TrishasTreasureChest

11 Jun

Okay, I am not saying she didn’t make these, but isn’t it weird how these types of bracelets are available all over eBay and wholesale sites? Anyone else find this strange?

Here’s hers:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/100758686/rhinestone-shamballa-bracelet-pink

And, numerous sites where you can find the same ones:
http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/product_view/anna0088/3865368/Hot_Sell_Shamballa_Disco_Magnetite_Ball_Beads_Macrame_Bracelet__Pink/Jewhttp://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/518333387/Hot_Sell_Shamballa_10MM_Disco_Magnetite.htmlelry/Handmade_Jewelry_Supplies/Beads
http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale/wholesale-shamballa-bracelet-wholesale.html
http://www.overstockjeweler.com/shamballa-bracelets-c-332.html?gclid=CMDoiP6qpbACFVMetAod7SpHYg
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Shamballa-Bracelet-9-Pink-Crystal-Disco-Ball-Magnetite-/390419924116

And those links were gotten from a very quick google search.

Why do I think she is lying about making them? Well, the links I found when I searched for “Shamballa bracelet”. Then in her video about it (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sxd9pYUW), she doesn’t know the term “macramé” when she describes the “little thingy” which provies closure and adjustment for the bracelet. Also, she’s selling 50 identical ones which if she were making them by hand doesn’t seem likely. Am I off-base here? I would hate to call someone out that didn’t deserve it, but this seems so fishy to me. I mean why not just sell them on eBay? Why pretend they are handmade? She has tons of followers so I’m sure they wouldn’t care.

47 Responses to “TrishasTreasureChest”

  1. PussDaddyBlogs (@PussDaddyBlogs) June 11, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    It’s hard to say. It’s like this bracelet that I made here

    http://pussdaddyblogs.blogspot.com/2011/05/leather-wrap-bracelet-that-i-made.html

    every one and their mother makes them. And it’s a thing a person can make or a company of people can make. So it’s hard to say.

  2. PussDaddyBlogs (@PussDaddyBlogs) June 11, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    I have seen them somewhere though. Maybe Walmart? If you can make the one I made tho you should be able to make this one too. I want to say no she didn’t make it but I can’t be 100% sure.

  3. Kick The Can June 11, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    I thought it was entirely possible that she had made these, until I clicked that link for ebay. Those things are six bucks each on there and there seem to be plenty available. Also, people may provide quick tutorials without actually stating proper macrame terms, so I wouldn’t think a lack of knowledge in that regard would necessarily be an indicator of being a reseller.

    Still, it does seem fishy that there are so many of the exact same bracelet on ebay.

  4. sickofetsyshit June 11, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    No, she does not make them, she is a reseller. Buy it for $6, sell it for $30 and I question those “sales”.

  5. PussDaddyBlogs (@PussDaddyBlogs) June 11, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    I think I am voting for reselling too.

  6. sickofetsyshit June 11, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Evidently, this etsy store is all part of marketing herself for something else. It’s one more way to get search engine hits – it has nothing to do with being creative or selling crafts. It’s all marketing her *ahem* somewhat trashy persona.

  7. Sickofcupcakes June 12, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    Ya, google her name. I wouldn’t touch one of those bracelets with someone else’s hands.

  8. Not All Factory Made! June 12, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    I make the same COMMON bracelets with the same COMMON beads. They are all handmade by someone, whether it’s made by her or someone in China. I am the one that went to China 2 months ago and yes they were like $2-$3 each and I sat there and watched them make tons of them in front of their factory booths. I personally get more enjoyment out of making them than buying them cheap. I went over there specifically for jewelry supplies and not finished jewelry. I make much more money just selling supplies and I don’t have to put in much effort to selling them. In my spare time I make these bracelets and it takes about 30 minutes per bracelet. The cost for me to make them is about the same that I could have bought them from China. I don’t put much stock into ever selling them because the bottom line is, a customer is looking to spend the least.

    I actually have videos of my translators teaching me how to make them and it’s VERY easy. To put it bluntly, I would NEVER make these if I were not getting my supplies directly from there.

    I know how some of you guys are and you would be wasting your time fooling with my shop. I’ll even give you the link just so you can go be nosy!

  9. a marionettes with puppets June 12, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    I don’t doubt she had those sales – everyone in LA has at least 11 friends – but I don’t think she’s in the same league with the Alibaba resellers – I mean, she only has the one item in her store and without a doubt her attention span for the shop seems non-existent. This problematic shop will most likely self-correct from sheer disinterest on her part.

  10. sickofetsyshit June 12, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    WTH? @not all factory made – it’s a red herring…

  11. Monica June 12, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Whether she did make them or not, and I expect she probably did, why do so many people want to make and sell the same things as a million other people? And if you sell cheap Chinese trinkets, does it make it better that you went and got them yourself? Really? LOL

  12. Wolf June 12, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    @Sickofcupcakes I googled and oh wow, I see what you mean. Yeah, this shop won’t be around long. She’ll lose interest in it, right after it gets her all the google hits she wants. Which is sad, really.

