Super Bowl Entrepreneurs

9 Feb

in honor of the Giants’ Super Bowl win, let’s see how some Etsy “entrepreneurs” are taking advantage. These are NOT items handmade with licensed fabric, they are bootleg reproduction logos. I’m sure the NFL would not be thrilled.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/91633039/the-nfc-champion-new-york-giants-t
http://www.etsy.com/listing/91255835/new-york-giants-image
http://www.etsy.com/listing/91123948/ny-new-york-giants-helmet-shaped-cutting
http://www.etsy.com/listing/89908615/sale-15-inch-custom-made-new-york-giants
http://www.etsy.com/listing/83441907/new-york-giants-personalized-framed
http://www.etsy.com/listing/88976330/eli-manning-new-york-giants-graphic If you blow up the photo, you see a (c) National Football League notation below the graphic. So does this t-shirt printer have a contract with the NFL?
http://www.etsy.com/listing/91834852/new-york-giants-inspired-bottle-cap
http://www.etsy.com/listing/89272782/riddell-color-chrome-pocket-helmet-ny This is in vintage, and it is licensed. However, the packaging reads, “Visit nfl.com.” Twenty years old?

Just a tiny sample. I got sick of looking at them.

26 Responses to “Super Bowl Entrepreneurs”

  1. Life During Wartime February 9, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    Obviously the Marketplace Integrity Team at Etsy was busy at work ordering food for their Super Bowl parties rather than looking for opportunistic listing violations. But wait…Etsy’s employees don’t do anything really to monitor what gets listed even if no one is planning a party. I don’t think the NFL had a dot com in 1992.

  2. mari February 9, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    So sick of this! There are entirely too many non handmade items now. And this kind of thing is why everyone was so panicked about SOPA etc a couple of weeks ago.Well, take it down and we won’t have to worry about it!!

  3. Life During Wartime February 9, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    These listings should not require reports from Etsy’s users to have them removed.

  4. Life During Wartime February 9, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Dang, my comment got listed under the post below by mistake.

    Anyway…this seller is ancient. They handmade this item over 100 years ago:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/89383688/antique-german-doll-tin-rust-air-plant?ref=fp_treasury_8
    Seen on the front page, a plants seller listing the age of the item by the vintage thing used for a planter.

  5. Life During Wartime February 9, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Shop just found on Regretsy:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/StoneHood
    Seller does have some actual handmade stone buttons and jewelry components, but also sells a bunch of stones sold as found — and listed in handmade categories.

  6. TALON February 9, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Superman made diamonds by crushing coal between his hands.

  7. Life During Wartime February 9, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Talon, you made me laugh! Superman could sell the diamonds as handmade or handmade supplies, but not the coal.

  8. ......... February 9, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    llloook its a supply to hold buttons!!!

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/92201483/starbucks-mermaid-split-tail-siren-mug

  9. rattriffic February 10, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    OMG really a starbucks mug for holding buttons, next thing you know we will be selling our grill cheeses with jesus on them…….hello etsybay!!!

  10. Kelly February 10, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    Lol that mug is nothing compared to this one from that same shop… http://www.etsy.com/listing/87135945/calvin-klein-obsession-eau-de-parfum

  11. anon. February 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Am I the only one who thinks http://www.etsy.com/shop/LotusAsylum copied http://www.etsy.com/shop/loopyboopy? Seems like a total knock off….

  12. Life During Wartime February 10, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    WTF? A bottle of perfume with no cap is a supply for what, exactly?

    anon, the two art doll shops are similar, because both are dolls made in the style of a certain type of alternative model photography that I have seen.

  13. ......... February 11, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    yes that is a copy of loopyboopy

  14. ......... February 11, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    go to vintage and search starbucks, you will be amazed at all the mugs you find! even the WA Dc version that was put out a few years back

  15. sickofetsyshittycopycats February 11, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Grrrrr! Loopyboopy is an ARTIST. I wonder if Colleen knows about this poor imitator riding on her coattails.

    That copycat has nowhere near the depth of detail that connotes one to be an artist – merely a cheap copycat trying to convince people her things are worth that kind of money. Not by a longshot! There is no soul behind those, they’re obviously produced with $$ in mind. They’re obviously not made with love, with care, with thought, or with personality. Naming them doesn’t make them more special, nor does it make them Art. Poor unsuspecting boobs paying that kind of money thinking they’re buying something original. If they could only see LoopyBoopy’s ART, they’d be convinced that this second shop is lame.

