thaisaket, pinksandcloset

16 Apr

Posting companies here will NOT always get them removed. Here is a seller with a bunch of different names making $3-$5K a day selling stuff from China and Bali. They came here to whine, but nothing ever happened and it is business as usual. They changed the name of their shops to try to shake off unhappy people.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/thaisaket
http://www.etsy.com/shop/pinksandcloset
http://www.etsy.com/shop/AnyonesFashion
http://www.etsy.com/shop/FakeGaugeOrganic

This vendor came to this site, laughed and just went back to raping the public over
the cheap goods that he sells. The earrings in this shop are some of the cheapest made
in Bali.

Do you really want to get rid of resellers on Etsy?
Do some work. When you see people reported here, keep reporting them till they are gone. None of these sellers are cutting them in half and installing posts. They do that right in Bali for free.
Read the profiles on these sites. They reek of BS.
People try to hide, so they give conflicting details about what they do and who they are. Its a game. When this person came here they tried to divert the attention away from themselves and wanted to know why people don’t say why they were kicked off etsy. That is all they had to say for themselves. Nada………

Let me say the following to that.
If I was an artist, I would probably not want to be on etsy. I would keep doing local shows as I have been doing in the Northwest.

If I was a reseller, Etsy looks like a good place to dump a lot of garbage like people do on Ebay. They don’t sell you the good stuff, they sell you what they cannot sell on Ebay. Same on Etsy, but they sell it for more money.

Am I on esty now? I am a consultant. I consult people that might want to sell on the net and that includes etsy. I would have told my clients, be an artist if you like it and can afford it. Don’t have pre-conceived ideas about companies that want to make money off of you. The worm can turn, or you can get lucky. If you want to make a lot of money, you better know how to promote, you better have a team of helpers, and you had better be able to tell some good stories. An no matter what you can do, there is somebody right behind you, younger, smarter, and more deadlier. Also, don’t write off very old people either. I have talked to some people 70-89 also on etsy doing OK and happy about it.
If you get kicked off of Etsy, just get a new computer, atm card, phone number, address, and name like all the others are doing. Take it as a grain of sand. If you had a bunch of stuff you bought just to sell on Etsy and you think you are stuck with it because you cannot sell it anywhere else, then you are an idiot and never should have been on etsy in the first place. You had a bad business plan. If you are a reseller and you get called out, don’t defend yourself like an idiot. Everybody knows. Just take it in stride as part of being in the shady part of the net business. The pros know, oops, my site went down, i have to shuffle my stuff around and start over. That is what the vendor in the top does. We watched several people play around on Etsy and all of that will be in my forthcoming book about cutthroat business on the Net.

23 Responses to “thaisaket, pinksandcloset”

  1. Watson April 18, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    Hey, your blog got a mention in the Wall Street Journal.
    An article about how hard Etsy is working to find resellers.o_O
    Check it out for a good laugh!
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702304299304577349731690704306.html
    You might get some extra traffic from it so why not do an article on LONG TIME resellers that have been flagged a million times and still aren’t removed?

  2. Stiffler'sMom April 18, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    Yeah, that article was hardly mind blowing. What I don’t get is that woman who was drop shipping? So etsy just made her have her items shipped from her house? So what is she selling that is handmade?

  3. Yellshe April 18, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    That was a decent article, but it’s just the tip of the iceberg. Recently I flagged this http://www.etsy.com/listing/95885681/misb-lego-star-wars-10179-ucs-millennium?ref=v1_other_1 and it of course has sold since. He had 4 listed at $895 a pop. Two minutes of Googling told me it was not vintage. It was my final straw and I recently shut my shop. I can’t stand that people who don’t follow the rules make the money. Further down the road I may look into one of the other websites the article listed. Etsy needs to get its stuff together.

  4. Kori Houghton April 18, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Yellshe, I can’t prove this of course, but I think part of Etsy’s problem with enforcing rules about whether dated items are vintage or not is women not being comfortable with any kind of math. Even simple arithmetic. I have to wonder what would happen if I invaded Etsy HQ, and asked every member of the Integrity Team if an item from 2007 was vintage. I expect I would get many ‘deer in the headlights’ panic stares. No one should be working for Etsy unless they can answer right off: hellz no!

  5. Jane April 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/pandaandshamrock
    I’ve been reporting this shop for several weeks. I did find a few of the items on wholesale websites. I keep reporting the custom wedding dress listing as not allowable because it’s not being sold for it’s full price. I want a wedding dress for $1 and no shipping.
    maybe you sleuths can find more info than I can. I found this shop from a thread in the forums where someone found that they had stolen a photo of a dress from Donna Karen’s fall line preview. so at best they are doing knock-off wear but I doubt one person is making all those items from knitwear to wedding veils.

  6. Watson April 18, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Women can’t do math? WJW…
    Etsy has just as many dumb male staff as dumb women staff. Their problem with fake vintage is that they have not been alive long enough to remember any of the real vintage items. They can’t tell the difference between real 70’s and 80’s items and “retro” reproductions or 70’s inspired.

  7. sickofetsyshit April 18, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    JOKE OF AN ARTICLE.

