Englandcaramel

12 Apr

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/530337658/wool_felt_coin_case_wallet_purse.html

http://www.etsy.com/listing/80384329/felt-wool-walletcoin-casecard.

This truly is disgusting. You paid less than a dollar from alibaba and sell it for over 20 dollars here. What a profit!!!

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/509831243/2012_women_bag_organizer.html

and this is from this shop:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/95355782/coral-insert-bag-organizer-purse

25 Responses to “Englandcaramel”

  1. Pam Gari April 13, 2012 at 2:47 am #

    How can we stop this shit? What can we even do? It’s so distressing

  2. Anon April 13, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Alibaba steals photos from Etsy sellers. Go ahead and look at that listing- $1 – $2 a piece, Minimum Order Quantity: 2000 Piece. So that makes the minimum order $2000 if it was a $1 a piece. Do you REALLY think that this seller bought these from Alibaba for $2000?

  3. Wolf April 13, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Dear Anon- You must be delusional if you think that’s what’s truly happening on Etsy, to the extent that it is.

    There are resellers, plain and simple.

  4. JTF April 13, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Anon- I think it is entirely possible that a big wholeseller of cheap gee-gaws in NY bought 2,000 of them and sells them for maybe $3.00 each in much smaller quantities to discount stores, dollar type places or individuals.

  5. TheBargainBabe April 13, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    I always love it when a seller chimes in here….

  6. Michelle April 15, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    I am a seller also whos photos were stolen from many people on Alibaba. I personally just got back from China a few days ago and I happen to hire a translator who was one that stole my photos. I was reported to Etsy and I had to go through the lengthy process to prove that I handmade my items. The process is very lengthy and also very time consuming. I know how Alibaba works because I was purchasing all of my supplies from a factory on there and decided to visit because I could get my supplies much cheaper just by going there. I hope that this person really makes their own products and that their photos were not stolen. I do report what I think are resellers, but now I tend to think real hard before doing so because of what I was put through. Sorry to chime in, but I just wanted to add my 2 cents.

  7. Michelle April 15, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Oh, one more thing. Alibaba doesn’t always require you to get the minimums that they list. The suppliers that I have worked with accommodate my minimums which are less than what they list on their page. They might make you do those quantities if you have NEVER purchased with them before. Also another fact is, no one can steal photos from Alibaba. Try going to any photo and right click to see if you can copy. They are ALWAYS stealing photos and adding their own watermark. I know Alibaba in and out. I purchase supplies and also finished Jewelry from them for my other site which is not Etsy related, because I know how to follow the rules! Okay, I’m really finished now. Please don’t hate me.

  8. susan April 15, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    It’s super easy to take photos off a webpage without having to use right click.

    Michelle, I find it difficult to believe that a sole handmade artist has the funds to support a buying trip to China to buy in such volumes needed by a single artist.

    I do agree that if buying in volumes from China, it is almost imperative to use a local buying agent or visit the factory yourself to buy in volume. I have two large fabric wholesalers, both visit Korea/China yearly and buy only in person, these two wholesalers supply probably 80% of my competitive market.

  9. Michelle April 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    Yup, I did it all by myself. It was called “Basketball Wives Jewelry”. It made me a whopping $36,000 in 5 months on Etsy by simply selling the supplies. I wasn’t the only one on Etsy making a killing by selling them either. The trip itself was actually not that expensive at all. My supplies literally costs me pennies and no more than a dollar and since they are so popular, I can mark them up to whatever I see fit. Please don’t be upset that I found a trend that happened to make me many thousands over the last 7 months. I’ll ride the ride till I get knocked off, but until then I will continue to sell what all of my buyers continue to want.

  10. susan April 15, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    It doesn’t surprise me that the people making the big bucks on etsy are supply sellers. I’d be curious what the factories in China know of Etsy?

  11. resellonetsy April 15, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Pam_Gari, you can’t stop it, you have to live with it. Until the establishment makes changes, we are kind of crying in the dark. :0)

    ANON, You are completely uninformed. Look at Alice Jewelry on Etsy. The first month they were on Etsy they posted 10,000 item, got 1600 feedbacks and sold over 2000 pieces. They are still on Ebay. Plus they are on Ebay, Alibaba, and eveywhere you can imagine. They are also Alice Beads and a number of other names. As far as Alibaba copying photos from Etsy, you are a moron on that point. You don’t have to buy 2000 to buy on Alibaba. You negotiate it down to a price. Its common for people on Etsy to sell 3rd world goods for 10-20 items more and say they made it.

