JanPalomboDesign

4 Jun

Shop Announcement: “Hand made vintage jewelery inspired by nature and my travels around the globe. My materials include sterling silver, precious and rare stones. All pieces were crafted between the 60s and 80s”

http://www.etsy.com/shop/JanPalomboDesign?section_id=10929672

Pretty much all of her stud earrings can be found elsewhere for less. {ECO to add- Crazy how those ’60’s & ’80’s pieces are being sold new all over!}

http://www.amazon.com/Earring-Sterling-Silver-A-Single-Ear-Why/dp/B006ZMPPA2
http://www.overstock.com/Jewelry-Watches/Sterling-Silver-Fish-Stud-Earrings/5075383/product.html?cid=123620
http://www.meijer.com/s/sterling-silver-goldfish-earrings/_/R-155067

33 Responses to “JanPalomboDesign”

  1. Funny Bird June 4, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    These are Market Good Studs , which are still being made in Thailand and found in Boma Jewelry, Tomas, Blake Brothers, Acomo, Rio Grande,and 100s of other “trend” silver lines. I don’t know how you go about figuring out if they were made in 1980, 1990, or 2012- ( but he’s be a damn site better off if he ordered them at silver prices in 1980 than today! -LOL )the designs are readily available to anyone with a tax id# who wants to met a minimum opening.

    With his current product, featuring currently trendy animals I’d place bets on everyone of those pieces as modern. Every last one. It would be super easy to find who he’s ordering from since so many of the smaller Sterling Silver Jewelry Suppliers went under when silver prices skyrocketed.

    p.s. it wouldn’t surprise me in the least if this was the Wholesaler themselves.

  2. TheBargainBabe June 4, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    “most are one of a kind with a few exceptions”

    like the dinosaur ring that is listed FIVE times on the first page of her “sold” items?
    FOUR times on the second page of sold items.
    FOUR times on page 3.
    TWO times on page 4.
    FOUR times on page 5.

    SEVEN times on page 6.
    THREE times on page 7.

    I’m bored with this now so I’ll quite counting. But for one of a kind items, that dinosaur sure did get around….29 times so far…

  3. mari June 4, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Great. And here I am with a few piddly sales making my real handmade stuff. Why can’t i just wise up and cheat?
    You know she doesn’t claim to make her own things. She says they’re vintage and she’ll say that the ones being made now are knock-offs and hers are original. She’ll be here for a while longer.
    See, i even know how she’s going to defend herself. What is wrong with me?! Why can’t i use my mind for evil and make some money? I could give some to charity and that would make me a productive member of society…

  4. Wolf June 4, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Is waiting for Looseycaboosy to show up… Heh.

    You know, if I didn’t have ay morals or ethics, I’d start selling cheap knock offs on Etsy as well. Seems that’s the way to go these days.

  5. Life During Wartime June 4, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    mari, when this seller lists her items she does, in fact, claim she makes them. The listings I checked all showed the items listed as Handmade -> Jewelry, and the About this item Attribute said ‘Vintage Handmade by JanPalumboDesign in the 1980s’ which means the shop owner says she made it in the 80s.

  6. TheBargainBabe June 4, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    She was VERY busy making those dinosaur rings in the 80s.

    And the badger themed stuff..how forward thinking of her to know, 30 yrs ago, that in 2012 Honey Badger would be such a hit and she should have some vintage badger earrings to market.

  7. Stormy June 4, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    Oh boy.

  8. Sickofcupcakes June 4, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    Oh I submitted this! I feel so special. So when Ms. Polombo comes calling, she can unleash her venom on me.

  9. Amber White June 4, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    anything to make a buck…

  10. DNoRobo June 4, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    We need slogans in the struggle against the evil fauxcrafters. Don’t we?

    “Put the HAND back in HANDcrafted”?

    “Demand the HAND be in HANDmade”?

    Fauxcrafters/Crapcrafters aren’t just limited to Etsy. Many “arts & crafts galleries” in Anytown USA are selling mass produced/machine made fauxcrafts with the insinuation (or outright claim) that such are ‘handmade’. I hate to put prison labor out of business but frankly, they should stick to license plates.

  11. Life During Wartime June 4, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Sickofcupcakes, Loosey said she notifies every shop owner who gets called out here. I hope you have your antivenene ready!

  12. can'tremembermyusernameohwell June 4, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    UGH. OK, vintage is my selling domain and it is a particular pain in my ass when I see “custom” made to order, mass quantities available, and as BargainBabe points out, spot-on psychic (ala honey badger) vintage flooding first eBay, now etsy. Buyers that take the time to know the difference can spot it of course, but the youngerr generations are getting a false representation of how truly great vintage goods are.

  13. can'tremembermyusernameohwell June 4, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    cupcake I have no antivenom but will share my booze.

  14. Gavs June 4, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Okay so if Loosey warns everyone who winds up on etsycallout, all someone would have to do is set up a fake shop with resold crap, end up on this site, and wait for loosey’s email, yes?