    I remember that call out here, the woman lived in TN (I think) and had been selling on etsy. She was moving to New Zealand, would continue to make her craft – then ship a bunch of them to her brother still in the USA for him to fulfill the orders by shipping. Personally, I saw no problem with this since she really is making her own stuff. I find this FAR more acceptable than people who design something and have it produced in China, shipped back to them in the states for them to ship to buyers. Etsy’s ideas are so incredibly twisted and far from the spirit of HANDMADE. I think it’s crap that someone can design something, but have it manufactured or produced in China, or other off-shore country thereby negating the HANDMADE part of the craft – but it’s considered A-OK by etsy. The woman in New Zealand is only having her brother ship for her, SHE is the one making them. Swear to god, etsy’s so fucked up. Disclosure: nothing to disclose, I don’t know the new zealand woman, I just had seen the original call out, did sleuthing on my own that anybody could have done and found that the call out was unfounded. There are so many truly shitty sellers and shitty etsy employees to boot. Harumph.

  8. Jacque O April 18, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Great work people will do anything they think they can get away with…

  9. Kori Houghton April 19, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Watson, I agree that Etsy has dumb dudes and chicks, both. But the Lego Star Wars item from 2007 that was reported, but allowed to stay active as “vintage”, didn’t happen because of the ages of the staffers. It’s a word problem from grade school math.

    Vintage on Etsy must be at least 20 years old.
    The first Star Wars film was released in 1977. One of the space ships in the film was the Millennium Falcon. Lego made this Millennium Falcon item in 2007. Is the Lego item vintage?

    The date of the first Star Wars film doesn’t matter.

  10. Yellshe April 19, 2012 at 3:27 am #

    Kori that is the perfect explanation! You almost have to put it like that in your reports. I reported Transformers season one DVDs and explained to them that as with books the most recent date is the one it was manufactured in. The seller had listed a date in the 80s and a more recent date. It worked.

  11. Just saying April 19, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Does anyone else think WIAPilot (http://www.etsy.com/people/WIAPilot/) is a little bit of a bitch or is that just me?

  12. resellonetsy April 20, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    Maybe, but this person left 91 negatives for others in 2500 transactions? Correct? Does that mean they never kissed and made up? So…. does that not seem to be a little excessive? My guess is the seller and buyer just rubbed each other the wrong way and it got out of hand. Its better to honestly address peoples concerns when a sales appears to go sour. Buyers can be all emotion when they first contact you. You can win buyers trust back with the right moves.

  13. etsycallout April 20, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Q for you resell- why do you keep saying that this site hasn’t posted in a year yet you come & comment on new posts??

  14. nbptmom April 20, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    I try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt but this store is reselling and not hiding it. They even state on some listings that the items are from Korea
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/11DLA11
    (not sure if this is where I am supposed to post this)

  15. Watson April 20, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Kori I agree that Lego Star Wars item is obviously not vintage but I just don’t see any reason to bring sexist attitudes about “women can’t do math” into it. It’s a cheap shot. Etsy admins are just ignorant and lazy, it’s not a gender thing.

    I also read about that New Zealand seller who got kicked off, and I don’t even see how that is considered drop shipping. She did all the manufacturing herself, and had a second person do the shipping. Lots of shops have a shipping helper and it’s allowed. The only difference is, her shipping helper was in a different country, to save in postage cost and delivery times for the buyer. That sounds like smart customer service to me.
    I thought drop shipping is when a third party does the manufacturing and then ships it directly to the buyer.

  16. resellonetsy April 20, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    A for Etsycallout! Hey, I apologize for that comment. I think that was said maybe 3 months ago. There is another callout site where you can send photos of items. I think that site has nothing more new than one year. Please scratch my comment and I apologize if I was confused when I wrote it. You are in fact quite live and well! Sorry!

  17. resellonetsy April 20, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Anybody reading my posts, these are just opinions. I don’t mean to offend anybody, even resellers. I try not to post anything unless I have evidence. Like the resellers I reported on this site. I have actual receipts from the shop they buy their goods. My friend in Thailand went to the shop and sent me a photo of a receipt. But in some cases, I have expressed opinions that may not agree with other people. I mean no disrespect to this site, the people that run it, or the people that come here to read about Etsy. I also mean no disrespect to etsy either. We all know that as people come and go from a business, rules change. Its not always easy to adjust to the changes. Running Etsy is not an easy job. I love art, artistic people, as creating shows a human-ness that is not always expressed in our daily lives of work and responsibility.
    Peace!

  18. resellonetsy April 20, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Etsycallout – I hope that wraps it up for you. You are doing a great job here! Keep up the good work!

  19. GuaranteedReseller April 21, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    I know this is a reseller………I mean how do you make this for $3????
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/84401848/cuff-leather-rope-bracelet-adjustable?ref=v1_other_2

    I tried to send an email to the estycallout at hotmail, but it came back returned. I’m sure I spelled it correctly.

  20. etsycallout April 21, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    you didn’t spell it correct if you sent it to where you just typed- it’s “etsy” not “esty”

  21. GuaranteedReseller April 21, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    LOL!!! What a morning! Yup, realized that afterwards! Thanks!

  22. resellonetsy April 22, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    GuaranteedReseller, that is a Chinese site selling Chinese goods. Most of that you can find in any Chinatown anywhere. There is nothing original about it. Their profits could add up after a year, but not to much. I would check they Chinese resellers of clothing on Etsy. They are making big bucks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. UPDATE from Callin’ Out On Etsy « resellonetsy - November 10, 2012

    […] thaisaket, pinksandcloset […]

Leave a Reply