    Michelle – It is quite for Chinese factories to make goods for you and they show them around to their clients, maybe copying them or modifying them and copying them. Happens everyday. If you in fact traveled to China to do what you said you did, you are probably a reseller, not an artist. Artists are not making stuff in Chinese factories to resell. Your 2 cents is only worth about 2 cents, maybe less.

    Michelle, we don’t hate you, we hope you keep reselling on etsy and Ebay or where ever you are. Most real artists don’t have your kind of money to piss away. Give us your etsy store link so we can beat you up.

    Susan, right on! This is not an artist, it is a reseller. Also, don’t use a Chinese agent. You can buy the stuff just as cheap or cheaper at gem shows in the USA if you spend enough. Or what till the end of the show when people want to go home and are willing to give stuff away to avoid taking it back.

    Michelle, good work Michelle, only problem is, you flew to China. Chinese work so cheap it is just a matter of time till some Chinese company comes and knocks you out. Supplies is the #1 seller on etsy. Why? Because a lot of people are making stuff, but not many are able to sell what they made. Its like artschool, you are promoted. You have to be a real sucker to spend $100,000 – $200,000 to get an art degree that later you can wipe your butt with. You will make more fixing toliets. I say, enjoy it while you can because your days are limited.

    The 2nd most successful shops on etsy resell T-shirts. Anybody in China can set up a T-shirt factory in their garage and hire underages workers for $50 a month an food. Thats how it is done.

    Susan, there are 100s of factories on Etsy from China. Supplies, handmade jewelry, clothing, T-shirts, and anything you can imagine. WAKE UP. Whats not on Etsy, is real artists. Yes, there are a few, but people can’t afford them. Probably, we have to define the word artist in “2012”. What is it? Somebody that buys a string of beads for $5, a focal bead for $5 then strings it together asking $125? It that an artist today? Don’t kid yourself. Sites like etsy are about making money for etsy. If you don’t fit, they remove you since you will probably cost them money. They can smell it. If you are a reseller and can prove your team of people made the stuff, they let you stay.

  12. resellonetsy April 15, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Posting companies here will NOT always get them removed. Here is a seller with a bunch of different names making $3-$5K a day selling stuff from China and Bali. They came here to whine, but nothing ever happened and it is business as usual. They changed the name of their shops to try to shake off unhappy people.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/thaisaket
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/pinksandcloset
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/AnyonesFashionhttp://www.etsy.com/shop/FakeGaugeOrganic

    This vendor came to this site, laughed and just went back to raping the public over
    the cheap goods that he sells. The earrings in this shop are some of the cheapest made
    in Bali.

    Do you really want to get rid of resellers on Etsy?
    Do some work. When you see people reported here, keep reporting them till they are gone. None of these sellers are cutting them in half and installing posts. They do that right in Bali for free.
    Read the profiles on these sites. They reek of BS.
    People try to hide, so they give conflicting details about what they do and who they are. Its a game. When this person came here they tried to divert the attention away from themselves and wanted to know why people don’t say why they were kicked off etsy. That is all they had to say for themselves. Nada………

    Let me say the following to that.
    If I was an artist, I would probably not want to be on etsy. I would keep doing local shows as I have been doing in the Northwest.

    If I was a reseller, Etsy looks like a good place to dump a lot of garbage like people do on Ebay. They don’t sell you the good stuff, they sell you what they cannot sell on Ebay. Same on Etsy, but they sell it for more money.

    Am I on esty now? I am a consultant. I consult people that might want to sell on the net and that includes etsy. I would have told my clients, be an artist if you like it and can afford it. Don’t have pre-conceived ideas about companies that want to make money off of you. The worm can turn, or you can get lucky. If you want to make a lot of money, you better know how to promote, you better have a team of helpers, and you had better be able to tell some good stories. An no matter what you can do, there is somebody right behind you, younger, smarter, and more deadlier. Also, don’t write off very old people either. I have talked to some people 70-89 also on etsy doing OK and happy about it.
    If you get kicked off of Etsy, just get a new computer, atm card, phone number, address, and name like all the others are doing. Take it as a grain of sand. If you had a bunch of stuff you bought just to sell on Etsy and you think you are stuck with it because you cannot sell it anywhere else, then you are an idiot and never should have been on etsy in the first place. You had a bad business plan. If you are a reseller and you get called out, don’t defend yourself like an idiot. Everybody knows. Just take it in stride as part of being in the shady part of the net business. The pros know, oops, my site went down, i have to shuffle my stuff around and start over. That is what the vendor in the top does. We watched several people play around on Etsy and all of that will be in my forthcoming book about cutthroat business on the Net.