  13. Yellshe June 12, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/SilkSecretVintage?ref=seller_info_count
    “vintage”

  14. buttonlandia June 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Um. Yeah. YUCK YUCK YUCK….all around! I wouldn’t touch that with a uh..ten foot pole! I’m calling reseller/fake. How does she have the time to do ALL of that AND MODEL FULL TIME????

  15. Monica June 12, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    For lack of a better place to put this, I’m calling out ETSY! How many of you all noticed this nice little change?

    http://www.etsy.com/teams/7714/ideas/discuss/10461134/page/1/?post_id=130764693

  16. Michelle June 12, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    Monica, why does it matter if you think they are cheap trinkets? I have many returning customers and over 7,000 sales. I take it that you make everything from scratch? Why do you care if I make trendy things? I really don’t see your point. Lol at all my sales and the fact that I was able to quit my job and make a living from it. I didn’t have to go to China, I felt the need to take a nice trip with My money. Did I ask for your thoughts? It doesn’t get you anywhere with your envy. I’d like to see the picture of you milking your own cows since you wouldn’t dare buy any of the various brands of milk.

  17. Monica June 13, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    Trust me, Michelle…I am not envious because you buy Chinese trinkets that who knows what they are composed of or contain. I care more about my customers than to inflict those possibilities on them. It’s not like there have been any reports over the past several years of about all kinds of products from China or anything. I also like to make sure they receive quality work created with quality materials.

  18. Sickofcupcakes June 13, 2012 at 3:16 am #

    I would rather sell nice items than cheap imported crap.

  19. Monica June 13, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    I started out making jewelry for just myself. I give my customers no less than I would want or expect.

  20. Michelle June 13, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    @Monica…….I’m guessing the computer you are typing on was made here right in the US of A? If you are Mormon(which I am assuming you are) and do everything Organically, I would assume you might get shunned for running electricity and being on the computer! You better get off quick!

  21. Wolf June 13, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    @ Michelle. No one called you out, you volunteered alll the info you posted about your materials and such. So yeah, you’re going to get ragged on about it here. But that’s all you, cause no one asked about your shop and your buying habits.

  22. Wolf June 13, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    @michelle. WTH does being Mormon have to do with using electricity??? Last I knew, mormans weren’t luddites, weren’t mennonites-who do use electricity, by the way and they weren’t Amish.

    Seems to me you’re making a big deal out of stuff YOU volunteered unasked. So now you’re unhappy with the responses to your unasked for information and are lashing out.

    Whatever floats your boat, I guess.

  23. Monica June 13, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    I know, Wolf! WTF! The Mormon thing thru me for a loop completely. LOL Actually, Michelle, the computer I’m using was built here out of parts from other countries, coz it’s hard to get one otherwise, and we do eat organic whenever we can, grow our own veggies, etc., but those are pretty common practices these days, even among non-Mormons. rofl

  24. Wolf June 13, 2012 at 6:32 am #

    You know, when someone suddenly starts spouting off about religion in a discussion where it has no bearing, you know the discussion has jumped the rails and isn’t ever coming back.

  25. Monica June 13, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    LOL, agreed. The last refuge of the spineless. smh

  26. TIW June 13, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    Not to spoil the drama or anything, but this is on the front page right now…
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/86983634/grizzly-bear-ears-ring-brown-bear-ring

    And, coincidentally, on Alibaba…. Funny how that works.
    http://lovelyjewelry.en.alibaba.com/product/561220703-213445511/Grizzly_Bear_Ears_Ring_brown_bear_ring.html

  27. Monica June 13, 2012 at 7:23 am #

    And just for the record, I don’t blame or hold any bitterness toward the Chinese people themselves. They have to survive, too. They have shady, underhanded and greedy corporations just as we do.

  28. Wolf June 13, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    The bear ears ring is cute, albeit not handmade. I think what annoys me the most though, is the title stuffing. I mean really, most of that is tags, even if it is a mass produced ring, the least they could do is try to pretend it isn’t. Sheesh.

    These views might be the results of lack of sleep and cold meds. Heh.

  29. Michael W. June 13, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Hello everyone,

    Thank you so much for pointing out to us this seller in Alibaba. They shamelessly stole our photograph to sell god knows what. Some cheap zinc alloy knockoffs apparently. They certainly are not selling the sterling silver and gold plated rings in our shops! The design was made by me and my partner Eloise, who is a very old seller in Etsy, with her art shop HidenSeek.

    Our cool designs are designed at home and 3D printed from Shapeways.com. We are very clear in our profile about everything and we are joyously part of the maker movement. It’s only the two of us in our shop and we pack and ship everything ourselves.

    Now! On to deal with Alibaba and also talk to Etsy because someone reported our shop. Etsy shouldn’t prove that hard but Alibaba is another story. Alibaba probably has a whole building of people dedicated to dealing with copyright infringement.😉

    Thanks again for pointing this out to us and have a great day!
    Michael W. from
    TheRogueAndTheWolf.etsy.com
    HidenSeek.etsy.com

  30. PussDaddyBlogs (@PussDaddyBlogs) June 13, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    There sure as hell is a bunch of people going to China lately.

