11DLA11

21 Apr

I try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt but this store is reselling and not hiding it. They even state on some listings that the items are from Korea
http://www.etsy.com/shop/11DLA11

28 Responses to “11DLA11”

  1. GuaranteedReseller April 21, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    They are already gone!

  2. ProllyNot April 21, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    She probably just purchased the owl and and added a hook to it. Simple, but still Etsy legal.

  3. ProllyNot April 21, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    This one thing I would question……Why is the wire wrap on the earrings different on two of the stones? One is a simple wrap and the other one has several wraps. I personally do the same wrap for any piece of jewelry I make.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/93987012/antique-bronze-owl-necklace-with-dark?ref=correlated_featured

  4. mothra67 April 21, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    There go those goddam owls again. Is wearign this shit suposed to make you feel wise? Well, Don’t.

  5. TinaB April 21, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    The wire wrap is different on the earrings because I accidentally used two different gauges of head pins and I am not an expert wrapper! I did make all my items, I do not resell. I started making owl jewelry because I like it. I didn’t even know it was a big trend until a craft show I did in November. I had no idea it would upset anybody until I saw all the hits I got from this site and discovered it. I love making jewelry. It is a great stress reliever for me and gives me fun money to spend on my girls. How does that hurt anyone? I also noticed that you all comment on others yet don’t leave your own site address. Are you afraid to get a dose of your own medicine?

  6. Diane C. Simons April 22, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    I know TinaB and her shop and I know for a fact that she creates all of her own designs. She does wonderful work.

    As a jewelry designer myself, not everything we make is a masterpiece although we wish that it were. Some pieces are simple and pretty, while others are complicated and gorgeous, but all is an expression of ourselves. It is hard enough creating something and having enough confidence to put it out there for others to judge with the hope that someone finds it worth buying.

    I do not understand why you are trying to tear that down for someone who I know to be a good person and in my opinion a magnificent designer.

    There are so many shops on Etsy who are selling illegally, target them…..

  7. Karen Heggen "Cairn" April 22, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Really? You are targeting an artist like TinaB! Are you bored?

    Do you need to make people upset to feel better about yourself?

    Well stop targeting Tina and come to my site. I am OverstockOutlet and I am honest about every item I sell. I am the one who sells the owls you don’t like. If you notice they do not have any gems for eyes or decorations. Tina creates from a raw bronze alloy owls which I sell to her.

    Please check yourself and post your sites so we can take a look at your work!

    BULLY’S are the people who create terror in this world. Just ask a 4th grader!!!

    Everyone targeted should fight back. If you have been an honest seller then don’t let these people intimidate you!!!

  8. JK April 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    ‘If you have been an honest seller’

    That’s the catch right there, isn’t it? If people were being honest and following the rules, there would be no reason for anyone to suspect anything. And it’s so nice of you to come defend your friend so quickly! Nothing makes someone look legit quite like a sudden outpouring of whiteknighting by various others, especially when each post comes so soon after the previous one.

  9. Karen Heggen "Cairn" April 22, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    I understand you wanting to be the etsy police. It must really make you feel important when you find a dishonest seller. But what about the honest seller to slam? Don’t you think you should do some research first. Ask the seller how they made the item.

    But then you did not give us your site address so I guess you do not want the same thing to happen to you. Even “if you have been an honest seller”

    http://www.overstockoutlet.etsy.com and you?

  10. TinaB April 22, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    They both commented at the same time because I told them both about this site about the same time. They are the only Etsy friends I told about this and I am touched they came to my defense.

  11. sickofcupcakes April 22, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    It must really suck that alibaba stole that earring design from you.

  12. Karen Heggen "Cairn" April 22, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Really? This is petty. You are hiding your real name and making grade school comments that are best left on the playground and not in the adult world. How sad for you.

    So what was your store name again?

  13. laura russell April 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    That’s right they are totally different from the Alibaba owls.

  14. Pam Gari April 22, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    Mothra67…bahahahahaha!
    I just wanted to say that I had a look at Tinas shop, and there are some very pretty things there, although a few seem a little pricey. I think that there are so many costume jewelty assemblers and “designers” out there that it’s getting to be like music, because there is a finite selection of notes and only so many ways to put them together before you end up duplicating something. The world recently lost a very sweet and talented musician from the band Men at Work when the flute player took his own life after the band lost a court case which accused them of stealing the melody from an old childrens song! The song was a hit in the ’80’s and it took this long to decide that it was “stolen”? Well they got the pound of flesh that they were after. It might sound like I’m just rambling here, but I don’t think Tina set out to copy anyone, just like I can’t picture the band sitting around back in the 80’s and deciding that the Kookaburra song was perfect for the riff in The Land Down Under.
    I DO think Tina has taste and a bit of talent, I wish she could find some way to express it other than making herself a part of the “fashion blob” of self proclaimed “Jewelry
    Desigenr Artists” , which is a fad and does nothing but bury under a heap of junk the stuff which is really worth notice, and… AND supports in style the suppliers that feed the junk jewelry parts to the masses of self important, untalented rabble that infects Etsy like a rampant fungal infection.
    I am aware that there is probably no way to stop this. If I were to take a block of wax and sculpt an entirely new and one of a kind piece of jewelry, and I then cast that piece in a precious metal using the lost wax method, and offered it for sale on Etsy, where it made the elusive FRONT PAGE and sold within minutes… How long before the bronze and pot metal copies proliferated? I think the only way to stop them is to stop creating… but that will never happen.
    I don’t wear jewelry except for the rare times when I sport plain gold hoops in my ears and have an occasion to put on my wedding band. I just don’t feel the need, and I don’t truly understand why people do.

