weird type of promotion..it’s just weird!
    Here’s the other shop:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MadisonStreetVintage

  20. BigDaddy January 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Those rings sold by Madison are pure trash. Either they are made in third world country sweatshops, or Madison found a huge stash of carnival jewelry. Either way, those rings look like a health danger. Don’t lick the rings!

  21. Kick The Can January 25, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    Madison is also Cuff and Collar, another one that keeps spamming my circle. I thought you could block people from adding you to their circle, but for the life of me I can’t figure out how. Anybody know?

  22. brickwall January 26, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    Kick The Can,
    If you click on the shop that has circled you, you will be taken to their profile page. At the bottom, on the left side you will see ‘Block (name of shop)’.

  23. Kick The Can January 26, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    THANK YOU brickwall!

  24. Christa January 26, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    How can he resell a custom made item? And you do know, people on alibaba steal images from real sellers right? LOL

  25. Life During Wartime January 28, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Yet another ‘look at me, look at me’ thread from this seller:
    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7722/business-topics/discuss/9691790/page/1/

  26. rattriffic January 31, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    I love when people call themselves out or are beign complete trolls and we still get yelled at by etsy admin….such a freeking joke!!!

Leave a Reply