    Yeah, I’m harsh. I’m harsh when people copy something just for money, rather than for the love of creation. Grrrrrrrrrrrr

  16. ......... February 11, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Someone should tell Loopyboopy

    oh lets see how many times have I reported that damn starbucks mug and its still there

  17. Fake February 12, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    I especially love this Mariah Carey art tagged as Whitney Houston.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/78193443/mariah-carey-spray-painted-on-record?ref=sr_gallery_32&sref=&ga_search_submit=&ga_search_query=whitney+houston&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=CA&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_facet=handmade

    There’s a whole bunch of other crapped tagged Whitney Houston as well.

  18. sickofcupcakes February 12, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Piss poor imitation of Loopy.

  19. rattriffic February 13, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    lotusasylum was just bragging in the forum that anytime someone comes to her house they want one of her dolls and buy them and are like how much are they? while they may inquire I doubt all her friends are randomly dumping 200.00+ on a doll that doesn’t even have its arms attached!!

    I am not a fan of the gothic weird style of either of them but I love what Loopy has to say in the forums, shes wicked smart and says what she thinks!! and there is something about the loopy dolls that kind of suck you in like strange little misfit children that need home, I unfortunately can not afford a 300.00 doll I spend my money on race cars but they are really neat, the other asylum ones…meh

  20. uh-huh February 16, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    I wasn’t going to say anything about this, but since I see she brought it up herself in the forum – yeah the first time I ran across her in the forum I completely thought she WAS loopy, the avatars were so very similar. Then I went to the shop and it really does look ‘inspired by’ loopy’s work. I know things can be coincidence……
    Glad to see at least she changed the avatar so I won’t be confused anymore.

  21. Lotus February 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    I want to let everyone know, it was never my intention to copy, in the least. I didn’t even know about Loopy when I started making dolls. I was quite mortified to find these comments. My style is what it is, and when I try to change it, it turns out ugly to me. It’s an ever continuing learning process, and as for the mean comment above, Loopy has been making dolls for 5 years, and sculpting for longer. I have been making my dolls for six months, of course my dolls are inferior. But, have you seen her sold works over the years? She’s only recently come to the caliber of talent she is at now.

    My inspiration comes from many places, a small portion of which is Loopy’s work. As for the avatar pic, I didn’t even take that picture. Weather kept me from being able to take the type of pictures I normally take. It seemed prudent at the time to use a photo taken from someone better at it than I was.

    Also keep in mind that Loopy and I are pretty much the only gothic art doll makers who are in the forums. There are many doll makers with a similar style.

    You have said what you have said, and now I will endeavor to be more unique, as the last thing in the world I’d want is to be thought of by so many as a copy cat.

    Lotus

  22. PussDaddy February 25, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    There’s no love lost between LoopyBoopy and myself still I would have to say that IMHO she is more than a small part of your inspiration from what I can see.

  23. PussDaddy February 25, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    In fact, here’s a search of Gothic dolls and not a whole helluva lot of ’em look as similar to LoopyBoopy’s as yours does, although I didn’t look for pages and pages

    https://www.google.com/search?q=gothic+dolls&hl=en&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox&rlz=1I7ADRA_en&prmd=imvns&source=lnms&tbm=isch&ei=FLxJT4qRH_OPsALo5PDqCA&sa=X&oi=mode_link&ct=mode&cd=2&ved=0CDwQ_AUoAQ&biw=1152&bih=662

  24. PussDaddy February 25, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    That being said, however, Etsy is full of stuff that is inspired by other people’s work, and most think it is ok when their handmade stuff is inspired by some well known artist, as long as it benefits them. When someone else, or a company is inspired by their handmade stuff then it’s a whole ‘nother story. Isn’t it ironic, don’t ya think?

  25. Lotus February 25, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    I have two things to say, first, there is no Loopy or my stuff in that link you provided, and second, if you aren’t our demographic, you’re not really one to say. This was my initial inspiration, and I’d think there is not much similarity here, if you’re trying to “callout.” Seriously, I’m over this concept as there is nothing but bitter people trying to find fault in people on this site, as well as I don’t think my style has changed that much over the months that I’ve been doing this:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/LuLusApple?ref=seller_info

  26. Lotus February 25, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Oh, and if one is to say that I’m “not an artist” then you don’t know what an artist is.

Leave a Reply