  15. Yellshe April 22, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Karen Heggen “Cairn” lets not loose sight of what is important here. They aren’t bullying, they are inquiring, and you set the record straight. What does seem like bullying is insisting that people should use their real name and give you links to their stores. What good would that do you? Are you going to become good friends? Are you going to report them for some sort of vigilante justice?

    I use a nickname because this is the INTERNET and it is wise not to plaster your real name onto sites that you visit. As for my store… I shut it down because I am tired of Etsy users not following simple rule, but I am more tired of Etsy breaking its own rules.

  16. Karen Heggen "Cairn" April 22, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Dear Callin’ Out On Etsy People,

    It is starting to become clear that you have made a mistake and do not know how to handle it. Let me help you:

    1. Check your facts first.
    2. Realize etsy is a place for people to create and sell their creations.
    3. You are not responsible for making sure seller are the one’s creating the items.
    4. Let etsy take care of it. That is etsy’s job. Maybe that is why you have this blog, etsy does not want to hear your complaints anymore.
    and
    5. Realize when you have made a mistake and be responsible for your actions.

    Just say you were wrong about this seller and give up the fight. Comparing items to Alibaba makes you look bad since Alibaba is a market place for business to business sales. Yes they are going to have those owls and plenty of other items you will see on etsy.

    Now why don’t you go and find something else to talk about and leave etsy alone.

  17. laura russell April 22, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    It’s interesting how defensive people get about their stuff. How’s store bought hooks on store bought hooks handmade? I don’t understand how someone is fighting so hard about this.

  18. bella April 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Anyone see the Featured Seller debacle called out on regretsy? Sorry do not know how to copy/paste from my nook.

  19. Stormy April 23, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    My apologies to Tina for any offense. The reason I posted was to ask opinions in a forum very familiar with resellers (read: not supplies sellers) whether this seemed legitimate or not, because to me it looked to be the exact fully constructed piece as sold by a wholesale company, not just a charm bought in bulk and then constructed by the individual before listing in her store – which incidentally, I see no problem with. Honestly, to me, the great originality debate is pretty tired – realistically speaking it’s 2012, everything we’re doing has been done before, it’s just a matter of doing it better and putting your own spin on it, in my opinion. However, I was confused by the item’s listing name/title as including “antique” which, to me, suggests that the piece is of a certain age, where “antiqued” or “antique looking” would imply a patina or special finish used to make the piece look of a certain age. I was hoping a more discerning eye than mine could set me straight in thinking this was just another mass produced piece finding it’s way to Etsy once again. It wouldn’t be the first time there’s been a sprinkling of mass produced pieces sold in stores alongside otherwise legitimately constructed pieces – this is why I asked. I apologize, if in thinking this, I am incorrect.

  20. laura russell April 23, 2012 at 2:44 am #

    There are always going to be crafts that are similar to other crafts. Two pairs of owl earrings will always look somewhat similar. But two things that are exactly the same will only produced, with out copying, when one of the items consists mainly of a mass produced item.

  21. TinaB April 23, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    Thank you for your apology. I think I will now start describing those finishes as “antiqued bronze” as you suggested. I thought putting bronze behind antique was the way to do it. I do not want to confuse or misrepresent anything in my shop.

  22. susan April 23, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    Unfortunately unscrupulous sellers misuse the words silver gold antique to actually mean real silver, real gold and real antiques and the word vintage is meaningless as it’s used to describe anything at all that wasn’t made today. These types of items are overwhelming the searches for anything that’s authentic. Especially resellers are gaming the title process so that items show up in multiple top level categories, eg vintage sunglasses handmade 1960’s, on the surface, they’re new sunglasses made in a 1960’s vintage style but Etsy search thinks they authentic handmade sunglasses from the 1960’s that just happened to show up in deadstock fifty years later. There must be a magical deadstock factory in an economic zone of China that everyone shops from. I need to send in some callouts on glasses, I have a list.

    Anyway TinaB, ECO readers have a bit of the tall poppy syndrome and any hint of gaming the system with dodgy titles or tags is going to get you mentioned here. Getting call out traffic might not be as bad as it seems, some of the previous call outs seem to like it.

  23. sickofcupcakes April 24, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    You weren’t “on callout”, you were mentioned in a post and would have faded into oblivion if your gaggle of hags hadn’t appeared out of nowhere to defend your honor. Now you just look stupid.

  24. sickofcupcakes April 24, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    @Karen, this one made me laugh the hardest.

    “4. Let etsy take care of it. That is etsy’s job. ”

    You just keep thinking that.

  25. Karen Heggen "Cairn" April 24, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    No one has come to defend my honor. You are correct, I was not “on callout” and it appears you need to grow up. Thank you for your concern for my appearance.

  26. Pam Gari April 24, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    @ karen… You REALLY believe that Etsy will take care of anything other than making Etsy money? I closed shop there because I am not food. But you go ahead, even Etsy needs to eat I suppose.

  27. Linda Strother (@beckleecottage) April 26, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Im not an expert nor do I pretend to be but the owl earrings look like the exact same earring even down to the ear wires.

Leave a Reply

