NATIVEX

23 Feb

Came across this blatant example of reselling in the Heartsy VIP email. The fun part? The reselling information is in the 1st paragraph of the seller’s listings! Seller is here http://www.etsy.com/shop/NATIVEX

See the first part of the listing here: http://www.etsy.com/listing/89780552/bear-iv
I find this disturbing on many levels: that this shop has been operating for 2 years, that he’s now getting Heartsy exposure, and that the original artist may have no idea his work is now being sold at cut rate prices.

11 Responses to “NATIVEX”

  1. Discord Threads February 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I find it disturbing that the E-hole banned me for putting my website URL in my announcement and/or profile, yet a reseller can paste it all over their E-hole page…

  2. Yellshe February 23, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    That’s horrible. Maybe I should open a store with used clothing ( not to be confused with vintage), art I didnt make, and I can wholesale handbags and jewelry! Million dollar idea!

    I found this shop this morning http://www.etsy.com/shop/cherylroden?ref=seller_info see if you can tell why

  3. Life During Wartime February 23, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    I am not sure the Etsy employees have the brain power to realize that an online gallery is not automatically a collective. A lot of rules on Etsy now are shamelessly enforced on a case-by-case basis. Which means there are no rules on Etsy, except what the staff believes is true on any given day.

  4. EtsyVigilante February 23, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Good find, Yellshe! Awful stuff. An embarrassment to Etsy (if that’s possible).

  5. SmallPox February 23, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    1. Reseller
    2. Reseller of Native American art (?)

    The shittiest person in the world.

  6. Whisperia February 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I don’t know. I think about the worst that can be said about this one is that the items don’t belong on Etsy because it doesn’t qualify as a collective, and I’m not even sure about that. This isn’t Urban Outfitters selling Navajo-inspired doodads as a fashion statement. In this shop, the artists are openly credited, and giving Native(x) the benefit of the doubt that their website is legit, it looks like they do collaborate directly with artists for some things. I definitely wouldn’t put this on the same level as a reseller of Chinese junk trying to pass it off as handmade.

  7. rattriffic February 23, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    I bought one of those exact plaid corset lamps for my daughters rainbow room last year at jo ann fabric store….yay handmade!!!

  8. rattriffic February 23, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    the case by case basis that each case is handled with is a f ing joke!!! basicly if it looks like the etsy niche then it can stay handmade or not and if it doesn’t fit then they will shut down the whole shop for a single item……….how can theybe in business making 40 mil a month running things this way??

  9. ......... February 23, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh snap, and here I was thinking that lamp was from Hobby Lobby and I had the only one…. ooops

  10. sickofetsyshit but still can't stop looking! February 24, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Native American art? That doesn’t automatically make it worth an outrageous $70 per print. Looks digital design to begin with “Not that there’s anything wrong with that” *thank you Seinfeld* as I’m a digital designer myself, but it really doesn’t look like much work went into those particular pieces. jeezlouise, the artist didn’t even print them himself, he “worked with a screen printer”. Whatafuckin’ racket. Design something simple, do it once, then source it out and charge an arm and a leg.

    I have more respect for the screen printer who had to do the lion’s share of the creativity and production work.

  11. m March 22, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Hi Everyone, no hiding here, I’m the founder and yes it looks like I did break ETSY rules for selling artwork created by artists that I represent.

    I’d like to thanks @Whisperia for going to the site and actually reading the mission of my business. I work with Native artist to help market and sell their art designs. It’s a fair and transparent model.

    I’ve learned my lesson on etsy. Thanks for monitoring etsy and making it a great site.

    -M

    Side note: I wouldn’t call reselling a bad thing. That is how the world economy works. People buy raw materials, manufacturers make something, those things are sold to distributors, distributors sell to retailers, and retailers sell to consumers. Buying a product, adding value in someway, and then reselling it is quite common in many industries.

Leave a Reply