  13. Michelle April 16, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    I am a reseller of SUPPLIES and here is my Etsy store link. You will notice that I once sold handmade Jewelry and still a little bit until I decided to join in on the Etsy Supply fun:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/AllEarzJewelry

    I have nothing to hide at all. I do have 2 stores on Etsy. I decided to start selling supplies in the shop I once sold handmade goods in. The new shop which doesn’t get much attention of course is my handmade Jewelry. It doesn’t take much to use my own supplies and make a few pieces. You should really look up “Basketball Wives Earrings” to see how they are very popular in the Urban Community, that was the only way I was able to fund my trip to China.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TrendsToday

    Every bead you see are ones I sell in my supply shop.

    If you care to see me memories of my trip to China:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/allearzjewelry/

    Also my Facebook Page:
    https://www.facebook.com/allearzjewelry

  14. Michelle April 16, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    To the lady that posted above, I can’t see your real name! I would agree about not many ARTIST are on Etsy. I don’t think my work is all that unique compared to others on Etsy. I have no problem admitting that. I admire a lot of artists on Etsy, and they do ask a lot for their creations which is worthy for the time and creativeness involved.

    I know you said the days are limited, but I don’t see Etsy taking suppliers off the site. I guess I am a little confused because I didn’t see anything about that happening and that would be really bad for Etsy. Before I started selling supplies on Etsy I was also buying supplies from other sellers that are also on Etsy. Do you know something I don’t?

    How do YOU avoid made in China yourself? Where are your undies made? How about the all the items in your home? The clothes you wear? The paper you wrap your precious one of a kind art piece in? The list goes on and I guarantee that you will NEVER be able to avoid made in China!

  15. Michelle April 16, 2012 at 3:01 am #

    Oh and one more store link, unrelated to Etsy and I can sell my China made finished Jewelry here:

    http://www.allearzjewelry.com/

    Maybe I don’t think like a thief or try to cheat and perhaps that’s why I am a moron for not knowing how to copy photos. I thought you only needed to right click and copy. I’m not the brightest when it comes to IT stuff. Sorry.

  16. susan April 16, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Thanks for the background Michelle, it sounds like you read your market really well.

  17. effit April 16, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    You should really look up “Basketball Wives Earrings” to see how they are very popular in the Urban Community, that was the only way I was able to fund my trip to China.

    >>>>
    a trend that was started by someone else…so no, not a reseller but a major copier & way to be proud of copyright infringement..

  18. Michelle April 16, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    Right effit………So correct, everything you THINK is innovative has already been done already! Stop hating! I don’t have anything against you(anonymous). I’m sure you MISSED everything else I sell, but of course you ONLY see one. How convenient! Good luck on finding your unique and never been done before creation!

  19. Yellshe April 16, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    I have to say after reading your posts here, I wouldn’t buy from you just because of how you are ripping into people you don’t know. You say nothing is original? TRY and create something original is what I have to say to that. There is a difference between finding inspiration and just flat out copying or riding on a trend. We call it like we see it, so defend yourself if we are wrong and we will listen.

  20. Michelle April 16, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Let me know when you find those Copyrights! I’ll be waiting!

  21. Michelle April 16, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Please feel free to browse pages 13-23 to view my other handmade items.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/allearzjewelry/page13/
    I’m sure no one decided to go that far before insulting and criticizing. Let me know if you saw those somewhere too!
    I get that suppliers will never be liked, I can take that. It doesn’t bother me at all and I will ultimately continue to sell like I have been doing. This is my last post because I have loads of new things to upload.

  22. bella April 18, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Michelle, you website is very nice. I “saw” you over on the etsy forums today, think we posted in the same thread. My shop is bellacruz.etsy.com

  23. Michelle April 21, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    heya Bella! Thank You soo much! Now I need to go back to that thread. Hope I didn’t offend anyone! I try not to.

  24. bratcakes April 24, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I am a seller at etsy and I have had my photos stolen from companies at alibaba. I spend hours upon hours sending cease and desist emails to get my photos removed so that people don’t report me for someone else ripping me off. It happens all of the time. I also see my friends and fellow sellers photos up there and have to alert them as well. They not only steal my photos but they copy my designs as well. However there is no way to copyright fashion design so the only thing I can do is get my persona property photos removed. Please keep this in mind when reporting shops through alibaba. You could be trying to shut down someone like me – someone who does everything by themselves and would lose their living.

  25. Tara Evans June 14, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    I just found out today that a company on alibaba is using six of my photos from Etsy. A couple of the items I can see them sort of being able to reproduce… But the funny thing is a couple of them were made from antique medals. I am SO curious about what the buyers actually receive and how they plan on reproducing the detail on a 1918 agricultural medal.🙂 yes, I will be contacting them to remove my photos.

Leave a Reply