  31. PussDaddyBlogs (@PussDaddyBlogs) June 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I don’t see what a big deal title stuff is to be honest. Shouldn’t one use words that will get your stuff found? It makes more sense to me than naming the ring Smokey or some shit like people used to do.

  32. Michelle June 13, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Mr. Leving Wong is nice. He took my photos down. Just let him know you would like him to take the photos down, but I’m afraid he is MOST likely not the only one with them right now. Once those agents see other agents with new pictures, they know to go run over to Etsy to find them. It has already multiplied by now. I no longer contact any of them, because I am just too busy to invest that kind of time. Having my photos stolen and posted all over Alibaba has not hindered my selling capability. If my customers want to order thousands of one item in one color, then they are better off just getting it from them anyway.

  33. laughing lark June 13, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Sellers really need to be taught to watermark their original pictures, every single picture. It will cut down on some of the issues.

  34. Monica June 14, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I watermarked all of my new photos after I cleared my Etsy shop and opened a new one on a different site. I trust the people at the new site, not so much anywhere else. But then I don’t create things that are easily duplicated at least.

  35. Monica June 14, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    @Pussdaddy, Fast, easy money to be made in/from China these days, and lots of unscrupulous people willing to scoop it up, regardless if the items can be proven safe or not.

  36. sickofetsyshit June 14, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Monica, yaaay! Sadly, it’s not just the people ON the site, it’s people anywhere in the world that can take our pictures. I even did a website for a business and someone copied and pasted EVERYTHING and neglected to take the original business name out of the text, lol! It was near orgasmic when I did a search for their name and up comes this crappy business with the original’s name peppered throughout not only the home page, but on every other page in their site. It’s a residential care facility for seniors and when I contacted the owner, she was soooo unprofessional, crude and crass and even threatened to sue ME. I hate it when I’m nice and someone mistakes it for weakness. Grrr.

    Idiots, unscrupulous and without talent of their own are everywhere. 😦 I’ve been vocal for years about watermarking our photos. When I “do” websites (not confident enough to say I build because I use a program, BUT NO TEMPLATES, lol!) I incorporate my own name and copyright information into the source code on every stinking page. Lots of tricks can be used that lazy copy-and-pasters wouldn’t even think to look for and delete or change. Ha!

  37. Monica June 14, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Yeah, sick…that’s why I said ‘anywhere else’ coz I know anyone can take them and use them from ‘anywhere else.’ LOL ;0)

    Sorry you had such a crappy experience with that person you were trying to be nice to. Sometimes I think people respond that way when they get caught thinking they can scare ‘you’ off, ya know?

    That’s an excellent idea to hide that copyright info in plain sight. Smart cookie, you are. ;0)

  38. Stop lying for handouts June 16, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    really michelle? why do you constantly feel the need to post here and draw attention to your shop? And why do you need to make everything about YOU? This is not about you. No one is calling you out. No one cares that you went all the way to China to buy the supplies that you sell on Etsy. I think you’ve promoed yourself all over the Etsy forums and teams enough for everyone to know all about your trip. You are a speshull snowflake, we get it.

  39. Monica June 16, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    LOL. I wasn’t aware of that, Stop Lying for Handouts. I found it kind of amusing that she inserted that bit of information anywhere as it’s totally not something I would be bragging to people about: traveling somewhere to buy from companies who pay their workers next to nothing as far as wages go to make cheap, possibly toxic trinkets. smh .

  40. Get Real June 16, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    I think it’s a troll. Possibly, it’s even someone whose a competitor of Michelle and wants us to trash her store. I don’t believe someone who sells that crap would come here, of all places, and dare us to “mess with her”. I believe it’s a red herring.

    Really. Who shells out huge money to travel to China to buy those cheesy supplies? Nobody. It costs more to travel than she could ever make from selling that crap. No way, huh-uh, don’t believe a word from her.

    Also, what’s with the !!!!!!!!!! on everything?… and the abuse of copyright by riding the coattails of basketball wives lameness? Really? 318 items under that category and it’s supplies only. Are you an authorized reseller representing that show? Really? The basketball wives have a side business selling made in china jewelry supplies? Don’t believe it. Consider yourself reported and not to Etsy because they don’t care.
    Or should I say ???!!!!!!!????!!!

    Seriously, this type of stuff only appeals the lowest common denominator.

  41. Get Real June 16, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    TRADEMARK infringement, not copyright

  42. CDC June 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Wow.. that is one thick wrist.

  43. cassedy June 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Did anyone catch TrishTreasureChests on Americas Got Talent? She said she was a
    rapper and got X’ed out, but before she left the stage she had a makeout session
    with Howard Stern, which she said was the only reason she wanted to be there….
    ugggg……..

  44. Sickofcupcakes June 20, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    **Shudder**

  45. sillygirl June 22, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    shop closed now

  46. sales training article chicago May 10, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    This article will help the internet people for setting up new website or even a blog from start to end.

  47. never cold call again pdf torrent June 12, 2013 at 12:59 am #

    Fantastic web site. Plenty of helpful information here.
    I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks on your sweat!

Leave a Reply