  15. Stormy June 4, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Why, yes!

  16. Sickofcupcakes June 5, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    I don’t have anti-venom, but I am wearing a garlic necklace and a cross…just in case.

  17. anonymous June 5, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    Did you see ecologica malibulls**t has shut up shop? The crazy boat lady

  18. The Very VERY cranky bear June 5, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Nice. I went to report it and guess whose account has been deactivated? I guess that report function is really used to determine who to boot, not to get rid of resellers.

  19. Sickofcupcakes June 5, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Why on earth did they deactivate you???

  20. The Very VERY cranky bear June 5, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I emailed and asked, but no response yet. A friend (who posts on Regretsy) said she was also deactivated after she reported a bunch of resellers. She’s also emailed. I’m interested in what they have to say about this since I didn’t see anything in TOS about reporting resellers being enough to get you banned.

  21. Kori Houghton June 5, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Keep us posted about any connection between reporting resellersand getting deactivated! I report resellers almost every day, and I double dawg dare Etsy to deactivate me for doing what the MIT has asked us to do.

  22. Wolf June 5, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    They deactivated you for reporting resellers?!?

    Well, I guess I’m up for the deactivation hammer next then.

  23. sickofetsyshit June 5, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    How very like Etsy to deactivate someone for reporting when they specifically BEG us to do their jobs and flag violators.

    I, too, want to know what they say. What possible legitimate reason could they have. grrrrr!

    This puts one more nail in the Handmade coffin – the reseller nails.

  24. Monica June 5, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    This is getting ridiculous. I can’t imagine why they would do such a thing as to inactivate the person who reported. It doesn’t make a bit of sense any way you look at it. I really hope that was a mistake, like some doof inactivated the wrong account.

  25. The Very VERY cranky bear June 5, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Still no response. I really hope someone made a mistake, because I’m getting mad about this now. I don’t sell there, I don’t post in the forums, I don’t convo people, I just buy stuff when I like what I see. The only thing I can think of is that I reported the 25 or so things that I found that were being sold by resellers when I was browsing. If that’s enough to get you banned now, Etsy is going to lose a lot of people.

  26. The Very VERY cranky bear June 5, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    To specify==
    I don’t convo people to harass them. I don’t swear at them or anything. I think the worst thing I ever said was that I liked the pink bag this lady was selling on there, but I wondered if she could make it in a different shade of pink since the color made me think of Pepto Bismal. I guess that might have offended her, but I said that like 8 months ago.

  27. Monica June 6, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    I’ve just about had enough of everything I’m reading. I’m thinking of moving my stuff off of Etsy. I *want* to but not sure which is the best alternative. Handmade Artists Shop is looking tempting. Anyone have any opinions?

  28. a marionettes with puppets June 6, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    BaliGate was my last straw – closed my Etsy shop and I’m in the process of moving my stuff (very slowly- but that’s another story) over to ArtFire and, in a few months, to CraftStar. I can’t really evaluate how either will do for me, but at least I won’t be lied to constantly. And both places seem pretty happy. Not all cupcakes and octopii happy, either. And both places have vibrant, colorful front pages – not the barnwood, washed out, sun bleached pathos of Etsy.

  29. Monica June 7, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I’ve decided to start a shop at Handmade Artists Shop. I looked at their forums and their support is direct on those. They seem very responsive to suggestions. Their listing fee is $5/mo or $50/yr unlimited listings that never expire. No commission fees, no listing fees. Gonna give it a shot tomorrow and see how it goes.

  30. micah420 June 7, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Not the smoking gun or anything, and I have no idea about the earrings, but the other jewelry I believe is hand made. She is the founder of Great Falls Metalworks

    http://www.greatfallsjewelry.com/store/home.php

    and is carried in this gallery as well as others

    http://www.handworksgallery.net/jewelry.html

    which seems to be hand made. She is also exhibiting at the JCK show in Vegas which is pretty serious (I just checked the application) and at NY Gift, which is serious money, and has a hand made section which is almost impossible to get into.

    Just my two cents🙂

  31. Sickofcupcakes June 8, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Oh I have no doubt she designs the other stuff, but why cheapen your brand by offering mass produced crap that you can find at walmart? She has no integrity.

  32. Monica June 9, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    I guess it’s entirely possible that since this really is a business she owns and has for a long time, that she is creating these less than stellar items and resellers are buying them and selling them on the other sites. Or they may be selling them themselves on these other sites and to other businesses. Given the business she owns, it’s entirely possible these are both handmade *and* mass produced, I guess.

    I find the item details on Etsy kind of confusing unless she chose to say they are vintage from the 80’s because the molds they created date to then even if the actual items made from them are new, which still doesn’t make that vintage designation correct. And honestly ever since there have been kids, dinosaurs have been popular, but it doesn’t explain the badger thing, either. Again, kind of confusing and just trying to parse out the possibilities.

    I just don’t think this case is quite as cut and dried as the others.

Leave a Reply

